Shaka Hislop (Former Newcastle GK) Collapses on Live TV

Re: Shaka Hislop (Former Newcastle GK) Collapses on Live TV

Looks like he had a seizure. Wishing him the best

The heat in America right now is no joke! I dont think they should be wearing suits. I no even wear singlet under my shirt when I went to the stadium last weekend. Hope all is well.

Kai, that’s scary to see, I hope he’s good!

danfo driver wrote: Mon Jul 24, 2023 11:43 am The heat in America right now is no joke! I dont think they should be wearing suits. I no even wear singlet under my shirt when I went to the stadium last weekend. Hope all is well.
Down-low advertisement smh :thumbs: :(

I wish Shaka well!! I like when he speaks up against racist Spanish fans and their abuse of black players.

Scary. He might have a pre-existing condition. I know it's hot but that collapse was one kind

Wow, very scary indeed. Hope the brotha is okay.

Good news. :thumb:
Shaka Hislop 'conscious' after collapsing on air in California
Last updated on 15 hours ago15 hours ago.

Hislop played in England for West Ham, Reading, Newcastle and Portsmouth
Former West Ham goalkeeper Shaka Hislop is conscious and recovering after collapsing on air before Sunday's friendly between Real Madrid and AC Milan in California.

The 54-year-old was working as an analyst for US broadcaster ESPN.

He stumbled and fell to the ground face forwards during a pre-match pitch-side interview at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena.

Dan Thomas, presenting alongside Hislop, called for assistance as the channel cut for a commercial break.

Temperatures in California on Sunday were reported to be about 30C, but it is unclear if heat was a factor in Hislop's collapse.

In an update at half-time, Thomas said: "My mate, Shaka, not here, but as it stands, it's good news.

"He's conscious. He's talking. I think he's a little embarrassed about it all. He's apologised profusely. Not a man who likes people to make a fuss of him.

"Obviously far too early to make any sort of diagnosis, but the important thing is that Shaka's conscious and we spoke to his family as well, because you imagine seeing that happen live."

Hislop played 121 games for West Ham in two spells from 1998 to 2002 and 2005 to 2006. He won 26 caps for Trinidad and Tobago
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/66287304

danfo driver wrote: Mon Jul 24, 2023 11:43 am The heat in America right now is no joke! I dont think they should be wearing suits. I no even wear singlet under my shirt when I went to the stadium last weekend. Hope all is well.
Yeah the other guy had stopped wearing his jacket when he was back on camera.

Hislop provides an update. He's seeking more medical diagnoses and hopes to be back soon. Great guy, I hope he recovers soon.

https://www.marca.com/en/football/2023/ ... b45ae.html

This is another opportunity to urge CE members to learn the basics of CPR.
I’ve been unrelenting in sending this message out on this board for years now. Same with peeps like Scipio.
Those skills probably came into play when Shaka Hislop collapsed - might have been the cameraman, the boom operator….anybody.

This (below) is from 2021, immediately after the Christian Eriksen on-field cardiac event at the World Cup.
This not about dancing around with your hands on your head calling Eledumare, or pulling arms and stretching lips, or force feeding water.
What would you do?
Great advice from Scipio.
Go and find a one day course!
“damunk” wrote:
Scipio Africanus wrote:Prompt CPR probably saved Eriksen's life. I hope this encourages people to learn CPR and to keep their skills current. There are various hospitals (in the USA, I don't know about other countries) that offer these courses and you can recertify your skills every couple of years. You never know when they will be needed.

Two: If you have the funds, get a portable defibrillator and keep it at home. Train yourself and members of your household on how to use it.

Three: Completely unrelated. Get a fire extinguisher for your home and make sure to replace it every year.
It’s quite baffling that it is generally ignored.
I don't know whether people are doing the 'God forbid' thing or they just do not see the importance.

Anyway, even when I posted this educative video link here on CE some time ago, there was little or no interest:

LIFESAVER: Would you know what to do?
https://www.resus.org.uk/apps/lifesaver/

Damunk wrote: Tue Jul 25, 2023 6:07 am This is another opportunity to urge CE members to learn the basics of CPR.
I’ve been unrelenting in sending this message out on this board for years now. Same with peeps like Scipio.
Those skills probably came into play when Shaka Hislop collapsed - might have been the cameraman, the boom operator….anybody.

This (below) is from 2021, immediately after the Christian Eriksen on-field cardiac event at the World Cup.
This not about dancing around with your hands on your head calling Eledumare, or pulling arms and stretching lips, or force feeding water.
What would you do?
“damunk” wrote:
Scipio Africanus wrote:Prompt CPR probably saved Eriksen's life. I hope this encourages people to learn CPR and to keep their skills current. There are various hospitals (in the USA, I don't know about other countries) that offer these courses and you can recertify your skills every couple of years. You never know when they will be needed.

Two: If you have the funds, get a portable defibrillator and keep it at home. Train yourself and members of your household on how to use it.

Three: Completely unrelated. Get a fire extinguisher for your home and make sure to replace it every year.
I don't know whether people are doing the 'God forbid' thing or they just do not see the importance.

Anyway, even when I posted this educative video link here on CE some time ago, there was little or no interest:

Needs to be taught in schools.

@Damunk, is that not insinuating that cupping hands and conjuring Eledumare like a Ryu hadouken serves no purpose in such instances? Further example of the subjugation of beliefs and practices in favour of anglicisations. Is resuscitation one size fits all?

Damunk wrote: Tue Jul 25, 2023 6:07 am This is another opportunity to urge CE members to learn the basics of CPR.

What would you do?
“damunk” wrote:

Nice one Damunk! Most teachers in the US are taught CPR and AED skills as part of professional development. When my son was born, the hospital made sure my wife and I watched a CPR video and pass a "check for understanding" assessment before discharge.

...I suspect a combo of heat and some other underlining issue.
The heat is atrocious this summer here in America.
And dressing to the tees is not the best way to stand under such condition.
Hope he recovers fully. Scary.