SALISU YUSUF DON HAMMER!!!...then gets caught

Re: SALISU YUSUF DON HAMMER!!!...then gets caught

Damn this is quite a shame for a promising coach. All for $750?

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:He collected money but didn’t select their players. He’s probably fine with SE but I don’t think this is the full story.

But the videos states both players made the CHAN squad nah?

jette1 wrote:SO entrapping people and framing them is not in itself criminal
it depends on the jurisdiction and what the law of that jurisdiction states.

However, your response to this thread deeply offends me! Your concern is that Salisu was "entrapped and framed," rather than the fact that Salisu was caught collecting money from an "agent" and smiling, full-toothed? Tomorrow, someone will blame the baby boomers for Nigeria's corruption crises, when Millennials are just as horrendous!
You have to look at everything in context; I'm sure you would agree that without context then this means nothing and with context Salisu is not a bribe taker and is an honest man. for context - If for example he was always suspected of taking bribes and just needed to be caught on tape then this would be big deal. Besides it is immoral to entrap an innocent man in this manner with mere chiken change and expect us to be outraged.

What context explains the 15% cut promised to him to which he agreed?

Despeeate local coach. Hus behaviour is Typical of greedy Nigerians. This is the same mindset that makes a custom or immigration officer that earns 10s even 100s of thousands of Naira collect N100 bribe at the airport. Just pure

WOW!

Does not look good at all.

He should at the very least be suspended and then fired. I believe in Naijaria, you don't have to complete the process of acting favourably for it to be termed a bribe. Once you accept the money which was given to you explicitly to curry favour, whether you do it or don't do it, it is a crime.

Kai! The greed. :boo: :boo:

...and the dude is claiming it was $750 so as to claim it was a gift that falls under FIFA allowable standard. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Who the #$%& is he fooling? :rotf: :rotf:
I KPOM the highlighted by stating "suspended" immediately and "fired" after investigation if found to have taken the bribe knowingly. There should be no room for shenanigans. The amount matters very little, a bribe is a bribe.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
kali

Post by kali »

Fantastically corrupt Nigerians on cybereagles.com debating whether it was bribe or not! If you don't want to be induced don't collect the gift it's as simple as that.

Why are some people acting surprised when we all know that this is part of the rot that bedevils Nigerian football.

Salisu should be suspended from his post immediately pending an NFF investigation.

mystic wrote:Why are some people acting surprised when we all know that this is part of the rot that bedevils Nigerian football.

Salisu should be suspended from his post immediately pending an NFF investigation.
Difference is someone actually showing 'proof' unlike those that make unsubstantiated allegations.

What is missing is the actual discussion that took place between them. This editing gives rise to suspicion.

Ugbowo wrote:I’m disappointed for Salisu because na $1k dem wan use take drag hin name now. Meanwhile $1k gets u jack $#% in real life especially wrt Super Eagles. CHAN or NOT.

This heavily edited video shows Salisu accepting the cash but then saying they have to earn it on the field. Meaning he probably really did think it was dash. It was terrible judgement on his part but U17 team place cost millions of Naira. Talkless of Super Eagles.
Dude, come on. :?

Seriously a man has got to have a price for himself, I keep using a certain phrase, if I am going to eat a frog, I will eat one that has eggs. One thousand dollars is too cheap to risk tarnishing one's image and dignity for.

But the problem here is in the context of the Nigerian society where money is worshipped... especially the football circle where money is seen as god.

Good luck to him....he has tarnished his own name entrapment or not. But the good thing for him is that in the same Nigeria acts like this might not even raise any eyebrows.

As mu h as I like what Anas is doing, I think society at large place little value on integrity. It is hardly priced and rewarded in Africa. You're more likely to starve.

We've heard about the refs who took bribes, Kofi Nyantakyi etc but how many of you actually know just one name of those who declined the bribes? They are not even footnote, not rewarded or celebrated.

For those who take bribes the sun shines more than it rains. They know one day might spell their end but all the ones they've gotten away with..... makes it profitable
Last edited by pajimoh on Tue Jul 24, 2018 8:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

pajimoh wrote:As mu h as I like what Anas is doing, I think society at large place little value on integrity. It is hardly priced and rewarded in Africa. You're more likely to starve.

We've heard about the refs who took bribe, Kofi Nyantakyi etc but how many of you actually know just one name of those who de li ed the bribes? They are not even footnote, not rewarded or celebrated.

For those who take bribes the sun shines more than it rains. They know one day might spell their end but all the ones they've gotten away with..... makes it profitable
You make a good point. I believe that a piecemeal attitude towards corruption or any social ill in general might even do more harm than good.

It is like the people who take away certain jobs from the poor, without giving them alternatives. I think in Africa we need to mount a considerable fight against corruption. It cannot be piecemeal. It cannot be for headlines. If you fight corruption, you must fight corruption in its entirely, otherwise it is pointless.

I do not know of any society that has successfully shaped human behaviour based on token deterrence alone. It just doesn't work! You cannot create a system where corruption is the norm, take 3 bad eggs out and then say wow I have done a great job. 1) Nothing will change, because nothing can change. 2) It will be a drop in the ocean.

What Anas is doing is great, it must become a movement. Salisu is not the issue, the Ghanaian FA boss is not the issue, many have come before them, and many will come after them, if the fight is not wholesale. We need the fight to permeate all levels of sports, then we will have two outcomes 1) Better management and capacity to adequately pay folk 2) The rot will truly be eroded and integrity will be made popular.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

jette1 wrote:SO entrapping people and framing them is not in itself criminal
it depends on the jurisdiction and what the law of that jurisdiction states.

However, your response to this thread deeply offends me! Your concern is that Salisu was "entrapped and framed," rather than the fact that Salisu was caught collecting money from an "agent" and smiling, full-toothed? Tomorrow, someone will blame the baby boomers for Nigeria's corruption crises, when Millennials are just as horrendous!
Read through all the responses and this just has to be the best. This act cannot be defended. It brings the game into disrepute simple and short. Anyone with a thread of honour will esign, and if he does not, he should be fired. Simple as that. He can go and clear his name and if he does that, his position can be reconsidered.

What a shame.

A God fearing man will not take bribes! Whats new anyway

It appears the investigative journalists were given $1000 for the sting but gave Salisu $750.
BBC should also investigate what happened to the balance.
It appears both parties are crooked.
heavyd

Post by heavyd »

Dammy wrote:It appears the investigative journalists were given $1000 for the sting but gave Salisu $750.
BBC should also investigate what happened to the balance.
It appears both parties are crooked.
YNWA

Can’t believe Salisu didn’t frisk the under cover agents before the meeting began! Anyway we all know that 9ja’s god is money so the sting is no surprise

Well I doubt it he'll ever work outside Nigeria so he'll be ok,it's not as if he be out of a job for doing that over there,people that have played football in Nigeria have probably suffered or benefitted from corruption and nothing has been done to change that!

pajimoh wrote:As mu h as I like what Anas is doing, I think society at large place little value on integrity. It is hardly priced and rewarded in Africa. You're more likely to starve.

We've heard about the refs who took bribes, Kofi Nyantakyi etc but how many of you actually know just one name of those who declined the bribes? They are not even footnote, not rewarded or celebrated.

pajimoh,

:clap: :clap: Very good point. While punishment is due for those who are taking bribe, it is really important to know those who refused. This is a very important point so that posterity can record it as well.

BTW, the Anas project is one that should be lauded by everyone. In fact, I hope that more similar projects can come up to stem the stench from these corrupt activities.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Innocent until proven guilty.
tmex12

Post by tmex12 »

fabio wrote:Innocent until proven guilty.
He is on video! :rotf: :rotf:

mystic wrote:Why are some people acting surprised when we all know that this is part of the rot that bedevils Nigerian football.

Difference is someone actually showing 'proof' unlike those that make unsubstantiated allegations.
My bro, Na who dem catch naim be thief. Abi?