Osimhen - Finidi Consolidated Thread
Re: "Osimhen is a Nobody" -- Enugu Rangers League Winning Manager
All this stupid Senior man nonsense.
Emulate some proper societies. Perhaps the United States...not sure, do some research, certainly not Britain with all their 5th century Lordships and estates.
Status...such nonsense. Output, product, and something to be held accountable to daily. You want to tell me being a 94 eagle or being APOY is somehow going to shape your code of conduct?
Nonsense. A person must always hold themselves accountable to the law of the land, the protocols that they are signatory to etc. Regardless of who they are.
Certainly in all countries, there will be some unfortunate examples where this is not adhered to for various reasons. However, in Nigeria, we do not even make an effort. At every juncture, people abuse their power. Every single juncture. It's just sad. It is almost impossible to find a single Nigerian that doesn't throw their status and power around like a cave man weilding a big stick.
Emulate some proper societies. Perhaps the United States...not sure, do some research, certainly not Britain with all their 5th century Lordships and estates.
Status...such nonsense. Output, product, and something to be held accountable to daily. You want to tell me being a 94 eagle or being APOY is somehow going to shape your code of conduct?
Nonsense. A person must always hold themselves accountable to the law of the land, the protocols that they are signatory to etc. Regardless of who they are.
Certainly in all countries, there will be some unfortunate examples where this is not adhered to for various reasons. However, in Nigeria, we do not even make an effort. At every juncture, people abuse their power. Every single juncture. It's just sad. It is almost impossible to find a single Nigerian that doesn't throw their status and power around like a cave man weilding a big stick.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
...no, in Nigerian parlance money talks, therefore they see Osi-boy as rich, richer than the coach or any one at the NFA.
Many Nigerians are plain stupid, morality has gone to gutters.
Re: Osimhen fumes on live stream over Finidi comment
...how is it a closed-training with all that crowd in the stand?Sleaky72 wrote: ↑Tue Jun 18, 2024 7:22 amI’m not defending Osimhen but bust ups happen all the time in training. I’m wondering how this even leaked out? Something isn’t right If this was a closed training sessionwiseone wrote: ↑Mon Jun 17, 2024 12:03 pm Osimhen is among the top 3 center forwards in the world and one of the most sought after players in the world too. This video shows how difficult it is to manage some modern players.
I recall that in 2022 Napoli’s manager Spaletti expelled Osimhen from training due to his attitude. He needs to be careful to avoid getting a reputation for being what they describe in the game as “a bomb scare”.
The quote was taken out of context, but the man is correct overall.
Osimhen had an emotional outburst posted to the internet that is not befitting of someone at his professional level.
The best way to address something like that is to first confirm from credible sources that the comments are true and not just junk reporting. Then, he should have addressed the criticisms in a matter-of-fact way, sharing the same facts he revealed but without the emotion. And that would have been the end of it.
If Finidi did make the criticism, Osimhen needed to address it, as it was now in the public domain, but with facts and not emotion.
So I agree that Osimhen needs to apologise to Finidi, NFF, and SE fans for his outburst.
Osimhen had an emotional outburst posted to the internet that is not befitting of someone at his professional level.
The best way to address something like that is to first confirm from credible sources that the comments are true and not just junk reporting. Then, he should have addressed the criticisms in a matter-of-fact way, sharing the same facts he revealed but without the emotion. And that would have been the end of it.
If Finidi did make the criticism, Osimhen needed to address it, as it was now in the public domain, but with facts and not emotion.
So I agree that Osimhen needs to apologise to Finidi, NFF, and SE fans for his outburst.
- airwolex
Why do you feel the urge to attack Nigerians all the time?Tbite wrote: ↑Tue Jun 18, 2024 8:03 am All this stupid Senior man nonsense.
Why do some of you Nigerians who live abroad feel the need to shite on Nigeria? To feel better about yourself?
That's the way the man feels. We have our own culture and way of doing things and many people feel Finidi should be given respect on the basis of his age and accomplishment for the Nation fullstop.
BTW, Osimhen is not a nobody but if he can dish it he should be ready to take it.
- airwolex
Re: NFF should Suspend Osimhen…
Social Media age. A good reason why things should have been handled privately. A teachable moment for all. Osimhen should not be suspended, that's madness.
If he doesn't apologize. He should be banned not suspended. If he apologizes, a stern warning. A teachable moment.
Why?
So Osimhen is now bigger than his coach? Osimhen is now bigger than Nigeria?
We are that desperate to qualify for the WC that it’s now ok to have a player disrespect his coach over unverified news on social media?
Common Man let’s have/show some respect here!
Before Osimhen walked, Finidi Ran…
Suspending Osimhen will send a big disciplinary message to the rest of the team. No more taking the SE call ups for granted. You come late to camp without a valid reason, you get benched and risk future call ups.
My problem is with the NFF, how can you install discipline when the headmaster himself is not disciplined.
Babalawo,Babalawo wrote: ↑Tue Jun 18, 2024 12:29 pmWhy?
So Osimhen is now bigger than his coach? Osimhen is now bigger than Nigeria?
We are that desperate to qualify for the WC that it’s now ok to have a player disrespect his coach over unverified news on social media?
Common Man let’s have/show some respect here!
Before Osimhen walked, Finidi Ran…
Suspending Osimhen will send a big disciplinary message to the rest of the team. No more taking the SE call ups for granted. You come late to camp without a valid reason, you get benched and risk future call ups.
My problem is with the NFF, how can you install discipline when the headmaster himself is not disciplined.
I think you are missing something here that makes this situation different.
Osimhen clearly is a respectful individual, never mind his hyper personality. First he took extraordinary measures to ensure that his situation was not misinterpreted. He called his manager - this was not denied. The manager gave him an okay to miss the game. To protect himself ( perhaps based on previous experience), he had the conversation with his manager recorded (he claimed).
To then read that, after all the measures he took, that his manager doubted his injury had to be the last straw and he expexploded The problem, however, is that he should have verified the report concerning the manager. That is the problem -- not verifying the report. However, it should be clear that the player took the steps that were expected regarding an injury.
For me, this is simply a teachable moment.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
- danfo driver
a tale told by an id10t, full of sound and fury, signifying nothing (Macbeth)
I ask again, what is he apologizing for? The only person he laid serious curses on was you and other people who believed the story.
- danfo driver
Which coach? He doesnt have a coach in the national team.
Additionally, what did Osimhen say about Finidi? I dont know why you guys are desparately trying to avoid this point.

What did Osimhen say about Nigeria. The only people he insulted in the video were you, Ohenhen and your ilk.Osimhen is now bigger than Nigeria?
How did he disrespect Finidi. And what did he say?a player disrespect his coach over unverified news on social media?
P.s- at the time of Osimhen's video, Finidi had resigned, so Finidi was no longer his coach.
Well, I'd hope so. Considering FInidi is 53 years old and Victor is 25.Before Osimhen walked, Finidi Ran…

Or a revolt?Suspending Osimhen will send a big disciplinary message to the rest of the team.
So you are punishing Osimhen for imaginary offenses? how cute.No more taking the SE call ups for granted. You come late to camp without a valid reason, you get benched and risk future call ups.
Nigerians are always shouting about indiscipline. Thats why you guys went and got Onigbinde to humiliate us at a world cup. One thing most of you Nigerians do not understand is that your old way of thinking is obsolete. Thats why many of their wives and children fight back and go outside to do rubbish behind their backs.My problem is with the NFF, how can you install discipline when the headmaster himself is not disciplined.
Mutual respect > discipline.
Hope you learn a thing or two here.
- danfo driver
Thank you for the lecture. Now, list Finidi's personal achievements.theDunamis wrote: ↑Tue Jun 18, 2024 6:26 amdanfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Jun 18, 2024 3:16 amCould you please list Finidi's personal achievements? not the ones his teammates won and he hung on? thanks.
Football is a team sports. A player's personal achievements that do not translate to helping the team win mean very little comparatively. Many a football player will tell you that they will trade a personal achievement like winning the golden boot in a World Cup tournament for lifting the WC trophy itself with their team. One's personal achievements in football starts from what one contributed to helping the team achieve before one's vanity achievements start to matter.

As they say, once man begin talk too much when e dey toast woman, you know sey the man no get money

- danfo driver
Thanks for posting his personal achievement. So according to you:packerland wrote: ↑Tue Jun 18, 2024 6:34 am
His teammate won? The guy scored in the semifinals of that Champions League they won. A 5-2 dismantling of Bayern Munich.
Osimhen:
- won the AFOY,
- is the highest African goal scorer ever in the history of Serie A (George Weah and Eto'o were strikers in Serie A)
- is the highest scoring African in a single Serie A season (George Weah and Eto'o were strikers in Serie A)
- was voted 8th best player in the world.
Finidi
- scored in the semifinals of the CL

- danfo driver

You guys need to go out more. You read a news article about a short ugly rotten teeth man who no one has heard about before yesterday and assumed he represents "the fans?"

- danfo driver
You no even remember the man name. Thought he was a somebody?

- danfo driver
Re: Osimhen fumes on live stream over Finidi comment
Sleaky is mentally ill. Take it easy with him
mcal wrote: ↑Tue Jun 18, 2024 9:08 am...how is it a closed-training with all that crowd in the stand?Sleaky72 wrote: ↑Tue Jun 18, 2024 7:22 amI’m not defending Osimhen but bust ups happen all the time in training. I’m wondering how this even leaked out? Something isn’t right If this was a closed training sessionwiseone wrote: ↑Mon Jun 17, 2024 12:03 pm Osimhen is among the top 3 center forwards in the world and one of the most sought after players in the world too. This video shows how difficult it is to manage some modern players.
I recall that in 2022 Napoli’s manager Spaletti expelled Osimhen from training due to his attitude. He needs to be careful to avoid getting a reputation for being what they describe in the game as “a bomb scare”.
- theDunamis
danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Jun 18, 2024 2:31 pmThank you for the lecture. Now, list Finidi's personal achievements.![]()
As they say, once man begin talk too much when e dey toast woman, you know sey the man no get money![]()
The blocker here is your comprehension deficit.
A player's personal achievements that do not translate to helping the team win mean very little comparatively.
In English, a soccer player's most important personal achievements are his contributions that take his team to the trophy. He is playing in a team sport and the goal in team sports is to help the team win. Period! Finidi's personal achievements have brought him and his teams multiple league titles, a Champions League title, and an AFCON title.
Tbite wrote: ↑Tue Jun 18, 2024 7:53 am Nigerians are very strange and unusual when it comes to this type of thing. It is Nigerian culture. Nigerians are obsessed with titles, status, big names etc. This individual thinks the issue is that Osimhen is not big enough or thay Finidi is big enough conversely.
I this issue should have nothing whatsoever to do with Finidi's accomplishments or Osimhen's. In a proper society this boils down to only one thing "Code of conduct". That is it.
It makes no difference if Finidi died on the cross to create Nigerian football or if Osimhen is the Sultan of Sokoto and the Emir of Kano combined, or if on the flip side Osimhen is a pauper, a beggar with only one appearance in football.
Nigerians and their obsession with status....OT is so sad. Focus on the real things. What is the code of conduct, who violated what.
Our people obsess so much with all these stupid status games and get distracted from the real world. Nigerians need to begin to live in the real world. It is what you do that matters. Not who you are. In this case what you do referring to the appropriate conduct and roles. Please nobody play a cheap game.of trying to explain to me how the role influences how the conduct is shaped or rules are meted. It goes without saying.
It's one of the reason why I have made so many enemies on CE and could care less. Nigerian status games are something I laugh at. They are for fools.
It is a stupid part of our culture that needs to be thrown into the garbage bin. We need to become a more practical society.
Well said at its, well said!
Anyway I don’t expect someone who drives a Danfo to see things clearly.
An Uber Driver like 1Naija cannot be seen spewing such rubbish night and day against Finidi.
- jungle-jawara
packerland wrote: ↑Tue Jun 18, 2024 2:28 amYou need to stop! If you want to yab Finidi the coach, I’ll join you, but the man has an impressive resume. All you did was list personal accolades for Osimhen. This website is for Nigerian football and team achievement will always trump individual achievement. Right now the only thing Osimhen has in that dept is winning Serie A unless you want to count youth tournament. Finidi won the Eredivisie 3x, won the champions league once and got to the final a second time only for his team to lose on PK. The guy also won the Euefa Supercup, Intercontinental Cup, AFCON, scored the goal that got us to our 1st WC and even scored a WC goal & assist. I still think the ‘94 sets should stay away from coaching but that doesn’t me we should disrespect them.danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Jun 18, 2024 1:45 amThese are all team achievements.
Osimhen has won the AFOY,
Osimhen is the highest African goal scorer ever in the history of Serie A (George Weah and Eto'o were strikers in Serie A)
Osimhen is the highest scoring African in a single Serie A season (George Weah and Eto'o were strikers in Serie A)
Osimhen was voted 8th best player in the world.
Finidi NEVER SMELLED any of these. Finidi is not up to Osimhen's level.
And watch how you shifted the goal post.
- danfo driver
The issue here is who is the bigger player!theDunamis wrote: ↑Tue Jun 18, 2024 2:46 pmdanfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Jun 18, 2024 2:31 pmThank you for the lecture. Now, list Finidi's personal achievements.![]()
As they say, once man begin talk too much when e dey toast woman, you know sey the man no get money![]()
The blocker here is your comprehension deficit.
A player's personal achievements that do not translate to helping the team win mean very little comparatively.
In English, a soccer player's most important personal achievements are his contributions that take his team to the trophy. He is playing in a team sport and the goal in team sports is to help the team win. Period! Finidi's personal achievements have brought him and his teams multiple league titles, a Champions League title, and an AFCON title.
If we used your logic, you will tell us that Finidi is bigger than Weah

Weah is bigger than Finidi because of his personal achievements. Simple as that. And so is Osimhen, he is bigger than Finidi in every aspect.
- danfo driver
Imagine Babalawo, a common native doctor whose office is inside the bush and whose main goal in life is to drain people off their life savings, using lies, blood and rotten egg is talking to a danfo driver, whose main goal is to help people reach their destination in life.
Please next time you want to talk to me, leave that bush and come out! If you can
And commot that rotten egg you tied around your neck.
Please next time you want to talk to me, leave that bush and come out! If you can

- danfo driver
jungle-jawara wrote: ↑Tue Jun 18, 2024 2:52 pmpackerland wrote: ↑Tue Jun 18, 2024 2:28 amYou need to stop! If you want to yab Finidi the coach, I’ll join you, but the man has an impressive resume. All you did was list personal accolades for Osimhen. This website is for Nigerian football and team achievement will always trump individual achievement. Right now the only thing Osimhen has in that dept is winning Serie A unless you want to count youth tournament. Finidi won the Eredivisie 3x, won the champions league once and got to the final a second time only for his team to lose on PK. The guy also won the Euefa Supercup, Intercontinental Cup, AFCON, scored the goal that got us to our 1st WC and even scored a WC goal & assist. I still think the ‘94 sets should stay away from coaching but that doesn’t me we should disrespect them.danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Jun 18, 2024 1:45 amThese are all team achievements.
Osimhen has won the AFOY,
Osimhen is the highest African goal scorer ever in the history of Serie A (George Weah and Eto'o were strikers in Serie A)
Osimhen is the highest scoring African in a single Serie A season (George Weah and Eto'o were strikers in Serie A)
Osimhen was voted 8th best player in the world.
Finidi NEVER SMELLED any of these. Finidi is not up to Osimhen's level.
And watch how you shifted the goal post.

Molue Driver,danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Jun 18, 2024 2:34 pmThanks for posting his personal achievement. So according to you:packerland wrote: ↑Tue Jun 18, 2024 6:34 am
His teammate won? The guy scored in the semifinals of that Champions League they won. A 5-2 dismantling of Bayern Munich.
Osimhen:
- won the AFOY,
- is the highest African goal scorer ever in the history of Serie A (George Weah and Eto'o were strikers in Serie A)
- is the highest scoring African in a single Serie A season (George Weah and Eto'o were strikers in Serie A)
- was voted 8th best player in the world.
Finidi
- scored in the semifinals of the CL
Club Football:
Finidi and his TEAM won the Dutch League
Finidi and his Team won the Dutch super Cup
Finidi and his team won the UCL
Osimhen and his Team won the Seria A
Nigerian Football:
-Findi and his Team won the ANC 94
-Finidi and his team Qualified for the WC
-Finidi and his team got to the WC knock off stage only losing to an Italian side that went all the way to the Finals!
-Finidi and his team took Nigeria to 5th place in FIFA Ranking.
-Osimhen and the Nigerian team…
ANC final 2024
??!!!!!????? Crickets…..
APOY? The same thing Kanu, Okocha et al used in wiping their butts year in year out? Please!