Final List: 23 Super Eagles of Nigeria players invited for Rwanda & Zimbabwe World Cup Qualifiers in March

Re: Final List: 23 Super Eagles of Nigeria players invited for Rwanda & Zimbabwe World Cup Qualifiers in March

danfo driver wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 4:12 pm
aruako1 wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 4:03 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 3:55 pm THE GOOD

No Musa. He and his PR team can fock off.

4 wingers and the return of Tella. We often only have 3 in a squad.

THE BAD

Only 3 central defenders.

No Ejuke. For a team that struggles with creativity, he should have found his way into this team.

It seems the 3 homebased players thing is official. The NFF are corrupt clowns.

THE DOWNRIGHT SCANDALOUS

Papa Daniel ? Over Onyeka, Uche Chrisantus, Fisayo
I can only see two home based players - Bankole and Papa Daniel.
Amas Obasogie?
He moved to Ethiopia, and then Tanzania.
Re: Final List: 23 Super Eagles of Nigeria players invited for Rwanda & Zimbabwe World Cup Qualifiers in March

aruako1 wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 5:01 pm
danfo driver wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 4:12 pm
aruako1 wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 4:03 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 3:55 pm THE GOOD

No Musa. He and his PR team can fock off.

4 wingers and the return of Tella. We often only have 3 in a squad.

THE BAD

Only 3 central defenders.

No Ejuke. For a team that struggles with creativity, he should have found his way into this team.

It seems the 3 homebased players thing is official. The NFF are corrupt clowns.

THE DOWNRIGHT SCANDALOUS

Papa Daniel ? Over Onyeka, Uche Chrisantus, Fisayo
I can only see two home based players - Bankole and Papa Daniel.
Amas Obasogie?
He moved to Ethiopia, and then Tanzania.
Thanks!

Tobi17 wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 5:00 pm The real meat in the soup is how Chelle will tactically coach this team to win our remaining games and qualify...every other thing is just conjecture at this point. I've learned never to trust fancy names on a squad list anymore, especially when these players play so well at the clubs and then stink up the joint against fellow African teams including so called "minnows" due to piss-poor managers.

Our first game will more than anything else determine if Chelle is the man for the job and the hopes of our world cup chances.
Thank you.

Finally, someone who is not losing their heads over a mere list.

Like you pointed out, those same players baring Osimhen struggled with 'minnows' and couldn't beat one stinking team in 4 games.

Everyone should just chill and quit bitching. :mad: :veryangry:

Cellular wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 5:09 pm
Tobi17 wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 5:00 pm The real meat in the soup is how Chelle will tactically coach this team to win our remaining games and qualify...every other thing is just conjecture at this point. I've learned never to trust fancy names on a squad list anymore, especially when these players play so well at the clubs and then stink up the joint against fellow African teams including so called "minnows" due to piss-poor managers.

Our first game will more than anything else determine if Chelle is the man for the job and the hopes of our world cup chances.
Thank you.

Like you pointed out, those same players baring Osimhen struggled with 'minnows' and couldn't beat one stinking team in 4 games.

Most people here seem chill. Even Vancity seems chill to me.

I think the discussion here is focused at a coach who claimed he will use merit to pick his team, but didn't full do that.

Would there be 100% consensus on a team selection? No. Would there be need to question why a coach said one thing and did another? Yes. At least the discussion here is on 2-4 players. That is a huge change.

Nigeria’s 2026 World Cup Qualifiers: Three players who should have made Eric Chelle’s final Super Eagles cut

On Tuesday, Super Eagles coach Eric Chelle unveiled his 23-man squad for the upcoming 2026 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers against Rwanda and Zimbabwe later this month, Soccernet.ng reports.

Recall that Chelle unveiled a list of 39 players for the World Cup Qualifiers last week. That list had eight new boys, while the bulk of the players had been involved with the Super Eagles before. Then, on Tuesday, coach Chelle unveiled the final list, with 16 players removed.

Of the 23 players called up, there are just four new invitees, with Tolu Arokodare, Papa Daniel Mustapha, Igoh Ogbu, and Kayode Bankole all getting their maiden call-ups. Chelle also made some big calls, with some of the regulars like Kelechi Iheanacho, Maduka Okoye, Zaidu Sanusi, Frank Onyeka, Chidera Ejuke, and Ahmed Musa getting snubbed.

While the team looks balanced to a large extent, some players should have been considered on the basis of their performances this season. In this article, Soccernet writes on three players who have made Chelle’s final cut.

1. Christantus Uche

Christantus Uche is a notable absentee from the Super Eagles list. The Nigerian midfielder just burst onto the scene this season after a summer move from Ceuta, a club in the third division in Spain, to Getafe.

The 21-year-old midfielder has quickly become an integral member of Getafe’s team, as he has produced three goals and three assists in 31 appearances across all competitions. His impressive ball-holding ability, great passing, and impeccable work rate has attracted some top clubs in Europe, with Chelsea and other top Premier clubs reportedly showing interest in signing him permanently.

With his talent, he could offer something new in Nigeria’s midfield, but he would have to wait for another time before getting an opportunity with the national team.

2. Cyriel Dessers

Dessers has been in sublime form for Rangers since the start of the year. The 30-year-old striker has contributed 10 goals and three assists in 13 games for the Gers. Aside from Victor Osimhen, no other Super Eagles striker at a top club can boast of a similar record. Even Victor Boniface, who was picked ahead of him, has managed just two goals this year, with just a handful of appearances.

Moreover, he has already scored twice for Nigeria, unlike Boniface, who has been unreliable whenever Osimhen is absent.

3. Gabriel Osho

Gabriel Osho’s exclusion from the Super Eagles squad comes as a surprise, especially as Igoh Ogbu, who is relatively inexperienced in the International scene, got a call-up. Osho has been a regular for Auxerre in Ligue 1, featuring in 17 of their games this season.

Nonetheless, Osho has struggled with injuries this season, but that is unlikely to be the reason. It is a big call from Chelle and hopefully his decision does not come back to haunt him.

https://soccernet.ng/2025/03/who-should ... squad.html

vancity eagle wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 4:17 pm There was an article that came out a week ago explaining how Chelle was counting on Aribo and Ndidi as auxiliary centre backs.

I guess this explains only 3 centrebacks called up and also why Aribo made the list.
Aribo doesn’t even have any quality that could make him a decent centre back.

This selection of only 3 centre backs is a head-scratcher for me. Why does he feel the need to take 4 strikers in addition to Lookman who can be counted as a striker too? That’s 5 strikers in the team.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Quota system and favoritism will kill our football. I like Al Hassan Yusuf but currently he is not good enough to be in this team. Uche, Dennis and Onyeka should have been there in his place. Sadiq has no business in this squad... Dessers has performed far better this season. Boniface should not be near this squad. He hardly plays for Leverkusen and then there is Bankole. How can an NPFL benchwarmer be in the Super Eagles??? Adeleye is a far better option. Ogunmodede of Remo needs to be removed from the coaching crew. He uses his influence to push his players on the NT. Players that he himself wont even start for Remo Stars. Nigerian coaches are so corrupt. If i were Chelle, i would remove the Nigerian coaches from my crew. These guys are not serious. :veryangry: :veryangry: :curse:

Prejudices everywhere on this thread. Yet, none of these ITKs applied for the coaching position
when it was open. Like some contributors said above, we need to wait and see how Chelle selects
the game day starters and see whether the team can show cohesiveness, discipline, and execute as
needed.

Maduka was in goal for the full 90 against Lazio yesterday.
He was tested and showed no signs of rustiness.

danfo driver wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 4:31 pm Maduka hasnt played in months, so that may be a factor. And the invitations went out at least 2 weeks ago - was that also when Dele-Bashiru was injured? Although communication with the player and his club should solve these issues

bret- hart wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 5:32 pm Quota system and favoritism will kill our football. I like Al Hassan Yusuf but currently he is not good enough to be in this team. Uche, Dennis and Onyeka should have been there in his place. Sadiq has no business in this squad... Dessers has performed far better this season. Boniface should not be near this squad. He hardly plays for Leverkusen and then there is Bankole. How can an NPFL benchwarmer be in the Super Eagles??? Adeleye is a far better option. Ogunmodede of Remo needs to be removed from the coaching crew. He uses his influence to push his players on the NT. Players that he himself wont even start for Remo Stars. Nigerian coaches are so corrupt. If i were Chelle, i would remove the Nigerian coaches from my crew. These guys are not serious. :veryangry: :veryangry: :curse:
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Otitokoro wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 5:42 pm Maduka was in goal for the full 90 against Lazio yesterday.
He was tested and showed no signs of rustiness.

danfo driver wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 4:31 pm Maduka hasnt played in months, so that may be a factor. And the invitations went out at least 2 weeks ago - was that also when Dele-Bashiru was injured? Although communication with the player and his club should solve these issues
Yes, but the 23 man list was made long before yesterday and invitations were sent long before yesterday.

Its either there was no information to determine when he will be back from "suspension" at the time the invitations were sent (I believe this was made a few days ago?) or our coach did not speak with the player and his club.

joao wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 5:37 pm Prejudices everywhere on this thread. Yet, none of these ITKs applied for the coaching position
when it was open. Like some contributors said above, we need to wait and see how Chelle selects
the game day starters and see whether the team can show cohesiveness, discipline, and execute as
needed.
Not everyone wants to be a coach. Did you apply for the position? If now, why?

danfo driver wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 5:12 pm
Cellular wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 5:09 pm

Thank you.

Most people here seem chill. Even Vancity seems chill to me.

I think the discussion here is focused at a coach who claimed he will use merit to pick his team, but didn't full do that.

Would there be 100% consensus on a team selection? No. Would there be need to question why a coach said one thing and did another? Yes. At least the discussion here is on 2-4 players. That is a huge change.
DD, I believe none of us here have any idea how the players were chosen. Prof. Enugu II, had led us in an exercise in predictig who will make the finally 23. Don't believe anyone got it right. There was no consensus list.

If you were the coach, you will have a different list based on how you want to play and the players that will execute what you want them to do.

Me, personally, I have more of a problem with Boniface and Aribo because they have shown to be lacking when they wear the GWG. It is my personal opinion. I would have liked to have seen Onyeka and Uche who I think have the fighting spirit to battle in two very crucial must-win games. I like Alhassan a lot... he is a fighter. He will run for you. And in games where no quarters are asked and none given, I think he is a good callup.

onovo wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 4:47 pm
Babalawo wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 4:27 pm No Maduka Okoye?
God forbid but what if something happens to Stanley?

Al’Hassan over Frank Onyeka?
Papa Danial over Chrisantus?
Aribo over Ejuke?

Is the coach Nuts?
But, you were one of the chief celebrants of division 2 benchwarmers.
Kindly provide evidence where I supported Iheanacho’s inclusion in Chelle’s team, Just one! and I promise to leave CE for you guys.
That thread was if Iheanacho looked fit or not, and I disagreed with people calling him “Fat”.
Nigeria Must Be Great Again

Babalawo wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 5:53 pm

Aribo over Ejuke?

Is the coach Nuts?
Kindly provide evidence where I supported Iheanacho’s inclusion in Chelle’s team, Just one! and I promise to leave CE for you guys.
That thread was if Iheanacho looked fit or not, and I disagreed with people calling him “Fat”.
We all know Maduka not making the team is really paining you. Kpele. The rest of what you wrote is.... Never mind.

Oh well….its too late to complain. I just hope the coach knows a lot we don’t because k leg dey this list. Anyway sha, whether you’re Christian or Muslim, it’s fasting month in Nigeria. Extend your fasting period and double your prayers because any injury to Troost and it could all fall apart. Me I dey go shrine tomorrow. :thumb:

fabio wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 6:00 pm

Aribo over Ejuke?

Is the coach Nuts?
We all know Maduka not making the team is really paining you. Kpele. The rest of what you wrote is.... Never mind.
My Guy,
I believe communication channels are established between players and National team coaching staff about match fitness and all before National duty call ups.
Maduka had been back in training for weeks now, Chelle and the rest of the crew cannot claim not to have known that. Maduka was also in the 31 man prelim-list. So a prior notifications about a possible call up must have been sent to Udinese. Maduka was in Goal yesterday for Udinese and was fantastic, His saves kept Udinese in the game.
This is the same mistake we made and carried Uzoho to the previous WCQ and he stunk up the joint denying us a ticket.

Anyway Goodluck to the team.

Would have made more sense to go with 25 players and invite one more CD and creative midfielder. Would have been nice to have Osho and Dele-Bashiru or Uche included. I understand though that Dele-Bashiru may not be fully fit.

I would have also gone with Onyeka over Papa Daniel and Okoye over Bankole. The home-based quota makes no sense to me.

Some of us has been saying it that Nwabali is Nigeria's number one and rightly so; as he's way better than Maduka Okoye.
Even Okoye knows he's not on the same level currently with Nwabali.
Although I also believe he should be in the squad as the second goalkeeper. I guess his omission is because he's coming back from injury. I guess that's why Fisayo is also missing.

I think the defence is too thin. I honestly don't see why Boniface, Akorodele and Sadiq should all be in the squad.

In all, good squad.

Babalawo wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 6:10 pm

Aribo over Ejuke?

Is the coach Nuts?
My Guy,
I believe communication channels are established between players and National team coaching staff about match fitness and all before National duty call ups.
Maduka had been back in training for weeks now, Chelle and the rest of the crew cannot claim not to have known that. Maduka was also in the 31 man prelim-list. So a prior notifications about a possible call up must have been sent to Udinese. Maduka was in Goal yesterday for Udinese and was fantastic, His saves kept Udinese in the game.
This is the same mistake we made and carried Uzoho to the previous WCQ and he stunk up the joint denying us a ticket.

Oga, you don't know if there was any communication between Maduka, his club management and the SE coach. You don't know if he begged out to be included to continue with his rehab and return to full match fitness.

A lot of times players in his position will ask to be left off if he is coming to sit on the bench so that they can concentrate in remaining fit for their club having been out for a long time.

Anyway, di player whose inclusion dey pain me pass na Content Creator. :veryangry: :(

Cellular wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 6:15 pm

Aribo over Ejuke?

Is the coach Nuts?
My Guy,

Oga, you don't know if there was any communication between Maduka, his club management and the SE coach. You don't know if he begged out to be included to continue with his rehab and return to full match fitness.

A lot of times players in his position will ask to be left off if he is coming to sit on the bench so that they can concentrate in remaining fit for their club having been out for a long time.

Anyway, di player whose inclusion dey pain me pass na Content Creator. :veryangry: :(
Ogbuefi, yes we don’t know, but we do know if he’s good enough to be starting for Udinese then the coach should have done due diligence to know the man is back to fitness and good enough to be in his 23 final list.
All it takes is a phone call to the Udinese team.

As for Boniface, the man is fit, we all know his current troubles might be off the pitch related. Chelle might just be the one to unlock his SE potential if played right,
Last edited by Babalawo on Tue Mar 11, 2025 6:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

I understand the Alhassan inclusion. He is one of our few box to box midfielders around. He is good when not committing fouls.

Aribo over Ejuke?

Is the coach Nuts?
My Guy,

Mr.Man, go and support the team in Rwanda. I judge Maduka on his performance with SE, not Udinese.