[AFCON 2021 SF #2] Cameroun 0(1) Egypt 0(3) PKs. Egypt advance to the final!

Re: [AFCON 2021 SF #2] Cameroun 0(1) Egypt 0(3) PKs. Egypt advance to the final!

Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Feb 04, 2022 12:02 am
txj wrote: Fri Feb 04, 2022 12:00 am
Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Feb 03, 2022 11:26 pm this Egypt nah real yeye team. just using 0-0 and pk luck to reach who knows where.. then trust ITK txj to crown them, all because a liverpool player dey there.. tell us the exciting football they've played? they couldn't score goals vs Nigeria , CIV or Cameroon .. abeg make we hear word

They won bro. I'm pretty sure u wouldn't be saying this if it was the SE scratching and clawing their way to the final.

And its not luck. Not in a million years. The work rate alone is something else...Cameroon couldn't live with that!

Its not about exciting football. If you want that go to the circus!

Its about organization, work rate, discipline and balance...
they are no different from Iran in 2014/18
Gary Neville also spoke glowingly about the behind the scenes preparations that Carlos Quieroz took them through when he was assistant Man U manager around that 2008 era when they won CL and league, whilst conceding few goals, he mentioned how the guy organised them to be very tactically disciplined defensively
Re: [AFCON 2021 SF #2] Cameroun 0(1) Egypt 0(3) PKs. Egypt advance to the final!

benteke wrote: Fri Feb 04, 2022 12:06 am
Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Feb 04, 2022 12:02 am
Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Feb 03, 2022 11:26 pm this Egypt nah real yeye team. just using 0-0 and pk luck to reach who knows where.. then trust ITK txj to crown them, all because a liverpool player dey there.. tell us the exciting football they've played? they couldn't score goals vs Nigeria , CIV or Cameroon .. abeg make we hear word

They won bro. I'm pretty sure u wouldn't be saying this if it was the SE scratching and clawing their way to the final.

And its not luck. Not in a million years. The work rate alone is something else...Cameroon couldn't live with that!

they are no different from Iran in 2014/18
Gary Neville also spoke glowingly about the behind the scenes preparations that Carlos Quieroz took them through when he was assistant Man U manager around that 2008 era when they won CL and league, whilst conceding few goals, he mentioned how the guy organised them to be very tactically disciplined defensively

Yeah, that's his signature allright.

Look at Iran from the last WC. Dour, difficult to beat and football based on attrition...

But this team of his kinda start slowly. Camerun should've punished them early in the game...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Cameroon failed to take their chances in the first half and ran out of steam in the second half. They simply could not pace themselves well in their own stadium. The Egyptians did a better job of pacing and saving their energy, and looked more threatening in extra time.

I always felt something was off about this Cameroonian side even when they were winning left and right. Their best player is Aboubaker :???: Same player who could do nothing against us in the 2018 WCQers.

Orion wrote: Fri Feb 04, 2022 1:02 am Cameroon failed to take their chances in the first half and ran out of steam in the second half. They simply could not pace themselves well in their own stadium. The Egyptians did a better job of pacing and saving their energy, and looked more threatening in extra time.

I always felt something was off about this Cameroonian side even when they were winning left and right. Their best player is Aboubaker :???: Same player who could do nothing against us in the 2018 WCQers.
They were wasteful and ran out of steam at the end of the first half against Gambia too.

Meanwhile, in the quarter final against Morocco, Egypt chilled in the first half and showed up in the 2nd half. Same as today.

Now I know why you were christened ATF txj. :taunt: :taunt: :lol: :lol: Your analysis always come after the fact. :D

Cameroon couldn't live with their work rate??? More like Cameroon couldn't sustain the high tempo they played most of the first half with and outclassed the Egyptians on every area of the field. More like Cameroon could not take utilize the clear cut scoring opportunities they created and that should have had Egypt chasing the game and even more open in defense as a result.

txj wrote: Fri Feb 04, 2022 12:45 amYeah, that's his signature allright.

Look at Iran from the last WC. Dour, difficult to beat and football based on attrition...

But this team of his kinda start slowly. Camerun should've punished them early in the game...
So, that was the issue. They were fortunate their opponent did not convert the multiple chances they created. And their "work rate, discipline and balance" and "Quieroz's signature" had nothing to do with that.

theDunamis wrote: Fri Feb 04, 2022 2:54 am

Now I know why you were christened ATF txj. :taunt: :taunt: :lol: :lol: Your analysis always come after the fact. :D

Cameroon couldn't live with their work rate??? More like Cameroon couldn't sustain the high tempo they played most of the first half with and outclassed the Egyptians on every area of the field. More like Cameroon could not take utilize the clear cut scoring opportunities they created and that should have had Egypt chasing the game and even more open in defense as a result.

Cameroon could not. Cameroon should have…
Coulda, woulda, shoulda…

And what happened in the 2nd half and extra time?

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Re: [AFCON 2021 SF #2] Cameroun 0 Egypt 0

txj wrote: Thu Feb 03, 2022 10:49 pm
Tobi17 wrote: Thu Feb 03, 2022 10:47 pm Nigeria are the ONLY team that made this Egypt team look very ordinary

You think this is the same team from that game?
Definitely the same team. Cameroun's attack was too predictable and lacked guile needed to trouble them.

txj wrote: Thu Feb 03, 2022 11:31 pm
lacidi wrote: Thu Feb 03, 2022 11:01 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Feb 03, 2022 10:56 pm
txj wrote: Thu Feb 03, 2022 10:55 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Feb 03, 2022 10:52 pm
Tobi17 wrote: Thu Feb 03, 2022 10:47 pm Nigeria are the ONLY team that made this Egypt team look very ordinary

i guess they brought in new players after the loss vs the SE :roll: :roll:

I said team, not players.

Not very smart are u?
but miles ahead of you intellectually
Don't mind the guy. He will say anything just to belittle SE win against Egypt. Not same team my foot!

Not really saying anything new here or for that matter interested in comparing them to SE; we are out.

The best tournament teams are the ones that grow with the competition.

Best eg was probably Italy in WC '82.

Same can be said of Nigeria in 2013 and '88...

This Egypt team is miles away from where they started...
Miles better? based on what? They only had one chance during normal time - the erroneous back pass to Sallah cleared by Onana. That was it !!! ... Against Nigeria, Sallah only had a half chance in 90 mins. How are they miles better now? The only other chance they created was in the 120th min with the errant square cross was that was easier to execute (with 4 white shirts begging in the box) than miss .. and he missed the obvious execution! :rotf:

txj wrote: Fri Feb 04, 2022 3:00 amCameroon could not. Cameroon should have…
Coulda, woulda, shoulda…

And what happened in the 2nd half and extra time?
What happened was a Cameroonian team that had failed to convert its chances after dominating the first half could not sustain their tempo in the 2nd half and definitely not in extra time. The game got more even but even at that, Egypt showed nothing at all going forward.

But yeah, go ahead and tell us how balanced Egypt were and how Quieroz is so good he planned everything that happened and intended all along to beat Cameroon on PKs. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

green4life wrote: Fri Feb 04, 2022 3:12 am
txj wrote: Thu Feb 03, 2022 11:31 pm
lacidi wrote: Thu Feb 03, 2022 11:01 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Feb 03, 2022 10:56 pm
txj wrote: Thu Feb 03, 2022 10:55 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Feb 03, 2022 10:52 pm

i guess they brought in new players after the loss vs the SE :roll: :roll:

I said team, not players.

Not very smart are u?
but miles ahead of you intellectually
Don't mind the guy. He will say anything just to belittle SE win against Egypt. Not same team my foot!

Not really saying anything new here or for that matter interested in comparing them to SE; we are out.

The best tournament teams are the ones that grow with the competition.

Best eg was probably Italy in WC '82.

Same can be said of Nigeria in 2013 and '88...

This Egypt team is miles away from where they started...
Miles better? based on what? They only had one chance during normal time - the erroneous back pass to Sallah cleared by Onana. That was it !!! ... Against Nigeria, Sallah only had a half chance in 90 mins. How are they miles better now? The only other chance they created was in the 120th min with the errant square cross was that was easier to execute (with 4 white shirts begging in the box) than miss .. and he missed the obvious execution! :rotf:

And how many have the opponents created against them?

They’re not any more pretty than against Nigeria, but they are far, far more solid. Far less easy to break down.

Plus they’re much more balanced in attack than the one dimensional nature against us.

Riche007

Post by Riche007 »

airwolex wrote: Thu Feb 03, 2022 10:53 pm You have to give it to Egypt though. They beat CIV, Morocco and Cameroon.
...and that's why they are better positioned to win it all. They are going to dig deep and grind out a result.
The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge - Hawking, 1942

green4life wrote: Fri Feb 04, 2022 3:05 am

Definitely the same team. Cameroun's attack was too predictable and lacked guile needed to trouble them.

Same players but most definitely not the same team.

txj wrote: Fri Feb 04, 2022 3:24 amPlus they’re much more balanced in attack than the one dimensional nature against us.

Pray tell how exactly they are more balanced in attack. How????

theDunamis wrote: Fri Feb 04, 2022 3:27 am
txj wrote: Fri Feb 04, 2022 3:24 amPlus they’re much more balanced in attack than the one dimensional nature against us.

Against Nigeria the entire attacking design of play was based on the delivery to Salah running behind the CDs.changed slightly when Zizo came in

They’re varying the points he receives the ball and using his variously with back to goal and the third man runs off of that from MF
Last edited by txj on Fri Feb 04, 2022 3:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

olumide

Post by olumide »

I don't think Egypt is much different than the side at the beginning of the tournament. Nigeria were a good side in Cameroon. They wasted a great chance for another medal in this competition with lazy play, unforced errors, and lack of tactical adjustment against Carthage Eagles, but it is not as though they are some poor team.

Under Queiroz, there is only one real plan: Defend deep and organized with numbers and, then get the ball to Salah and inshallah. It's not a great side, but this has worked for them. Nigeria created the most chances because they scored and this forced Egypt to attack, but otherwise they've done a decent job keeping teams out and benefited from some poor finishes. Look at the two goals they have conceded: A top class finish from Iheanacho that no keeper could stop, and a silly penalty. Nothing otherwise.

They will be the inferior side against Senegal, but this has been the case against Nigeria, Ivory Coast, Morocco, and Cameroon, yet they are here. Egypt will sit back from the start again on Sunday, and Senegal better take their chances because otherwise the heat/humidity will begin to affect them as the game gets deeper, Egypt will spoil the game, and either get it to penalties or have Salah nick one.

If Teranga Lions score early, it might look like the first match against Nigeria, except against less wasteful attackers.

txj wrote: Fri Feb 04, 2022 3:31 am

Against Nigeria the entire attacking design of play was based on the delivery to Salah running behind the CDs.changed slightly when Zizo came in

They’re varying the points he receives the ball and using his variously with back to goal and the third man runs off of that from MF
And Sallah threatened Cameroon today where and how? :???: ... was Sallah more of a threat today vs. Cameroon or a similar 'threat' as his play against Nigeria? How many shots on target? Chances created? Nada.

It’s not about Nigeria and a comparison of the SE to Egypt.

We lost, period.

I’m talking about successfully teams not failures

green4life wrote: Fri Feb 04, 2022 3:35 am

And Sallah threatened Cameroon today where and how? :???: ... was Sallah more of a threat today vs. Cameroon or a similar 'threat' as his play against Nigeria? How many shots on target? Chances created? Nada.

He’s been far more effective since the opening, no?

Today chances were at a premium, but he’s as much a finisher as a playmaker.

There’s other ways to look at it than simply chances created in a tight game.

We beat them. I’m not interested in that debate. We’re out…

I’m shocked anyone cannot see how they’ve evolved to a much more balanced team.

And how was that more balanced, pray tell? Or better yet, tell me exactly what that changed?

VS Cameroon: 7 shots with only 1 on goal

VS Nigeria: 4 shots with 2 on goal

So again, what exactly changed in Egypt's attack since the game against Nigeria? How are they more balanced??? And what has that changed?????

txj wrote: Fri Feb 04, 2022 3:35 am It’s not about Nigeria and a comparison of the SE to Egypt.

We lost, period.

But Nigeria is relevant because your initial statement isY "You think this is the same team from that [Nigeria] game?"

It's the same team. They have made slight variations to their play but it hasn't made them more of a goal threat. This Egypt team is built to seek to outlast its opponents and rely on Sallah to conjure up some magic. That's how they played in their first game and all the way through till today

green4life wrote: Fri Feb 04, 2022 3:43 am
txj wrote: Fri Feb 04, 2022 3:35 am It’s not about Nigeria and a comparison of the SE to Egypt.

We lost, period.

But Nigeria is relevant because your initial statement is "You think this is the same team from that [Nigeria] game?"

It's the same team. They have made slight variations to their play but it hasn't made them more of a goal threat. This Egypt team is built to seek to outlast its opponents and rely on Sallah to conjure up some magic.

The only team relevant here is Egypt and their evolution since the opening game.

It’s not a comparison of SE and Egypt.

It’s a comparison of where Egypt was then and now.

theDunamis wrote: Fri Feb 04, 2022 3:43 am

And how was that more balanced, pray tell? Or better yet, tell me exactly what that changed?

VS Cameroon: 7 shots with only 1 on goal

VS Nigeria: 4 shots with 2 on goal

So again, what exactly changed in Egypt's attack since the game against Nigeria? How are they more balanced??? And what has that changed?????

Each game is different.
The shots on goal speak to outcomes NOT the design of play.

Go watch them again and track how they are moving the ball, how they’re getting better at finding Salah and the positions he takes up.