How did the usual "Powerhouses" from East and S. Africa miss out on the Afcon?

I mean I don't see any Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Zambia or South Africa?
I mean CAF actually added 8 more slots. How did they miss out?
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"
Re: How did the usual "Powerhouses" from East and S. Africa miss out on the Afcon?

Kenya ke. Na marathon dem dey run?
Re: How did the usual "Powerhouses" from East and S. Africa miss out on the Afcon?

3 words: No more minnows!
Chimurenga Rebel

Post by Chimurenga Rebel »

bamenda boy wrote: Wed Jan 12, 2022 9:12 pm I mean I don't see any Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Zambia or South Africa?
Zambia are the only true powerhouse in that list. Chipolopolo will be back they are still the best team from Southern Africa.
"Just call me the Chimurenga Man. A guerilla. Soldier of peace.Man of the people. I write love poems with the barrel of my gun. For Africa always." - Japheth Ncube

kawawa wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 5:58 pm 3 words: No more minnows!
Please tell the 'know-it-alls' herein.
It's interesting that some folks do not appreciate the meaning of C-O-M-P-E-T-I-T-I-O-N.
The current champions, Algeria, got a good workout against 'minnow' Sierra Leone, only to escape with a tie.
Can't wait to see the biggest upset in the knock-out phase of this competition.

Zambia has some good players at the moment too

Even Angola and Dr. Congo. Wear the hell?
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"

Chimurenga Rebel wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 6:13 pm
bamenda boy wrote: Wed Jan 12, 2022 9:12 pm I mean I don't see any Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Zambia or South Africa?
Zambia are the only true powerhouse in that list. Chipolopolo will be back they are still the best team from Southern Africa.
Why Zambia always producing better players than all the rest

Uganda is rebuilding after their team pulled a Cameroon at the 2019 AFCON. :)

So Africa's number 1 goalie Onyango and a few other veterans "retired" from the team.
To make matters worse, FUFA hired a journeyman Irish oyibo coach and then the pandemic happened.

The new team drew with Iceland yesterday. Next up is S. Korea.
https://kawowo.com/2022/01/12/iceland-1 ... build-up/

blame it on Omicron

Looks like apart from Togo, every team from West Africa qualified.
lacidi

Post by lacidi »

bamenda boy wrote: Fri Jan 14, 2022 2:41 pm Looks like apart from Togo, every team from West Africa qualified.
Benin?
Its nice when someone shoots ur murderer in the back, without asking to be paid.