Copa America 2024

Re: Copa America 2024

That's a red card tackle by Lo Celso

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

So proud of this Canadian team. They finally got it right. The day I met the president of the soccer federation many years ago, I told him to his face that an immigrant select team will beat the joke of a national team they had going in the 90's/00's. There was such a disconnect between the talent level we were seeing in the playgrounds and the national team.
They've since removed politics from team selection put together a solid soccer strategy that has been yielding fruits.

We welcomed 1 million new immigrants last year! With this influx, coupled with many kids switching from hockey to soccer, the talent pool is sure to increase. Expect to start seeing Canada regularly at the world cup. This is the 1st time ever that I can confidently say that the current Canadian men's national team will whoop the current SE in a competitive or friendly match.

txj wrote: Fri Jun 21, 2024 2:27 am Scandalous refereeing here!!!!!!!!
You saw it too? I thought I was the only one. :mad:

danfo driver wrote: Fri Jun 21, 2024 2:24 am So this referee is just going to spend the entire game cheating?
My broda, the thing taya me.

We tried. But tried is not enough. The Argies deserved to win though.

Thought Canada should have atleast gotten one penalty call out of 3 or 4 incidents, bad officiating. Also, what were the argies doing arriving 20 mins late for 2nd half? That was an extra 20 mins to prep for second half. Hope they get fined for that. Typical cuntish behaviour. They always find some underhand means to gain advantage. Can't get away from being cunts.

Damn, is this on! Wow

ohsee wrote: Fri Jun 21, 2024 5:01 am
danfo driver wrote: Fri Jun 21, 2024 2:24 am So this referee is just going to spend the entire game cheating?
That is why I will support any team that plays against Argentina. At the last WC refs were calling for them. Some were even saying that the world owes a WC to Messi.

joplass wrote: Fri Jun 21, 2024 5:19 pm
ohsee wrote: Fri Jun 21, 2024 5:01 am
That is why I will support any team that plays against Argentina. At the last WC refs were calling for them. Some were even saying that the world owes a WC to Messi.
Imagine psyching up your players after a goaless first half for the second half, and the next thing that happens is they go stand on the pitch for 20 mins waiting for the opponent. Their first goal (46th min) is exactly the kind that takes advantage of that situation and it looked like a training ground routine, the canadians were switched off. The ref did nothing, hope he atleast puts it in his match notes.

Canada getting a dose of South American soccer antics.

felarey wrote: Fri Jun 21, 2024 4:13 pm Thought Canada should have atleast gotten one penalty call out of 3 or 4 incidents, bad officiating. Also, what were the argies doing arriving 20 mins late for 2nd half? That was an extra 20 mins to prep for second half. Hope they get fined for that. Typical cuntish behaviour. They always find some underhand means to gain advantage. Can't get away from being cunts.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: You go wait taya. You think they will fine the same team they cheated for to help win the world cup? :lol:

Gotta love dem Argies ...
Ex nihilo nihil fit

Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

Chile are still trotting out members of their u20 2007 team eh. i was expecting to see Gary Medal in central defense.

I’ve been following Copa America and except for the top 4 or 5 teams, AFCON is a vastly superior tournament… but it is true that for most people, the grass always appears greener on the distance🤔❗️

Fast start from the US. 1-0

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sun Jun 23, 2024 2:32 pm I’ve been following Copa America and except for the top 4 or 5 teams, AFCON is a vastly superior tournament… but it is true that for most people, the grass always appears greener on the distance🤔❗️

Even Euro sef. The quality we've witnessed so far at this stage was better in Afcon. The Euro "minnows" actually still play like minnows.

greg wrote: Sun Jun 23, 2024 10:51 pm
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sun Jun 23, 2024 2:32 pm I’ve been following Copa America and except for the top 4 or 5 teams, AFCON is a vastly superior tournament… but it is true that for most people, the grass always appears greener on the distance🤔❗️

Even Euro sef. The quality we've witnessed so far at this stage was better in Afcon. The Euro "minnows" actually still play like minnows.
So una see am sef, this last AFCON has been one of the best tournaments i have watched in years. I am still waiting for the Euros to excite me, even COPA has been better to watch compared to the EUROS

King Futcha wrote: Sat Jun 22, 2024 1:42 pm Chile are still trotting out members of their u20 2007 team eh. i was expecting to see Gary Medal in central defense.
even Peru still has Guerro who even played a world club final vs Chelsea in 2013

Bolivia nah real yeye team..This team has zero football sense

I cant stand Tyler Adams someone needs to punch him in the face. Useless player cant play ball only looking to fight somebody :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

we are miles ahead of this team, this is men against boys. I expect 4 more goals

bret- hart wrote: Sun Jun 23, 2024 11:06 pm I cant stand Tyler Adams someone needs to punch him in the face. Useless player cant play ball only looking to fight somebody :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:
stop hating, the dude is a baller

goallllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll

Well that was a calm and precise finish from Balogun.
2-0