FIFA Club World Cup( watch free on DAZN or TNT )

Re: FIFA Club World Cup( watch free on DAZN or TNT )

packerland wrote: Tue Jun 24, 2025 9:39 am
bret- hart wrote: Tue Jun 24, 2025 3:38 am
danfo driver wrote: Tue Jun 24, 2025 3:30 am
YUJAM wrote: Tue Jun 24, 2025 3:25 am
Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Jun 24, 2025 3:17 am Porto are truly $#%... says a lot about the Portuguese league
Or maybe the quality of the African Champions league

Ahly missing buckets of goals.
Both. People look down on African CL wrongly and people overrate the Portuguese League. 70% of the teams are below average-to-very poor. Some of their players for sh1t teams like Farense, Arouca and Estoril make as low as 1K euros a week. :oops:
CAF CL is poor. The level of competition in Africa is low thats why an average team like Al Ahly wins all the time. West african club football has declined exponentially and that is a major reason why.
Al Ahly Is going home because their finishing is very poor. With that said, they will beat the mess out of our local clubs and their players are better compared to NPFL players. Go figure! This is why I roll my eyes when we invite the likes of Papa Murphy Daniels. Our best players are in Europe and in some academies.
I dont know about that. Egypt always produce good strikers by African standards. The Palestinian Striker for Al Ahly was pretty good. The issue is that the level of competition in the CAF CL is very poor. Asides from Sundowns, Pyramids, Esperance, Wydad how many decent clubs are there truly in Africa? One can even argue that the Egyptian league is tougher than the CAF CL. Al Ahly pretty much breeze into the semis with little or no resistance until they run into the aforementioned teams

The decline of west African clubs is a massive factor. Back then we had teams like Enyimba, Hearts of Oak, Asante Kotoko, ASEC, Canon Yaounde, Haifia, etc. Now these clubs can't compete because the best West African talents get snatched up by European teams before they reach 20 years old.

Also, horrific officiating and lax punishment for North African antics is a problem. Also why is it that in a 2 legged knockout playoff, The North African team always play their 2nd leg at home? Thats some of the BS i am talking about.

This Al Ahly group was very easy. Iner Miami BBL, A very poor Porto team and Palmeras. They have no excuse.

bret- hart wrote: Tue Jun 24, 2025 12:43 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Jun 24, 2025 3:17 am Porto are truly $#%... says a lot about the Portuguese league

Both. People look down on African CL wrongly and people overrate the Portuguese League. 70% of the teams are below average-to-very poor. Some of their players for sh1t teams like Farense, Arouca and Estoril make as low as 1K euros a week. :oops:
CAF CL is poor. The level of competition in Africa is low thats why an average team like Al Ahly wins all the time. West african club football has declined exponentially and that is a major reason why.
Al Ahly Is going home because their finishing is very poor. With that said, they will beat the mess out of our local clubs and their players are better compared to NPFL players. Go figure! This is why I roll my eyes when we invite the likes of Papa Murphy Daniels. Our best players are in Europe and in some academies.
I dont know about that. Egypt always produce good strikers by African standards. The Palestinian Striker for Al Ahly was pretty good. The issue is that the level of competition in the CAF CL is very poor. Asides from Sundowns, Pyramids, Esperance, Wydad how many decent clubs are there truly in Africa? One can even argue that the Egyptian league is tougher than the CAF CL. Al Ahly pretty much breeze into the semis with little or no resistance until they run into the aforementioned teams

The decline of west African clubs is a massive factor. Back then we had teams like Enyimba, Hearts of Oak, Asante Kotoko, ASEC, Canon Yaounde, Haifia, etc. Now these clubs can't compete because the best West African talents get snatched up by European teams before they reach 20 years old.

Also, horrific officiating and lax punishment for North African antics is a problem. Also why is it that in a 2 legged knockout playoff, The North African team always play their 2nd leg at home? Thats some of the BS i am talking about.

This Al Ahly group was very easy. Iner Miami BBL, A very poor Porto team and Palmeras. They have no excuse.
:lol: :lol: Miami BBL? :lol: :lol:

Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Jun 24, 2025 11:53 am CAF club football is actually rubbish. I mean proper rubbish. They are only slightly better than FC Auckland
This is an attention seeking commment.
But some things never change. Even the results from the various confederation in this tournament belies this statement. Only Europe and S America (because of the Brazilian teams) have outperformed CAF teams. As for your comparison with Auckland, only you know what that's based on. 🤷‍♂️

bret- hart wrote: Tue Jun 24, 2025 12:43 pm

Had they finished their multiple chances against Inter Miami BBL :rotf: they would’ve finished second from the group. They should have beaten Porto yesterday by an 2 goal margin minimum. Everything you said about West African clubs are on point.

Like I said, Brighton shouldnt even be an option if the kid is patient

YUJAM wrote: Tue Jun 24, 2025 2:22 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Jun 24, 2025 11:53 am CAF club football is actually rubbish. I mean proper rubbish. They are only slightly better than FC Auckland
This is an attention seeking commment.
But some things never change. Even the results from the various confederation in this tournament belies this statement. Only Europe and S America (because of the Brazilian teams) have outperformed CAF teams. As for your comparison with Auckland, only you know what that's based on. 🤷‍♂️
Let's call a spade a spade. The caf teams have been crap, imagine the two so called power houses let in 4 goals each in their most recent games

Mighty Bica Juniors toiling with Auckland FC. Another bunch of gringos making up the numbers.

Boca is really down bad. 1-1 vs Auckland city.

Chelle needs to look at Ogbelu

I wish Esperance still had Anayo Iwala. He is far better than Mokena.

Tosin scores 1-0 Chelsea

i guess tosin gets his english cap now :roll:

2-0 Delap, Esperance collapse. Make I go back to bed joor!

what a finish by Delap

mtchewwwww switching to the LA vs Flamengo game

bret- hart wrote: Wed Jun 25, 2025 2:22 am i guess tosin gets his english cap now :roll:
He almost gifts an equaliser immediately! That’s why the England cap is not likely to come

This is how you deal with stubborrn african teams like Tunisia. Set peice score take your chances and finish them off.

what a horrible game from sundowns

Bigpokey24 wrote: Wed Jun 25, 2025 10:44 pm what a horrible game from sundowns
When tiki taka meets tumblers of umqombothi. Passing for the sake of passing. At times, the casualness was near treasonous. Undercooked pass backs, non-progressive options favoured over verticality. Yes, they averaged over 50% possession across all matches, but the produce of their possession left much to be desired.

Well done to them nonetheless. Hopefully the revenue generated will make it back to the continent, to the club, to the areas where investment is needed and not be disappeared like Copperfield’s elephant.

Argentines such bad losers.

bret- hart wrote: Thu Jun 26, 2025 3:30 am Argentines such bad losers.
Real sore losers. Acuna had to try to fight the only black guy playing for Inter.

packerland wrote: Thu Jun 26, 2025 4:02 am
bret- hart wrote: Thu Jun 26, 2025 3:30 am Argentines such bad losers.
Real sore losers. Acuna had to try to fight the only black guy playing for Inter.
...the Argies will always showcase their racist side.