WCQs CAF Group C Watch

Re: WCQs CAF Group C Watch

We can go at least joint top if we beat South Africa tonite

3 clear goals victory are needed to be solely on top by goals difference.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

Same Zimbabwe that outplayed us under Pisseiro, and some clowns here.are in love with their useless massa cause he's European.
olumide

Post by olumide »

Nigeria are lucky with the way the group has progressed so far. No one has pulled away at all or maintained consistent results. Two wins from two would put them in a very good position to qualify. We could so easily be in a situation where SE is going into the South Africa match 7 points adrift of the top spot. Just have to take care of our own business.

South Africa 3 Zimbabwe 1
Lesotho 0 Rwanda 1

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Tue Jun 11, 2024 6:59 pm South Africa 3 Zimbabwe 1
Lesotho 0 Rwanda 1

is it over for us based on this standing?
delisyomie don

Post by delisyomie don »

Tobi17 wrote: Tue Jun 11, 2024 7:01 pm
Lesotho 0 Rwanda 1

yes is over unless those teams are mumu.
thanks

Lesotho 0 Rwanda 1

It would have been better if Zimbabwe defeated SA and the Lesotho match end in a draw. But there is only 4 points between us and the 3 leaders with 18 points still to play for. But it’s a very slim chance.

And I don’t think Finidi is the right person to give us that slim chance. So we have to choose between keeping Finidi and hoping that he can build a good team for the next AFCON knowing that the World Cup race is over for us or go for broke and get in a very good coach who I would have about 9 months to prepare for the next World Cup qualifiers.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

delisyomie don wrote: Tue Jun 11, 2024 7:05 pm
Lesotho 0 Rwanda 1

We still have to play Rwanda, Benin at home and Lesotho and SA away. If we had a good team, all of them are beatable but not with the current team and coach.

There are indeed remarkable stories from these World Cup qualifiers. See also how Kwasi Appiah is working magic, thus far, with the Sudan. They lead the group just ahead of Senegal. having dropped points in just one drawn game out of four.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Lesotho 0 Rwanda 1

Blessed is he who does not expect for he shall not be disappointed.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

anointed wrote: Tue Jun 11, 2024 7:21 pm
Lesotho 0 Rwanda 1

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Anointed, abeg commot dis your statement oooo!
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Still so many games to play,just 4 played and 6 more to go.

Is one or two teams that got qualify for each group?

kajifu wrote: Tue Jun 11, 2024 8:06 pm Is one or two teams that got qualify for each group?
Top only.

The best 4 second placed teams (from 9 groups) goes into a playoff and the team that wins would play against a team from another zone for just one place.

OJI

Post by OJI »

E don reach that stage!

Plan B selected (out of many plans, and naturally in descending order).

Apart from what Nigeria has to do (for now, win their next 2 matches), what combinations abi permutations would be needed for Rwanda, South Africa, and Benin to each lose at least 1 of their 2 upcoming qualifying matches?

Lolly wrote: Tue Jun 11, 2024 7:09 pm
delisyomie don wrote: Tue Jun 11, 2024 7:05 pm
Lesotho 0 Rwanda 1

We still have to play Rwanda, Benin at home and Lesotho and SA away. If we had a good team, all of them are beatable but not with the current team and coach.
Don't hold your breath because indecisive NFF will wait till the 11th hour to make any real positive changes. This is the point where it's that tactical substitutions made by the Federation that will count and not the coach's. If we had a good NFF then it's not over. With those bozos repeating the way they have been acting, then no WC appearance ever for Osimhen & co surely.

Enugu II wrote: Tue Jun 11, 2024 7:27 pm
anointed wrote: Tue Jun 11, 2024 7:21 pm
Lesotho 0 Rwanda 1

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Anointed, abeg commot dis your statement oooo!
I no lie nah

Kabalega wrote: Sat Jun 08, 2024 8:52 pm Image
...unbelievable. This is like a nightmare dream, need to pinch myself :shock: :shock:

A whole Lesotho is leading Nigeria, the giant of Africa, 3x champions :shock: :shock: :shock:

mcal wrote: Wed Jun 12, 2024 2:25 pm
...unbelievable. This is like a nightmare dream, need to pinch myself :shock: :shock:

A whole Lesotho is leading Nigeria, the giant of Africa, 3x champions :shock: :shock: :shock:
Relax, that was after 3/10 games. Lesotho is still ahead of Nigeria after 4 games though. :)

Kabalega wrote: Wed Jun 12, 2024 10:33 pm

Relax, that was after 3/10 games. Lesotho is still ahead of Nigeria after 4 games though. :)
...but still...who be Lesotho?

Well, stranger things have happened in football so this shouldn't come as a shock, especially when you factor in the disgraceful and shoddy preparations by the NFF. There's no entitlement for being the "giant of Africa", you've got to do the talking on the pitch, and right now we're just not good enough.

No cause for alarm. 2 wins in March puts us right back in it🤔❗️