Nigeria 0 vs Tunisia 1 2nd Round AfCON 2022

Abbey
Re: Nigeria 0 vs Tunisia 0 2nd Round AfCON 2022

Post by Abbey »

Tunisia have done their homework so far. The Nigeria's wings have been shutdown. They are forcing the game to be played in the middle which is to Tunisia's strength. I hope we have other options to counter this move.
A Person convinced against his will is of the same opinion still.
damekadon

Post by damekadon »

Everyone is expecting Simon to run and then cut in towards the goal, so maybe make him try something else. They have two defenders waiting on him.
Musician wey go sing for deaf and dumb reunion don miss road.

Tunisia have got the shape and tactics right. We can’t find the spaces.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

We need to score. Khazri and Sliti on the bench. I'm sure they will come on in the 2nd half when our defenders are tired.

Aribo is making mistakes.
Chukwueze coming inside and pushing Kelechi into Aribo space .
Moses is double marked creating space for Aribo to run into ...so Moses needs to find the passes.

We just need a few tweaks

Samu na -1

Like i said on tge links lthread, we are playing 6 - 0- 4 formation. Zero AN play.

We have tried their goalkeeper yet. A few shots that have been blocked by their defenders

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 8:38 pm Tunisia have got the shape and tactics right. We can’t find the spaces.
The space dey. We need to drive at then and do quick give and gos. This slow buildup and long ball no go work.

metalalloy wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 8:37 pm
Lolly wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 8:35 pm Again, 2 markers on Simon. It’s going to be hard for him
He/They have to realize that is the game plan against him and get the ball out to the unmarked man.
Simple
cruxifixoy2k

Post by cruxifixoy2k »

This team is back to Rohr era. Make I go sleep before dem give me high bp.

Bring in Onyeka
Abbey

Post by Abbey »

Chuks need to get the ball more. They are double sometimes triple teaming Simon. Somebody has to be open for more passes. Awoniyi is a passenger so far ...

All the extra touches and dwelling on the ball na wetin? Nerves? They were sure of the pass and playing one touch/few touch footie in earlier games…

Nigeria's attack is non existent. Does Simon know that he doesn't have to dribble all the time?
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"

We need Nwakali
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

damekadon wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 8:38 pm Everyone is expecting Simon to run and then cut in towards the goal, so maybe make him try something else. They have two defenders waiting on him.
Yeah our play is too predictable, always going to Simon
Spicyee

Post by Spicyee »

Why can't Moses Simon switch flanks if he feels 'caged' on that flank? He's just too predictable!

cruxifixoy2k wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 8:40 pm This team is back to Rohr era. Make I go sleep before dem give me high bp.
This is a QF game against a team missing several starter that are content to sit back and wait for us to make mistake when we attack. It was always going to be a tight game, and patience is required to break down a team with 6 players in the box.

Abbey

Post by Abbey »

These long balls won't help .
eyan

Post by eyan »

Abbey wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 8:40 pm Chuks need to get the ball more. They are double sometimes triple teaming Simon. Somebody has to be open for more passes. Awoniyi is a passenger so far ...
Samu is ineffective, he can't beat his man or create space. He hasn't played well in this competition. Yet he gets to start.

Abbey wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 8:38 pm Tunisia have done their homework so far. The Nigeria's wings have been shutdown. They are forcing the game to be played in the middle which is to Tunisia's strength. I hope we have other options to counter this move.
Some people keep saying Nacho is our best #10. He has been anonymous and piss poor as usual. He had a clear chance to put Aribo through but hesitated.

Egu will have to ditch this 442 and bring on Iwobi

This is not the same Nigeria of the group stage.