[Friendly] NIGERIA 0 MEXICO 0 FT
Re: [Friendly 2H] NIGERIA 0 MEXICO 0
plus selfishness when approaching or moving towards Mexico's keeper and his post.okidoki wrote:We need work. I see indiscipline entering the team.
Re: [Friendly] NIGERIA 0 MEXICO 0 FT
We forget Mexico despite struggling to qualify from CONCACAF is ranked #21 by FIFA.
I think that's a fair reflection of their quality and ranking.
We like to think that the SE are in the top 10 in the world. The reality is that we
are better than our #45 or #47 FIFA ranking shows. But we are not top 10 yet.
Just on gut feel, we are between #20 and #25 .... so today's result was fair.
The SE hustled when Mexico had the ball and dispossessed them well.
However, Mexico in the last 45 minutes of the game also closed the SE down
fast which makes a difference.
Overall, I got the thought that the SE never got out of 1st gear - and that could
be because of Mexico's tight marking in the 2nd half.
I am not sure about Uchebo and Ezekiel. However, Azeez and Balogun warrant
a second look.
We like to think that the SE are in the top 10 in the world. The reality is that we
Overall, I got the thought that the SE never got out of 1st gear - and that could
a second look.

Don't mind them...maceo4 wrote:I wonder sometimes with these people, the way Moses was running at them troubling them, how will anyone say he should be warned
Moses had a solid 2H.
- GREENWHITEGREEN
Fundamentals, Watson.blueangel wrote:Musa heighted a Mexican defender in the 18, trapped the ball had time to shoot and simply passed the ball out for a Mexican goal kick.
Very Sad
-Simpli fy -
Very impressive.okidoki wrote:Omeruo has been massive.
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
Not a bad game, but the Mexicans fouled a lot and the ref did squat. Mikel held the ball too long and killed so many attacking moves. That is one thing I don't care for in his game. Also fatigue was factor too.
You are overreacting. you do realise that these guys flew in like 2 days ago from 6 hr time difference and played a against a home team with a vociferous crowd backing them. Some of these guys were even meeting each other for the first time and you want them to look like Barcelona? Personally I blame the NFF for not playing a game in Europe. The boys did good getting a result here. My only concern is that we really didn't learn about the new guys much.ora wrote:Biko, Keshi this is crap....You are the coach, but as you can see from this game we are not going pass the round robin stage.
Keshi needs to mix the youth with the experienced players if we are to go further later this year.
1. Upfront, bring on Height... Skill and a goal poacher
2. We do not have any creativity in the Midfield
3. Leon looks good, but again we need an Experienced player along with the you... Elderson vs ....Oboabona vs...
4. Goal keeping is solid for # 1 and 2
5. We need to fortify the bench with better reserves
We've got lots of work ahead.Not impressed at all
Tbite wrote: Yes we have deadweights in our team like Babatunde, Agbim and Rueben, but they are OUR deadweights! Our wastepipes! We must love them...respect them! If we do not love our junks....who will? Who?
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Mexico came to win the match.... They left cleat marks and elbows.green4life wrote:Gotti wrote:YUJAM wrote:Solid game all around. Mexico brought its best as did Nigeria and I think both sides played very well![]()
I liked the friendly because it showed us what we need to work on, aside from defending set pieces... and we have to preach UNSELFISH play... I liked the energy level. The coaching staff did not do any of the debutants any justice... Uchebo was starved of service and had to drop deep... Azeez was played too advanced to have any impact, Leon looked stiff (then again when he went away the replacement at RB did not look any better), Imoh was trying too much to show he belonged (he needed to have the game come to him)... I think with some camping, these guys will learn to trust one another and know what each player is capable of.
- green4life
Thanks for reminding them it was a friendly.Nature wrote:Our guys were being careful not to cup injury this close to world cup, I have no doubt they will bring it in Brazil.
- maceo4
Balogun?sarkin doya wrote:We forget Mexico despite struggling to qualify from CONCACAF is ranked #21 by FIFA.
a second look.

I think it was ChileDIMKA76 wrote:Mexico hammered England in Wembley 2-0
I like both Omeruo and Oboabona, they are quality players, but sometimes I wonder about their compatibility as a partnership. Both of them would be ideal next aerially dominant, physical type. We have to work with what has been given us, though.Lolly wrote:Very impressive.okidoki wrote:Omeruo has been massive.
Anyone that called this a good game got it way wrong!
1.Some guys could not control the ball.
2.Almost every corner kick was poorly defended as the mexicans got to it first and had to be saved by the goalie
3.Some guys were ignoring the unmarked man on the flanks only to turn and run into a waiting crowd of Mexicans
4.Poor poor poor decisions in the final third several times...
5.Very very poor handling of freekicks....did not use the height advantage over the Mexicans in this regard.
Plusses:
1. Imoh Ezekiel..I like him. Defended well for the team and in the few minutes he had took a goalbound shot that was deflected.
2. Hardworking midfield...got to most balls first before the Mexes
3.Agile goalies...saved our blushes when called upon
4.Somewhat cohesive defensive unit..made a couple of questionable decisions but you can tell these are good defenders
5.This team was gathered a few days ago and played against a team that's been training together for weeks so that deserves credit.
verdict: We should have beaten them..I expected us to.If we can finish better in the world cup we'd be ok...some teams wont be as forgiving..
Pa
2.Almost every corner kick was poorly defended as the mexicans got to it first and had to be saved by the goalie
3.Some guys were ignoring the unmarked man on the flanks only to turn and run into a waiting crowd of Mexicans
5.Very very poor handling of freekicks....did not use the height advantage over the Mexicans in this regard.
Plusses:
1. Imoh Ezekiel..I like him. Defended well for the team and in the few minutes he had took a goalbound shot that was deflected.
4.Somewhat cohesive defensive unit..made a couple of questionable decisions but you can tell these are good defenders
5.This team was gathered a few days ago and played against a team that's been training together for weeks so that deserves credit.
verdict: We should have beaten them..I expected us to.If we can finish better in the world cup we'd be ok...some teams wont be as forgiving..
Pa
Available on all major streaming platforms

- The YeyeMan
I agree. The team didn't play to the supposed strengths of Uchebo, Azeez and Imoh. I thought Balogun looked OK - he looks a defence first sort of defender, no frills.Cellular wrote:I liked the friendly because it showed us what we need to work on, aside from defending set pieces... and we have to preach UNSELFISH play... I liked the energy level. The coaching staff did not do any of the debutants any justice... Uchebo was starved of service and had to drop deep... Azeez was played too advanced to have any impact, Leon looked stiff (then again when he went away the replacement at RB did not look any better), Imoh was trying too much to show he belonged (he needed to have the game come to him)... I think with some camping, these guys will learn to trust one another and know what each play is capable of.
Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16
© The YeyeMan 2025
I like Imoh Ezekiel. I'll love to have him in the team.
"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
It was a friendly...paj wrote:Anyone that called this a good game got it way wrong!
Plusses:
Pa
blueangel wrote:Musa heighted a Mexican defender in the 18, trapped the ball had time to shoot and simply passed the ball out for a Mexican goal kick.
Very Sad
Simply pathetic.
what was the possession %?
Based on what I saw, it was like Mexico 80% Naija 20%
Rawlings wrote:what was the possession %?
And so saying, Mexico won the game. Just like Ghana won against Monte"nogrow".
- green4life
Mexico disrupted the flow of our play by fouling/ rough tackling counting on the fact that had we become more physical the concacaf ref would blow against us. They had no yellow cards the entire game compared to 3 for us. Kudos to our boys for not turning the game into a dirt-fest.
- The YeyeMan
This often seemed the case... especially when the team was in shooting distance. Would have been useful to have a midfielder who could strike the ball from long range seeing a lot of the play was in front of the Mexican defence rather than getting behind them... There were a lot of passing around the box which ended up nowhere...B!GGESTMAN wrote:We do not know what to do when we get to the final third. We hustled them when they had the ball and broke at pace on NUMEROUS occasions and made the wrong decision on almost all of those times!
Last edited by The YeyeMan on Thu Mar 06, 2014 5:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16
© The YeyeMan 2025
- maceo4
This guy, Azeez would have done the same thing regardless of where he was played, this is how he plays for his clubs, he just runs around as if he is closing players down but never really engages, he doesn't really do too much on either side of the ball, but won't lose it when he gets it and will find the easiest outlet and let the ball go...just a continuity/bench player if he goes to Brazil...Cellular wrote:Mexico came to win the match.... They left cleat marks and elbows.green4life wrote:Gotti wrote:YUJAM wrote:Solid game all around. Mexico brought its best as did Nigeria and I think both sides played very well![]()
I liked the friendly because it showed us what we need to work on, aside from defending set pieces... and we have to preach UNSELFISH play... I liked the energy level. The coaching staff did not do any of the debutants any justice... Uchebo was starved of service and had to drop deep... Azeez was played too advanced to have any impact, Leon looked stiff (then again when he went away the replacement at RB did not look any better), Imoh was trying too much to show he belonged (he needed to have the game come to him)... I think with some camping, these guys will learn to trust one another and know what each player is capable of.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
I would like to see him play CD... but I guess in looking for a back up for Efe, he was supposed to get extended look at RB. I think he looked nervous... hope he is okay.The YeyeMan wrote:I agree. The team didn't play to the supposed strengths of Uchebo, Azeez and Imoh. I thought Balogun looked OK - he looks a defence first sort of defender, no frills.Cellular wrote:I liked the friendly because it showed us what we need to work on, aside from defending set pieces... and we have to preach UNSELFISH play... I liked the energy level. The coaching staff did not do any of the debutants any justice... Uchebo was starved of service and had to drop deep... Azeez was played too advanced to have any impact, Leon looked stiff (then again when he went away the replacement at RB did not look any better), Imoh was trying too much to show he belonged (he needed to have the game come to him)... I think with some camping, these guys will learn to trust one another and know what each play is capable of.
He never really got a chance to settle into the game. I hope Keshi saw enough of him in the 2 practices to give him an extended look at camp.
Watching the new players, it seemed they were played in positions that did not highlight their strengths... almost like they were being handicapped.