FA RESCIND TERRY'S RED CARD...PLAYS AGAINST MAN U ON SUNDAY

ukblack
FA RESCIND TERRY'S RED CARD...PLAYS AGAINST MAN U ON SUNDAY

Post by ukblack »

http://www.football365.com/story/0,1703 ... 51,00.html

BLUES SUCCEED IN TERRY APPEAL
Posted 16/09/08 14:18EmailPrintSave

Chelsea 5/4, Draw 2/1, Man. Utd 5/2
Chelsea captain John Terry is free to face Manchester United in the Barclays Premier League on Sunday after winning an appeal against the red card he picked up at Manchester City.

Terry was dismissed at Eastlands on Saturday after bringing down City striker Jo as the Brazilian threatened in the 77th minute.

Referee Mark Halsey deemed it a professional foul and showed Terry the red card, but Chelsea protested, and submitted a claim for wrongful dismissal.

Jo still had a long way to go to goal when the foul came in from Terry, whose fellow defender Ricardo Carvalho was in close attendance.

An independent regulatory commission heard the appeal on Tuesday and the Football Association revealed they upheld Chelsea's claim, meaning England captain Terry must no longer serve a three-match ban.

..Omey...over to U... 8-)

Its only b/c he's an English-man. That foul was at least a yellow card, and I read that they do not reduce reds to yellows, unless it wasn't a bookable offense at all (which it clearly was).

maceo4 wrote:Its only b/c he's an English-man. That foul was at least a yellow card, and I read that they do not reduce reds to yellows, unless it wasn't a bookable offense at all (which it clearly was).
..unless also of the ref's a moron...which he clearly was... 8-)
seyiblack

Post by seyiblack »

Are you kidding me? I thougt they only overturn red cards if the foul was not worthy of any card at all. So you are trying to tell me that wrestling challenge was not even worthy of a yellow card??? :shock:
It is so obvious that this is English partiality. And they never overturned Mikel's red cards. Ridiculous.
Support our boys regardless of coach, ethnicity of players and pure jealousy.
Oba

Post by Oba »

The tackle did not deserve a red. We all know that. The ref was high on something.

seyiblack wrote:Are you kidding me? I thougt they only overturn red cards if the foul was not worthy of any card at all. So you are trying to tell me that wrestling challenge was not even worthy of a yellow card??? :shock:
It is so obvious that this is English partiality. And they never overturned Mikel's red cards. Ridiculous.
That tackle was typical Terry thuggish football and deserved a booking, but as per normal "Shon of the soil" treatment comes into play. Yeye!
amafolas

Post by amafolas »

Though the tackle did not deserve a Red card. It certainly deserved a yellow card. First, John Terry was caught out of position, can completely beat. Next, he raised his foot clearly barely his studs. Right before he makes contact, his studs start facing down and he clearly steps on Jo. He then proceeded to wrestly Jo to the floor with his hands. Thats a yellow card offense to me.

The rules are clear, the red card should only be rescinded if the foul is not worth of yellow card. This foul clearly was, and as such, the card should have not been rescinded. This is a clear case of favoring the English captain.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.
osa

Post by osa »

AreaDaddy wrote:
seyiblack wrote:Are you kidding me? I thougt they only overturn red cards if the foul was not worthy of any card at all. So you are trying to tell me that wrestling challenge was not even worthy of a yellow card??? :shock:
That tackle was typical Terry thuggish football and deserved a booking, but as per normal "Shon of the soil" treatment comes into play. Yeye!
opaks!

osa wrote:
AreaDaddy wrote:
opaks!
Dude, it was a rugby tackle, NFL players would be proud it, how he can completely get off for that tackle is an indictment on FA and their bias.
jeff

Post by jeff »

osa wrote:
AreaDaddy wrote:
opaks!
Dude, it was a rugby tackle, NFL players would be proud it, how he can completely get off for that tackle is an indictment on FA and their bias.
tackle was made in the CENTER CIRCLE, 50 yards away from Cech!! and he had Carvalho covering for him, so its not a Professional foul-red card

jeff wrote:
osa wrote:
AreaDaddy wrote:
opaks!
tackle was made in the CENTER CIRCLE, 50 yards away from Cech!! and he had Carvalho covering for him, so its not a Professional foul-red card
Re-read the rules...that tackle was at least a yellow card...if thats the case then the red card cannot be rescinded, just like Mikels red cards last season weren't (though they deserved a yellow). A red can only be rescinded if the action deserved no card whatsoever.
ardile

Post by ardile »

Does this mean he has gotten out of jail on that Rugby tackle?

Seems England skippers are untouchable in the EPL, I remember a certain Alan Shearer being accorded this same kind of treatment by the FA a while back.

And this is the same FA that wants Referees to be "Respected"

If Terry's "tackle" on Jo does not fit the defination of Serious foul play; "the use of excessive force or brutality against an opponent when challenging for the ball when it is play"... then the Earth is flat!!!
WENEVER..... WEAREVER ..... WOTEVER .... 4EVER .....
................................................................................... ARSENAL!!!!!

"No great things has ever been accomplished without somebody's crazy ideas; the biggest things in life have been achieved by people who, at the beginning, we would have judged crazy. And yet, if they had not had these crazy ideas, the world would have been more stupid." - Arsene Wenger..

Oba wrote:The tackle did not deserve a red. We all know that. The ref was high on something.
Is that tackle worth any card at all? My brother ask yourself that question. :roll:

d2dbo

Post by d2dbo »

maceo4 wrote:Its only b/c he's an English-man. That foul was at least a yellow card, and I read that they do not reduce reds to yellows, unless it wasn't a bookable offense at all (which it clearly was).
Did the red get reduced to a yellow?...Read the rule you typed with ur own hands above...and you'd understand the decision is the only one that follows logically from the rules.

Chelsea all day..........
facebook.com/levelzdey
Re: FA RESCIND TERRY'S RED CARD...PLAYS AGAINST MAN U ON SUN

Post by 27 »

ukblack wrote:FA RESCIND TERRY'S RED CARD
It's not been rescinded in the Fantasy Premier League.

d2dbo wrote:
Did the red get reduced to a yellow?...Read the rule you typed with ur own hands above...and you'd understand the decision is the only one that follows logically from the rules.

Na, you need to re-read what I wrote....are you trying to tell me that the tackle didn't deserve a yellow?

d2dbo wrote:

Na, you need to re-read what I wrote....are you trying to tell me that the tackle didn't deserve a yellow?
..did I deserve a red?

That tackle did not deserve a red card. I think most of us agree with that. So as long as he's not getting a red, it's ok. But this will come up when another player undeserving of a red has it upheld because of a bookable offence.

jeff wrote:
osa wrote:
AreaDaddy wrote:
opaks!
Re-read the rules...that tackle was at least a yellow card...if thats the case then the red card cannot be rescinded, just like Mikels red cards last season weren't (though they deserved a yellow). A red can only be rescinded if the action deserved no card whatsoever.
..imho that's a horrible rule......the ref goofed..they need to rewrite their books
osa

Post by osa »

AreaDaddy wrote:
opaks!

that was a yellow, however if that was walcott or martins he fould it should have been a red

paj wrote:..Omey...over to U... 8-)
What more can i say???
Man if they piss me off,i will make a beat dedicated to Our victory over Chelsea :evil:
Last edited by omey2k4 on Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.