Weder Bremen join the list of clubs chasing Taiye Taiwo
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
Weder Bremen join the list of clubs chasing Taiye Taiwo
Werder Bremen have joined the list of admirers of Marseille full back Taye Taiwo.
The Nigeria international already has Italian giants Internazionale and Juventus on his trail and is now coveted in Germany. Reports have suggested that Inter are ready to make a £4 million offer for Taiwo at the end of the season.
But Inter could be rivalled by Werder, who took note of Taiwo's performances at the recent African Cup of Nations. Werder are also rumoured to have watched the defender during Marseille's Uefa Cup clash with Bolton Wanderers in midweek.
Marseille would be reluctant to lose Taiwo in the summer, but their resolve could be tested by Inter and Werder.
© BSkyB
The Nigeria international already has Italian giants Internazionale and Juventus on his trail and is now coveted in Germany. Reports have suggested that Inter are ready to make a £4 million offer for Taiwo at the end of the season.
But Inter could be rivalled by Werder, who took note of Taiwo's performances at the recent African Cup of Nations. Werder are also rumoured to have watched the defender during Marseille's Uefa Cup clash with Bolton Wanderers in midweek.
Marseille would be reluctant to lose Taiwo in the summer, but their resolve could be tested by Inter and Werder.
© BSkyB
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
not sure about that. at the moment bundesliga is crap and in a crisis since a few years. serie a would be the better choice.Ayo Akinfe wrote:Besides, the boy needs top class coaching. In Serie A or Die Bundesliga, they will cut out his defensive flaws.
Remember that Taribo used to make the same mistakes as him before he went to Inter Milan. However, watch Nigeria waste his talent in the national team.
- maceo4
One funny thing everybody seems to forget is that Roberto Carlos played in Italy for Inter.....how much did his defensive frailties improve?Mudi E wrote:The Serie A giants would be better for Taye Taiwo. They will work on his defensive positioning as Italy is the mecca for defenders. He will gain valuable experience there.....Taye, Italy here you come.
kofi86 wrote:not sure about that. at the moment bundesliga is crap and in a crisis since a few years. serie a would be the better choice.Ayo Akinfe wrote:Besides, the boy needs top class coaching. In Serie A or Die Bundesliga, they will cut out his defensive flaws.
Remember that Taribo used to make the same mistakes as him before he went to Inter Milan. However, watch Nigeria waste his talent in the national team.
with one exeption: Bayern Munich

"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti
Naija 4 life!
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
u are sounding more like a broken LP record. Cyber ceritified coaches are pathetic, nuts & phsyco.Ayo Akinfe wrote:Taiye's frailties just show how little he was taught in Nigeria. How can a player who plied his trade in Nigeria's premier league not have been taught basic things like positioning yourself next to the centreback to mop up behind him?
Nigerian coaches are pathetic man!
Ayo kinfe, you're begining to make the idiotic comments I knew you for in time past.
First of all, Taribo did not cut out NADA in millan....He became a great defender in Auxere....By milan, he was MADE.Italian teams of Inters calibre do not buy street defenders. So TT can become all he can be in Marseilles. You obviously know very little about Taribo. He owes his career to Gux Roux not any inter coach.
And by the way, we can fill up this thread with names of USELESS european defenders....are we then to say european coaches are pathetic??? Only about 5 premiership teams have good defences....the rest are laughable....so abeg SHARRAP, if you no sabi how to make your point. Mace04 made a point about R.Carlos....READ IT!
First of all, Taribo did not cut out NADA in millan....He became a great defender in Auxere....By milan, he was MADE.Italian teams of Inters calibre do not buy street defenders. So TT can become all he can be in Marseilles. You obviously know very little about Taribo. He owes his career to Gux Roux not any inter coach.
And by the way, we can fill up this thread with names of USELESS european defenders....are we then to say european coaches are pathetic??? Only about 5 premiership teams have good defences....the rest are laughable....so abeg SHARRAP, if you no sabi how to make your point. Mace04 made a point about R.Carlos....READ IT!
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
See how little you know. Taribo was 100% raw in Nigeria and it was not until he went to Auxerre that they refined him. However, he was still not the complete article and it was Inter that turned him into a world class player.deanotito wrote:Ayo kinfe, you're begining to make the idiotic comments I knew you for in time past.
By 1997/98, Taribo West had become the best man-marker in the world. I just hope Taiwo's career goes that way.
Akinfe, again...FA FA FA FOWL....INTER DID NOTHING TO TARIBO EXCEPT PROVIDE HIM WITH TOUGH ITALIAN STRIKERS TO COMPETE WITH. I dont even know you and can already claim to have watched more auxerre/inter matches that had taribo in it than you could dream...so please dont claim things you know nothing about.
I hope the capitalized nature of my typing helps things to sink into that ya head.
I can see that you also conveniently sidestepped the remainder of my post.
I hope the capitalized nature of my typing helps things to sink into that ya head.
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
Go and look at Taribo's tackle on Andrei Kanchelskis and you will realise that when he went to Inter, he still had a lot to learn. Gigi Simeone brought a lot out of him.deanotito wrote:Akinfe, again...FA FA FA FOWL....INTER DID NOTHING TO TARIBO EXCEPT PROVIDE HIM WITH TOUGH ITALIAN STRIKERS TO COMPETE WITH. I dont even know you and can already claim to have watched more auxerre/inter matches that had taribo in it than you could dream...so please dont claim things you know nothing about.
Yes, Guy Roix started the groooming of Taribo but he did not complete the job. Playing alongside Lurent Blanc for Auxerre did Taribo a world of good but it was not until he went to the San Siro that he hit his prime.
Again......in Taribo's first game for Inter, he was eager to impress.....made a rash tackle while trying to chase down kanchelskis...apart from that tackle, he had an AWESOME game....Gigi Simone can go and die....he did nothing to make him a great defender....Even Guy Roux doesnt deserve all the praise...It was his loaning of Taribo to a lower division side that did the magic. When Ribo got back to auxerre, Roux built on him.
If what you're tryna say is that Taribo never made anymore rash tackles after that, then the stuff you're drinking is stronger than once thought.
Dont go losing your mind here.
If what you're tryna say is that Taribo never made anymore rash tackles after that, then the stuff you're drinking is stronger than once thought.
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
Maybe na Amodu make Taribo!deanotito wrote:Again......in Taribo's first game for Inter, he was eager to impress.....made a rash tackle while trying to chase down kanchelskis...apart from that tackle, he had an AWESOME game....Gigi Simone can go and die....he did nothing to make him a great defender....Even Guy Roux doesnt deserve all the praise...It was his loaning of Taribo to a lower division side that did the magic. When Ribo got back to auxerre, Roux built on him.
they badly need a LB. they need a lb for years, that is their weak point!Yiba wrote:I think Serie A is the right place to be for TT.I do not think that Weder Bremen needs a LB urgently.Weder Bremen bought a player recently to compete with Owomoyela at RB.
TT needs to be schooled about rudimentary defending Italian style.
Ayo is right on this one. When Inter bought West from Auxerre, it was assumed by Italian commentators that he was joining as a squad player. His first game against Fiorentina was so bad that I was embarassed and the Channel 4 commentator was pleading with the bench to substitute him. Inter rested him for the next game and then returned him to the starting XI and the rest is history. According to the German Coach, Berti Vogts, before the friendly against Germany in Koln in 1998, Taribo West was the most improved CD in the world. Who should take that compliment? Inter of course!!!