I Watched the game again thread

I just sat down quietly and watched the full game again without any stress or shaking whatsoever. It's amazing how you can have 2 different observations on the same game by simply altering your expectations and state of mind.

Folks, what I saw after watching the game over again was an absolute defensive masterclass by the SE. Egypt was beaten tactically , they had no time and space on the ball. The defensive plan was simply outstanding, the best defense I've ever seen SE play. For all the praise of Simon I really didn't see much that he did other than work hard, very little to show for it. The defense, and mf were the stars of the game.

However, if we face a team that doesn't have a Salah and is defensively sound, we could be in for a long day. Why? Folks. The attack that I just watched could've played another's 45mins and still not score. Major issues remain in the final 3rd. Egypt actually played well defensively but we didn’t really have enough to break then down. Still, great effort by the boys but DO NOT TAKE SUDAN LIGHTLY. They're built for teams like SE
Re: I Watched the game again thread

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 4:29 am For all the praise of Simon I really didn't see much that he did other than work hard, very little to show for it. The defense, and mf were the stars of the game.

The attack that I just watched could've played another's 45mins and still not score.
please stop.

You MUST praise the aimless dribbles of Moses Simon. He WAS our man of the match. If you disagree you are a hater.

What does it matter if he had NOTHING to show for all of his dribbles. We were entertained by circus acts, stop telling the truth please.

YOu really mean we could have played another 45 minutes AND NOT SCORED. Come on we have Moses Simon out there, he had ZERO key passes all match, look how productive he has been over the past 2 years, wait.....

ZERO GOALS
ZERO ASSISTS

Come on guy you didn't possibly watch the match cool headed and come to the conclusions you came to. How can you possibly agree with Vancity Eagle THE HATER. :boo:

The fact that Moses Simon possibly had his best game for SE ever and still no goals, no assists, and not even a single key pass, just shows that this is not a player we can honestly rely on if we have any serious aspirations for SE.

I agree with Whoscored by the way, Ola Aina was the man of the match. He was everywhere.

It was a team effort though, they all played well and Egu takes the cake for getting the team to work together the way they did

You both are losing the plot, if Kelechi could control the ball properly we would have scored at least 3 goals. Talk less of if Ejuke was less selfish and learned to pass. Yes we were great defensively, but we also created chances and lots of dangerous opportunities. The more we progress the better both our defense and attack should get, but this was definitely a good display on both sides of the ball.

maceo4 wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 6:29 am You both are losing the plot, if Kelechi could control the ball properly we would have scored at least 3 goals. Talk less of if Ejuke was less selfish and learned to pass. Yes we were great defensively, but we also created chances and lots of dangerous opportunities. The more we progress the better both our defense and attack should get, but this was definitely a good display on both sides of the ball.
Kpom

airwolex wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 6:34 am
maceo4 wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 6:29 am You both are losing the plot, if Kelechi could control the ball properly we would have scored at least 3 goals. Talk less of if Ejuke was less selfish and learned to pass. Yes we were great defensively, but we also created chances and lots of dangerous opportunities. The more we progress the better both our defense and attack should get, but this was definitely a good display on both sides of the ball.
Kpom
I haven't even mentioned Taiwo's point blank header he should have put away that was saved onto the crossbar, Kelechis wayward shot after put in on a smart/fast FK, I don't know what the agenda is here, but we will soon find out...

maceo4 wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 6:37 am
Kpom
I haven't even mentioned Taiwo's point blank header he should have put away that was saved onto the crossbar, Kelechis wayward shot after put in on a smart/fast FK, I don't know what the agenda is here, but we will soon find out...
There is no agenda with Kongi, e no too sabi ball. :|

The Egyptian goalie made at least 5 point blank saves, yet baba talk say we would not have scored if we played another 45 mins.

If if if

What if Moses Simon learned to make an accurate pass in the box ?

How many goals would we have scored then ?

vancity eagle wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 6:26 am The fact that Moses Simon possibly had his best game for SE ever and still no goals, no assists, and not even a single key pass, just shows that this is not a player we can honestly rely on if we have any serious aspirations for SE.
Na wa for you. Msheeeew

To be honest, on second viewing the main takeaway was that Kelechi really wasted chances.
I was left wondering how he won MOTM.

That poor control after a brilliant Aina surge and pull back was criminal.
Same with the wayward shot maceo4 described above. Unforgivable.
Yes, his goal was brilliant but he could have done so much more to cement his ‘Senior Man’ status.

Then there were the inexplicable crosses to the opposite corner flags or even worse after brilliant runs by not only Simon but Zaidu.
Ndidi and Aina were also guilty of some extremely wayward shooting.

On second viewing they still looked bad. So bad I felt like doctoring the video clips to make them look better. :rotf:

airwolex wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 6:41 am
Kpom

The Egyptian goalie made at least 5 point blank saves, yet baba talk say we would not have scored if we played another 45 mins.
Saves made by the goalie cannot be counted as potential goals if the attacking player had done something different. It denies the goalie and defense credit. Football match winners are not awarded by judges. If it crosses the goal line, it's a goal. Otherwise nothing of material difference happened.

We played an excellent defensive game, the best I've ever seen us play The good news is that defensive efforts are easier to replicate. If we play with similar defensive intensity we can still win Afcon with a suspect attack but it's a first rd exit at the WC. Better news is that we have Osihmen and Dennis waiting. I do expect the attack to improve though.

I like how Aina and Zaidu tucked in defensively to narrow the gaps and help Omeruo and Ekong towards the end of the game. Of course defensive width was provided by Simon and Chukwueze. We were playing a 4-5-1 at some point when Nwakali and Sadiq came in.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 7:12 am
airwolex wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 6:41 am
Kpom

Saves made by the goalie cannot be counted as potential goals if the attacking player had done something different. It denies the goalie and defense credit. Football match winners are not awarded by judges. If it crosses the goal line, it's a goal. Otherwise nothing of material difference happened.

We played an excellent defensive game, the best I've ever seen us play The good news is that defensive efforts are easier to replicate. If we play with similar defensive intensity we can still win Afcon with a suspect attack but it's a first rd exit at the WC. Better news is that we have Osihmen and Dennis waiting. I do expect the attack to improve though.
I believe it will.
Opponents might underestimate the threat of Awoniyi at their peril, but we shouldn’t do the same by writing him off prematurely.
He might turn out to be just as good as Osimhen. There is no reason to believe otherwise.

In fact, Awoniyi might ultimately turn out to be the savior of Nacho because I definitely saw hints of their extremely successful partnership from their U17 days.
There was that through ball from Nacho to Awoniyi which was just a little too heavy allowing the keeper to anticipate it just in time. That move was an exact replica of an U17 move we saw them successfully execute countless times back in 2013.
Another similar interchange between them resulted in Awoniyi trying to curl the ball round the keeper who fortunately saved it.
The reverse occurred when Awoniyi fed Nacho who lost possession.

Dunno about you, but already I could sense an innate understanding between the two which I am sure Egu is hoping to develop further. If we have forgotten how good they were together, they certainly remember well-well! :D

2022:

2013:

It is similar to the Chukwueze-Osimhen partnership but maybe even stronger. :idea:
sabb

Post by sabb »

we already scored in the first 45mins and guess what it was the winning goal and we have moved on and preparing for the next game, cmon SE lets gooooooooo
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli

vancity eagle wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 6:21 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 4:29 am For all the praise of Simon I really didn't see much that he did other than work hard, very little to show for it. The defense, and mf were the stars of the game.

The attack that I just watched could've played another's 45mins and still not score.
please stop.

You MUST praise the aimless dribbles of Moses Simon. He WAS our man of the match. If you disagree you are a hater.

What does it matter if he had NOTHING to show for all of his dribbles. We were entertained by circus acts, stop telling the truth please.

YOu really mean we could have played another 45 minutes AND NOT SCORED. Come on we have Moses Simon out there, he had ZERO key passes all match, look how productive he has been over the past 2 years, wait.....

ZERO GOALS
ZERO ASSISTS

Come on guy you didn't possibly watch the match cool headed and come to the conclusions you came to. How can you possibly agree with Vancity Eagle THE HATER. :boo:
As usual you don't get it. Kongi does not think Moses Simon did well. Guess what? It's ok. It is his opinion. However, the difference is your petulance, pettiness and lack of objectivity.

You don't like Simon and it was just too much for you to acknowledge that he had a good game. If Musa (another one you don't like) scores a hattrick against Sudan you will do the same thing. Nigerian fans and the Nigerian manager have said that Moses Simon played well. Why should it bother you so much?

The ****bots are still lurking

i thought Simon ran the Egyptian defence ragged, their full backs could not leave his half, one of the reasons why Salah was starved of the ball, However he needs to work on his final delivery, it was that bad

marko wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 8:26 am i thought Simon ran the Egyptian defence ragged, their full backs could not leave his half, one of the reasons why Salah was starved of the ball, However he needs to work on his final delivery, it was that bad
Perfect summary of the situation.

Lol are you sure it's this same match you re-watched? You probably watched a differrnt match, because I don't understand what you meant by "we didn't have enough to break them down".
We would have beaten them 5-0 if Kelechi, Awoniyi and Ejuke converted clear chances they had. We were the better team hands down.
Against Sudan, expect nothing less than 3-0. Mark it somewhere!

Damunk wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 6:59 am To be honest, on second viewing the main takeaway was that Kelechi really wasted chances.
I was left wondering how he won MOTM.

That poor control after a brilliant Aina surge and pull back was criminal.
Same with the wayward shot maceo4 described above. Unforgivable.
Yes, his goal was brilliant but he could have done so much more to cement his ‘Senior Man’ status.

Then there were the inexplicable crosses to the opposite corner flags or even worse after brilliant runs by not only Simon but Zaidu.
Ndidi and Aina were also guilty of some extremely wayward shooting.

On second viewing they still looked bad. So bad I felt like doctoring the video clips to make them look better. :rotf:
Kelechi 's main problem is that he is "too left legged" he has good ball control and first touch with his left leg but can't control with his right, even if his life depended on it.

Yeah, that poor touch was his right foot.

Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 8:18 am The ****bots are still lurking
Two diehard ****bots.

Simon final crosses should've been better but his constant and consistent threat meant that the FB needed help both from his CD and the winger/midfielder Trezeguet.

Emir, I understand will take some time to deprogramme and reprogramme. Vancity, is plain irredeemable. He is our version of Pinnick.