Russia v Nigeria - 1:1 FT
Re: Russia v Nigeria - 1:1 FT
How many 'overhyped' players can anyone see? Too much energy, no composure or coordination.
Championship football!
- danfo driver
Re: Russia v Nigeria - 1:1
i am comfortable with the result and performance. We could have performed better, but some players showed that they belong and thats the most important thing.
Leaving Moscow (against their first team) with a draw, with our second team, missing 8-9 first 11 players, is very very impressive. I keep saying that if the coach selects his team on merit, we can be very competitive.
- danfo driver

- maceo4
They weren’t at the Unity Cup and our defense looked the same, it’s not just about them it’s the system…Tobi17 wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:35 pm Tolu and Dessers are officially the capable deputies for Osimhen, midfield looks solid as always.
Defence needs to be overhauled, it's clear Ajayi and Ekong are now deadweights that have to be phased out, Bruno needs more competition and Felix Agu couldn't have come at a better time for that purpose.
Good game for the eagles.
Coming to Russia and forcing a draw on home soil is no easy feat.
Congratulations to Chelle.
Our weakest link was our CB pairing of Ekong and Ajayi If the Russians were more clinical we would have been 3-4 goals behind.
Man of the match was obviously Maduka Okoye! What a keeper!
Our weakest link was our CB pairing of Ekong and Ajayi If the Russians were more clinical we would have been 3-4 goals behind.
Last edited by Babalawo on Fri Jun 06, 2025 10:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Nigeria Must Be Great Again
- danfo driver
As they should be. They used their first team @ home and we used our B team.maceo4 wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:35 pm 1-1 Final, they are a better team than us but we got a result, a lot of work for us to do, but I do like us having more CM on the field rather than wing play that always leaves us more susceptible to the counter. But that said I think if we are serious we will have to revert to 3 at the back, we can’t defend otherwise…

The result is not bad at all. Russia is a decent side that is banned from playing competitive games. They will take these matches in front of a full crowd in Moscow like life or death.
I am not impressed with the performance, though. It seemed like an exercise in survival more than anything else. None of the attackers really brought much to the table today and the defense was typically unorganized (the theme since the last AFCON ended). Tolu did OK off the bench, just by hustling and battling, which is much more than Boniface. I don't what is wrong with that one. Good player, but has never shown it once for Nigeria.
Okoye was fantastic; he should get his #1 back
"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
This must be one of Osayi's better games for us. He was solid.
The star players for us today were Onyedika, Onyeka, Okoye, and to some extent Dele-Bashiru and Osayi.
Uche faded after a good start.
Ekong and Ajayi didnt have a good game today.
Brunu was Bruno.
Boniface and Simon were very poor.
The star players for us today were Onyedika, Onyeka, Okoye, and to some extent Dele-Bashiru and Osayi.
Brunu was Bruno.
Last edited by Lolly on Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

You still calling Captain Nigeria that name?
Onyedika is a baller sha, proper rolls royce player. Once he gets that move to AC Milan or West ham,I can see him getting even better.
Re: Russia v Nigeria - 1:0
habaBigpokey24 wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:11 pm petrol $$$ boniface won't press that ball Tolu just scored
wetin happen, since when did you start calling SE names?
Aina didn't play, stop with the fake post. Also Russia also had just 2 shots on goal. How the heck did you give the goalie the man of the match? Agenda must Agend. Russia had 10 shots with only 2 on target, they scored an own goal. We had 6 shots and 4 on target . be honest.Babalawo wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:37 pm Good game for the eagles.
Our weakest link was our CB pairing of Ekong and Aina. If the Russians were more clinical we would have been 3-4 goals behind.
And if dem no go world cup the thunder dey come for ur yansh shey just like in 2022.
Probability of qualifying is less than 50% and i don't have confidence in this team. Na gra gra to score a goal or defend a lead.
I admire your patrotism but i am just keeping it real based on what i see
danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:36 pm i am comfortable with the result and performance. We could have performed better, but some players showed that they belong and thats the most important thing.
Fair result. But that was never the issue..
But very unimpressed with the performance.
No discernible improvement from game to game under this coach.
None whatsoever...
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
I agree, dude had a good game.Lolly wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:39 pm This must be one of Osayi's better games for us. He was solid.
Brunu was Bruno.
Now we have our #1 and #2 RWB in Aina and Osayi.
If anyone mentions Sodiq here again….
One thing I will say. You cannot compare Unity Cup against Ghana and Jamaica semi-reserve sides in comfortable London to a match in that hostile environment against a side like Russia. Today was a lot more similar to what we'll see in Jo'burg in a must win match. So, I am very critical of Boniface today, but I have no reason to think he couldn't replicate what Desserts did against worse teams. It is hard to say.
But CE members can be grumpy sha, following football commentary and opinions here can feel like a doomsday hour. From the match stats, it's obvious Russia didn't blow us out of the park with thousands of chances created like folks here would make it seem.. they only had 2 shots on target from 10 shots (from the STATS) while we even had 4 ON TARGET from 7. Make una dey relax with this old men type of football analysis here abeg, that's why its better to actually follow football on credible sites where stats are actually provided than on CE.
Last edited by Tobi17 on Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- danfo driver

Nothing much to write about our play. It was a lot of akrija kinda scrimmage. We were more individualiatic than team-esque. Russia was more but marginally organized than us.
If not for the Ukrainian village people whose native drone afflicted the Russian goalie and gave Arokodare a free goal, I can't imagine how we would have scored. One annoying thing we have to confront now is our pathetic defence of set pieces. We were lucky not to have conceded twice from free headers.
We have officially moved from Iyanu a Chelle to Ki lo n Chelle.
If not for the Ukrainian village people whose native drone afflicted the Russian goalie and gave Arokodare a free goal, I can't imagine how we would have scored. One annoying thing we have to confront now is our pathetic defence of set pieces. We were lucky not to have conceded twice from free headers.
We have officially moved from Iyanu a Chelle to Ki lo n Chelle.
Last edited by anointed on Fri Jun 06, 2025 8:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
anointed wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:57 pm Nothing much to write about our play. It was a lot of akrija kinda scrimmage. We were more individualiatic than team-esque. Russia was more but marginally organized than us.
If not for the Ukrainian village people whose native drone afflicted the Russian goalie and Arokodare a free goal, I can't imagine how we would have scored. One annoying thing we have to confront now is our pathetic defence of set pieces. We were lucky not to have conceded twice from free headers.
We have officially moved from _Iyanu a_ Chelle to _Ki lo n_ Chelle.
Nothing more to add. Sometimes I feel like the peeps watching the game here are in an alternate universe...
We are not playing modern football.
My brother we have not played clean football in a while. Na constant heart attack, stoke footie sotay i dont expect anything else. We will qualify hopefully. No 9ja would make the world cup very boring to me.Babadee wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:43 pmAnd if dem no go world cup the thunder dey come for ur yansh shey just like in 2022.
Probability of qualifying is less than 50% and i don't have confidence in this team. Na gra gra to score a goal or defend a lead.
I admire your patrotism but i am just keeping it real based on what i see
You guys and always trying to be condescending to the next guy. It’s a football forum for crying out loud, this is not coaching school where shoulders have to be raised based on who’s more tactically aware.txj wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:59 pmanointed wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:57 pm Nothing much to write about our play. It was a lot of akrija kinda scrimmage. We were more individualiatic than team-esque. Russia was more but marginally organized than us.
If not for the Ukrainian village people whose native drone afflicted the Russian goalie and Arokodare a free goal, I can't imagine how we would have scored. One annoying thing we have to confront now is our pathetic defence of set pieces. We were lucky not to have conceded twice from free headers.
We have officially moved from _Iyanu a_ Chelle to _Ki lo n_ Chelle.
Nothing more to add. Sometimes I feel like the peeps watching the game here are in an alternate universe...
We are not playing modern football.
Y’all should take a chill pill and allow people express themselves, it’s not that serious.