Did Mikel lie about the flight tickets to Rio?
Re: Did Mikel lie about the flight tickets to Rio?
Mikel dey sometimes exaggerate, SSS has a different tory....
controversy sells

- packerland
SS has to be diplomatic with his words. I’m guessing he has other beef with Mikel. Maybe Mikel never reached out once during his FIFA ban.
As far as Mikel goes, the guy looks and acts like a snitch. He has realized that “hot takes” sells.
- danfo driver
SiaSia is a convicted criminal thief.
MIkel on the other hand has not been convicted of being a thief.
If I am asked to take the word of a convicted criminal thief or a person who is not, the latter seems a better bet.
- packerland
danfo driver wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 1:26 pm SiaSia is a convicted criminal thief.

I love SiaOne as a coach but he’s clearly playing fast and loose as usual.
I’d take Mikel’s word over these hustlers any day.
the worst is that edafe, he is such a missive irritant, i cannot stand him
- danfo driver
Oh! I didnt watch the video. I dont usually watch or read nonsense at all. There are many times videos are posted here, i dont even waste my time. or an article or post is made and I dont read it.packerland wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 1:29 pmdanfo driver wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 1:26 pm SiaSia is a convicted criminal thief.
If I am asked to take the word of a convicted criminal thief or a person who is not, the latter seems a better bet.![]()
what about the player that spoke up? Is he a convict too?
The more I get to understand Nigerians (and especially those related to football), I see why Mikel distances himself from them and does not allow them into his circle. And frankly, he has done himself a HUGE SERVICE! My only wish for Osimhen is that he will become like Mikel. I know him and Mikel talk, and I truly hope Mikel will get him (Osimhen) to be like him (Mikel), as soon as possible. H
- danfo driver
Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 2:12 pm the worst is that edafe, he is such a missive irritant, i cannot stand him

Siasia is a bitter old man! He uses every opportunity to have a go at Mikel because the boy didn’t help him financially when he had FIFA problems.packerland wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 12:50 pm SS has to be diplomatic with his words. I’m guessing he has other beef with Mikel. Maybe Mikel never reached out once during his FIFA ban.
Siasia should be like a father to Mikel having coached him at U20, U23 and SE levels. He should comport himself with the dignity of an elder. Mikel is the one keeping a dignified silence by not responding to him.
He should also remember that Mikel sacrificed his Chelsea career by going to play for him at the Olympics
No need to watch the video. Yemi Idowu paid for the initial craft before the Delta craft was secured by another businessman.
Yemi Idowu also paid SiaSia’s salary. Till today, he has never been reimbursed by the NFF and that soured his relationship with SS.
How Mikel could have paid for tickets and at what point, I am not sure.
Yemi Idowu also paid SiaSia’s salary. Till today, he has never been reimbursed by the NFF and that soured his relationship with SS.
No need to watch the video. Yemi Idowu paid for the initial craft before the Delta craft was secured by another businessman.
- packerland
I agreed with everything you said except for your last sentence. Mikel was at the end of his career and was already getting pushed out by the coach at that time, who I believe was Conte. Going to the Olympics was his “fuuck you!” To Conte and to showcase his talent to his new club. I doubt if he was still a starter at Chelsea he would’ve participated in that tournament. The Olympics was in July of 2016, by January 2017 Mikel signed with a Chinese club.Dammy wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 2:49 pmSiasia is a bitter old man! He uses every opportunity to have a go at Mikel because the boy didn’t help him financially when he had FIFA problems.packerland wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 12:50 pm SS has to be diplomatic with his words. I’m guessing he has other beef with Mikel. Maybe Mikel never reached out once during his FIFA ban.
Siasia should be like a father to Mikel having coached him at U20, U23 and SE levels. He should comport himself with the dignity of an elder. Mikel is the one keeping a dignified silence by not responding to him.
He should also remember that Mikel sacrificed his Chelsea career by going to play for him at the Olympics
This story is Gaining traction in Nigerian media, and I hate that for us because everyone has realized clicks and view pay.
Few things to clear up.... Mikel said this on someone else's platform not his own. So, he didn't need to lie for clicks and views.
Also, it's undisputable that Mikel paid for hotel accommodation and camp feeding throughout their stay in Atlanta. It has already been established he brought out his credit card to pay for SOMETHING!
Also, given the fact that he led the revolt of the original plane brought to fly the team, I have no doubt in my mind he was approached to pay for a replacement plane. NONE! Now whether he paid the money or paid to the wrong person (no one is considering the fact the Mikel may have gotten scammed) that is what this debate is about, but I would not call him a liar.
If anything, he should be praised from saving us from embarrassment when the players key cards stopped working until he put his AMEX down.
Some of our leaderships are a bunch of useless clowns.
Few things to clear up.... Mikel said this on someone else's platform not his own. So, he didn't need to lie for clicks and views.
Also, it's undisputable that Mikel paid for hotel accommodation and camp feeding throughout their stay in Atlanta. It has already been established he brought out his credit card to pay for SOMETHING!
Also, given the fact that he led the revolt of the original plane brought to fly the team, I have no doubt in my mind he was approached to pay for a replacement plane. NONE! Now whether he paid the money or paid to the wrong person (no one is considering the fact the Mikel may have gotten scammed) that is what this debate is about, but I would not call him a liar.
If anything, he should be praised from saving us from embarrassment when the players key cards stopped working until he put his AMEX down.
- TonyTheTigerKiller
I don’t believe Siasia and the other fellow, whoever he is. They’re both lying. The NFF or NOC has never refuted Mikel’s claim… and they can’t because they’ll be sued for libel or slander

- danfo driver
The citizens/fanbase are bigger clowns. They are complicit and excitedly give the leadership the platform to be silly.Ugbowo wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 3:49 pm This story is Gaining traction in Nigerian media, and I hate that for us because everyone has realized clicks and view pay.
Just look at this scenario. Rather that these people focus on the fact that a whole country that has government officials purchasing homes in New York, Paris and London cannot cover the full expenses of the national team, they are focusing on whether Mikel is a liar or this and that. Disgusting natives.

Once again people should call out that hideous odafe... dude is the worst. I have him blocked on x and youtube, have no clue why the goat keeps popping up.
Actually Edafe contributed a lot to that teams success, he helped in raising funds when the team ran out of money, so he is actually in a good position to talk. Why are we not focusing on the NFF? It is clear someone embezzled the funds big time and also as someone pointed out, Mikel could have been scammed.Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 5:07 pm Once again people should call out that hideous odafe... dude is the worst. I have him blocked on x and youtube, have no clue why the goat keeps popping up.
And you are just a garrulous dumbo.danfo driver wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 1:26 pm SiaSia is a convicted criminal thief.
Which court convicted Siasia? What did he steal? Do you have any idea why FIFA banned him.
You just open your mouth gbua gbua as if them just channelize am to allow sewage pass freely. Oniyeye.
Last edited by anointed on Mon Jun 23, 2025 6:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
Thank you.nzeogwu wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 2:53 pm No need to watch the video. Yemi Idowu paid for the initial craft before the Delta craft was secured by another businessman.
This has already being discussed here a few years ago and even Siasia said it on tape that Yemi Idowu gave him $250,000 towards the plane. Unless Mikel paid someone else and the coaching crew were not involved. But that couldn’t have been for the plane that the coach paid for.
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=318239
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
In other words, if Siasia didn't speak up on this issue, the Yemi Idowu would think Siasia didn't use the money for its intended purpose and it was Mikel who actually paid.Lolly wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 6:28 pmThank you.nzeogwu wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 2:53 pm No need to watch the video. Yemi Idowu paid for the initial craft before the Delta craft was secured by another businessman.
This has already being discussed here a few years ago and even Siasia said it on tape that Yemi Idowu gave him $250,000 towards the plane. Unless Mikel paid someone else and the coaching crew were not involved. But that couldn’t have been for the plane that the coach paid for.
What I have also always believed was that Mikel bailed the team out.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
From 2016
From 2024
Nigeria’s under-23 Olympic football team made international headlines a few days ago for the wrong reasons after stories emerged of how the team was ‘stranded’ in Atlanta and had to be ‘rescued’ by Delta Airlines. Little did many know that the real hero was Yemi Idowu, a Nigerian businessman, sports philanthropist and enthusiast, who spent $300,000 from his personal pockets to provide an aircraft to fly the Dream Team from Atlanta long before Delta Airlines provided an alternate flight plan.
https://www.opinionnigeria.com/samson-s ... ole-isaac/
From 2024
So, where did this Mikel version come from?As regards the plane issue, we were supposed to arrive a week before the Olympics but there was no money and a Nigerian, Yemi Idowu, chartered a plane for us. Up till now the NFF hasn’t paid him back the $250,000 and now the guy is angry with me. I called him and apologised to him, explaining that we should have paid him the money but the money had disappeared.
https://punchng.com/siasia-recounts-pre ... -scarcity/
Mikel paid for some of their bills but not all. A few other guys in Atlanta who used to play soccer with Siasia also raised money for the team and helped with other expenses. And another Nigerian guy helped broker the Delta deal.anointed wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 6:58 pmIn other words, if Siasia didn't speak up on this issue, the Yemi Idowu would think Siasia didn't use the money for its intended purpose and it was Mikel who actually paid.Lolly wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 6:28 pmThank you.nzeogwu wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 2:53 pm No need to watch the video. Yemi Idowu paid for the initial craft before the Delta craft was secured by another businessman.
What I have also always believed was that Mikel bailed the team out.
Sadly, Yemi Idowu does not believe Siasia. Yemi is the son of Late Chief Nathaniel Idowu, who himself once solely sponsored the SE to one of the AFCONS. So philanthropy runs in the family.