NFF to hire a FC in january

Re: NFF to hire a FC in january

highbury wrote: Mon Dec 09, 2024 5:32 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Mon Dec 09, 2024 5:07 pm
Lolly wrote: Sun Dec 08, 2024 11:00 am Too late to have any significant impact on the team and our chances of qualifying for the World Cup. No time for friendlies and for implementing his own agenda and style of play. He is coming to learn about the SE on the job.
Rohr took over SE and immediately turned the team around qualifying us with ease from the most difficult WCQ group we have ever faced.

He had one dead rubber match from the previous ANCQ then went on to win away in Zambia.

Egu is mediocre. He must be replaced by a quality coach. Enough of the rubbish.
We have quality coaches in Nigeria to pick from. Besides, our core issue isn't coaching but leadership. Until we get that right we may get transient succeses but it will never be sustained. It will be rinse and repeat. With all of the plethora of foreign coaches we have had, why is our football still trashy?
Say it louder for the people in the back!

I hope they finally get a coach who will give them what they want.

I love a gig like in the consultancy world where "BEST EFFORT" is the target. You learn on the job. You still get paid...
When you do fail, turn around and tell the natives, that the problem isn't you but the organization... that you were put in an untenable situation.
Maybe with more money and more time, you could reach the same conclusion you would've reached had you had any iota of integrity.

But the natives still believe in a messiah. And one who doesn't look or sound like them will likely be more believable.

Cellular wrote: Mon Dec 09, 2024 8:28 pm
Lolly wrote: Sun Dec 08, 2024 11:00 am Too late to have any significant impact on the team and our chances of qualifying for the World Cup. No time for friendlies and for implementing his own agenda and style of play. He is coming to learn about the SE on the job.
Rohr took over SE and immediately turned the team around qualifying us with ease from the most difficult WCQ group we have ever faced.

He had one dead rubber match from the previous ANCQ then went on to win away in Zambia.

We have quality coaches in Nigeria to pick from. Besides, our core issue isn't coaching but leadership. Until we get that right we may get transient succeses but it will never be sustained. It will be rinse and repeat. With all of the plethora of foreign coaches we have had, why is our football still trashy?

I love a gig like in the consultancy world where "BEST EFFORT" is the target. You learn on the job. You still get paid...
When you do fail, turn around and tell the natives, that the problem isn't you but the organization... that you were put in an untenable situation.
Maybe with more money and more time, you could reach the same conclusion you would've reached had you had any iota of integrity.

But the natives still believe in a messiah. And one who doesn't look or sound like them will likely be more believable.
Sometimes, I wonder if it’s your bias against foreigners clouding you and Highbury's judgment or if you guy are simply refusing to think critically. The idea that we have quality, competent Nigerian coaches is purely delusional :rotf: :rotf:. I agree that our failure goes beyond coaching, our football governing body (NFF) is undeniably corrupt. However, at the very least, we should address one problem by hiring a truly competent coach. It seems you both think these two issues —corruption plagued NFF and coaching are mutually exclusive, but they’re not. We need to fix what we can, where we can.

iworo wrote: Mon Dec 09, 2024 9:26 pm

Sometimes, I wonder if it’s your bias against foreigners clouding you and Highbury's judgment or if you guy are simply refusing to think critically. The idea that we have quality, competent Nigerian coaches is purely delusional :rotf: :rotf:. I agree that our failure goes beyond coaching, our football governing body (NFF) is undeniably corrupt. However, at the very least, we should address one problem by hiring a truly competent coach. It seems you both think these two issues —corruption plagued NFF and coaching are mutually exclusive, but they’re not. We need to fix what we can, where we can.
Thanks for the insult. We have thought critically, and based on our problems, we’ve realized that to truly address the rut, we must tackle the root issues. By what standard do you judge whether a coach is competent or not? Please share a standard that doesn’t rely on driving through Europe.

We have quality coaches—I’ve listed them repeatedly, but for reasons best known to you and your kind, you refuse to consider them. I believe that what is worth doing is worth doing well. As they say here, putting lipstick on a pig is still a pig. Hiring a foreign coach while ignoring failed leadership, poor structures, and mismanagement will always result in failure for the country. There might be transient success, but it will never be sustained.

The foreign coach you hire will be paid handsomely and will eventually leave, taking his experience with him to another Olodo country. Why not invest that money in ourselves, build our own people, and watch them thrive? Even if you think I’m being nationalistic—yes, I am! I believe in the capability of our people. It’s clear to see how Nigerians thrive abroad once they have access to the right environment. But these same people cannot thrive in Nigeria. Why? Because our fundamentals and foundations are weak, and we have poor leadership lacking insight.

I know you and your allies are fixed in your opinions and resistant to differing perspectives. Regardless, I have said and will always say: NO TO FOREIGN COACHES!

Dont mind them. They are professional defectors. Its like if you have a bad earache and just happen to have high blood pressure that you are already aware of. You see the DR but instead of giving you pain relivers and antibiotics to treat the earache that is urgent and acute, he gives you prescriptions for high blood pressure medications and tells you he wont give you pain medication and antibiotics for your earache until your blood pressure comes down. So dumb but this is how the black panthers here are reasoning. We know the NFF is useless and corrupt. No be today but more acutely, we have a big coaching problem in all our NTs and that needs to be addressed ASAP.

USA women team have a foreign coach an English coach of all coaches despite being the most successful women team why? because they want the best coach for their National team who so happens to be an English woman. Are the Americans "slaves"? England went and hired a German to coach their national team because they realized their own English coaches are not good enough to take England to the next level. Are they "slaves"? Sometimes I just wonder why some Nigerians like to deceive themselves

blueangel

Post by blueangel »

Brilliantly written.
Like a few others here you have made very salient points
Given our immense current talent our National team should NOT be struggling.
Sadly for what ever reason be it personal, intellectual or a painful experience many will refuse to face reality.

NFF should do whatever it takes to give us a fighting chance of qualifying for the World Cup.
What we have now is NOT working. Sure there are NO guarantees however the current Trajectory is pointing to us Crashing out.

bret- hart wrote: Mon Dec 09, 2024 10:21 pm

Dont mind them. They are professional defectors. Its like if you have a bad earache and just happen to have high blood pressure that you are already aware of. You see the DR but instead of giving you pain relivers and antibiotics to treat the earache that is urgent and acute, he gives you prescriptions for high blood pressure medications and tells you he wont give you pain medication and antibiotics for your earache until your blood pressure comes down. So dumb but this is how the black panthers here are reasoning. We know the NFF is useless and corrupt. No be today but more acutely, we have a big coaching problem in all our NTs and that needs to be addressed ASAP.

USA women team have a foreign coach an English coach of all coaches despite being the most successful women team why? because they want the best coach for their National team who so happens to be an English woman. Are the Americans "slaves"? England went and hired a German to coach their national team because they realized their own English coaches are not good enough to take England to the next level. Are they "slaves"? Sometimes I just wonder why some Nigerians like to deceive themselves
Let’s not waste anyone’s time. You love and prefer a foreign coach, while we don’t hate them but prefer a local one. You believe a foreign coach addresses the issue, whereas we believe hiring a foreign coach is akin to applying makeup to an ugly face—it doesn’t solve the real problem.

We believe our issues run much deeper than coaching. Coaching only addresses the symptoms, not the root cause. It’s amazing how the deceived think others are deceived. I suppose time will be the ultimate judge of us all.:D :D

Bro, I have a bias.
But it is not against foreigners.

When I bin dey the Consulting gig, the first thing we do when someone wants to hire an Executive is to look at the organization the Executive will be coming into.

A container used in storing kerosene will always contaminate whatever liquid is poured into it.

bret- hart wrote: Mon Dec 09, 2024 10:21 pm

See the two countries you used to make your faulty points.

Compare US and England FAs with the Naijarian system.

They have come to a conclusion that what is missing is the coaching. They are not worried about the organization. They are not worried about administrative issues. They have all of that figured out.

They believe the missing ingredient to take them to the next level is coaching. Unfortunately, that is not the case with us.

aruako1 wrote: Mon Dec 09, 2024 12:21 pm
Damunk wrote: Mon Dec 09, 2024 7:27 am
aruako1 wrote: Sun Dec 08, 2024 6:15 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Dec 08, 2024 3:48 pm BigPokey , Lolly and the rest of the saboteurs celebrated when Rohr was fired 30 days before Afcon 21. Eguavoen replaced him and we got the worst Afcon in 30yrs and DNQ for wc2022. The same people attributed the failure to the “will of God”, that it wasn’t meant to be and we shouldn’t worry and wait until 2026 WC.

Now they claim 3 months is not enough time to replace a coach knowing full well that another WC and Afcon is on the line. These are the kinds of inconsistencies we have do deal with on a daily basis here. They don’t care about results, they just want to win an argument as the teams keeps losing.

Eguavoen’s team played Tunisia and Ghana x2 and scored 1 pk in 270mins of football in 2021.
In 2024 they’ve played Rwanda x2 Libya and Benin. Lost 1 and scored 2 goals in 4 matches
Rohr was rightly fired. My only regret is that he wasn't fired earlier. There is a reason why only Benin would hire him after the Nigeria gig.d
Rohr was fired in similar circumstances to Amodu.
Both were unjust, untimely and unnecessary.
Both led to unmitigated disasters.

The ‘little’ Benin you denigrate have rudely and easily taken crucial points off the Super Eagles and if we are not careful, they might just be taking our place at the World Cup, thanks to the same coach we dismissed with ignominy.
Bro, leave that matter. It’s embarrassing.
Rohr was correctly fired. And Benin, despite the fact that they have a decent team, are not a big draw for coaches. We had people knocking Nigerian coaches for not coaching in European top leagues and yet I can't point out that Rohr could only land Benin? When we are ready to face the NFF, then we can have that discussion. But Rohr was deservedly fired...the NFF only fired the process and time it took to fire him.
That’s simply your spin.
It won’t stand up in court.
A badly-timed decision is a WRONG decision.

Any way he’s history now. Leave that side.

Seems like Ogbuefi Labbaddia is back in the frame

From the "Lookman" thread

Said it before, the crux of the problem is NFF.

NFF is clearly bereft of any cognitive idea regarding firing and hiring of coaches. The timing is always wrong and the personnel is always benumbing.

If we start from Gernot Rohr, the guy should have gone immediately after 2018 WC. He was let go at a crucial time of the 2022 WCQ and eve of AFCON. Wrong timing as NFF had no plan on ground for his replacement. Enter Austin Eguavoen, the most failed SE coach ever. He failed again, bungling the WCQ and AFCON. So, wrong timing was complemented by wrong personnel.

Then came Jose Gbeseiro, who I also regard as a wrong personnel. After he left, why did it take NFF so long to hire Finidi George, who didn't appear to be a right fit. He even failed his audition in 2 games against Ghana and Mali. Enter again Austin Eguavoen. For crying out loud, why haven't we appointed a substantive coach since the Finidi debacle ended or why were we again unable to have a plan in place for a replacement? Now, we had to wait until the next game are 2 crucial WCQs before we are now saying we will hire one despite having all the time in the world during a relatively easy AFCONQ to ease a new coach into the seat?

The timing is once again wrong. It portends a repeat of what happened in 2022 and also happened with Finidi. But if only we can get the right fit, the challenge can be ameliorated. Some coaches are known to hit the ground running. For me the Super Eagles coach should:
1. Be a good man-manager. Players will always have excesses and shortcomings. Stars or wannabe stars and relative millionaires are likely to be prima donnas, especially when they earn more than their coaches. Finidi was obviously poor at managing this complex. Eguavoen is better but he doesn't know where to draw the line, considereing all the rakiya, chidi and sola who now creep into the SE camp in the name of content creators. I didn't hear of Rohr and Peseiro having personal issues with the players. In addition, Rohr was particularly able to keep a lewd and lecherous NFF at bay. Peseiro should explain why Ahmed Musa was on the AFCON team. That was clearly the NFF and Peseiro,who should have rejected that idea, but he hit back at them by not giving Musa a look-in. Truth is Naija coaches can't fend off NFF, especially when they want to infuse players not meriting call-ups to SE. This is a major Achilles heel of Naija coaches.

2. Be able to make SE play with intensity, urgency, fast transition and high pressing. This is where Rohr failed woefully. Up until when we played Argentina in a friendly (and won 4-2, I think), Gernot Rohr was the man but after that, the SE played bland football and scandalously lost home games to the likes of CAR. Peseiro only got it right during AFCON 2023 but was found out in the final against CIV. So, there were two-outliers-in-one there. Getting it right in AFCON was an outlier because he had had a terrible run but within that outlier his loss to CIV was also an outlier. It may not be unconnected with Ola Aina hiding an injury.

We can't continue playing that dour and sleepy football that has eroded the fear factor the SE used to have even on home soil. It's the same problem with Man Utd. They can't get the ball out of their half soon enough. Getting the ball in the opponents' penalty box in 4-5 touches was the mantra of Sir Alex Ferguson that won his club several penalties and opponents used to complain. If you don't get inside the penalty box, your chances of scoring reduce. Sunday Oliseh, the player, wouldn't have any of the nonsense we are doing today but aren't capacitated for. He got the ball forward faster than any SE player. Probably that was what Clemens Westerhof wanted anyway. He wasn't anything like the typical Dutch coaches like Cruyff and LVG who turn pitches to a passage but he got results.

When Aston Villa hired Unai Emery, the guy beat Man Utd 3-1 in his first game. So, while Man Utd were and are still trying to retract from the LVG's pass, pass, pass era; Emery hasn't looked back since then with his attacking, high pressing style. Maybe his tenure at Arsenal taught him a lesson too and he varied his playing style. This is what an SE coach should do. I wonder what the NFF Technical Committee, if they are actually involved in hiring the SE, looks at when sourcing for coaches. Do they assess the history and depth of a coach's playing style before selecting one? We've left hiring of SE coaches to chance too often and that's why we are where we are. Jose Mourinho was said to have recommended Jose Gbeseiro but his failed tenure in Venezuela, Saudi Arabia etc were never issues. Why should we just depend on the recommendations of the friend of a coach to hire a coach? Maybe Pinick was just trying to impress us that he knew Mourinho. Rohr was hired quickly as a face saver after the self-inflicted failure in hiring Paul Le Guen embarrassed NFF. Not that Le Guen would have succeeded anyway.

The last 2 games of Eguavoen left some bad tastes in the mouth. Has he hit his usual cul-de-sac especially after starting so well? While, honestly speaking, he brought some urgencies to the SE, helping the team to create tons of chances, his inability to win away games is also troubling. But for these, I'd have said he should continue. I find it hard to believe that a new coach in January will save our WCQ. This is just my opinion.

For me, how the SE coach will set out to play the team is very key to who should be in charge of SE else, it's just gambling away our WC chances.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

anointed wrote: Tue Dec 10, 2024 1:16 pm From the "Lookman" thread

NFF is clearly bereft of any cognitive idea regarding firing and hiring of coaches. The timing is always wrong and the personnel is always benumbing.

If we start from Gernot Rohr, the guy should have gone immediately after 2018 WC. He was let go at a crucial time of the 2022 WCQ and eve of AFCON. Wrong timing as NFF had no plan on ground for his replacement. Enter Austin Eguavoen, the most failed SE coach ever. He failed again, bungling the WCQ and AFCON. So, wrong timing was complemented by wrong personnel.

Then came Jose Gbeseiro, who I also regard as a wrong personnel. After he left, why did it take NFF so long to hire Finidi George, who didn't appear to be a right fit. He even failed his audition in 2 games against Ghana and Mali. Enter again Austin Eguavoen. For crying out loud, why haven't we appointed a substantive coach since the Finidi debacle ended or why were we again unable to have a plan in place for a replacement? Now, we had to wait until the next game are 2 crucial WCQs before we are now saying we will hire one despite having all the time in the world during a relatively easy AFCONQ to ease a new coach into the seat?

The timing is once again wrong. It portends a repeat of what happened in 2022 and also happened with Finidi. But if only we can get the right fit, the challenge can be ameliorated. Some coaches are known to hit the ground running. For me the Super Eagles coach should:
1. Be a good man-manager. Players will always have excesses and shortcomings. Stars or wannabe stars and relative millionaires are likely to be prima donnas, especially when they earn more than their coaches. Finidi was obviously poor at managing this complex. Eguavoen is better but he doesn't know where to draw the line, considereing all the rakiya, chidi and sola who now creep into the SE camp in the name of content creators. I didn't hear of Rohr and Peseiro having personal issues with the players. In addition, Rohr was particularly able to keep a lewd and lecherous NFF at bay. Peseiro should explain why Ahmed Musa was on the AFCON team. That was clearly the NFF and Peseiro,who should have rejected that idea, but he hit back at them by not giving Musa a look-in. Truth is Naija coaches can't fend off NFF, especially when they want to infuse players not meriting call-ups to SE. This is a major Achilles heel of Naija coaches.

2. Be able to make SE play with intensity, urgency, fast transition and high pressing. This is where Rohr failed woefully. Up until when we played Argentina in a friendly (and won 4-2, I think), Gernot Rohr was the man but after that, the SE played bland football and scandalously lost home games to the likes of CAR. Peseiro only got it right during AFCON 2023 but was found out in the final against CIV. So, there were two-outliers-in-one there. Getting it right in AFCON was an outlier because he had had a terrible run but within that outlier his loss to CIV was also an outlier. It may not be unconnected with Ola Aina hiding an injury.

We can't continue playing that dour and sleepy football that has eroded the fear factor the SE used to have even on home soil. It's the same problem with Man Utd. They can't get the ball out of their half soon enough. Getting the ball in the opponents' penalty box in 4-5 touches was the mantra of Sir Alex Ferguson that won his club several penalties and opponents used to complain. If you don't get inside the penalty box, your chances of scoring reduce. Sunday Oliseh, the player, wouldn't have any of the nonsense we are doing today but aren't capacitated for. He got the ball forward faster than any SE player. Probably that was what Clemens Westerhof wanted anyway. He wasn't anything like the typical Dutch coaches like Cruyff and LVG who turn pitches to a passage but he got results.

When Aston Villa hired Unai Emery, the guy beat Man Utd 3-1 in his first game. So, while Man Utd were and are still trying to retract from the LVG's pass, pass, pass era; Emery hasn't looked back since then with his attacking, high pressing style. Maybe his tenure at Arsenal taught him a lesson too and he varied his playing style. This is what an SE coach should do. I wonder what the NFF Technical Committee, if they are actually involved in hiring the SE, looks at when sourcing for coaches. Do they assess the history and depth of a coach's playing style before selecting one? We've left hiring of SE coaches to chance too often and that's why we are where we are. Jose Mourinho was said to have recommended Jose Gbeseiro but his failed tenure in Venezuela, Saudi Arabia etc were never issues. Why should we just depend on the recommendations of the friend of a coach to hire a coach? Maybe Pinick was just trying to impress us that he knew Mourinho. Rohr was hired quickly as a face saver after the self-inflicted failure in hiring Paul Le Guen embarrassed NFF. Not that Le Guen would have succeeded anyway.

The last 2 games of Eguavoen left some bad tastes in the mouth. Has he hit his usual cul-de-sac especially after starting so well? While, honestly speaking, he brought some urgencies to the SE, helping the team to create tons of chances, his inability to win away games is also troubling. But for these, I'd have said he should continue. I find it hard to believe that a new coach in January will save our WCQ. This is just my opinion.

For me, how the SE coach will set out to play the team is very key to who should be in charge of SE else, it's just gambling away our WC chances.
Well said!

Damunk wrote: Tue Dec 10, 2024 4:53 am
aruako1 wrote: Mon Dec 09, 2024 12:21 pm
Damunk wrote: Mon Dec 09, 2024 7:27 am
aruako1 wrote: Sun Dec 08, 2024 6:15 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Dec 08, 2024 3:48 pm BigPokey , Lolly and the rest of the saboteurs celebrated when Rohr was fired 30 days before Afcon 21. Eguavoen replaced him and we got the worst Afcon in 30yrs and DNQ for wc2022. The same people attributed the failure to the “will of God”, that it wasn’t meant to be and we shouldn’t worry and wait until 2026 WC.

Now they claim 3 months is not enough time to replace a coach knowing full well that another WC and Afcon is on the line. These are the kinds of inconsistencies we have do deal with on a daily basis here. They don’t care about results, they just want to win an argument as the teams keeps losing.

Eguavoen’s team played Tunisia and Ghana x2 and scored 1 pk in 270mins of football in 2021.
In 2024 they’ve played Rwanda x2 Libya and Benin. Lost 1 and scored 2 goals in 4 matches
Rohr was rightly fired. My only regret is that he wasn't fired earlier. There is a reason why only Benin would hire him after the Nigeria gig.d
Rohr was fired in similar circumstances to Amodu.
Both were unjust, untimely and unnecessary.
Both led to unmitigated disasters.

The ‘little’ Benin you denigrate have rudely and easily taken crucial points off the Super Eagles and if we are not careful, they might just be taking our place at the World Cup, thanks to the same coach we dismissed with ignominy.
Bro, leave that matter. It’s embarrassing.
Rohr was correctly fired. And Benin, despite the fact that they have a decent team, are not a big draw for coaches. We had people knocking Nigerian coaches for not coaching in European top leagues and yet I can't point out that Rohr could only land Benin? When we are ready to face the NFF, then we can have that discussion. But Rohr was deservedly fired...the NFF only fired the process and time it took to fire him.
That’s simply your spin.
It won’t stand up in court.
A badly-timed decision is a WRONG decision.

Any way he’s history now. Leave that side.
It is an opinion site. If what you mean by "spin" is my opinion, so be it. That is what we come here to do, to give our opinions. If you want us to leave history in the past, start with the likes of Kongi - they bring up Rohr every few market days. And when they try to conjure some rose-tinted fantasies about Rohr, we will be here to remind them. I want to talk about the NFF but when I see nonsense and I have time, I will counter it.

You couldn't have said it better.

I agree with your comments. I believe with the right coach and focus, the SE can pull the chestnuts out of the fire by winning the remaining 6 WCQs.
We have the squad and if the team plays to its potentials, we can get maximum points in the remaining WCQs.
We need a coach in place early enough to meet and motivate the players before they reconvene in March and let them see what plans he has for the team.
The players need to be focused in camp without any distractions. They need to do away with the lackadaisical preparations where everyone has access to the players when training. Anyone who has played the game knows that how you prepare for the game determines how you will play the game and it’s not by saying the right things.
I had mentioned in another thread that we need midfielders who can play with the intensity that the African game requires. We need players who can go toe to toe with the opposition in midfield and win the battle. Once we achieve that, our superior qualities in other areas particularly in attack will come into play and make the difference.

Dammy wrote: Wed Dec 11, 2024 10:40 am

I agree with your comments. I believe with the right coach and focus, the SE can pull the chestnuts out of the fire by winning the remaining 6 WCQs.
We have the squad and if the team plays to its potentials, we can get maximum points in the remaining WCQs.
We need a coach in place early enough to meet and motivate the players before they reconvene in March and let them see what plans he has for the team.
The players need to be focused in camp without any distractions. They need to do away with the lackadaisical preparations where everyone has access to the players when training. Anyone who has played the game knows that how you prepare for the game determines how you will play the game and it’s not by saying the right things.
I had mentioned in another thread that we need midfielders who can play with the intensity that the African game requires. We need players who can go toe to toe with the opposition in midfield and win the battle. Once we achieve that, our superior qualities in other areas particularly in attack will come into play and make the difference.
Another solid comment. This is what CE is about, not the useless FC vs LC debate.

Dammy wrote: Wed Dec 11, 2024 10:40 am

Ya'll missing the point. We're at the last chance salon and the closed sign is already up.
All we are left with are the Aladura Prayer Warriors!

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

When will you be honest with yourself?

You only need to watch an NPFL game for 5mins to see a lack of tactical details.
One doesn't need to be a Pep to see it starring at you. Just watch the sequence of play. What you will never see are repeat patterns of coordinated team movement. But you will see repeated individuality..

Then you watch the individual players for a minute and the bare truth is starring at you in the face. Its worse when you watch any of the youth teams...

In all the years we've debated this issue, the one constant is our continuing failure to address the fundamental problem of an inability to develop talent.

And continued POSTURING by you folks will not change this basic fact.

It does not matter how long you continue with this travesty, unless those who choose to become coaches dedicate themselves to be top professionals, as their counterparts in other countries, it will NEVER change...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Wed Dec 11, 2024 6:54 pm

You only need to watch an NPFL game for 5mins to see a lack of tactical details.
One doesn't need to be a Pep to see it starring at you. Just watch the sequence of play. What you will never see are repeat patterns of coordinated team movement. But you will see repeated individuality..

Then you watch the individual players for a minute and the bare truth is starring at you in the face. Its worse when you watch any of the youth teams...

In all the years we've debated this issue, the one constant is our continuing failure to address the fundamental problem of an inability to develop talent.

It does not matter how long you continue with this travesty, unless those who choose to become coaches dedicate themselves to be top professionals, as their counterparts in other countries, it will NEVER change...
They don’t watch Npfl games, they just follow the Npfl on CE. :laugh:
I’ve watched Npfl games live at the Adamasingba stadium in Ibadan that’s less than 3 miles from my house, walking distance on game day. I’ll tell you this much, the league is way way below any standard that can be called professional.

txj wrote: Wed Dec 11, 2024 6:54 pm

What does the nonsense you wrote have to do with what I wrote?

You could have found another thread to attack me... nobe by force to attach something you have been drafting to a post that has nothing to do with what I wrote.

For a very long period in our history, we were indoctrinated with, and subjugated by, the idea that our captors and conquerors who look so different from us are so much better than we are and that we should always loook to them for guidance with eternal gratitude. We were basically put in a state of mind that’s difficult to overcome. Many in our number, unfortunately, have come to perceive our enslavers and masters as demi gods who can turn things around with a wave of their magical wands. It usually takes seeing things in their true state in order to begin to shed the false beliefs with which we’ve been inculcated.

In that regard, their are two kinds of jakparians; those who embark on discovery with an open mind and those who go to be simply enamored by the cosmetics of a seemingly intoxicating society. The later, of course, have very little chance of making any self uplifting discoveries.

There is a TV series called Stargate SG-1. If you haven’t seen it, I strongly recommend it. That show provides a useful insight into our one-sided romance with white people🤔❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Thu Dec 12, 2024 5:50 am

For a very long period in our history, we were indoctrinated with, and subjugated by, the idea that our captors and conquerors who look so different from us are so much better than we are and that we should always loook to them for guidance with eternal gratitude. We were basically put in a state of mind that’s difficult to overcome. Many in our number, unfortunately, have come to perceive our enslavers and masters as demi gods who can turn things around with a wave of their magical wands. It usually takes seeing things in their true state in order to begin to shed the false beliefs with which we’ve been inculcated.

In that regard, their are two kinds of jakparians; those who embark on discovery with an open mind and those who go to be simply enamored by the cosmetics of a seemingly intoxicating society. The later, of course, have very little chance of making any self uplifting discoveries.

There is a TV series called Stargate SG-1. If you haven’t seen it, I strongly recommend it. That show provides a useful insight into our one-sided romance with white people🤔❗️

Gaaad daaayum!See archaic mentality. :shock: Maybe we should stop playing the game and ban all teams in Nigeria from playing football because it was invented by our enslavers and colonizers. Why even try to subject out people to coaching the game of out colonizers? Is that not slave mentality? Better yet, close all airports and stop both types of Japa you described. :roll:

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Dec 12, 2024 6:26 am
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Thu Dec 12, 2024 5:50 am

Gaaad daaayum!See archaic mentality. :shock: Maybe we should stop playing the game and ban all teams in Nigeria from playing football because it was invented by our enslavers and colonizers. Why even try to subject out people to coaching the game of out colonizers? Is that not slave mentality? Better yet, close all airports and stop both types of Japa you described. :roll:
All this back and forth is summarized in this: they're some people who believe that we have people in our country who can bring measurable success to our team and the need to go outside is unnecessary and wasteful ( I am in that camp). They are others who think that there is none in the country who can bring the team a good measurable level of success which necessitate the need to go outside to attain that level of success for the team.( Emir and his kind fall under this category).