Oshaniwa's intervention requires a thread of its own

This move by Oshaniwa has to go down as one of the World Cup's best athletic moves. I was impressed by Didier Zokora's athleticism, but this move takes the cake.

Only Van Persie's header I think can top this move.

Look at that stretch! It was even better in real time, when it happened. That was not just a beautiful stretch, but it arguably prevented a goal as well!

My Word!
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
Re: Oshaniwa's intervention requires a thread of its own

:clap: :clap: :agree: :agree: :agree:

But mikels millisecond denial of a CIV sure goal in Cup of Nation still tops this one
Last edited by jette1 on Sat Jul 19, 2014 5:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
bolaji

Post by bolaji »

I couldn't lift my jaws off of the floor as I watched Oshaniwa flicked that ball away in one of the most acrobatic way I'd ever witnessed especially considering how spontaneous the move was. :shock: For me, that's the defensive move of the decade and shows amazing awareness and alertness to the duty at hand :clap:
Furthermore. that move alone shows how incredibly fit and nimble Oshaniwa is and shows he's one tough defender to play against, :thumb:
Tbite wrote:Image

This move by Oshaniwa has to go down as one of the World Cup's best athletic moves. I was impressed by Didier Zokora's athleticism, but this move takes the cake.

Look at that stretch! It was even better in real time, when it happened. That was not just a beautiful stretch, but it arguably prevented a goal as well!

My Word!
"Daddy, that man looks scary" said my 6yr old son on seeing Ghanaian's GK Dauda's face coming towards the Camera Lens. My avatar is my tribute to the only man that has managed to scare the craps out of my son.

I don't even think I could do HALF of that, if I practised for 2 weeks.

and this guy did that in game time, under pressure. :scared: :scared: :scared:
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Tbite wrote:I don't even think I could do HALF of that, if I practised for 2 weeks.

You got a gif of it?

EagleGunner

Post by EagleGunner »

My Word!
:agree: :agree: I actually thought that Pogba was about to take a free pot shot at our goal before Oshaniwa acrobatically flicked the ball away after heading it in one quick fluid motion. Even Pogba was bewildered as he was perhaps 80% sure he was about tohave a free shot on goal. I think that Oshaniwa was our most improved player during the tournament

Super Eagles Apparel Storefront

http://bit.ly/2KAOOse

he's a good player. Arguably better than echejile

EagleGunner wrote:

My Word!
:agree: :agree: I actually thought that Pogba was about to take a free pot shot at our goal before Oshaniwa acrobatically flicked the ball away after heading it in one quick fluid motion. Even Pogba was bewildered as he was perhaps 80% sure he was about tohave a free shot on goal. I think that Oshaniwa was our most improved player during the tournament
For you guys to remember the incident in such detail just from a photo, it must have been pretty special.
I missed the second half and couldn't get myself to watch it after hearing the final result.
This alone probably makes it worth a watch.

Damunk wrote:This alone probably makes it worth a watch.
Not really. All you need to see is already in the photo.

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025

Tbite wrote:I don't even think I could do HALF of that, if I practised for 2 weeks.

you wan tear your yansh? :)
jungle-jawara

Post by jungle-jawara »

What does half of it look like??? Lol
mojojojo

Post by mojojojo »

The shrining don start!!

bolaji wrote:I couldn't lift my jaws off of the floor as I watched Oshaniwa flicked that ball away in one of the most acrobatic way I'd ever witnessed especially considering how spontaneous the move was. :shock: For me, that's the defensive move of the decade and shows amazing awareness and alertness to the duty at hand :clap:
Furthermore. that move alone shows how incredibly fit and nimble Oshaniwa is and shows he's one tough defender to play against, :thumb:

Kneedeep

Post by Kneedeep »

Tony Harris special, there seems to be no transfer interest after the WC, if he's all that, how come? The new coach will bring back our Taiye Taiwo so we can see stars :tic: .
Advocating rational thought since 1987
Riversboy

Post by Riversboy »

bolaji wrote:I couldn't lift my jaws off of the floor as I watched Oshaniwa flicked that ball away in one of the most acrobatic way I'd ever witnessed especially considering how spontaneous the move was. :shock: For me, that's the defensive move of the decade and shows amazing awareness and alertness to the duty at hand :clap:

RB.
Chief Ogbunigwe wrote: is this what we celebrate these days, nutmeg?

This is too funny... :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

wey our resident it experts abeg make una GIF the moment now abeg ?

Apart from the acrobatic display, Mikel's millisecond thinking goal-mouth denial of CIV sure equalizer at cup of Nation in south Africa tops this still

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

jungle-jawara wrote:

dude, no offense, but your avatar is by far the gayest looking avatar in the history of the internet.

jungle-jawara wrote:

dude, no offense, but your avatar is by far the gayest looking avatar in the history of the internet.
Seriously what had that got to do with the thread. Kai mods abeg ban this kabukabu driver :rotf:

Oshaniwa: Echejile’s Absence Challenged Me
Saturday, 19 July 2014 21:22 Written by Editor
20-7-2014
NIGERIA international, Juwon Oshaniwa has revealed that his gleaming performance at the 2014 FIFA World Cup was in response to the barrage of criticism that trailed his inclusion in the 23-man list.

Oshaniwa eventually became the Super Eagles’ first choice in the left-back position in Brazil following injury to AS Monaco’s Elderson Echiejile, which ruled him out of the tournament.

The 23-year-old played all four matches as Nigeria reached the second round for the first time in 16 years.

He stated that self-belief was responsible for his commendable performance as responsibility beckoned on him following Echiejile’s blackout.

“It feels good and also a great achievement putting smiles on the faces of critics. Well, I felt so bad that my friend (Echiejile) was ruled out of the competition despite his contributions to the team’s qualification for the tournament,” Oshaniwa told Goal.

“Knowing that responsibility of replacing him beckoned on me, I had to put myself together, take charge to put smiles on the faces of Nigerians.”

The Ashdod of Israel star also revealed that he is not in a hurry to move to another club not unmindful of several offers coming from other European clubs.

“For every player on earth, there is always a desire for a greener pasture and I can tell you that mine is not an exception. “I have set some targets for myself, which I am working towards achieving because I’m sure the future is very bright for me.

“Sure, I have received some offers from other clubs and that I won’t disclose until everything materialises. “Right now, I’m with my parents to share some moments with them and also to receive their blessings before preparing for the new league season,” he concluded.
http://www.ngrguardiannews.com/sport/17 ... llenged-me

:veryangry: :veryangry: :veryangry: I want gif..i want gif ...I want gif...pleaseeeeeee

Sorry for the quality, the source video was not the best (although it was MKV)

Without Zoom

With Zoom