Nathan Tella reveals ambition to play internationally for Nigeria

By Jack Tanner

NATHAN Tella confirmed that he is eligible to represent Nigeria – before revealing that he harboured ambitions of playing international football for the Super Eagles.

Nigerian reports from a few years back suggested that the Lambeth-born youngster was eligible to play for the Super Eagles via his Nigerian father, with the Nigerian FA also reportedly contacting the former Arsenal player about representing the African country.

Whilst Tella stated that he hadn’t had direct contact with Nigeria, he did reveal he was already far along the process of obtaining a Nigerian passport – a move that would enable him to be called-up in the future.

ella told the Daily Echo: “Yeah, it's true. I haven't been contacted as such but I'm in the process of sorting out my passport for them.

Obviously, I would like to have the chance, if I'm called upon to be able to play for Nigeria.

“But at the moment where my head is just solely on playing for Southampton.”

The 22-year-old’s focus on Saints has paid off, with the winger earning a new contract this month.

When asked if playing international football would help improve his game even further, Tella responded: "I would love to play international football.

"That's always been a dream of mine. If I went away with Nigeria, it would be something new and new experiences bring out the best in players.”

Che Adams is another Saint who switched international allegiances after representing England at youth level, with Tella noting how representing Scotland had impacted his teammate.

"When I look at Che, I see that he has come back from Scotland as a more mature player. There is no reason why I can't do that, come back a more mature person.

"Whatever happens in the future I am just focused on being here and, yes, trying to score goals and help the team win and progress."

With Nigeria pulling off a narrow win over fellow African heavyweights Egypt in their first game at the African Cup of Nations, Tella revealed that he was supporting the Super Eagles from England – whilst also looking out for teammate Moussa Djenepo, who helped Mali to an opening win against Tunisia, despite huge controversy surrounding the referee.

“I’m always keeping an eye on it – I’m Nigerian, so I always want to focus and watch the games,” continued Tella.

“Obviously, when I have any of my teammates out there, I really want to know how they do.

“I’m happy he won yesterday – despite the ending, but it was good that he was able to win, and I wish him all the best."

https://www.dailyecho.co.uk/sport/19846 ... y-nigeria/
Re: Nathan Tella reveals ambition to play internationally for Nigeria

Must be world cup season...

1naija wrote: Fri Jan 14, 2022 12:43 am Must be world cup season...
That's true :) :).

Dis one go wait Taya. :laugh:

:thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

He's not one of those "innit" guys! His position in the SE is stacked. It's Adarabioyo that i am hoping will see the light.

Don't worry kid you will get your chance when the world cup starts, the more the merrier :clap:

To be fair to him I think he always wanted to play for Nigeria. I think he should get a callup at some point after the WCQ. However, he is a long shot to make the SE right now

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri Jan 14, 2022 1:19 am Dis one go wait Taya. :laugh:
Agbaya, and he will shame you IJN.

Dammy wrote: Fri Jan 14, 2022 9:11 am He's not one of those "innit" guys! His position in the SE is stacked. It's Adarabioyo that i am hoping will see the light.
Adarabioyo is one of those "innit" guys.

Good news. The more the merrier. Hope he gets his chance.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Tobi17 wrote: Fri Jan 14, 2022 9:24 am Don't worry kid you will get your chance when the world cup starts, the more the merrier :clap:
He has to be good enough.
If not, thanks but no thanks.

Damunk wrote: Fri Jan 14, 2022 12:57 pm
Tobi17 wrote: Fri Jan 14, 2022 9:24 am Don't worry kid you will get your chance when the world cup starts, the more the merrier :clap:
It's about being good enough AND deserving a call up. Unlike Nwakali.

The YeyeMan wrote: Fri Jan 14, 2022 1:26 pm
Damunk wrote: Fri Jan 14, 2022 12:57 pm
It's about being good enough AND deserving a call up. Unlike Nwakali.
Nwakali's call up is nowhere near as bad as Ahmed Musa

We used to call him "Air Musa" now its just "passenger Musa"

Dude is a good player. Good tecqnique and has good work rate. he is kinda like a younger version of Simon Moses but can even get better.

bret- hart wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 4:17 am Dude is a good player. Good tecqnique and has good work rate. he is kinda like a younger version of Simon Moses but can even get better.
If he is that good then he should be given an opportunity.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 4:27 am
bret- hart wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 4:17 am Dude is a good player. Good tecqnique and has good work rate. he is kinda like a younger version of Simon Moses but can even get better.
He still has some ways to go. I would rate the likes of Simon, Lookman, Dennis etc ahead of him but I like his workrate and tecqnique. He is a good crosser of the ball and is a good dribbler too. He needs to score goals tho to be noticed by Naija Eagles.

bret- hart wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 4:38 am
He still has some ways to go. I would rate the likes of Simon, Lookman, Dennis etc ahead of him but I like his workrate and tecqnique. He is a good crosser of the ball and is a good dribbler too. He needs to score goals tho to be noticed by Naija Eagles.
Too many ahead of him right now.
To displace what we have he has to be more than just ‘good’.

It is in our defence and playmaker roles that there is still opportunity.
That’s why Adarabioyo is messing up. The guy is just annoying me.
Also Eze once fully recovered from injury would be a great addition.
Olise is still young and has time.
But those three should be serious and stop faffing about, abeg.

IF HE SHOWS LONG-TERM PROMISE...

...no harm in bringing him on a friendly to demonstrate interest and let him know he appears on the radar. I've never seen him play before but now I have an excuse to watch the Blades.

Damunk wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 6:41 am
bret- hart wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 4:38 am
Too many ahead of him right now.
To displace what we have he has to be more than just ‘good’.

It is in our defence and playmaker roles that there is still opportunity.
That’s why Adarabioyo is messing up. The guy is just annoying me.
Also Eze once fully recovered from injury would be a great addition.
Olise is still young and has time.
But those three should be serious and stop faffing about, abeg.
Yeah, Adarabioyo needs to be disabused of the notion that he'll ever play for England.