Rio Ngumoha
Re: Rio Ngumoha
It’s funny how people always think they can find gold in Nigeria as though God flew over Nigeria and sprinkled gold all over the place. Oga, how many 15,16,17, 18 yrs old Nigerian players, better yet African and non South American or Euro players have you ever seen that had the talent, composure and maturity displayed in the video of Ngumoha?Bell wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 1:53 amALL RESPECT, packerland...no disrespect to Morocco but I hope Nigeria doesn't start treating it as a role model. What about blazing another trail, putting the same effort in unearthing the Rio's left in Nigeria? Why always copying what others are doing?packerland wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 8:55 amInstead of taking useless London trips, can they visit Morocco and figure out how they’re recruiting their dual nationals. I can see Morocco women matching what their men did at the WC in the next 8-16 years.Damunk wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 8:03 amThe NFF should get Okocha and Iwobi to go visit him and befriend his parents.kbt wrote: ↑Tue Jul 09, 2024 7:57 pmIf he is indeed Nigerian, we cannot let him slip. He's 15 and already played for Chelsea U21 and also trained with the senior team. For Liverpool and other top teams chasing him like that, he must have something.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Tue Jul 09, 2024 2:07 pm Don’t waste your time folks. We’ve never ever caught a real innit ever.
They should have a policy of wooing prodigies like this wherever they are to be found in the world, like Morrocco do.
I don’t even understand why Chelsea would agree to let this kid transfer to Liverpool.
Are they stupid or something?
Thats a very very rare talent that can only be found in structured environments that are designed to nurture and develope the talent. You are not going to find such talent under the bridge in Ajegunle or Benin city fields displaying such level of sophistication. If you do find such talent it’ll be at academies or NPFL teams and they are not likely to be of elite quality yet.
This Ngumoha kid is a cerebral player, an orchestrator and a creative player of the highest quality. I’ve been following SE since 94 WC. The only Nigerian players I’d put in that category at a young age is Mikel.
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 3:17 amIt’s funny how people always think they can find gold in Nigeria as though God flew over Nigeria and sprinkled gold all over the place. Oga, how many 15,16,17, 18 yrs old Nigerian players, better yet African and non South American or Euro players have you ever seen that had the talent, composure and maturity displayed in the video of Ngumoha?Bell wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 1:53 amALL RESPECT, packerland...no disrespect to Morocco but I hope Nigeria doesn't start treating it as a role model. What about blazing another trail, putting the same effort in unearthing the Rio's left in Nigeria? Why always copying what others are doing?packerland wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 8:55 amInstead of taking useless London trips, can they visit Morocco and figure out how they’re recruiting their dual nationals. I can see Morocco women matching what their men did at the WC in the next 8-16 years.Damunk wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 8:03 amThe NFF should get Okocha and Iwobi to go visit him and befriend his parents.kbt wrote: ↑Tue Jul 09, 2024 7:57 pmIf he is indeed Nigerian, we cannot let him slip. He's 15 and already played for Chelsea U21 and also trained with the senior team. For Liverpool and other top teams chasing him like that, he must have something.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Tue Jul 09, 2024 2:07 pm Don’t waste your time folks. We’ve never ever caught a real innit ever.
They should have a policy of wooing prodigies like this wherever they are to be found in the world, like Morrocco do.
I don’t even understand why Chelsea would agree to let this kid transfer to Liverpool.
Thats a very very rare talent that can only be found in structured environments that are designed to nurture and develope the talent. You are not going to find such talent under the bridge in Ajegunle or Benin city fields displaying such level of sophistication. If you do find such talent it’ll be at academies or NPFL teams and they are not likely to be of elite quality yet.
This Ngumoha kid is a cerebral player, an orchestrator and a creative player of the highest quality. I’ve been following SE since 94 WC. The only Nigerian players I’d put in that category at a young age is Mikel.
KNOW WHY YOU DON'T FIND THEM?...Because you don't look. And when you find them, you don't nurture them. To say such players can only be found outside Africa is both demoralizing and quite revealing. It helps explain some of your posts. It suggests you have no faith in current Nigeria or that it can ever become something. Many of us are not happy with the situation in Nigeria today but are willing to work to uplift lift it.

Pls don’t twist my words, It’s not just Nigeria. What I’m try to get across is that a 15yrs old elite talent at Chelsea going to Liverpool is not just natural talent. It’s a nurtured, crafted and carefully developed talent. You don’t find those types of players just looking for talent anywhere, they’re found in highly structured environments dedicated to the development of talent not in recreational settings. If he’s this technically skilled at 15yrs, I’ll bet that he was discovered much younger and has been under top coaching for yrs.Bell wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 3:57 amEMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 3:17 amIt’s funny how people always think they can find gold in Nigeria as though God flew over Nigeria and sprinkled gold all over the place. Oga, how many 15,16,17, 18 yrs old Nigerian players, better yet African and non South American or Euro players have you ever seen that had the talent, composure and maturity displayed in the video of Ngumoha?Bell wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 1:53 amALL RESPECT, packerland...no disrespect to Morocco but I hope Nigeria doesn't start treating it as a role model. What about blazing another trail, putting the same effort in unearthing the Rio's left in Nigeria? Why always copying what others are doing?packerland wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 8:55 amInstead of taking useless London trips, can they visit Morocco and figure out how they’re recruiting their dual nationals. I can see Morocco women matching what their men did at the WC in the next 8-16 years.Damunk wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 8:03 amThe NFF should get Okocha and Iwobi to go visit him and befriend his parents.kbt wrote: ↑Tue Jul 09, 2024 7:57 pmIf he is indeed Nigerian, we cannot let him slip. He's 15 and already played for Chelsea U21 and also trained with the senior team. For Liverpool and other top teams chasing him like that, he must have something.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Tue Jul 09, 2024 2:07 pm Don’t waste your time folks. We’ve never ever caught a real innit ever.
KNOW WHY YOU DON'T FIND THEM?...Because you don't look. And when you find them, you don't nurture them. To say such players can only be found outside Africa is both demoralizing and quite revealing. It helps explain some of your posts. It suggests you have no faith in current Nigeria or that it can ever become something. Many of us are not happy with the situation in Nigeria today but are willing to work to uplift lift it.
TO QUOTE YOU..."they’re found in highly structured environments dedicated to the development of talent not in recreational settings."I agree with you and it is precisely such an environment I'm proposing for Nigeria.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 4:15 amPls don’t twist my words, It’s not just Nigeria. What I’m try to get across is that a 15yrs old elite talent at Chelsea going to Liverpool is not just natural talent. It’s a nurtured, crafted and carefully developed talent. You don’t find those types of players just looking for talent anywhere, they’re found in highly structured environments dedicated to the development of talent not in recreational settings. If he’s this technically skilled at 15yrs, I’ll bet that he was discovered much younger and has been under top coaching for yrs.Bell wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 3:57 amEMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 3:17 amIt’s funny how people always think they can find gold in Nigeria as though God flew over Nigeria and sprinkled gold all over the place. Oga, how many 15,16,17, 18 yrs old Nigerian players, better yet African and non South American or Euro players have you ever seen that had the talent, composure and maturity displayed in the video of Ngumoha?Bell wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 1:53 amALL RESPECT, packerland...no disrespect to Morocco but I hope Nigeria doesn't start treating it as a role model. What about blazing another trail, putting the same effort in unearthing the Rio's left in Nigeria? Why always copying what others are doing?packerland wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 8:55 amInstead of taking useless London trips, can they visit Morocco and figure out how they’re recruiting their dual nationals. I can see Morocco women matching what their men did at the WC in the next 8-16 years.Damunk wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 8:03 amThe NFF should get Okocha and Iwobi to go visit him and befriend his parents.

So how do we get any contacts in NFF to reach out to him quick? Someone here must have access.
I’m not sure the NFF is interested in getting foreign born players to play for Nigeria at this point in time. We have established players like Njinmah, Agu and Ehibizue, who have publicly declared their interest in playing for us yet nothing has been done to onboard them
The NFF would rather look for the next Tanimu that they will first ship to Tanzania and then to the lower rungs of football in Europe or North Africa. Players that can help with fill their pockets. I have been watching Nigeria for more than 3 decades, the NFF can't boast of a functional scouting department. One day God will deliver Nigeria and Nigerian football from the shackles of principalities.Dammy wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 9:42 amI’m not sure the NFF is interested in getting foreign born players to play for Nigeria at this point in time. We have established players like Njinmah, Agu and Ehibizue, who have publicly declared their interest in playing for us yet nothing has been done to onboard them
- TonyTheTigerKiller
Chelsea have their great white hope in Cole Palmer. They don’t think they need anyone elseDamunk wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 8:03 amThe NFF should get Okocha and Iwobi to go visit him and befriend his parents.kbt wrote: ↑Tue Jul 09, 2024 7:57 pmIf he is indeed Nigerian, we cannot let him slip. He's 15 and already played for Chelsea U21 and also trained with the senior team. For Liverpool and other top teams chasing him like that, he must have something.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Tue Jul 09, 2024 2:07 pm Don’t waste your time folks. We’ve never ever caught a real innit ever.
Are you certain? Are you not aware of the issue with Ehizibue? Additionally, how long does it take to get these players to actually play for Nigeria? While it is true that the current FA is not as bullish on these players as the previous FA, it would be incorrect to state that the NFF is no longer interested in such players.Dammy wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 9:42 amI’m not sure the NFF is interested in getting foreign born players to play for Nigeria at this point in time. We have established players like Njinmah, Agu and Ehibizue, who have publicly declared their interest in playing for us yet nothing has been done to onboard them
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Bell, so you agree with him but still think the nurtured talent we see in this kid is available if we look hard enough? Nurtured being the key word, not talentBell wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 4:23 amTO QUOTE YOU..."they’re found in highly structured environments dedicated to the development of talent not in recreational settings."I agree with you and it is precisely such an environment I'm proposing for Nigeria.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 4:15 amPls don’t twist my words, It’s not just Nigeria. What I’m try to get across is that a 15yrs old elite talent at Chelsea going to Liverpool is not just natural talent. It’s a nurtured, crafted and carefully developed talent. You don’t find those types of players just looking for talent anywhere, they’re found in highly structured environments dedicated to the development of talent not in recreational settings. If he’s this technically skilled at 15yrs, I’ll bet that he was discovered much younger and has been under top coaching for yrs.Bell wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 3:57 amKNOW WHY YOU DON'T FIND THEM?...Because you don't look. And when you find them, you don't nurture them. To say such players can only be found outside Africa is both demoralizing and quite revealing. It helps explain some of your posts. It suggests you have no faith in current Nigeria or that it can ever become something. Many of us are not happy with the situation in Nigeria today but are willing to work to uplift lift it.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 3:17 am
It’s funny how people always think they can find gold in Nigeria as though God flew over Nigeria and sprinkled gold all over the place. Oga, how many 15,16,17, 18 yrs old Nigerian players, better yet African and non South American or Euro players have you ever seen that had the talent, composure and maturity displayed in the video of Ngumoha?

Talent dey yanfu-yanfu
Does anyone remember this prodigious kid Ayomide Suleiman from 2018 when he was 14 years old?
Where is he today?
Many were really excited about his obvious talent.
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=287999
But like we keep saying, do we have the environment to fully nurture them? No.
By the way, he did play for one of the junior national teams, so he didn’t exactly get ignored.
But that elite nurturing is what we lack, is what you (and all of us) are proposing and is what is holding us back from getting the best out of our young footballers and athletes.
IT'S WHAT I'M (WE'RE) SAYING...First you need the structure to identify promising talent and early too. Second, you need the structure to nurture and develop these kids once found. It's bad enough that such a structure does not exist in Nigeria. What's even worse is that it doesn't seem to be even the distant thoughts of the NFF, and many of the posters here are not calling the NFF out for it. Instead they spend all their time in futile discussions of which Nigerian surnamed kid can be persuaded to switch allegiance. How difficult can it be to create such an enabling environment that Nigeria has not had one for so long?Damunk wrote: ↑Sun Sep 08, 2024 8:08 amBell, so you agree with him but still think the nurtured talent we see in this kid is available if we look hard enough? Nurtured being the key word, not talentBell wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 4:23 amTO QUOTE YOU..."they’re found in highly structured environments dedicated to the development of talent not in recreational settings."I agree with you and it is precisely such an environment I'm proposing for Nigeria.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 4:15 amPls don’t twist my words, It’s not just Nigeria. What I’m try to get across is that a 15yrs old elite talent at Chelsea going to Liverpool is not just natural talent. It’s a nurtured, crafted and carefully developed talent. You don’t find those types of players just looking for talent anywhere, they’re found in highly structured environments dedicated to the development of talent not in recreational settings. If he’s this technically skilled at 15yrs, I’ll bet that he was discovered much younger and has been under top coaching for yrs.Bell wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 3:57 amKNOW WHY YOU DON'T FIND THEM?...Because you don't look. And when you find them, you don't nurture them. To say such players can only be found outside Africa is both demoralizing and quite revealing. It helps explain some of your posts. It suggests you have no faith in current Nigeria or that it can ever become something. Many of us are not happy with the situation in Nigeria today but are willing to work to uplift lift it.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 3:17 am
It’s funny how people always think they can find gold in Nigeria as though God flew over Nigeria and sprinkled gold all over the place. Oga, how many 15,16,17, 18 yrs old Nigerian players, better yet African and non South American or Euro players have you ever seen that had the talent, composure and maturity displayed in the video of Ngumoha?
Talent dey yanfu-yanfu
Does anyone remember this prodigious kid Ayomide Suleiman from 2018 when he was 14 years old?
Where is he today?
Many were really excited about his obvious talent.
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=287999
But like we keep saying, do we have the environment to fully nurture them? No.
By the way, he did play for one of the junior national teams, so he didn’t exactly get ignored.
But that elite nurturing is what we lack, is what you (and all of us) are proposing and is what is holding us back from getting the best out of our young footballers and athletes.

packerland...first of all let me make it clear that I welcome anyone who can qualify to receive a Nigerian passport to seek to perticipate in Nigeria's athlectics. They have all legal rights for that and can only be limited by their ability.packerland wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 3:13 amBell,Bell wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 1:53 amALL RESPECT, packerland...no disrespect to Morocco but I hope Nigeria doesn't start treating it as a role model. What about blazing another trail, putting the same effort in unearthing the Rio's left in Nigeria? Why always copying what others are doing?packerland wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 8:55 amInstead of taking useless London trips, can they visit Morocco and figure out how they’re recruiting their dual nationals. I can see Morocco women matching what their men did at the WC in the next 8-16 years.Damunk wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 8:03 amThe NFF should get Okocha and Iwobi to go visit him and befriend his parents.kbt wrote: ↑Tue Jul 09, 2024 7:57 pmIf he is indeed Nigerian, we cannot let him slip. He's 15 and already played for Chelsea U21 and also trained with the senior team. For Liverpool and other top teams chasing him like that, he must have something.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Tue Jul 09, 2024 2:07 pm Don’t waste your time folks. We’ve never ever caught a real innit ever.
You have to do both. If you recruit foreign born players only snd don’t develop your local league or unearth talents then you’re wasting your time. And at the same time, you have to recruit your dual nationals to plug in holes here and there and also grab world class talents like Saka, Oliseh, Musiala if you can. My issue is that we’re not even getting dual nationals below the ones listed above to play for us. If Eze was from Morocco, he would’ve played for them a long time ago.
As for developing the local league, it's not impossible, requiring only imagination and courage, commodities that seem to be lacking. Avid visitors to this forum know that I have two standing proposals, one for a W. African regional league and an alternative Nigeria-only league.
The irony is that the best way to attract tier 1 players (not the current tier 2 which Nigeria is getting) is to (1) establish an air of professionalism and (2) create a team that's ready to win it all. That will surely attract these foreign born players because most people want to be part of a winning operation. The current shambolic environment of the NFF can only bring in an occasional foreign kid who's very unlikely to be tier-1. Ironically, if/when Nigeria becomes good, it's need for tier-1 players will be minimized.

West African regional league? Yes. Absolutely.Bell wrote: ↑Mon Sep 09, 2024 2:09 ampackerland...first of all let me make it clear that I welcome anyone who can qualify to receive a Nigerian passport to seek to perticipate in Nigeria's athlectics. They have all legal rights for that and can only be limited by their ability.packerland wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 3:13 amBell,Bell wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 1:53 amALL RESPECT, packerland...no disrespect to Morocco but I hope Nigeria doesn't start treating it as a role model. What about blazing another trail, putting the same effort in unearthing the Rio's left in Nigeria? Why always copying what others are doing?packerland wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 8:55 amInstead of taking useless London trips, can they visit Morocco and figure out how they’re recruiting their dual nationals. I can see Morocco women matching what their men did at the WC in the next 8-16 years.Damunk wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 8:03 amThe NFF should get Okocha and Iwobi to go visit him and befriend his parents.kbt wrote: ↑Tue Jul 09, 2024 7:57 pmIf he is indeed Nigerian, we cannot let him slip. He's 15 and already played for Chelsea U21 and also trained with the senior team. For Liverpool and other top teams chasing him like that, he must have something.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Tue Jul 09, 2024 2:07 pm Don’t waste your time folks. We’ve never ever caught a real innit ever.
You have to do both. If you recruit foreign born players only snd don’t develop your local league or unearth talents then you’re wasting your time. And at the same time, you have to recruit your dual nationals to plug in holes here and there and also grab world class talents like Saka, Oliseh, Musiala if you can. My issue is that we’re not even getting dual nationals below the ones listed above to play for us. If Eze was from Morocco, he would’ve played for them a long time ago.
As for developing the local league, it's not impossible, requiring only imagination and courage, commodities that seem to be lacking. Avid visitors to this forum know that I have two standing proposals, one for a W. African regional league and an alternative Nigeria-only league.
The irony is that the best way to attract tier 1 players (not the current tier 2 which Nigeria is getting) is to (1) establish an air of professionalism and (2) create a team that's ready to win it all. That will surely attract these foreign born players because most people want to be part of a winning operation. The current shambolic environment of the NFF can only bring in an occasional foreign kid who's very unlikely to be tier-1. Ironically, if/when Nigeria becomes good, it's need for tier-1 players will be minimized.

Long long overdue and urgently needed. Infact, I don’t see how we can improve without it. Lagos, Accra, Abidjan, Dakar, Banjul, Lome, Younde, Cotonou all should have rivalries and healthy competition. This would do wonders for local hotels, restaurants, transportation, Airlines and more. Unfortunately, I don’t see this been a Nff effort. The stadiums are there already. However you can make it happen, pls do.
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Mon Sep 09, 2024 2:24 amWest African regional league? Yes. Absolutely.Bell wrote: ↑Mon Sep 09, 2024 2:09 ampackerland...first of all let me make it clear that I welcome anyone who can qualify to receive a Nigerian passport to seek to perticipate in Nigeria's athlectics. They have all legal rights for that and can only be limited by their ability.packerland wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 3:13 amBell,Bell wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 1:53 amALL RESPECT, packerland...no disrespect to Morocco but I hope Nigeria doesn't start treating it as a role model. What about blazing another trail, putting the same effort in unearthing the Rio's left in Nigeria? Why always copying what others are doing?packerland wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 8:55 amInstead of taking useless London trips, can they visit Morocco and figure out how they’re recruiting their dual nationals. I can see Morocco women matching what their men did at the WC in the next 8-16 years.Damunk wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 8:03 amThe NFF should get Okocha and Iwobi to go visit him and befriend his parents.
Bell![]()
Long long overdue and urgently needed. Infact, I don’t see how we can improve without it. Lagos, Accra, Abidjan, Dakar, Banjul, Lome, Younde, Cotonou all should have rivalries and healthy competition. This would do wonders for local hotels, restaurants, transportation, Airlines and more. Unfortunately, I don’t see this been a Nff effort. The stadiums are there already. However you can make it happen, pls do.
PLEASANTLY SURPRISED TO GET YOUR SUPPORT, BUT...thanks. Yes, although this would not be an NFF effort - strictly private - it would require their involvement in some ways. Also, for purposes of a WA league, Nigeria would be the eastmost member, leaving out Cameroon. However, this could be treated as a test case, to be replicated by other regions in Africa and other non-European regions if successful.
Not all countries would necessarily have a team due to economic non-vialibility. Most countries may have two each and Nigeria potentially three. Current clubs will form a Div 2 league. FIFA should be supportive seeing it as a way to revvive soccer in dead regions.

I’d probably think cities not countries in this case even though the football federations cannot be overlooked. I wouldn’t waste time trying to strategize with failing states even though it’s necessary. It should be about the local teams competing in WA not them representing their country. It’s about Lagos, Enugu, Accra, Abidjan, Dakar, Lomé etc. I’m sure you know there’s already history there going back decades. Let’s move on from these failing states and focus on the locals.Bell wrote: ↑Mon Sep 09, 2024 5:53 amEMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Mon Sep 09, 2024 2:24 amWest African regional league? Yes. Absolutely.Bell wrote: ↑Mon Sep 09, 2024 2:09 ampackerland...first of all let me make it clear that I welcome anyone who can qualify to receive a Nigerian passport to seek to perticipate in Nigeria's athlectics. They have all legal rights for that and can only be limited by their ability.packerland wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 3:13 amBell,Bell wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 1:53 amALL RESPECT, packerland...no disrespect to Morocco but I hope Nigeria doesn't start treating it as a role model. What about blazing another trail, putting the same effort in unearthing the Rio's left in Nigeria? Why always copying what others are doing?packerland wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 8:55 amInstead of taking useless London trips, can they visit Morocco and figure out how they’re recruiting their dual nationals. I can see Morocco women matching what their men did at the WC in the next 8-16 years.Damunk wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 8:03 am
The NFF should get Okocha and Iwobi to go visit him and befriend his parents.
Bell![]()
PLEASANTLY SURPRISED TO GET YOUR SUPPORT, BUT...thanks. Yes, although this would not be an NFF effort - strictly private - it would require their involvement in some ways. Also, for purposes of a WA league, Nigeria would be the eastmost member, leaving out Cameroon. However, this could be treated as a test case, to be replicated by other regions in Africa and other non-European regions if successful.
Not all countries would necessarily have a team due to economic non-vialibility. Most countries may have two each and Nigeria potentially three. Current clubs will form a Div 2 league. FIFA should be supportive seeing it as a way to revvive soccer in dead regions.
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Mon Sep 09, 2024 7:32 amI’d probably think cities not countries in this case even though the football federations cannot be overlooked. I wouldn’t waste time trying to strategize with failing states even though it’s necessary. It should be about the local teams competing in WA not them representing their country. It’s about Lagos, Enugu, Accra, Abidjan, Dakar, Lomé etc. I’m sure you know there’s already history there going back decades. Let’s move on from these failing states and focus on the locals.Bell wrote: ↑Mon Sep 09, 2024 5:53 amEMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Mon Sep 09, 2024 2:24 amWest African regional league? Yes. Absolutely.Bell wrote: ↑Mon Sep 09, 2024 2:09 ampackerland...first of all let me make it clear that I welcome anyone who can qualify to receive a Nigerian passport to seek to perticipate in Nigeria's athlectics. They have all legal rights for that and can only be limited by their ability.packerland wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 3:13 amBell,Bell wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 1:53 amALL RESPECT, packerland...no disrespect to Morocco but I hope Nigeria doesn't start treating it as a role model. What about blazing another trail, putting the same effort in unearthing the Rio's left in Nigeria? Why always copying what others are doing?packerland wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 8:55 am
Instead of taking useless London trips, can they visit Morocco and figure out how they’re recruiting their dual nationals. I can see Morocco women matching what their men did at the WC in the next 8-16 years.
Bell![]()
FOR SURE...they wouldn't be representing their countries. They would be private franchises. Sort of like the N. American MLS, NBA or MLB (combining the USA & Canada) but with the W. Afrian league involving more countries. There's definitely history there recalling the days of Stores, NEPA, Bendel Ins, Rangers, Vasco, WNDC, Jets but this would be a modern version with better structure and mgmt.

- TonyTheTigerKiller
You can’t have a regional league without the involvement of the national FAs. All football is totally within the purview of the FAs

THEY'LL BE INVOLVED ALRIGHT, BUT...the FA's role will be no more than it is relative to other leagues like the EPL, MLS, Bundesliga, Serie A, etc. Their role won't be exaggerated to make them have visions of corruption.TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: ↑Mon Sep 09, 2024 3:27 pm You can’t have a regional league without the involvement of the national FAs. All football is totally within the purview of the FAs

This idea has too much money for them not to try to chop $ or sabotage it. Imho, it’s likely the most viable and likely the most profitable league in Africa. Ain’t no way the boys will not get something. If they don’t you’ll find out all of a sudden that they have union of sports workers in Nigeria.Bell wrote: ↑Mon Sep 09, 2024 7:41 pmTHEY'LL BE INVOLVED ALRIGHT, BUT...the FA's role will be no more than it is relative to other leagues like the EPL, MLS, Bundesliga, Serie A, etc. Their role won't be exaggerated to make them have visions of corruption.TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: ↑Mon Sep 09, 2024 3:27 pm You can’t have a regional league without the involvement of the national FAs. All football is totally within the purview of the FAs

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Mon Sep 09, 2024 7:46 pmThis idea has too much money for them not to try to chop $ or sabotage it. Imho, it’s likely the most viable and likely the most profitable league in Africa. Ain’t no way the boys will not get something. If they don’t you’ll find out all of a sudden that they have union of sports workers in Nigeria.Bell wrote: ↑Mon Sep 09, 2024 7:41 pmTHEY'LL BE INVOLVED ALRIGHT, BUT...the FA's role will be no more than it is relative to other leagues like the EPL, MLS, Bundesliga, Serie A, etc. Their role won't be exaggerated to make them have visions of corruption.TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: ↑Mon Sep 09, 2024 3:27 pm You can’t have a regional league without the involvement of the national FAs. All football is totally within the purview of the FAs
Bell![]()
I SEE YOUR POINT...the keys might be to diminish their (W. African FAs) significance, establish strong conection with FIFA and be transparent.

- The YeyeMan
What is "so much effort"? The problem with True Believers like yourself is there's only one path to reach salvation.Bell wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 1:46 amJUST LEAVE THEM ALONE...Putting so much effort and drooling over a player who in all likelihood would choose England over Nigeria instead of focusing internally, ignoring the high probability that there are many other Rio's where the name Ngumoha came from.Eaglezbeak wrote: ↑Tue Jul 23, 2024 5:49 pmkbt wrote: ↑Tue Jul 09, 2024 7:57 pmIf he is indeed Nigerian, we cannot let him slip. He's 15 and already played for Chelsea U21 and also trained with the senior team. For Liverpool and other top teams chasing him like that, he must have something.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Tue Jul 09, 2024 2:07 pm Don’t waste your time folks. We’ve never ever caught a real innit ever.So the English are going to raise and nurture these boys,most of which have never visited Nigeria and they’re just going to yes to Nigeria?
Meanwhile, your age mates like Morocco are reaching WC semi-finals with squads where more than half the players are born outside the country. But carry on.
Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16
© The YeyeMan 2025
Bell wrote: ↑Mon Sep 09, 2024 5:53 amEMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Mon Sep 09, 2024 2:24 amWest African regional league? Yes. Absolutely.Bell wrote: ↑Mon Sep 09, 2024 2:09 ampackerland...first of all let me make it clear that I welcome anyone who can qualify to receive a Nigerian passport to seek to perticipate in Nigeria's athlectics. They have all legal rights for that and can only be limited by their ability.packerland wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 3:13 amBell,Bell wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 1:53 amALL RESPECT, packerland...no disrespect to Morocco but I hope Nigeria doesn't start treating it as a role model. What about blazing another trail, putting the same effort in unearthing the Rio's left in Nigeria? Why always copying what others are doing?packerland wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 8:55 amInstead of taking useless London trips, can they visit Morocco and figure out how they’re recruiting their dual nationals. I can see Morocco women matching what their men did at the WC in the next 8-16 years.Damunk wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 8:03 am
The NFF should get Okocha and Iwobi to go visit him and befriend his parents.
Bell![]()
Na by mouth?
Where is the viability of the clubs in the first place?
Where is the viability of the Leagues as we speak?
And I'm not just talking financial viability but especially the viability of management..
Look at the N.American example. Its a step wise process and not something that can emerge in one go..
The MLS has needed more than 2 decades to get on solid footing first. Having gone some ways in ensuring its financial strength its now moving slowly to incorporate Liga MX.
Nigeria needs to focus on building its domestic league, not pursue pipe dreams...
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
There is only one way to Salvation and it's through Yeshua HamashiachThe YeyeMan wrote: ↑Mon Sep 09, 2024 8:31 pmWhat is "so much effort"? The problem with True Believers like yourself is there's only one path to reach salvation.Bell wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 1:46 amJUST LEAVE THEM ALONE...Putting so much effort and drooling over a player who in all likelihood would choose England over Nigeria instead of focusing internally, ignoring the high probability that there are many other Rio's where the name Ngumoha came from.Eaglezbeak wrote: ↑Tue Jul 23, 2024 5:49 pmkbt wrote: ↑Tue Jul 09, 2024 7:57 pmIf he is indeed Nigerian, we cannot let him slip. He's 15 and already played for Chelsea U21 and also trained with the senior team. For Liverpool and other top teams chasing him like that, he must have something.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Tue Jul 09, 2024 2:07 pm Don’t waste your time folks. We’ve never ever caught a real innit ever.So the English are going to raise and nurture these boys,most of which have never visited Nigeria and they’re just going to yes to Nigeria?
Meanwhile, your age mates like Morocco are reaching WC semi-finals with squads where more than half the players are born outside the country. But carry on.