Oliseh’s axe dangles on Emenike
http://www.vanguardngr.com/2015/10/olis ... n-emenike/
on October 18, 2015 / in Sports 9:58 pm / Comments
Facebook Twitter Google+ LinkedIn Reddit Print
There are very strong indications that Sunday Oliseh will axe Emmanuel Emenike from next month’s World Cup qualifier against Swaziland after the striker failed to deliver in four matches under the new Eagles coach.
Oliseh is a big admirer of Emenike after he top scored at the 2013 AFCON in South Africa, but he has now gone more than two years without a goal for the three-time African champions.
His last goal was in Ethiopia in October 2013 in a final 2014 World Cup play-off.
A top source close to the team revealed: “Oliseh is disappointed Emenike has not justified the confidence he has in him.
“He has been given his chance by the coach, who is now seriously considering Odion Ighalo to lead his attack against Swaziland next month.”
Watford striker Ighalo responded to his snub by the Eagles coach for his first set of call-ups by scoring in a 3-0 win over Cameroon in Brussels.
It was his second goal for the Eagles after he fired his first against Chad in Kaduna in June.
Nigeria and Swaziland will battle for a place in the third round of the 2018 World Cup qualifying campaign.
The two legs are slated for between November 9 and 17 with the overall winners to a third round to be played on a mini-league basis.
http://www.vanguardngr.com/2015/10/olis ... n-emenike/
on October 18, 2015 / in Sports 9:58 pm / Comments
Facebook Twitter Google+ LinkedIn Reddit Print
There are very strong indications that Sunday Oliseh will axe Emmanuel Emenike from next month’s World Cup qualifier against Swaziland after the striker failed to deliver in four matches under the new Eagles coach.
Oliseh is a big admirer of Emenike after he top scored at the 2013 AFCON in South Africa, but he has now gone more than two years without a goal for the three-time African champions.
His last goal was in Ethiopia in October 2013 in a final 2014 World Cup play-off.
A top source close to the team revealed: “Oliseh is disappointed Emenike has not justified the confidence he has in him.
“He has been given his chance by the coach, who is now seriously considering Odion Ighalo to lead his attack against Swaziland next month.”
Watford striker Ighalo responded to his snub by the Eagles coach for his first set of call-ups by scoring in a 3-0 win over Cameroon in Brussels.
It was his second goal for the Eagles after he fired his first against Chad in Kaduna in June.
Nigeria and Swaziland will battle for a place in the third round of the 2018 World Cup qualifying campaign.
The two legs are slated for between November 9 and 17 with the overall winners to a third round to be played on a mini-league basis.
- imehjunior
Re: Oliseh’s axe dangles on Emenike
nemi2002 wrote:abegi

Make I join una under the tree.imehjunior wrote:nemi2002 wrote:abegi
About time. Even tho I think he can be deployed on the wings against defensive teams
Tbite wrote: Yes we have deadweights in our team like Babatunde, Agbim and Rueben, but they are OUR deadweights! Our wastepipes! We must love them...respect them! If we do not love our junks....who will? Who?
Make the tree fall on all of una but make una no wound badly shaomoelenia wrote:Make I join una under the tree.imehjunior wrote:nemi2002 wrote:abegi

100%Naija wrote:Make the tree fall on all of una but make una no wound badly shaomoelenia wrote:Make I join una under the tree.imehjunior wrote:nemi2002 wrote:abegi

- maceo4
Won't be surprised if he isn't dropped, but he needs to improve his overall play and start scoring, if he scores one or two in the next couple games no one will be able to say pim, but the ball is in his court, he needs to show how badly he wants it.
All these are speculations, wake me up when there is an actual quote attributable to Sunday Oliseh not just "a top source"
Emenike has retired from the Super Eagles!!
- maceo4
Na wah for our journos and making up stories http://www.colinudoh.com/2015/10/first- ... t.html?m=0
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
akamoke wrote:All these are speculations, wake me up when there is an actual quote attributable to Sunday Oliseh not just "a top source"
There are your quotes.Second, a couple of hours before Emenike's Instagram post, I was on the phone with Oliseh. The first thing he asked, after we exchanged pleasantries, was "Why are some of your colleagues like this? Why would somebody write that article about Emenike?"
I suggested that perhaps his list for the November game had been leaked? "I haven't even sent a list to the NFF," he said. "We are still focused on CHAN, so how can anybody say I dropped Emenike?