DOES NIGERIA HAVE PROBLEMS PLAYING TACTICALLY?

Argentina has beaten us like 5 times in the WC. Even when the
Argies were extremely poor in 2018, we could not be trusted to
get the job done.

The same Saudi that has some of the most horrible WC defeat records
have just beaten a near poor Argentina under Herve Renard, whose
previous jobs with CIV, Zambia and Morocco have proven him to be
astute enough. Ironically, it's not as if Saudi Arabia were exactly
spectacular but only played a horrible Argentina. Don't be surprised if
Saudi loses to Mexico and Poland later on. But the thing can Nigeria
even beat a horrible big name in a setting like the WC?

We have our little successes in football but could we have done better?
I'm beginning to think players are more of the issue with us. Do we have
players who can actually set egos, big man-ism, gifting aside and play
tactically for the team and get results? Just last week, Dennis was fighting
to play a penalties.

I still remarked last week that our player have a penchant for not playing
for the SE the way they play at their clubs. Some of the thing Moses Simon
does in SE shirt will bench him in Nantes. Why can't we play tactically for
the sake of the team? Is it a thing in our football DNA or something our
players pick up in their developments or that we often don't have coaches
who will put their feet down and bench players who don't play for the team?
We've suffered too many near misses of late?
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
delisyomie don
Re: DOES NIGERIA HAVE PROBLEMS PLAYING TACTICALLY?

Post by delisyomie don »

corruption is like a virus affecting every sector in Nigeria, people that know nothing about football running football in Nigeria lol football should be removed from Nigeria at the moment because it causes more sadness to Nigerian people that love football.
thanks

anointed wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 1:58 pm Argentina has beaten us like 5 times in the WC. Even when the
get the job done.

to play a penalties.

anointed,

So we can really take a one sample to reach conclusions? Bros, in any serious research you will need far more samples to reach any meaningful conclusions. Is this possibly an outlier? You do not know and neither do I. In my view, there are no simple answers., WE have to see more of this Saudi Arabian team to draw any meaningful conclusion and so also should we see more of Argentina at this World Cup. I would not jump to any conclusion with such a small sample of one.

Was their a heat effect? Was it a one off situation? I just do not know. There needs to be more data for sure.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

anointed wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 1:58 pm Argentina has beaten us like 5 times in the WC. Even when the
get the job done.

to play a penalties.

Bro, Herve Renard is a great coach and game reader. he is practically Hoodle/Oliseh without the ego. i expected the Saudi's to surprise Argentina - not to win but to get a draw or lose narrowly...

Part of the SE problem is the burden of expectation....against Argentina, the fans and the nation will expect them to win without any logical reasoning behind it...that used to be England's problem as well....

Same, I expected the Saudis to do well against Argentina.

There is merit to this thread. This was no random occurrence. Herve PLANNED this. Can Nigeria execute tactics is a valid question.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
scholl

Post by scholl »

No, nothing associated with location 419 warrants the term “tactical”. When you have a people, predisposed to a faith and hope culture, you end up with a mentally weak population. Miracles, without the work required, are what people are conditioned to.

It’s not uncommon to hear; If our coach was this and that, “if only that player didn’t do this or that”, “we will bounce back with this young team and see this as a part of the development”. Mumu country :laugh:

delisyomie don wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 2:20 pm corruption is like a virus affecting every sector in Nigeria, people that know nothing about football running football in Nigeria lol football should be removed from Nigeria at the moment because it causes more sadness to Nigerian people that love football.
..the bane of our problems. It will take a very long time to eradicate.

Enyi wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 3:47 pm
get the job done.

to play a penalties.

Bro, Herve Renard is a great coach and game reader. he is practically Hoodle/Oliseh without the ego. i expected the Saudi's to surprise Argentina - not to win but to get a draw or lose narrowly...

Part of the SE problem is the burden of expectation....against Argentina, the fans and the nation will expect them to win without any logical reasoning behind it...that used to be England's problem as well....
Why on earth do you guys keep mentioning Oliseh? What has he done? What has he ever achieved as a coach and what experience does he have?

Nigeria can do it with a tactically sound, hardworking, and football disciplined coach like Renard, but the likes Rohr, Oliseh, Eguavoen, and the one you guys have now (I didnt even memorize his name), not so much. Coaches set the tone for how a team trains, organizes, and plays. This Renard they try sha, AFCON cup with Zambia and CIV, took Morrocco to world cup, and now this. He has balls of steel.

Well, the reality is that VAR played a great role in this game as well. For the first time, we saw the VAR have a monumental impact on football. Saudi Arabia sends its GIFT.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Without VAR Argentina would have won today by 3 or 4 goals.
scholl

Post by scholl »

vancity eagle wrote: Wed Nov 23, 2022 4:24 am Without VAR Argentina would have won today by 3 or 4 goals.
VAR or not, as usual, Argentina would still beat the mentally weak location 419 football team.

Enugu II wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 2:49 pm
get the job done.

to play a penalties.

anointed,

So we can really take a one sample to reach conclusions? Bros, in any serious research you will need far more samples to reach any meaningful conclusions. Is this possibly an outlier? You do not know and neither do I. In my view, there are no simple answers., WE have to see more of this Saudi Arabian team to draw any meaningful conclusion and so also should we see more of Argentina at this World Cup. I would not jump to any conclusion with such a small sample of one.

Was their a heat effect? Was it a one off situation? I just do not know. There needs to be more data for sure.
Kpom and more Kpom.
As soon as I saw the Saudi outcome vs Argentina I knew that negative parallels would be drawn about the SE.
The fact of the matter is games can turn on a pin head and the world would have been a different place if for example Ighalo had scored his near-open net chance or the ref hadn’t bottled it and given what was a clear penalty against Argentina when we played then in 2018. Those two incidents probably changed the narrative and hence the trajectory of the SE for years.

Argentina seem to struggle in the group stages and every time they’ve played us they’ve laboured to win, going as far back as ‘94. This was Saudi’s moment and kudos to them, they were able to ride it. Argentina could have been 2-0 up but for an offside hand or arm and it would probably have been a totally different story. Small decisions, big impact.

I don’t know the SE problem right now but it’s nothing to do with “brains” or “DNA”. That’s just funny.
The issue is likely multi factorial.

delisyomie don wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 2:20 pm corruption is like a virus affecting every sector in Nigeria, people that know nothing about football running football in Nigeria lol football should be removed from Nigeria at the moment because it causes more sadness to Nigerian people that love football.
Actually focused on whether our players have the capacity to play
tactically together, like they do in their clubs. Or is it the coaches
that aren't good enough? Argentina has beaten us 5 times and us I
for one hold Rohr responsible for the 2018 loss when Argentina was
there for the taking.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

Enugu II wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 2:49 pm
get the job done.

to play a penalties.

anointed,

I will regard it as an outlier for now. Saudi may have declared a PH to savour
this victory but they have to get past Poland and Mexico, which I'm not
foreseeing now.

But I'm just saying that Saudi was able to beat a poor Argentina side while we
couldn't. All we needed was to keep our match a draw in 2018 but we eventually
lost. In 1994, we had Italy by the jugular only to for the Italians to snatch victory
from the jaws of defeat. Is it the players or coach?

I get pissed off when players like Moses Simon can't thread easy passes. Ademola
Lookman does the same thing. They don't do these idiocies at their clubs. When I
Herve Renard won AFCON with Zambia and CIV, it was purely on defensive tactics.
Attacking football can get you goals but defensive tactics win you matches. Can we
trust our players to be tactical for the team in 90 minutes and not showboat, avoid
cards, not make mistakes... just look at goalies against Tunisia and Ghana this year?
I remember we failed to qualify for the WC in 2006, we drew with Angola in Nigeria to
a mistake by Vincent Enyeama. Can we not make these errors?

Tbite wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 4:06 pm Same, I expected the Saudis to do well against Argentina.

There is merit to this thread. This was no random occurrence. Herve PLANNED this. Can Nigeria execute tactics is a valid question.
Exactimundo!!!

gochino wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 4:53 pm
Enyi wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 3:47 pm
get the job done.

to play a penalties.

Why on earth do you guys keep mentioning Oliseh? What has he done? What has he ever achieved as a coach and what experience does he have?
Stopped reading there, bro.

oscar52 wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 5:22 pm Nigeria can do it with a tactically sound, hardworking, and football disciplined coach like Renard, but the likes Rohr, Oliseh, Eguavoen, and the one you guys have now (I didnt even memorize his name), not so much. Coaches set the tone for how a team trains, organizes, and plays. This Renard they try sha, AFCON cup with Zambia and CIV, took Morrocco to world cup, and now this. He has balls of steel.
I'm somewhat convinced about Renard too. The track record is there unlike Rohr
and Gbeseiro. Gbeseiro actually was in charge of the same Saudi when they missed
the WC in 2010, the only one they've missed since 1994. He probably probably got
job because he can afford to not get paid as and when due.

If Renard laid down the gauntlet, would our players fall in line and not be prima
donnas they often are? And, if not, can he bench or shut them out out. Not that
we are anywhere getting Renard but I will be disappointed of Emmanuel Dennis
is invited to the SE again.

According to Mozez Praiz, "iyalaya anybody can be beaten".

Why are we not claiming big scalps and why are minnows claiming
us as big scalps?

Japan don do am.
Goalgetter

Post by Goalgetter »

The answer to the question is “an unequivocal yes!” Nigerian players make very poor decisions at critical moments of a game, lack discipline, and generally lack full fitness (they are completely tired after 75 minutes), and lack concentration. We see this over and over again, across generations.
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?

anointed wrote: Wed Nov 23, 2022 12:57 pm
oscar52 wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 5:22 pm Nigeria can do it with a tactically sound, hardworking, and football disciplined coach like Renard, but the likes Rohr, Oliseh, Eguavoen, and the one you guys have now (I didnt even memorize his name), not so much. Coaches set the tone for how a team trains, organizes, and plays. This Renard they try sha, AFCON cup with Zambia and CIV, took Morrocco to world cup, and now this. He has balls of steel.
I'm somewhat convinced about Renard too. The track record is there unlike Rohr
and Gbeseiro. Gbeseiro actually was in charge of the same Saudi when they missed
the WC in 2010, the only one they've missed since 1994. He probably probably got
job because he can afford to not get paid as and when due.

If Renard laid down the gauntlet, would our players fall in line and not be prima
donnas they often are? And, if not, can he bench or shut them out out. Not that
we are anywhere getting Renard but I will be disappointed of Emmanuel Dennis
is invited to the SE again.
They will. They fell in line with Keshi and they fall in line at their clubs. Its when players dont believe in a coach's ability or system that they start rebelling the most. Heck, they fell in line for Rohr, he just wasn't a championship coach like that.

NO matter who is hired to coach the SE, our problem is 'having too many cooks in the kitchen',
and add to that, overhyped and un-committed players.
If the NFF can hire a decent coach, pay him on time and don't interfere with his decisions, then
can we begin to have stability and regain our poise.

Japan against Germany showed a lot of what we lack on the field - focus, cohesion, and
team discipline
. No matter how Japan finish in Qatar, if they keep this up the players and
fans will have nothing to be ashamed of.