USA tipped to steal Arsenal starlet from England's grasp to become World Cup poster boy

Folarin Balogun is yet to receive a call-up to England's senior team despite his stunning form.

By ROBERT MANN
11:05, Wed, Feb 22, 2023 | UPDATED: 11:19, Wed, Feb 22, 2023

Folarin Balogun faces a big decision over his international future (Image: Getty)

Reims forward Folarin Balogun, who remains eligible to play for England, Nigeria and the US men's national team, has a big decision to make on his future. The 21-year-old, who was born in New York, has been in fine form this season - and international teams are expected to soon start swirling for his services.

With 15 goals in 23 matches, Balogun sits tied in first place in the Ligue 1 scoring charts alongside Lille's Jonathan David and Paris Saint-Germain's Kylian Mbappe.

The 21-year-old, who is on loan at the northern French side from Arsenal, has yet to decide on which country he will represent at international level.

A decision on his international allegiance could be made in the next year, and his eye-catching performances in France could see a strong push from Gareth Southgate's England.

However, according to some, the USMNT and Nigeria could offer more playing time and room to build a legacy, even if they haven't performed as well in recent international tournaments.

He has represented England at U17, U18, U20 and U21 level but is yet to make a senior appearance (Image: Getty)

Although Balogun is remaining coy for now, US fans are doing everything they can to convince him to choose the USMNT over anyone else.

Several comments under his latest posts on Twitter include emojis of the United States flag, as well as pleas for him to make the switch back to his home country ahead of the 2026 World Cup.

Those messages are now being relayed by former USA international Eric Wynalda, who has given Balogun three different reasons to snub England in favour of a return to the Stars and Stripes.

In 2000, Wynalda retired from the United States national team as its all-time leading goalscorer and believes Balogun is the answer to their current issues in attack.

USA icon Erik Wynalda wants the Reims scoring machine to choose the stars and stripes (Image: Getty)

He told The Action Network's Wondergoal Podcast: "If we get Folarin Balogun we solve a lot of problems. I'm impressed with everything about him. The power that he has, the timing of his runs."

Wynalda then explained how the US can turn Balogun's head by offering a star role at the World Cup and beyond.

He added: "If you look at the circumstances that he's in and the team he's playing for, they're mid-table and he's playing for a manager that's 30 years old and the club have to pay a £20,000 ($25,000) fine because he doesn't have a licence to coach at that level.

"We have to appeal to his ego which is the reality of this. We should let him know that he will be a star. An absolute star at a World Cup, in his own country as he was born in New York."

The Arsenal prodigy was born in New York and is eligible to represent the United States (Image: Getty)

Wynalda concluded that if Balogun opts for England, he won't become a star - whereas he will with the US.
He affirmed: "We need to lock him in with some sponsors too. He will be a star with us. He won't necessarily be a star with England.

"It will come down to how important it is for him to be in the spotlight. That's the only chance we've got to get him. Everything from the Mastercards, the Budweisers, the Coca-Cola's, the big ones that will be sponsors of this World Cup. They have to figure out how to fit him into the budget.
"

https://www.express.co.uk/sport/footbal ... tball-news
Re: USA tipped to steal Arsenal starlet from England's grasp to become World Cup poster boy

However, according to some, the USMNT and Nigeria could offer more playing time and room to build a legacy, even if they haven't performed as well in recent international tournaments.
I am sorry, more playing time? For USMNT, I guess, since those ones have no good strikers.

However, the writer does realize that Nigeria's starting striker is better than any striker England has to offer, right? Balogun actually has a better chance of starting for England - especially longterm, with Kane about to move into nursing home era - than he has to play for Nigeria. Out first choice is 24 years old. After Kane retires, Balogun is competing with who? Tammy Abraham, Toney, Watkins, Carlvert-one-goal-this-season-lewin :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: He better go and play for England. :lol: :lol: :lol: (Rashford is a winger).
Re: USA tipped to steal Arsenal starlet from England's grasp to become World Cup poster boy

dude cannot even get a spot in the SE , we have Our Osimhen, Moffi, Kele, Sadiq, etc ... he better go choose the yanks
Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Thu Feb 23, 2023 3:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Feb 23, 2023 2:08 am dude cannot even get a spot in the SE , we have Our Osimhen, Moffi, Kele, Sadiq, etc ... he is better go choose the yanks
Apart from Osimhen none of those other strikers are particularly better than Folarin in any way, see how Moffi is struggling to settle at OGC Nice...don't get too arrogant, our strike force is not that spectacular.

Tbh, the best thing that could possibly happen to him is to join team USA. He’d have less competition and 100x the exposure, his commercial value would go up x 10,000%. He’d also avoid having to play tough games on rubbish pitches in 100 degree weather with high humidity. No must win games for him in Freetowm, Khartoum or Central African Republic. Unless he wants to fight for shirt and bonuses, he should stay da heck away from us. :laugh:

He should play for the country that he feels like he can help the most and simultaneously feels the need to help the most.

It is about what you can do for your country, not about what your country can do for you. This is not club football.

The second countries start looking like clubs, we have lost the plot.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Tobi17 wrote: Thu Feb 23, 2023 2:22 am
Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Feb 23, 2023 2:08 am dude cannot even get a spot in the SE , we have Our Osimhen, Moffi, Kele, Sadiq, etc ... he is better go choose the yanks
Apart from Osimhen none of those other strikers are particularly better than Folarin in any way, see how Moffi is struggling to settle at OGC Nice...don't get too arrogant, our strike force is not that spectacular.
So because Folarin is a foreigner, he is better? :roll: Moffi was the highest goal scorer, scord 12 goals and the wicked witch, BushBoy, added him to his Bush men and stole his destiny and here you are talking nonsense. But for bushboy, Moffi would still be highest goal scorer in France. :veryangry:

you really have no clue how football works, the guy just signed and has played what like 2 games? smh so he is a write off?
in fact Folorin is listed as the 3rd highest scorer behind Davids and Kylian due to his low numbers in assist . how many of his goals are from the PK spot? I await your clueless response

Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Feb 23, 2023 4:25 pm
you really have no clue how football works, the guy just signed and has played what like 2 games? smh so he is a write off?
in fact Folorin is listed as the 3rd highest scorer behind Davids and Kylian due to his low numbers in assist . how many of his goals are from the PK spot? I await your clueless response
Sadly Tobi has always been clueless.

let me help the clueless tobi
Folarin has 15 goals this season and 5 were from the PK spot
https://www.transfermarkt.com/folarin-b ... 204&stand=

now for Moffi, he has 12 goals and only one was a PK
https://www.transfermarkt.com/terem-mof ... 204&stand=

smh

The impression I have is the NFF moves too slowly in recruiting the higher performing foreign born players. Always better to have more options rather than less. With the exception of Osimhen, Balogun is at the very least on par or with our other CF options.

olu wrote: Thu Feb 23, 2023 9:27 pm The impression I have is the NFF moves too slowly in recruiting the higher performing foreign born players. Always better to have more options rather than less. With the exception of Osimhen, Balogun is at the very least on par or with our other CF options.
Too slowly? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Left to some here, they shouldn’t move at all. :roll:

there is a slow toad on this thread..... bobo don pick race

I tire oh! Naija get mouth eh! They have forgotten that Osimhen is injury prone

gochino wrote: Mon Feb 27, 2023 8:31 pm
you are delusional. Moffi has scored 14 league goals and 13 of those goals were not PKs... this Folarin has scored 15 goals, and 5 of those goals were penalty kicks. now run tell that

Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Feb 27, 2023 8:40 pm
you are delusional. Moffi has scored 14 league goals and 13 of those goals were not PKs... this Folarin has scored 15 goals, and 5 of those goals were penalty kicks. now run tell that
So won't it be an advantage to have more than one quality striker in that position??

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Feb 23, 2023 3:05 am Tbh, the best thing that could possibly happen to him is to join team USA. He’d have less competition and 100x the exposure, his commercial value would go up x 10,000%. He’d also avoid having to play tough games on rubbish pitches in 100 degree weather with high humidity. No must win games for him in Freetowm, Khartoum or Central African Republic. Unless he wants to fight for shirt and bonuses, he should stay da heck away from us. :laugh:

It is you that is injury prone. :curse: :curse:

:bump: :blink: :blink: :blink: :blink: Tobi no be am for this forum at all, Moffi has since scored 3 goals

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Mar 12, 2023 4:53 pm
:bump: :blink: :blink: :blink: :blink: Tobi no be am for this forum at all, Moffi has since scored 3 goals
Anyone who knows Tobi will tell you sey the guy no be am, anywhere. Very disappointing boy.