Nigeria vs Equatorial Guinea : (1-1) OSimhen FT

Re: Nigeria vs Equatorial Guinea : (1-1) OSimhen FT

Cellular wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 4:54 pm
Cellular wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 4:51 pm

I have asked repeatedly why no one is talking about how poor our striking efficiency is.
We know about how poor the goalie is.
But the strikers have been poor as well.
I have mentioned it in the past.

And let me reiterate, it is not even a country issue. Our strikers have poor efficiency for their clubs as well. But they manage to be workhorses so it glosses over the efficiency.

Osimhen is a workhorse, Boniface assists when he doesn't score, Ademola Lookman has long droughts, Samu chukwueze still hasn't figured out efficiency obviously, Awoniyi I'll have to double check the stat's as I have watched him a bit less than the others, but I think he plays with a bit more urgency with his chances, for club that is. Simon Moses....a bit like the others.

Nigeria doesn't really breed efficient forwards. Osimhen is truly versatile. The thing that let's him down is more the technique. Many people like Henry have said that I believe. His technique is not as high as his level of play.

I was just watching Ronaldinho in the first half break...that guy was what you call pure technique. It seems like he didn't even develop it. He was using perfect technique at PSG!

The way he would just nudge the ball with the right foot. That type of technique Our strikers don't have.

Boniface has shown it a little, but not consistently.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Odas wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 5:01 pm
icee wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 4:56 pm Guess how many shots EQG had in goal ?
How many, please?
1 bro, their goal…what I’ve noticed, opponents will score their only chance, we will waste 5-10 before scoring 1…
Re: Nigeria vs Equitorial Guinea : (1-1) OSimhen

Coach wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 4:57 pm
txj wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 4:52 pm
green4life wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 4:48 pm Piooom. Disappointing result. Very disappointing.
Very hard for me to understand why we miss so many chances...
Composure. Concentration. The weight of a nation weighs more on the back than that of a city.

The Eagle must topple the Elephant. Seldom does one seize a crown without toppling kings of old and kings anew. If Nigeria have any intentions for the throne, they must beat those vying for the very same accolade.

If you are a top player you finish your chances. We are not asking anybody to be Jesus Christ...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

cruxifixoy2k wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 4:59 pm Bring the best coach in the world, the result will remain the same. We're no longer a great footballing nation and we've got below average players.
Exactly what I have been saying to myself all these years. I strongly believe our problem is NOT our coaches.

airwolex wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 5:02 pm Na wa oh. Me i see serious potential. To think we were going to leave Yusuf out. That boy is like Kante. Their keeper played a blinder to be honest. We have something we can build on, the game was never going to be easy.
i think this was the best game Paseiro has had for the SE. We build on this, i just hope Yusuf is fit. imagine Yusuf and Ndidi ..oh boy ... that is a dream DM/CM combo for the SE

packerland wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 4:52 pm
Tbite wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 4:48 pm Draw king Drawse Drawseiro.

Hired by the NFF to get us draws
At times a draw can be worse than a defeat. We drew 2 WCQ games which netted us 2 pts. You lose one of those matches and win the other you come out with 3pts. At this rate we might draw all our thee matches and crash out.
Not banking on it but 4 of the best 3rd place teams qualify so it's possible (not guaranteed) to qualify to qualify with 3 draws
davidbam14

Post by davidbam14 »

cruxifixoy2k wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 4:59 pm Bring the best coach in the world, the result will remain the same. We're no longer a great footballing nation and we've got below average players.
Well said

maceo4 wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 5:01 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 4:58 pm
maceo4 wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 4:52 pm
Naija4lyfe wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 4:48 pm Year after year the same issues, our players lack football IQ, and can't position themselves make good rooms
When I mention how important someone like Kelechi is to us some people don’t get it. He makes the best decisions in the final third and can execute his desired play with deadly accuracy. The other ones are hustlers and gra gra players, even Osimhen is majorly a gra gra player if we are being honest. They are brainless work horses. Boniface and Lookman have the potential to help in the brains department but this is just so frustrating. Waste of a Sunday….
hopefully he is fit. however if this is a waste of your sunday, then you need help ooo . This is football this match is done, on to the next. You people need to learn how to move on to the next and fix the issues , instead of crying . Keep blaming the players, instead of the coach who you people refuse to pay
I could have gone to church bro, begged wifey to stay home for this mess.
You saved the family your portion of the offering. Go carry am chop mamaput. I do my own church inside house.. :taunt:

danfo driver wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 4:44 pm Dammy, how is Aribo doing? E be like sey e no fit run anymore. :lol: :lol: the so-called 6 games he played doesnt seem to have helped his fitness. What do you think? :lol: :lol:
Mr anti-Dubai, how did Yusuf who you said would not see a minute of action do? :lol:

green4life wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 4:48 pm Piooom. Disappointing result. Very disappointing.

its not hard. You said you are a student, so I'd assume you'd be able to see it easily -- the issue is that there is no accountability in the team. There is no standard. Players know that no matter what happens, they will play the next game. If the coach sets high standards and there is accountability, like in their clubs, the players will know whats up! But there isnt. Sit in Div 2 and you still get invited. Miss chances and you play next game. Whats the motivation?

maceo4 wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 5:03 pm
Odas wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 5:01 pm
icee wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 4:56 pm Guess how many shots EQG had in goal ?
How many, please?
1 bro, their goal…what I’ve noticed, opponents will score their only chance, we will waste 5-10 before scoring 1…
Certainly a very bad combination of factors, for sure

Osimhen missed that by at least 30 cm.

I think more but I dont want to dig up the footage.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Odas wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 5:03 pm
Exactly what I have been saying to myself all these years. I strongly believe our problem is NOT our coaches.
The same coach that refused to call Alhassan until injury forced his hand? The one that has been playing 4-2-4 until today when he decided to play 4-3-3? Stop it if na joke.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

When Osimhen has to much time to think, he loses a bit of composure. But trust me that boy is pure gold. He did so many good things in the game, plus let's not forget he scored. Sure, I wish he was more like Kane, but Kane does not provide the pure menace factor that he brings.

maceo4 wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 5:01 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 4:58 pm
Naija4lyfe wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 4:48 pm Year after year the same issues, our players lack football IQ, and can't position themselves make good rooms
When I mention how important someone like Kelechi is to us some people don’t get it. He makes the best decisions in the final third and can execute his desired play with deadly accuracy. The other ones are hustlers and gra gra players, even Osimhen is majorly a gra gra player if we are being honest. They are brainless work horses. Boniface and Lookman have the potential to help in the brains department but this is just so frustrating. Waste of a Sunday….
hopefully he is fit. however if this is a waste of your sunday, then you need help ooo . This is football this match is done, on to the next. You people need to learn how to move on to the next and fix the issues , instead of crying . Keep blaming the players, instead of the coach who you people refuse to pay
I could have gone to church bro, begged wifey to stay home for this mess.
I not fit miss church for football. I begged wifey for us to go to the earlier (7am) mass. :mrgreen:

Naija4lyfe wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 4:58 pm
Yeah I agree about Kelechi and also Iwobi. Osimhen is frustrating at times even at his club, he lacks positioning and awareness but will yell at the other players
Yeap but because of our lack of quality CMs we force Iwobi to stay far from goal so he has less of an impact on the final third. Even with that he played some beautiful balls like the one Vic wasted.

aruako1 wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 4:50 pm Peseiro is a terrible coach. We should have sacked him before the tournament.
Ok

danfo driver wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 5:06 pm

its not hard. You said you are a student, so I'd assume you'd be able to see it easily -- the issue is that there is no accountability in the team. There is no standard. Players know that no matter what happens, they will play the next game. If the coach sets high standards and there is accountability, like in their clubs, the players will know whats up! But there isnt. Sit in Div 2 and you still get invited. Miss chances and you play next game. Whats the motivation?

The sitters are not being missed by Div 2 players. They are being missed by those you identify as top individuals...
Lets call it what it is! Osimhen has been extremely wasteful for Nigeria. Going all the way back to Rohr...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Moffi was not there today. We were drawing and needed a goal, and Musa as NOT even brought in!! He literally only brought Chukwueze. Musa who was invited to take a spot did not even get a look. Whats the point of having a player in the team that you wouldnt trust to come in, simply because he is your friend?

txj wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 5:02 pm
Coach wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 4:57 pm
Composure. Concentration. The weight of a nation weighs more on the back than that of a city.

The Eagle must topple the Elephant. Seldom does one seize a crown without toppling kings of old and kings anew. If Nigeria have any intentions for the throne, they must beat those vying for the very same accolade.

If you are a top player you finish your chances. Its as simple as that bro...
I can overlook others BUT that Osimhen miss was CRIMINAL.

Eguavoen's team was far superior.

Did anyone noticed all the players that came in from the bench added nothing to the team? All bunch of dead weight!

Lolly wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 5:07 pm
Odas wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 5:03 pm
The same coach that refused to call Alhassan until injury forced his hand? The one that has been playing 4-2-4 until today when he decided to play 4-3-3? Stop it if na joke.
:smile: :smile: :smile: :smile: Ok, Lolly, it is stopped