Watching the match replay now

Yes i finally summoned the guts and patience to watch the full match with all anger and tensions gone...and I took note of some key points: Ghana were largely outplayed, though poor in large parts, they were still tactically organized especially in defense...Djiku and Amartey really fought hard. Ghana actually has a very poor attack, they need to find a solid striker if they hope to go far in Qatar cause Afena Gyan as tenacious as he was, just lacks that quality of Asamoah Gyan. Osimhen actually played well contrary to my earlier outburst on him, but he really needs a very good midfield to help him with supplies. We have a abject GK crisis right now...Uzoho and Maduka no be am at all...surely the GKs in the local league can't do any worse right now. We have a midfield crisis (a very bad one ), our defense surprisingly wasn't troubled by Ghana on both legs and Parteys goal came from a b
speculative shot from several yards out, and was helped by some terrible goalkeeping once again just like against Tunisia!

Eguavoen has got to go now along with the NFF board...we still have afcon qualifiers to play for next year's AFCON in Ivory Coast, and the focus of the new coach and FA should be to clean house, make sure all old and dusted players stay retired for good in future call up's, make it a point to focus more on building around the midfield based on player invitations etc.

Congrats to Ghana and all the African teams representing the continent in Qatar.
Re: Watching the match replay now

We played much better than in Kumasi.

The 433 was visably much better as well. We created a lot especially in the first half. Lookman and Dennis are def an upgrade over Chuks and Simon. We finally threatened from every corner.

We seemed to tire in the second though. I wonder if it was wise to play this game earlier. The heat must have sapped our guys. We keep making these mistakes.

Our defence wasn't troubled in 2 matches.

Uzoho Uzoho Uzoho.

Okoye Okoye Okoye.

Tobi17 wrote: Wed Mar 30, 2022 4:15 am Yes i finally summoned the guts and patience to watch the full match with all anger and tensions gone...and I took note of some key points: Ghana were largely outplayed, though poor in large parts, they were still tactically organized especially in defense...Djiku and Amartey really fought hard. Ghana actually has a very poor attack, they need to find a solid striker if they hope to go far in Qatar cause Afena Gyan as tenacious as he was, just lacks that quality of Asamoah Gyan. Osimhen actually played well contrary to my earlier outburst on him, but he really needs a very good midfield to help him with supplies. We have a abject GK crisis right now...Uzoho and Maduka no be am at all...surely the GKs in the local league can't do any worse right now. We have a midfield crisis (a very bad one ), our defense surprisingly wasn't troubled by Ghana on both legs and Parteys goal came from a b
speculative shot from several yards out, and was helped by some terrible goalkeeping once again just like against Tunisia!

Eguavoen has got to go now along with the NFF board...we still have afcon qualifiers to play for next year's AFCON in Ivory Coast, and the focus of the new coach and FA should be to clean house, make sure all old and dusted players stay retired for good in future call up's, make it a point to focus more on building around the midfield based on player invitations etc.

Congrats to Ghana and all the African teams representing the continent in Qatar.
With regards to Osimhen, I do not agree with you. He was so focused on being the hero versus achieving result as a team. All those acrobatic strikes were uncalled for, because there were open players available for him to pass the ball to, but he kept ignoring other players in the box. Just take a look at the highlights…..

sabb

Post by sabb »

The SE midfield is useless, simple
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli
Goalgetter

Post by Goalgetter »

I don’t think it’s fair to blame criticise Osihmen for going for goal… He’s a striker and his first instinct is to go for goal be it simple or flashy. He did the right thing imho.
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?

I watched the replay and I am really pissed at the coaching crew all over again.

It started from the team list to the first leg in Kumasi. All those bad decisions came to a head in the second half.

It is well.
Goalgetter

Post by Goalgetter »

The ticket was lost in Kumasi. Eguavoen should have known that Ghana’s Kumasi game plan was going to be based on Eguavoen’s AFCON starting 11. He should have benched Simon, Chukwueze and possibly Iheanacho for the Kumasi game. And should have started with the 11 that started the Abuja game (with either Onyeka or Gbonke starting along side Etebo and Aribo).. Dumb decision like that cost us the ticket. You notice how Ghana had to readjust asap in the Abuja game because they planned for Simon and Chukwueze and ended up having to deal with Lookman and Dennis, both of whom are much better and effective players who don’t run into culture de sacs.
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?

Ugbowo wrote: Thu Mar 31, 2022 3:55 pm I watched the replay and I am really pissed at the coaching crew all over again.

It started from the team list to the first leg in Kumasi. All those bad decisions came to a head in the second half.

It is well.
The coaching crew all the way.

They overcompensated and overcorrected from their mistake in the first leg.

There was a noticeable dropoff in intensity when the second half started...

Goalgetter wrote: Thu Mar 31, 2022 4:55 pm The ticket was lost in Kumasi. Eguavoen should have known that Ghana’s Kumasi game plan was going to be based on Eguavoen’s AFCON starting 11. He should have benched Simon, Chukwueze and possibly Iheanacho for the Kumasi game. And should have started with the 11 that started the Abuja game (with either Onyeka or Gbonke starting along side Etebo and Aribo).. Dumb decision like that cost us the ticket. You notice how Ghana had to readjust asap in the Abuja game because they planned for Simon and Chukwueze and ended up having to deal with Lookman and Dennis, both of whom are much better and effective players who don’t run into culture de sacs.
KPOM 100%

lazy and clueless coaching cost us.

this was easily winnable.

Also in Abuja our lack of bench options for tiring players also cost us. Since the days of Keshi I have been going on about your bench needing to be as good as your starters.

This clown brought on Shehu, Ighalo, Musa to salvage us. :boo: What a useless lazy coach.

Cellular wrote: Thu Mar 31, 2022 5:00 pm
Ugbowo wrote: Thu Mar 31, 2022 3:55 pm I watched the replay and I am really pissed at the coaching crew all over again.

It is well.

they did not overcorrect, they did what they should have done in the first leg.

When your players are tired YOU SUB THEM. YOU HAVE FIVE SUBS TO USE.

Musa, Shehu, and Ighalo were brought on. Tells you the lack of foresight and seriousness this bunch of clowns have.

In fact I bet Egu delayed bringing them on because he KNEW THEY WERE JUNK. Yet he was forced to bring them. :boo: :boo:

sabb wrote: Wed Mar 30, 2022 7:00 am The SE midfield is useless, simple
Thank you!

Cellular wrote: Thu Mar 31, 2022 5:00 pm

It is well.

Due to Onyeka’s forced substitution. He was all over the place in the first half and ensured we dominated the midfield.

As I said before the game, Etebo was not fit and could not keep up with the pace of the game when he was moved into Onyeka’s position. I would like to see how many times he touched the ball in the second half. Also, Aribo wasn’t as good as his earlier games. He has been struggling with stamina lately, even at his club games where he has been substituted a number of times at around the 70 minute mark.

We need to find more central midfielders and move away from our dependence on wide midfielders. I hope we find a coach that is a 3-5-2 or 4-4-2 diamond specialist.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

The midfield seemed to fall apart in the 2nd half after Shehu came on for the injured Onyeka. Yusuf, Ejaria, or Dele-Bashiru to me offer more than Bonke or Shehu. We also struggle with any kind of high press. Balogun and Ekong in particular seem uncomfortable playing out of the back and were resorting to hopeful long balls.
iworo wrote: Wed Mar 30, 2022 6:06 am
Tobi17 wrote: Wed Mar 30, 2022 4:15 am Yes i finally summoned the guts and patience to watch the full match with all anger and tensions gone...and I took note of some key points: Ghana were largely outplayed, though poor in large parts, they were still tactically organized especially in defense...Djiku and Amartey really fought hard. Ghana actually has a very poor attack, they need to find a solid striker if they hope to go far in Qatar cause Afena Gyan as tenacious as he was, just lacks that quality of Asamoah Gyan. Osimhen actually played well contrary to my earlier outburst on him, but he really needs a very good midfield to help him with supplies. We have a abject GK crisis right now...Uzoho and Maduka no be am at all...surely the GKs in the local league can't do any worse right now. We have a midfield crisis (a very bad one ), our defense surprisingly wasn't troubled by Ghana on both legs and Parteys goal came from a b

With regards to Osimhen, I do not agree with you. He was so focused on being the hero versus achieving result as a team. All those acrobatic strikes were uncalled for, because there were open players available for him to pass the ball to, but he kept ignoring other players in the box. Just take a look at the highlights…..

Igugu

Post by Igugu »

My wonder was why Eguavoen did not use Amoo, though young but capable of cutting through a sea of legs of the opponents. He would have been able to send meaningful passes to the center forward and do more by retaining the ball and giving the opponent little or no options but to bring him down in their 18-yard box with their recklessness.

vancity eagle wrote: Thu Mar 31, 2022 5:05 pm
Goalgetter wrote: Thu Mar 31, 2022 4:55 pm The ticket was lost in Kumasi. Eguavoen should have known that Ghana’s Kumasi game plan was going to be based on Eguavoen’s AFCON starting 11. He should have benched Simon, Chukwueze and possibly Iheanacho for the Kumasi game. And should have started with the 11 that started the Abuja game (with either Onyeka or Gbonke starting along side Etebo and Aribo).. Dumb decision like that cost us the ticket. You notice how Ghana had to readjust asap in the Abuja game because they planned for Simon and Chukwueze and ended up having to deal with Lookman and Dennis, both of whom are much better and effective players who don’t run into culture de sacs.
KPOM 100%

Also in Abuja our lack of bench options for tiring players also cost us. Since the days of Keshi I have been going on about your bench needing to be as good as your starters.

This clown brought on Shehu, Ighalo, Musa to salvage us. :boo: What a useless lazy coach.
You guys are full of kaka. Your preferred players, the same ones you were clamoring for all along we’re forced on us and they failed to perform. Now here you are espousing the ridiculous notion that the players who conceded a goal to Ghana on home soil are better than the ones who didn’t concede away in Ghana. Home turf has always been considered a big advantage in football but your boys managed to make a mess of things. Do yourself and everyone here a favor. Take a long sabbatical from CE❗️

It was terrible. After a while, poor Ekong and Balogun were forced to initiate the attack. Even new boy Bassey was given too much to do. We lost the game there.

that is where you lost the match

Also, Moses Simon and Emmanuel Denis - big big disappointment
Balogun and Osimhen deserve much better players - those 2 were incredible

blueangel

Post by blueangel »

4 Departments in a team
Goalkeeper
Defense
Midfield
Strikers ( attack )

When Egu took over the only consistently performing above par was our defense they did their job. Especially when they were needed.
Our strikers could not score especially when required in the AFcon and against Ghana ( a defender scored in an Afcon game
& against Ghana )
Our Midfield did not perform
Our Goal Keepers let us down.

Our " Oyinbo wall " , our defenders, also our left backs and right backs did their Job. :clap: :clap: :clap:

Going to the World Cup would also have distracted us from the constant Sorrow Tears and Blood in Nigeria.
Our Challenges at Home have to be addressed first.

imagine being unable to score against a defense of Amartey and Odjikwu :lol:

Igugu wrote: Fri Apr 01, 2022 11:15 am My wonder was why Eguavoen did not use Amoo, though young but capable of cutting through a sea of legs of the opponents. He would have been able to send meaningful passes to the center forward and do more by retaining the ball and giving the opponent little or no options but to bring him down in their 18-yard box with their recklessness.
Musa and Ighalo HAD to play.

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Fri Apr 01, 2022 11:38 am
KPOM 100%

You guys are full of kaka. Your preferred players, the same ones you were clamoring for all along we’re forced on us and they failed to perform. Now here you are espousing the ridiculous notion that the players who conceded a goal to Ghana on home soil are better than the ones who didn’t concede away in Ghana. Home turf has always been considered a big advantage in football but your boys managed to make a mess of things. Do yourself and everyone here a favor. Take a long sabbatical from CE❗️

You are a 100% certified clown.

I guess Lookman and Dennis were responsible for Uzoho not being able to stop a basic shot. That in your warped mind makes them worse than the clowns who couldn't score a goal in 2 matches.

CE is an assembly of people who think they know alot about football but they are just as clueless as those who they dub as clueless. The Chief culprit - Van City Eagle

vancity eagle wrote: Fri Apr 01, 2022 4:20 pm
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Fri Apr 01, 2022 11:38 am
KPOM 100%

You are a 100% certified clown.

I guess Lookman and Dennis were responsible for Uzoho not being able to stop a basic shot. That in your warped mind makes them worse than the clowns who couldn't score a goal in 2 matches.
How many goals did Lookman and Dennis score with the tremendous home crowd advantage? This is probably my last response to you on any topic because you are mentally ill and it serves no useful purpose beating a really dead horse and you, my friend, are worse than a dead horse🤔❗️

Cheers