Boniface fit in current system

Assuming Vic is starts every game. What role could Boniface play in the current 343?
Would he be able to play either of the wing positions? Or, is that when we change to the 352? Interesting times ahead when all the strikers return.
Re: Boniface fit in current system

Bayern Leverkusen also plays 3-4-3(3-4-2-1).
If Boniface was available, I'm certain there are games he would have started ahead of Osimhen. Or at least he would have been brought on early enough in the second half.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Feb 04, 2024 6:45 pm Assuming Vic is starts every game. What role could Boniface play in the current 343?
Would he be able to play either of the wing positions? Or, is that when we change to the 352? Interesting times ahead when all the strikers return.
He doesn’t have a role in this current setup unless you remove one of Moses or Lookman. The way Lookman and Koses are defending, I don’t think Boniface can match that. Watch his club matches and you will see that he jogs a lot when his teammate doesn’t have the ball.

but serious the coach is over playing VO9.
Perhaps the should only 45 minutes in the nxt game.

naijaguy wrote: Sun Feb 04, 2024 6:56 pm Bayern Leverkusen also plays 3-4-3(3-4-2-1).
If Boniface was available, I'm certain there are games he would have started ahead of Osimhen. Or at least he would have been brought on early enough in the second half.
You should team up David Chapelle on his comedy your. :rotf:
onovo

Post by onovo »

ANC wrote: Sun Feb 04, 2024 6:59 pm but serious the coach is over playing VO9.
Perhaps the should only 45 minutes in the nxt game
Not only Osimehn, the other players as well. I quite understand Peseiro is trying to be safe. Ideally, I would have expected one change in the starting line-up that played against Angola relative to the Cameroon game. This would bring fresh leg into the team and prevent fatigue and injury.
onovo

Post by onovo »

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Feb 04, 2024 6:45 pm Assuming Vic is starts every game. What role could Boniface play in the current 343?
IMHO, Peseiro is only trying to use the 343 formation to first build confidence and a winning culture into his team. Once this is achieved he will revert to a more attacking football. The 343 is working for now, but I don't think it will be a long-term football style for Nigeria. The likes of Boniface, Iheanacho, etc. would still most likely play alongside Osimehn.

What on earth are you guys on about? What major tournament do you rest your stars in elimination games?

deanotito wrote: Sun Feb 04, 2024 7:56 pm
What on earth are you guys on about? What major tournament do you rest your stars in elimination games?

No mind ANC. That’s his level of knowledge.

Boniface, like Iheanacho would be best utilized in a 352.

Unfortunately he doesn't really fit into this system.

Unless we are in search of a goal and bring him in for Simon late on.

True, he looked really exhausted at the end of the Angola game never seen him so tired.

bros, perhaps he should have done it earlier.
VO9 was completely spent in the Angola game.
I am not saying to bench VO9, but he should not be playing all these minutes.

Presumably you missed Onuachi's attempted step-overs a few days back. Reminiscent of a drunk Denilson in stilettos, in that very instance, the reason became all the more obvious.

onovo wrote: Sun Feb 04, 2024 7:15 pm
IMHO, Peseiro is only trying to use the 343 formation to first build confidence and a winning culture into his team. Once this is achieved he will revert to a more attacking football. The 343 is working for now, but I don't think it will be a long-term football style for Nigeria. The likes of Boniface, Iheanacho, etc. would still most likely play alongside Osimehn.
I doubt it from the way he has talked about the formation. I agree that he is using it to build confidence, but he also asked what Nigeria has won playing a more offensive formation with two strikers. If he wins this cup, I would be shocked if he reverts to anything else unless forced to late in game when they are chasing a match.

Coach wrote: Sun Feb 04, 2024 8:45 pm
Presumably you missed Onuachi's attempted step-overs a few days back. Reminiscent of a drunk Denilson in stilettos, in that very instance, the reason became all the more obvious.
You dis man sef :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

ANC wrote: Sun Feb 04, 2024 8:29 pm

Perhaps that’s more VO’s fault than the coach..?

Let’s look at any major tournament of the last several years…

How much did Mbappe rest in 22?
How much did Messi rest?

I mean, can’t remember any major tournament where resting your stars is a part of any coach’s calculations.

I personally don’t even like resting your team for the 3rd group game (if you’ve qualified). You come to a tournament like this to fight and win. You can’t be thinking about resting your best players

metalalloy wrote: Mon Feb 05, 2024 12:39 am
I doubt it from the way he has talked about the formation. I agree that he is using it to build confidence, but he also asked what Nigeria has won playing a more offensive formation with two strikers. If he wins this cup, I would be shocked if he reverts to anything else unless forced to late in game when they are chasing a match.
Honestly, he’d be a fool to change what has worked. To please who?

deanotito wrote: Mon Feb 05, 2024 12:40 am

How much did Messi rest?

I mean, can’t remember any major tournament where resting your stars is a part of any coach’s calculations.

I personally don’t even like resting your team for the 3rd group game (if you’ve qualified). You come to a tournament like this to fight and win. You can’t be thinking about resting your best players
the way, SE plays is a lot on VO9 and Ademola Lookman.
bringing Paul with 10 min left in the game does not count.
The team is clearly tired, as they were making sloppy mistakes in the last game.

deanotito wrote: Mon Feb 05, 2024 12:42 am
metalalloy wrote: Mon Feb 05, 2024 12:39 am
Honestly, he’d be a fool to change what has worked. To please who?
VE and ANC. :laugh:

How much did Messi rest?

Mbappe and Messi aren’t known for their workrate

Synopsis wrote: Mon Feb 05, 2024 1:52 am

How much did Messi rest?

Mbappe and Messi aren’t known for their workrate
Players known for their work rate aren’t usually players asking to be rested. Think through any major tournament and tell me the star that was rested on the way to the final. Even Nwabali looked tired after Angola…rest him too?

I think you all are just projecting on Osimhen. Let the coach decide, but I’d be shocked if Osimhen was too tired to go

1naija wrote: Mon Feb 05, 2024 2:29 am

i said perhaps