Ghana 0 vs Nigeria 0 FT WCQ '22 qualifier 1st Leg

Re: Ghana 0 vs Nigeria 0 WCQ '22 qualifier 1st Leg

Robbynice wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 4:00 pm Game thread 4 hours plus before game starts...Haba! Anyways like Fabio, I dey shake too o
No shaking, becos Ghana go hear when, dat's all

Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 4:25 pm una go cry today watch this space.
Why must we cry? Assuming we lose, why should we cry for losing a game played in Ghana to Ghana?

naijaguy wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 6:09 pm Confirmed line up:
Uzoho
Aina
Ekong
Balogun
Sanusi
Bonke
Aribo
Iheanacho
Simon
Chukwueze
Osimhen
This is not the lineup I was hoping for considering the absence of Ndidi. That said, notwithstanding the personnel, the key for balance rest in the assignment of the players on the pitch when off the ball.

Cellular wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 6:25 pm
1naija wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 6:15 pm No need for panic. We got this. 2 - 0 Nigeria.
Ugbowo wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 6:05 pm
1naija wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 5:59 pm Uncle, what line up and formation do you propose?

And please feel free to share where you have used similar formation successfully.. :D
Ugbowo wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 5:53 pm Lineup floating around as same as was reported yesterday with one exception.

Zaidu starts instead of Bassey.

Same 4-2-4, 4-4-2 or whatever he calls it.

This is going to be a long afternoon/night.
Uncle,

Leave me o. I dey panic here. :mrgreen:
I will know in the first few minutes if we got it or don got it.

If the intensity is high, we win... if we so down and play big man football, we lose.

We actually need to slow it down and pick our moments not run about the place in the name of high intensity..
If we have MF control we pick them off on the counter...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

I would have had Dennis replace Simon

fabio wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 3:51 pm Please post links to the match... If and when they become available.

Line up via Owngoal

Uzoho
Aina
Ekong
Balogun
Sanusi
Bonke
Aribo
Iheanacho
Simon
Chukwueze
Osimhen
If this is true, then Eguavoen is not serious about qualifying. A central midfield partnership of Bonke and Ariyo ONLY would be overrun.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

txj wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 6:52 pm
Cellular wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 6:25 pm
1naija wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 6:15 pm No need for panic. We got this. 2 - 0 Nigeria.
Ugbowo wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 6:05 pm
1naija wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 5:59 pm Uncle, what line up and formation do you propose?

And please feel free to share where you have used similar formation successfully.. :D
Ugbowo wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 5:53 pm Lineup floating around as same as was reported yesterday with one exception.

Zaidu starts instead of Bassey.

Same 4-2-4, 4-4-2 or whatever he calls it.

This is going to be a long afternoon/night.
Uncle,

Leave me o. I dey panic here. :mrgreen:
I will know in the first few minutes if we got it or don got it.

If the intensity is high, we win... if we so down and play big man football, we lose.

We actually need to slow it down and pick our moments not run about the place in the name of high intensity..
If we have MF control we pick them off on the counter...
I don't think the Coaches are thinking this at all.

Apparently emphasis was on overloads and quick switches for 1v1. Looks like a possession based strategy to me with getting the ball out wide quickly enough. I'm just going to watch and try not to analyze. I'll have a headache.

Those complaining will still come here to praise the coaches after this game.

^^
I honestly don't understand the panic or overanalysis.
I have watched Egu coach 4 games so far playing 442. We have won 3 and lost 1. Even our loss, we were the better team as far as created chances.

I get that we lost. But such is football. Nothing I have seen from the team so far under Egu is worrisome.

Anyway, no yawa. Make we watch match.
Bushboy's bushmen : 1.Isaac Success 2. Terem Moffi 3. Victor Boniface 4. Samuel Omorodion. 5. Samson Tijani. 6. Rafiu Durosinmi. 7. George Ilenikhena.

naijaguy wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 6:58 pm Those complaining will still come here to praise the coaches after this game.
Yes o. The best teams in the world stick to a consistent style of play but we want a different formation for every game.

bushboy wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 7:01 pm ^^
I have watched Egu coach 4 games so far playing 442. We have won 3 and lost 1. Even our loss, we were the better team as far as created chances.

I get that we lost. But such is football. Nothing I have seen from the team so far under Egu is worrisome.

4-4-2 with Ndidi is not the same as a 4-4-2 without Ndidi.

But football is not mathematics. Not long to go.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

How do you know what formation we will play? Because someone said so here? I repeat, we have lost games with Ndidi playing 90 minutes. His absence does not automatically spell doom for us. The coaches would have been stupid to list anything but this line up.
Lolly wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 7:09 pm
bushboy wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 7:01 pm ^^

4-4-2 with Ndidi is not the same as a 4-4-2 without Ndidi.

But football is not mathematics. Not long to go.

We actually have a really good team.

The fact you can look to the bench and see:

Dennis
Lookman
Bassey
Onyeka
Etebo
Sadiq
Ighalo

This is not even mentioning the ones not invited or eligible dual citizens!

We are blessed.
Bushboy's bushmen : 1.Isaac Success 2. Terem Moffi 3. Victor Boniface 4. Samuel Omorodion. 5. Samson Tijani. 6. Rafiu Durosinmi. 7. George Ilenikhena.
Next

Post by Next »

TERRORISM is the WAR of the POOR while WAR is the TERRORISM of the RICH!

The Best Quotes For Me So Far: "I was born here but brought up as an African. When you reach adulthood you either feel African or you don't, and it's not worth playing if you don't have that feeling." Efan Ekoku
jdizzy

Post by jdizzy »

oglex30 wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 4:27 pm
bushboy wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 4:10 pm I am torn between Dennis or Samu. I know Moses will definitely start, but I can't decide who I'd rather have on the other wing..
Dennis for me.
Why? Dude needs to earn his spot in the team after the previous non-commital
Niente Ÿ impossibile!

Lineup is good enough. You start by playing your game. If it works, great, no changes needed.

If its not working, you take off Kelechi and bring Onyeka or Etebo to help the midfield. Then around 70 mins, you bring Dennis and Lookman and take out Moses and Samu. Give some fresh legs and ideas.

I see no reason to worry at all. Or maybe I'm lying to myself lol. Who knows?

bushboy wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 7:34 pm Lineup is good enough. You start by playing your game. If it works, great, no changes needed.

If its not working, you take off Kelechi and bring Onyeka or Etebo to help the midfield. Then around 70 mins, you bring Dennis and Lookman and take out Moses and Samu. Give some fresh legs and ideas.

I see no reason to worry at all. Or maybe I'm lying to myself lol. Who knows?
it may be too late by then.

The details matter.

I'm just hoping now.

Meanwhile Cameroon are losing at home to Algeria
MYMIND

Post by MYMIND »

Many of you give TOO MUCH credit to Ndidi for how we play or expectation of performance...

But why Ekong over Omeruo, a guy deemed not good enough to start for Watford.

This shows that Egu has learnt nothing...Like I said earlier.....anyways, this is Ghana so we should qualify but I will bet you that Egu will not be the coach come November.....

After 2 friendlies against good and average teams, how awful 4-4-2 with the personal in our disposal will be very obvious....

To put out this team shows no appreciation of the other team...not respect.....acknowledgement

even 3-5-3 will be better than this....Bonke is not a DM, Aribo is useless deep move that guy forwards and see a player...

Bonke..Etebo or Bonke.. Onyeka base is whats needed....

BTW....Samu played 3 games, stank up the place three times.....what is he doing in the starting line-up? I can understand the AFCON as no ready made replacement but now you have Lookman and Dennis....

If we lose this first leg forget the WC....

oscar52 wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 7:40 pm But why Ekong over Omeruo, a guy deemed not good enough to start for Watford.
Because SE is not Watford.

oscar52 wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 7:40 pm But why Ekong over Omeruo, a guy deemed not good enough to start for Watford.
Nigeria mentality that the captains plays....reason why Musa is still here