Video : 'His mother is Nigerian' - Argentina fans sing racist song about Mbappe

A racist song sung by Argentina supporters against the players of the French national team, Kylian Mbappe in particular, was broadcast live from Qatar on Tuesday by Argentine sports channel TyC Sports.

According to Spanish sports newspaper Mundo Deportivo, the broadcast had to be interrupted when the embarrassed journalist heard the lyrics as he was interviewing the Argentina fans.

The song mocked the African origins of several players named in France's 2022 World Cup squad and contained homophobic slurs.

More than half of the players France manager Didier Deschamps took to Qatar could have opted to play international football for an African nation if they wished including Axel Disasi (Congo), Jules Koundé (Benin), Matteo Guendouzi (Morocco), Aurélien Tchouaméni (Cameroon), Ousmane Dembélé (Mali), Randal Kolo Muani (Congo), Youssouf Fofana (Mali), Steve Mandanda (DR Congo), William Saliba (Cameroon), Dayot Upamecano (Guinea-Bissau), Ibrahima Konaté (Mali), Eduardo Camavinga (Angola) and Mbappe (Nigeria/Cameroon/Algeria).

The Argentina fans sang : "Spread the word, they play in France but are all from Angola. How beautiful, they are going to run. They like transvestites like that wh*re Mbappé. His mother is Nigerian, his father is Cameroonian, but on the document he has French nationality."

The 23-year-old Mbappe scored a brace and provided an assist in France's 4-3 win over Argentina at the 2018 World Cup.

https://www.allnigeriasoccer.com/read_n ... ?nid=45536
gosh
Re: Video : 'His mother is Nigerian' - Argentina fans sing racist song about Mbappe

Post by gosh »

What exactly is wrong with Mbappe having Nigerian/Cameroonian parents of African descent? What does that have to do with his skills?
All these chants I guess happened because he single-handedly beat Argentina silly 4 years ago?
Have these Argentines checked their backgrounds themselves? Many arrived in Argentina after fleeing Nazi Germany intending to form a whites-only society there only to fail.
And oh, I am sure if France met them again they will still lose.
Whatever you are chasing is also chasing you!
Re: Video : 'His mother is Nigerian' - Argentina fans sing racist song about Mbappe

I don't think it's racist, they are making fun of the French for only getting help from "African" players.

Mr. Piffington wrote: Mon Nov 21, 2022 4:44 am I don't think it's racist, they are making fun of the French for only getting help from "African" players.
Hopefully that is the case but never trust this Argentina people.

kajifu wrote: Mon Nov 21, 2022 1:35 pm
Mr. Piffington wrote: Mon Nov 21, 2022 4:44 am I don't think it's racist, they are making fun of the French for only getting help from "African" players.
I don't trust the Argies either (for getting rid of their black population), but this is not racist.
It's typical banter between nations unless you think there is something wrong with coming from Nigeria

Rawlings wrote: Mon Nov 21, 2022 4:53 pm
kajifu wrote: Mon Nov 21, 2022 1:35 pm
I don't trust the Argies either (for getting rid of their black population), but this is not racist.
It's typical banter between nations unless you think there is something wrong with coming from Nigeria

I agree

That’s the way I see it. I’m not sure how pointing out a man’s African heritage amounts to a racist taunt. Unless of course there’s a negative qualifier added to the African reference.
We’ve made jest of the French national team in exactly the same way here on CE.

I

...until African learn to hit back, and stop crying victim hood.
Just chant back at them Argies, that they are all descendants of German Nazis and let's see how they take it.

mcal wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 4:53 am ...until African learn to hit back, and stop crying victim hood.
Just chant back at them Argies, that they are all descendants of German Nazis and let's see how they take it.
If confronted by Argie racists, good response.
If it’s just football banter, no need to race to the bottom.

France ‘98. Nigeria vs Spain. Parc de Princes, Paris. .
I was dressed in my full Naija colours, hat and scarf included. I had arrived very early and popped back out to the stadium’s car park to get something just as three busloads of Spanish fans were pulling up, shouting something at me in Spanish about Nigeria. I was immediately on my guard, expecting a barrage of racist abuse. I was alone and as they jumped and headed in my direction, I feared the worst.
Next thing they were surrounding me posing for pictures and shaking my hand. Of course, they were predicting the inevitable Spanish victory. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
I could easily have misread the situation and started hurling abuse right back at them.
Big mistake.

Damunk wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 6:15 am
mcal wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 4:53 am ...until African learn to hit back, and stop crying victim hood.
If confronted by Argie racists, good response.
If it’s just football banter, no need to race to the bottom.

France ‘98. Nigeria vs Spain. Parc de Princes, Paris. .
I was dressed in my full Naija colours, hat and scarf included. I had arrived very early and popped back out to the stadium’s car park to get something just as three busloads of Spanish fans were pulling up, shouting something at me in Spanish about Nigeria. I was immediately on my guard, expecting a barrage of racist abuse. I was alone and as they jumped and headed in my direction, I feared the worst.
Next thing they were surrounding me posing for pictures and shaking my hand. Of course, they were predicting the inevitable Spanish victory. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
I could easily have misread the situation and started hurling abuse right back at them.
Big mistake.
...true not to jump to conclusion, but hey I love how MBS boys beat dem Nazis today :D :D

They paid for it today. Thanks Saudi Arabia :clap: :clap:

Some Africans stupid sha. Look at some of them in CE claiming it was not a racist action. Tufiakwa! Always wanting to be validated by whites. Slaves!
Donzman

Post by Donzman »

I do not see the racism to be honest. It's mostly mocking France.
Donzman

Post by Donzman »

highbury wrote: Wed Nov 23, 2022 3:41 am Some Africans stupid sha. Look at some of them in CE claiming it was not a racist action. Tufiakwa! Always wanting to be validated by whites. Slaves!
What is racist about it? At least help us here.

Fascists racists can't move on from what Mbappe did to them in 2018.

Damunk wrote: Mon Nov 21, 2022 9:15 pm
That’s the way I see it. I’m not sure how pointing out a man’s African heritage amounts to a racist taunt. Unless of course there’s a negative qualifier added to the African reference.
We’ve made jest of the French national team in exactly the same way here on CE.

I
It’s like the difference between a black man using the N word and a white man using the N word. Yes, we make fun of the French for fielding mostly African players but unlike Argentina, we haven’t exterminated black people. Context matters a great deal. Besides, there’s the reference to transvestites implying that Black French players are transvestites❗️

kendo

Post by kendo »

They weren't implying that the players are transvestites. They were calling Mbappé's partner a transvestite.

Is the song racist? I can see how some would see it that way. And maybe there's tone-deafness on the Argies side.
Also I think maybe the song points out the irony of the French national team having a lot of African origin players. (Of course there's reasoning behind why that is) but overall I think it's banter. Quite rude but still banter.

Overall the song is really directed at Mbappé himself.
Anyone that can fry 3 sets of plantain without putting any in their mouth can keep a secret.

this video is making the rounds again.

This is a racist chant, are some of you on CE so naïve ?

gosh wrote: Mon Nov 21, 2022 4:13 am What exactly is wrong with Mbappe having Nigerian/Cameroonian parents of African descent? What does that have to do with his skills?
All these chants I guess happened because he single-handedly beat Argentina silly 4 years ago?
Have these Argentines checked their backgrounds themselves? Many arrived in Argentina after fleeing Nazi Germany intending to form a whites-only society there only to fail.
And oh, I am sure if France met them again they will still lose.
Correction: They were Nazis fleeing judgment at Nuremberg who went to hide in South America

Does it make a difference that his mother is actually a white Algerian? Stupid chant, hopefully Mbappe and France will stick it to them on Saturday.

I thought people here kept saying that France was an African team? What's the difference here?

kalani JR wrote: Sat Dec 17, 2022 4:56 am I thought people here kept saying that France was an African team? What's the difference here?
a white man said it.