How do we Play Chrisantus?
Truth be told this guy is a proper energetic Attacking Midfielder with an eye for goal and deserves to start in the SE moving forward.
I had the opportunity to watch a couple of his La Liga games and with what he offered in his few minutes of the Jamaican game, I am pretty convinced we need him as a starter in the squad.
I currently rate him above FD.Bashiru and Onyedika.
Problem is does he displace Iwobi from the squad if we must use Ndidi and Frank in the same game? Or do we use the ANC24 format of playing Frank as our DM with Iwobi and Chrisantus playing just in front of the DM?
If we are to play Chukwueze in his new exciting role of RWF + roaming box-box AM, we need a true AM/CM with fast twitch leg fibers that can mop up the lost balls because we know Chukwueze will give away the ball 3/5 times while dribbling in and around the box. I think that player is Chrisantus.
Playing Simon Moses and Chukweze in the same game leads to too many frustrating to-watch ball losing moment during an attack. Both are average crossers of the ball and with how good Osimhen and Tolu can be with aerial balls it’s time to find proper wing backs that can overlap and cross. Aina is decent at this. I didn’t get to see Felix Agu overlap that much and send in crosses, he seemed stuck with trying to do the 1-2 with Simon and a few times appeared indecisive about overlapping behind Moses. With these RWB and LWB limitations we need midfielders than can cross!
I hope Chelle gets to start Chrisantus and Tolu against Russia, now that would be exciting to watch. Two strong imposing footballers in an around the 18yrs box.
For the WCQ, my guess formation would be:
……………………………………….OSimhen……………………………
………………..Lookman………………………………..Chukwueze..
………………………………Iwobi/Chrisantus………………………..
…………………………..Onyeka……………….Ndidi…………………….
……….Felix………..Bassey……………….Ekong……………Aina….
…………………………….……..Maduka……………………………………..
Subs: Tolu for Osimhen
Simon for Lookman
FDB or Tella for Chukwueze
Onyedika for Onyeka
Ogbu for Bassey
Benjamin for Ekong
B.O Samuel
Boniface
Dressers
B. Onyemaechi
Nwabali
I had the opportunity to watch a couple of his La Liga games and with what he offered in his few minutes of the Jamaican game, I am pretty convinced we need him as a starter in the squad.
I currently rate him above FD.Bashiru and Onyedika.
Problem is does he displace Iwobi from the squad if we must use Ndidi and Frank in the same game? Or do we use the ANC24 format of playing Frank as our DM with Iwobi and Chrisantus playing just in front of the DM?
If we are to play Chukwueze in his new exciting role of RWF + roaming box-box AM, we need a true AM/CM with fast twitch leg fibers that can mop up the lost balls because we know Chukwueze will give away the ball 3/5 times while dribbling in and around the box. I think that player is Chrisantus.
Playing Simon Moses and Chukweze in the same game leads to too many frustrating to-watch ball losing moment during an attack. Both are average crossers of the ball and with how good Osimhen and Tolu can be with aerial balls it’s time to find proper wing backs that can overlap and cross. Aina is decent at this. I didn’t get to see Felix Agu overlap that much and send in crosses, he seemed stuck with trying to do the 1-2 with Simon and a few times appeared indecisive about overlapping behind Moses. With these RWB and LWB limitations we need midfielders than can cross!
I hope Chelle gets to start Chrisantus and Tolu against Russia, now that would be exciting to watch. Two strong imposing footballers in an around the 18yrs box.
For the WCQ, my guess formation would be:
……………………………………….OSimhen……………………………
………………..Lookman………………………………..Chukwueze..
………………………………Iwobi/Chrisantus………………………..
…………………………..Onyeka……………….Ndidi…………………….
……….Felix………..Bassey……………….Ekong……………Aina….
…………………………….……..Maduka……………………………………..
Subs: Tolu for Osimhen
Simon for Lookman
FDB or Tella for Chukwueze
Onyedika for Onyeka
Ogbu for Bassey
Benjamin for Ekong
B.O Samuel
Boniface
Dressers
B. Onyemaechi
Nwabali
Nigeria Must Be Great Again
- danfo driver
Re: How do we Play Chrisantus?
He can play as RCM, LCM or AM in the 442 diamond.
(1)
----------------------------------Uche--------------------------------------
-----LCM---------------------------------------------------------RCM------
-----------------------------------CDM-------------------------------------
(2)
-----------------------------------AM--------------------------------------
-----Uche---------------------------------------------------------RCM---
(3)
-----LCM---------------------------------------------------------Uche---
When we are defending a crucial lead and the coach, we can go with:
------------------------------------Striker---------------------------------
--------------------------Uche--------------CM---------------------------
-----LCM---------------------------------------------------------RDM-----
(1)
----------------------------------Uche--------------------------------------
-----LCM---------------------------------------------------------RCM------
(2)
-----Uche---------------------------------------------------------RCM---
(3)
-----LCM---------------------------------------------------------Uche---
When we are defending a crucial lead and the coach, we can go with:
------------------------------------Striker---------------------------------
--------------------------Uche--------------CM---------------------------
-----LCM---------------------------------------------------------RDM-----
- danfo driver
P.s-- I consider Iwobi untouchable. He is our best midfielder by a distance, uncontested.
Very easy. Move Iwobi to his natural position on the right.and bench Chukwuze.
Choose 1 of Onyeka and Ndidi. Can't play with 2 Dms that can't carry the ball or create.
Aina. Troost. Bassey. Agu
Fdb Onyeka
Uche
Iwobi. Vuc. Lookman
Choose 1 of Onyeka and Ndidi. Can't play with 2 Dms that can't carry the ball or create.
Fdb Onyeka
Uche
Iwobi. Vuc. Lookman
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 5:58 pm Very easy. Move Iwobi to his natural position on the right.and bench Chukwuze.
Fdb Onyeka
Uche
Iwobi. Vuc. Lookman
Iwobi on the Right has NEVER worked for Nigeria.
Why play him in a different position from what he played all season long for his club and excelled in? (Left Attacking MF)
Playing him centrally hasn’t worked either.Babalawo wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 7:35 pmEMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 5:58 pm Very easy. Move Iwobi to his natural position on the right.and bench Chukwuze.
Fdb Onyeka
Uche
Iwobi. Vuc. Lookman
Why play him in a different position from what he played all season long for his club and excelled in? (Left Attacking MF)
I agree with Babalawo. Many forget that initially, Nigeria tried Iwobi on the wide right side that was less successful than him playing centrally. For me, he has been better centrally but not in a deep central position. He has a keen eye for a defense opening pass but he cannot do that playing deep.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 7:39 pmPlaying him centrally hasn’t worked either.Babalawo wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 7:35 pmEMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 5:58 pm Very easy. Move Iwobi to his natural position on the right.and bench Chukwuze.
Fdb Onyeka
Uche
Iwobi. Vuc. Lookman
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Spot on. Some people actually watch this game with understanding .danfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 4:31 pm P.s-- I consider Iwobi untouchable. He is our best midfielder by a distance, uncontested.
"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)
I haven't been on these pages for a while but I can see your apathy towards Iwobi hasn't changed. At least you've stopped calling for him to be dropped entirely. Now after watching Uche for 15 minutes, you want to shove Iwobi to the right where he's less effective just to accommodate your new shiny toy in the middle. Smh.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 5:58 pm Very easy. Move Iwobi to his natural position on the right.and bench Chukwuze.
Fdb Onyeka
Uche
Iwobi. Vuc. Lookman
He is best deployed centrally without defensive burden.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 10:51 pmI agree with Babalawo. Many forget that initially, Nigeria tried Iwobi on the wide right side that was less successful than him playing centrally. For me, he has been better centrally but not in a deep central position. He has a keen eye for a defense opening pass but he cannot do that playing deep.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 7:39 pmPlaying him centrally hasn’t worked either.Babalawo wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 7:35 pmEMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 5:58 pm Very easy. Move Iwobi to his natural position on the right.and bench Chukwuze.
Fdb Onyeka
Uche
Iwobi. Vuc. Lookman
In a three man midfield. He replaces Iwobi as a pure CM. Two way. Behind him any two off:
Ndidi
Onyedika
Onyeka
His direct subs are: Iwobi, FDB for now.
Ndidi
Onyedika
Onyeka
His direct subs are: Iwobi, FDB for now.
Spot on.vancity eagle wrote: ↑Mon Jun 02, 2025 1:26 amHe is best deployed centrally without defensive burden.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 10:51 pmI agree with Babalawo. Many forget that initially, Nigeria tried Iwobi on the wide right side that was less successful than him playing centrally. For me, he has been better centrally but not in a deep central position. He has a keen eye for a defense opening pass but he cannot do that playing deep.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 7:39 pmPlaying him centrally hasn’t worked either.Babalawo wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 7:35 pmEMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 5:58 pm Very easy. Move Iwobi to his natural position on the right.and bench Chukwuze.
Fdb Onyeka
Uche
Iwobi. Vuc. Lookman
As it seems, it’s either Iwobi or Chrisantus and not both at the same time, except we are behind and seriously chasing a goal, then our CHM can be sacrificed for two AM’s.
No I think Chrisantus isn't really an AM but naturally a more CM.Babalawo wrote: ↑Mon Jun 02, 2025 2:38 amSpot on.vancity eagle wrote: ↑Mon Jun 02, 2025 1:26 amHe is best deployed centrally without defensive burden.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 10:51 pmI agree with Babalawo. Many forget that initially, Nigeria tried Iwobi on the wide right side that was less successful than him playing centrally. For me, he has been better centrally but not in a deep central position. He has a keen eye for a defense opening pass but he cannot do that playing deep.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 7:39 pmPlaying him centrally hasn’t worked either.Babalawo wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 7:35 pmEMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 5:58 pm Very easy. Move Iwobi to his natural position on the right.and bench Chukwuze.
Fdb Onyeka
Uche
Iwobi. Vuc. Lookman
As it seems, it’s either Iwobi or Chrisantus and not both at the same time, except we are behind and seriously chasing a goal, then our CHM can be sacrificed for two AM’s.
I would play both Iwobi and Chrisantus, with a pure DM to make the midfield more dynamic.
Danfo ... Naaaahh ... lets be honest with ourselves. Did we miss Mr Iwobi in this recent two games played?danfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 4:31 pm P.s-- I consider Iwobi untouchable. He is our best midfielder by a distance, uncontested.
Answer me honestly. For me his absence the better. But if you all think he is the best we can muster in that midfield? Then we will continue to struggle. He got his qualities. But not enough to help our Attackers ... PERIOD.
Iwobi is a system player, he does well when the team has gelled in an established system. He’s not a primary creator but he’s complimentary in many aspects of the game. If you have to win, do t depend on him. If you’re about to win, he’s your man.Agbako wrote: ↑Mon Jun 02, 2025 5:28 amDanfo ... Naaaahh ... lets be honest with ourselves. Did we miss Mr Iwobi in this recent two games played?danfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 4:31 pm P.s-- I consider Iwobi untouchable. He is our best midfielder by a distance, uncontested.
Answer me honestly. For me his absence the better. But if you all think he is the best we can muster in that midfield? Then we will continue to struggle. He got his qualities. But not enough to help our Attackers ... PERIOD.
Let’s see him play a few more minutes before concluding that he will displace any player in the team.
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
If you watched him at Getafe last season you would know the boy is ready for SE prime time.
His numbers last season (4G, 6A, 33 Games) not bad, but still not as good as Iwobis (9G, 6A, 38 Games).
There’s something energetic about his play that we desperately need in the SE.
A 3-way midfield of…
………………....Iwobi………………….Chrisantus…………..
………………………………….Frank………………………………….
might bring the stability we desperately need in the midfield.
- airwolex
Iwobi is actually better on the right truth be told, but I agree he is a guaranteed starter.Cally wrote: ↑Mon Jun 02, 2025 1:24 amI haven't been on these pages for a while but I can see your apathy towards Iwobi hasn't changed. At least you've stopped calling for him to be dropped entirely. Now after watching Uche for 15 minutes, you want to shove Iwobi to the right where he's less effective just to accommodate your new shiny toy in the middle. Smh.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 5:58 pm Very easy. Move Iwobi to his natural position on the right.and bench Chukwuze.
Fdb Onyeka
Uche
Iwobi. Vuc. Lookman
He will most likely be deployed in a front 2 in Chelle's 4-4-2 diamond.
I am interested to see what that looks like with him and Osimhen.
Frank is not a defensive midfielder and I wouldn’t play him there. Ndidi is still the best we have at the moment even with his shortcomings. I think Onyedika is still learning his trade in that position and can’t seem to be ready to bench Ndidi as we’ve seen from the different coaches who have refused to start hon ahead of Ndidi.Babalawo wrote: ↑Mon Jun 02, 2025 10:48 amIf you watched him at Getafe last season you would know the boy is ready for SE prime time.
His numbers last season (4G, 6A, 33 Games) not bad, but still not as good as Iwobis (9G, 6A, 38 Games).
There’s something energetic about his play that we desperately need in the SE.
A 3-way midfield of…
………………....Iwobi………………….Chrisantus…………..
………………………………….Frank………………………………….
might bring the stability we desperately need in the midfield.
On Chrisantus, he has played in different positions for his club and not as a central midfielder in most cases. I would still like to see him play at least 65 minutes for the SE before I judge him. No doubt, he comes with a decent record for Getafe.
Last edited by Lolly on Mon Jun 02, 2025 1:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
So you will drop Lookman for Chrisantus?
- danfo driver
I am always honest. No, we did not miss Iwobi in the recent two games against -Agbako wrote: ↑Mon Jun 02, 2025 5:28 amDanfo ... Naaaahh ... lets be honest with ourselves. Did we miss Mr Iwobi in this recent two games played?danfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 4:31 pm P.s-- I consider Iwobi untouchable. He is our best midfielder by a distance, uncontested.
1. Ghana second team in the first half. But we missed him in the second half when they ravaged us and made us look like primary 2 pteam.
2. Jamaica's players who are mostly Div 2 and 3 players; yet, we couldnt beat them without penalties.
I agree. We didnt miss Iwobi. Lets continue to use this team because we will always play against Ghana 2nd string and Jamaica's Div 2 and 3 players.

I truly feel sorry for you guys. Your coach was celebrating an Inter house sports trophy and the fans are twerking for beating 2 teams with the worst set of players you can see in present day football. Thats our level now.

- danfo driver
This is false. The sad fact is that you guys watch games, without seeing the games. His last 2 SE coaches and teammates have actually tried to tell you the truth, but you are refusing to listen -- Iwobi has sacrificed himself and his own success for the Eagles in the last 2 coaches. He has agreed to play defensively because the coaches have asked him to do it. Many players will say "NO!" and the coach cant do sh1t about it. Iwobi did not.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Mon Jun 02, 2025 5:58 amIwobi is a system player, he does well when the team has gelled in an established system. He’s not a primary creator but he’s complimentary in many aspects of the game. If you have to win, do t depend on him. If you’re about to win, he’s your man.Agbako wrote: ↑Mon Jun 02, 2025 5:28 amDanfo ... Naaaahh ... lets be honest with ourselves. Did we miss Mr Iwobi in this recent two games played?danfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 4:31 pm P.s-- I consider Iwobi untouchable. He is our best midfielder by a distance, uncontested.
Last season, Iwobi was one of the top midfielders in the EPL - easily. No contest. While your 3 midfielders whom played against Div 2 and 3 Jamaican players - Ndidi, got relegated; Onyeka, was sent on loan like a youth team child; and Chukwueze was so embarrassing that he became 6th choice.

You guys are the worst thing to happen to Nigerian football. Its almost like your main goal is to infiltrate our fanbase and then destroy our team from within. Imagine a guy (Agbako) saying our midfield was better without Iwobi in this tournament. Dude! Did you see the opposition?