Should Nigeria move Home games to Morocco?

Given results obtained in recent times outside Nigeria vis a vis results obtained at home in Nigeria, should Nigeria ignore its historical home record and move its games away to places like Morocco? Discuss... :rotf: :rotf:
Last edited by Enugu II on Wed Jun 15, 2022 3:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Should Nigeria move its Home games to Morocco?

YES

Until these shameless fools can provide a proper pitch.

CAF needs to step in and BAN some of these stadiums.

What happened to Uyo ?

10-0 in Morocco will equal 4-0 in Abuja.

People wonder why we always play better in friendlies ON PROPER PITCHES.

People wonder why we struggle at home.

NOPE!

Do the basics, and the right thing, and fix our pitch. It’s not rocket science (and it’s cheaper)…
Foreign coach, foreign Nigerians (albeit all Nigerians are Nigerian), and now foreign “home” ground?!

Gotti wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 6:50 pm NOPE!

Do the basics, and the right thing, and fix our pitch. It’s not rocket science (and it’s cheaper)…
Foreign coach, foreign Nigerians (albeit all Nigerians are Nigerian), and now foreign “home” ground?!
It’s tongue in cheek.
Calm down.
You are stating the obvious. :taunt:

The fact that we're even entertaining this conversation sums it up...chei!

vancity eagle wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 6:46 pm YES

What happened to Uyo ?

We played Cameroon on same Moroccan pitches and played like CRAP…
Pitch is obviously a factor, but we were previously CRAP because of Herr Rohr, not Horticulture.

Tobi17 wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 6:52 pm The fact that we're even entertaining this conversation sums it up...chei!
You and who are entertaining the idea?
If Pinnick suggests this, you no go stone am? :lol:

Are the North Africans just generally better than us in the maintenence culture or is there more to how they always have world class standard pitches than the rest of the Sub-Saharan regions?

Damunk wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 6:54 pm
Tobi17 wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 6:52 pm The fact that we're even entertaining this conversation sums it up...chei!
You and who are entertaining the idea?
If Pinnick suggests this, you no go stone am? :lol:
My brother I tire for the matter

Damunk wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 6:52 pmIt’s tongue in cheek.
Calm down.
Judging by the comment preceding mine…
The “obvious” obviously isn’t so obvious. :taunt:

Gotti wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 6:53 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 6:46 pm YES

What happened to Uyo ?

We played Cameroon on same Moroccan pitches and played like CRAP…
Pitch is obviously a factor, but we were previously CRAP because of Herr Rohr, not Horticulture.
True, let's not pretend like we haven't struggled badly on presumably better pitches like this one before, the team and coaching staffs also deserve some credit.
Last edited by Tobi17 on Mon Jun 13, 2022 6:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Enugu II wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 6:43 pm Given results obtained in recent times outside Nigeria vis a vis results obtained at home in Nigeria, should Nigeria ignore its historical home record and move its games away to places like Morocco? Discuss... :rotf: :rotf:
If the Moroccan government will pay for it, Pinnick will entertain the idea.

He has Uyo in Akwa Ibom... but he rather go elsewhere.

He hasn't seen awoof he didn't like.

Gotti wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 6:56 pm
Damunk wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 6:52 pmIt’s tongue in cheek.
Calm down.
Judging by the comment preceding mine…
The “obvious” obviously isn’t so obvious. :taunt:
Van City….. :idea:

According to the sports Minister, the ministry have contracted a new consultant to bring the stadium pitch back to a good condition.
Also the ministry will work on the training pitch, so that the main pitch will only be used for matches. I cringed when I saw mannequins being stuck on the pitch during the SE's training sessions. That would only destroy the pitch further and that's what training pitches are for.

Cellular wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 6:57 pm
Enugu II wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 6:43 pm Given results obtained in recent times outside Nigeria vis a vis results obtained at home in Nigeria, should Nigeria ignore its historical home record and move its games away to places like Morocco? Discuss... :rotf: :rotf:
If the Moroccan government will pay for it, Pinnick will entertain the idea.

He has Uyo in Akwa Ibom... but he rather go elsewhere.

He hasn't seen awoof he didn't like.

Goalgetter

Post by Goalgetter »

Attributing that display to “just the playing surface” would be ignorant. That was the best-coached Naija team in history - across all age grades. The records will reflect that!
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?

Goalgetter wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 10:47 pm
Attributing that display to “just the playing surface” would be ignorant. That was the best-coached Naija team in history - across all age grades. The records will reflect that!
Admitting such would validate ****’s uselessness…so they are trying to deflect…

It's not one or the other.

Both pitch and Peseiros input are factors.

Just wait til we play Sao Tome in Abuja and see if we come close to 10 goals.

vancity eagle wrote: Tue Jun 14, 2022 1:52 am It's not one or the other.

But clearly Peseiros input is a much bigger factor since ****s team played many a time on good pitches, from ANC/WC qualifiers to friendlies to ANC and World Cup proper over 6 years and his team rarely ever looked like this…

maceo4 wrote: Tue Jun 14, 2022 2:31 am

But clearly Peseiros input is a much bigger factor since ****s team played many a time on good pitches, from ANC/WC qualifiers to friendlies to ANC and World Cup proper over 6 years and his team rarely ever looked like this…
How often did Rohr team play on pitches like today.

Even the much lauded Uyo is not close to today's.

People act like Rohrs teams never played good attacking football? That's a lie.

Nigeria 4 Lesotho 2
Nigeria 4 Cameroon 0
Nigeria 4 Argentina 2
Nigeria 4 Libya 0
Nigeria 3 Algeria 1
Nigeria 4 Sierra Leone 4
Nigeria 3 Lesotho 0

Those were all games where we played well offensively.

Yes there were many games that were poor, which is why I believe Rohr was rightfully fired. But the idea his team NEVER played good attacking ball with movement is a lie.

Let's hope Peseiro just continues to get SE to play this way and we reach a level of consistency.

vancity eagle wrote: Tue Jun 14, 2022 3:21 am

Nigeria 4 Lesotho 2
Nigeria 4 Cameroon 0
Nigeria 4 Argentina 2
Nigeria 4 Libya 0
Nigeria 3 Algeria 1
Nigeria 4 Sierra Leone 4
Nigeria 3 Lesotho 0

Yes there were many games that were poor, which is why I believe Rohr was rightfully fired. But the idea his team NEVER played good attacking ball with movement is a lie.

Let's hope Peseiro just continues to get SE to play this way and we reach a level of consistency.
Often enough to make conclusions, his teams have played many a time on good South African pitches, good Russian pitches, good Polish, English, Ukrainian, Singapore pitches etc…and nobody said he never played good footie, but never to this level of offensive freedom regardless of opponent. We literally had the ball in the net like 13-14 times and should have probably scored 16.

maceo4 wrote: Tue Jun 14, 2022 1:16 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Tue Jun 14, 2022 3:21 am

Nigeria 4 Lesotho 2
Nigeria 4 Cameroon 0
Nigeria 4 Argentina 2
Nigeria 4 Libya 0
Nigeria 3 Algeria 1
Nigeria 4 Sierra Leone 4
Nigeria 3 Lesotho 0

Often enough to make conclusions, his teams have played many a time on good South African pitches, good Russian pitches, good Polish, English, Ukrainian, Singapore pitches etc…and nobody said he never played good footie, but never to this level of offensive freedom regardless of opponent. We literally had the ball in the net like 13-14 times and should have probably scored 16.
:clap: Mace,

Beyond the above, you could go back to the Cameroon game, we did not dominate possession inspite of the margin. We were just more clinical. I remember we noted this and compared it to Amodu's teams that did the same under avalanche of complaints. Only in the second half of that 4-2 Argentina game, if I remember correctly, did Nigeria overwhelm offensively. Note also, that it had something to do with Rohr changing the formation to an attacking one. Something he rarely did during his tenure. After that, he reverted to the fear and the safety of a defensive shell.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

The NFF are a bunch of backward amateurs that don’t have a clue and it’s always going to come round and bite them.