UNITY CUP & RUSSIA THREAD

Re: UNITY CUP & RUSSIA THREAD

iworo wrote: Mon May 26, 2025 10:45 pm
highbury wrote: Mon May 26, 2025 7:43 pm You are bunch of unbearable individuals. Na so so complaining and innuendos una dey do.
If questioning why our coach and the NFF for fielding a mostly local squad, while other nations are fine-tuning their A-teams ahead of crucial World Cup qualifiers makes us “unbearable”, then perhaps you’ve grown too comfortable with underachievement and systemic corruption. If you're content with mediocrity at such a critical juncture in our World Cup qualifiers, that’s your choice bro. But some of us are demanding real progress, not blindly cheering on PR stunts and veiled incompetence.
My brother, you should have just ignored them.
This is a football forum, we are all entitled to our different opinions on different issues. Only small minded people would think talking down on the other man with a different opinion would make them appear “bigger or smarter”.

Back to the issue at Hand, CHAN was launched to give opportunity to local based content, these NPFL talents should first off all go prove themselves at CHAN before getting invited to the SE. Not one of them has shown signs of being an exceptional talent worthy of a SE invite, None!
Ahmed Musa “Failed” in the Turkish league before returning home and suddenly has become a local hero, what should that tell you about the quality of the local league? And suddenly we want the same Musa back in the SE, like we suddenly have retrograde amnesia not to remember how he stunk up the joint in the last SE games he played? Kelechi who couldn’t cut it at Sevilla and is struggling at Middlesborough is someone that should be in the SE line up? And when you point these out they call you a “nagging supporter”? GTFOH!
Nigeria Must Be Great Again

iworo wrote: Mon May 26, 2025 7:33 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon May 26, 2025 5:09 pm He has found new talent in the NPFL that “deserve “ a chance. Musa and Naccho also deserve a chance he claims.
[media] [/media]
That eye rub just told me everything I needed to know. Was he rubbing his eyes because of tiredness or because his lies are burning his conscience? Continue though......this fiction's getting good!
Remember when I said he might be a pathological liar?? Guess I was right. Tuehh!!! :oops:

Preview: Ghana vs. Nigeria - prediction, team news, lineups

Friendly in name but rarely in nature, Ghana and Nigeria are set to rekindle their fierce rivalry when they face off at the Gtech Community Stadium on Wednesday evening in the Unity Cup.

Matches between these two West African giants are never short on intensity, with football serving as just one of the many battlegrounds in a long-running contest that stretches into cuisine, music and culture.

Lagging in the 'Jollof Derby' of late, Ghana now have a chance to restore some lost pride, having failed to win any of the last four encounters against their perennial foes across all competitions.

That run began with a 2-0 defeat in the second leg of the 2022 African Nations Championship qualifier, although the Black Stars still advanced on penalties after a 2-2 aggregate scoreline.

Next came a 2-1 defeat in a March 2023 friendly staged in Marrakech, and there was little respite in their CHAN double-header at the end of 2024 either, with a goalless draw at home followed by a 3-1 loss in the return leg, which confirmed Ghana's absence from the competition proper.

However, Otto Addo's men come into this friendly with momentum on their side, having followed up a ruthless 5-0 thrashing of Chad with a commanding 3-0 victory over Madagascar to remain top of Group I with 15 points in the World Cup preliminaries.

With four games still to come, Ghana are firmly on course to qualify for their fifth global showpiece, which offers much-needed consolation after the disappointment of missing out on the African Cup of Nations set to take place in Morocco later this year.

On the other hand, Nigeria will be present at the continental championship after finishing top of Group D in the preliminaries, but their World Cup journey has been far from smooth, with fears growing that the Super Eagles could miss out on successive tournaments.

The sting of their 2022 exit still lingers: a 1-1 aggregate draw with Ghana in the final playoff round saw the three-time AFCON champions fall short on away goals, and their current campaign remains uncertain under Eric Chelle's watch, with results offering little clarity so far.

The Malian-born coach, who took charge in January, began his tenure with a promising 2-0 win away to Rwanda, but the optimism quickly faded following a frustrating 1-1 home draw against Zimbabwe, a result that leaves the Super Eagles fourth in their group and six points off the summit.

Wednesday's fixture therefore arrives at a crucial juncture, offering a much-needed platform to build momentum before their next friendly against Russia on June 6, which then paves the way for a decisive run of qualifiers in September and October, including double-headers against Rwanda and South Africa, then Lesotho and Benin Republic.

Ghana's squad comprises four home-based players and 19 from abroad, including Abdul Aziz Issah and Aaron Essel, both of whom featured at the recently concluded U20 AFCON.

Sunderland midfielder Abdul Samed Salis, Anderlecht's Majeed Ashimeru, and Juventus Next Gen striker Felix Afena-Gyan all return to the fold, offering a boost to the midfield and attack.

However, several key figures are unavailable — Arsenal's Thomas Partey, West Ham's Mohammed Kudus, and Bournemouth's Antoine Semenyo are all out, though Jordan Ayew is set to lead the line against Nigeria.

For the Super Eagles, both the previous and current CAF Players of the Year — Victor Osimhen and Ademola Lookman — are missing, along with Fulham duo Calvin Bassey and Alex Iwobi.

Ten home-based players have been called up, led by the returning Ahmed Musa, while the European contingent includes Moses Simon, Wilfred Ndidi, Kelechi Iheanacho, Frank Onyeka, Nathan Tella, Cyriel Dessers, and new invitee Felix Agu, all of whom are already in camp.

https://www.sportsmole.co.uk/football/g ... 73595.html
ahidjo2

Post by ahidjo2 »

Game 1
TT Vs Jamaica

Jamaica 3 Trinidad &T 2 full time
Agbako

Post by Agbako »

I keep wondering why am I a fan of the Super Eagles.. So this coach knows we have midfield problem and he is not willing to do what it takes to fix it? Abeg fire dis guy? ha ha ha ha ha haaaaaa....
Re: UNITY CUP & RUSSIA THR

Orion wrote: Mon May 26, 2025 10:11 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon May 26, 2025 6:07 pm Chelle might not be as gullible as we think. The Nff obviously asked him to pick local players they intend to market...
I know the average Nigerian always defaults to "corruption" as the reason for certain decisions. But has it crossed your mind that the abysmal performance of the foreign-based players so far in the WCQers has forced NFF to tell the coach to look for possible local alternatives?

After all, Nwabali (based in Africa) was initially ignored, but turned out to be better than BOTH of our Europe-based keepers.
Like Musa, right? And bringing back Iheanacho?

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Why is this reply not framed yet? This reply definitely deserves a trophy.

Lolly wrote: Tue May 27, 2025 11:06 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon May 26, 2025 6:07 pm Chelle might not be as gullible as we think. The Nff obviously asked him to pick local players they intend to market...
I know the average Nigerian always defaults to "corruption" as the reason for certain decisions. But has it crossed your mind that the abysmal performance of the foreign-based players so far in the WCQers has forced NFF to tell the coach to look for possible local alternatives?

After all, Nwabali (based in Africa) was initially ignored, but turned out to be better than BOTH of our Europe-based keepers.
We know why Musa is still there. His continued inclusion is for political reasons.

As for the other players, I don't know enough about them. However, if I were in charge, I too would be exploring local alternatives. The foreign-based guys are not doing the job! They need competition from the local guys. I think we could put a local team together to defeat Zimbabwe in Nigeria. It's inexcusable for SE to be struggling against Zimbabwe at home in a WCQer, especially when they're already in a bad position.

Uncle Orion, are you singing a new song with regards to players based in Nigeria?

iworo wrote: Wed May 28, 2025 4:58 am Why is this reply not framed yet? This reply definitely deserves a trophy.
...the best of Nigeria (excluding sports) outside Nigeria don't want to go work for corrupt Nigeria. Why? this too can be framed.

Orion wrote: Wed May 28, 2025 8:34 am

We know why Musa is still there. His continued inclusion is for political reasons.

As for the other players, I don't know enough about them. However, if I were in charge, I too would be exploring local alternatives. The foreign-based guys are not doing the job! They need competition from the local guys. I think we could put a local team together to defeat Zimbabwe in Nigeria. It's inexcusable for SE to be struggling against Zimbabwe at home in a WCQer, especially when they're already in a bad position.
...I don talk am tire, but those who enjoy the bonuses these foreign based collect no wan gree.
Plus the hot and humid Nigeria weather is never conducive for these guys coming from europe, even when the matches are played in the evening. Nigerian matches should be at night time but no nepa.
Allow the local players who play in these condition day in day out to tangle with the likes of Rwanda, Lesotho, etc.

Remember Finidi brought in 4 homebased players in the two qualifiers against South Africa and Benin. Did they make any difference?

When last did our homebased Eagles win anything against local opposition or get to the final of a competition? I want FACTS not feelings.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Wed May 28, 2025 1:59 pm

Remember Finidi brought in 4 homebased players in the two qualifiers against South Africa and Benin. Did they make any difference?

When last did our homebased Eagles win anything against local opposition or get to the final of a competition? I want FACTS not feelings.
Lolly,

I do not know whether these many HB will make a difference. However, bringing in players late is not a good example of checking whether or not they make a difference. Besides, we used all Euro-based and yet failed to overcome Lesotho at our home and lost to Rwanda at home. My view, and I have harped on this issue for a while, is that it should matter when you use players who are 110 effort. See Osimhen, see Lookman. If there are such players (Whether FB or HB) then find them and use them. WE cannot continue to use players who play like they are on vacation. That is, and I am convinced, why Nigeria finds it difficult to overcome the likes of Lesotho.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Wed May 28, 2025 2:10 pm

Lolly,

I do not know whether these many HB will make a difference. However, bringing in players late is not a good example of checking whether or not they make a difference. Besides, we used all Euro-based and yet failed to overcome Lesotho at our home and lost to Rwanda at home. My view, and I have harped on this issue for a while, is that it should matter when you use players who are 110 effort. See Osimhen, see Lookman. If there are such players (Whether FB or HB) then find them and use them. WE cannot continue to use players who play like they are on vacation. That is, and I am convinced, why Nigeria finds it difficult to overcome the likes of Lesotho.
Have you asked yourself why the coach has not invited Akpom but continues to invite a declining and underperforming Iheanacho? Same with Sadiq?

There are many players we should be inviting, both home and in the abroad if we feel the players on show are not giving 110%. But the coaches never invite the right fringe players hence why some of us scream corruption. The current top scorer in the local league was not invited but Musa gets invited. Victor Collins was not a starter in his club and was sent out on loan, but he managed to get an SE invite. Tanimu was not the best CD in the NPFL before transferring to Tanzania but managed to get invited. It's easy for the coaches to smuggle in these players for the sole purpose of marketing them since majority of the fans don't follow them and won't have their stats. Not so for foreign based.

One big fact about our football is that no player gets selected for any of our junior teams and CHAN without a godfather. None! Take that to the bank.

Lolly wrote: Wed May 28, 2025 2:39 pm
Enugu II wrote: Wed May 28, 2025 2:10 pm

Lolly,

Have you asked yourself why the coach has not invited Akpom but continues to invite a declining and underperforming Iheanacho? Same with Sadiq?

There are many players who we should be inviting, both home and in the abroad if we fel the players on show are not giving 110%. But the coaches never invite the right fringe players hence why some of us scream corruption. The current top scorer in the local league was not invited but Musa gets invited. Victor Collins was not a starter in his club and was sent out on loan, but he managed to get an SE invite. Tanimu was not the best CD in the NPFL before transferring to Tanzania but managed to get invited. It's easy to get away with such invites because majority of the fans don't follow these local players. It's easy for the coaches to smuggle in these players for the sole purpose of marketing them since majority of the fans don't follow them and won't have their stats. Not so for foreign based.

One big fact about our football is that no player gets selected for any of our junior teams and CHAN without a godfather. None! Take that to the bank.

Lolly,

Yes, I have asked myself.

On Iheanacho? I do not understand why he was invited and I have stated so. On Musa's invitation, I can understand that given the invitation of HB players and his performance in the NPFL.

Nevertheless, one thing that should be clear is this: WE all do not share similar opinions on players. Managers also do not share similar opinions on players. If we all did then we would all be classified as zombies/machines. As humans, we cannot and will never share similar opinions on all players.

On how players are selected in Nigeria, you are only partially correct. Yes, players are frequently recommended by coaches, godfathers, etc. However, the manager ultimately makes decisions on players. If not, then Nigeria would not have performed creditably as it has at those levels. Don't you think so except if what you point out is also occurring all over the world (Nigeria's opponents) or Nigeria has by far the best talents in the world that it not only overcomes the ills that you mention but also overcomes ills such as poor training schedule, among other ills.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Owngoal is stating that only 3 foreign players will start today's match.

Nwabali, Onyeka, Dessers

The rest will be homebased players.

This Chelle is a very weak spined man.

vancity eagle wrote: Wed May 28, 2025 3:50 pm Owngoal is stating that only 3 foreign players will start today's match.

Nwabali, Onyeka, Dessers

VE, u sef dey unrealistic. You think they will carry 10 local players to London, the worldwide capital of football agents , and not play them? This has Nattin to do with Chelle, it’s by fiat.

highbury wrote: Mon May 26, 2025 7:43 pm You are bunch of unbearable individuals. Na so so complaining and innuendos una dey do.
They are correct to complain. I supported Sodiq's and Tanimu's selections as Finidi was familiar with them (NPFL) and they had decent NPFL seasons. But now, we cannot afford to experiment and they haven't even invited the best from the NPFL. Nobody should accept this rubbish

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed May 28, 2025 4:02 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Wed May 28, 2025 3:50 pm Owngoal is stating that only 3 foreign players will start today's match.

Nwabali, Onyeka, Dessers

VE, u sef dey unrealistic. You think they will carry 10 local players to London, the worldwide capital of football agents , and not play them? This has Nattin to do with Chelle, it’s by fiat.
Chelle is alowing it go happen. He is just happy to have a job and will go along.

The last time we had a real coach was Rohrs first contract. He dropped Iheanacho and told Musa to kick rocks.

After his new contract he became a yes man and forced Nacho into every lineup, even changing from the effective 433 to 442 to accommodate him.

That's when things went south.

Eguavoen is the shadow coach, these yes men are just props of the NFF.

I cannot believe we are on the verge of missing back to back world cups, an even have a new coach who is still figuring things out.

Instead of using every opportunity to solidify this team, discover new talents, and gel them into a cohesive unit. We are wasting time with a marketing and pimping jamboree of junks.

You do not know how disgusted I am.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed May 28, 2025 4:02 pm

Nwabali, Onyeka, Dessers

vancity eagle wrote: Wed May 28, 2025 5:00 pm I cannot believe we are on the verge of missing back to back world cups, an even have a new coach who is still figuring things out.

Instead of using every opportunity to solidify this team, discover new talents, and gel them into a cohesive unit. We are wasting time with a marketing and pimping jamboree of junks.

You do not know how disgusted I am.
Yet you were sharing link to the same people who are aiding and abetting the NFF. :lol: :lol: :lol: You are not a serious person.

You deserve every inch of the disgust you feel.