Camp News

Re: Camp News

Host is no small matter.

It is almost always guaranteed that a host will play better. Doesn't matter the team or sport.

Even Saudi that you could say did not quite get through, they still did play better.

Qatar too would have add some effect. The only problem is that they are Qatar. There is only so so much....

CIV are not what they used to be, but yes hosting would still have notched them up a bit.

You see it everywhere. Even England puts up a massive fight against Australia when they host commonwealth games. India turns into a force when they do. Nigeria is a beast when we host Afcon, as is Egypt.

Don't count CIV out yet. They are still in this.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

iworo wrote: Fri Jan 19, 2024 3:11 pm
...sub par shame. Do this behind closed doors, and make sure no pictures are taken to embolden your foes.

mcal wrote: Sat Jan 20, 2024 10:21 am
...sub par shame. Do this behind closed doors, and make sure no pictures are taken to embolden your foes.
You Uncles on here need to lighten. Up 😂😂😂😂

Jesu Kristi!

If we win AFCON, CIV won't contain these people o.
Focus and concentration, please.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

Why?
Dancing does not lower IQ in case that is your concern. :D

Lolly wrote: Fri Jan 19, 2024 3:40 pm
So who won the belly dancing competition?
That’s not the NFF President, Gusau

Damunk wrote: Sat Jan 20, 2024 10:56 am
Why?
...gallivanting like above does gin up your enemies.

This is clearly not the NFF President, but agenda must agend.

mcal wrote: Sat Jan 20, 2024 11:11 am
Damunk wrote: Sat Jan 20, 2024 10:56 am
Why?
...gallivanting like above does gin up your enemies.
I’m all for celebration but it looks like we overdo things sometimes. We haven’t won anything yet. These boys and coaches need to concentrate. Treat this AFCON like a business trip.

Tbite wrote: Sat Jan 20, 2024 8:53 am Host is no small matter.

It is almost always guaranteed that a host will play better. Doesn't matter the team or sport.

Even Saudi that you could say did not quite get through, they still did play better.

Qatar too would have add some effect. The only problem is that they are Qatar. There is only so so much....

CIV are not what they used to be, but yes hosting would still have notched them up a bit.

You see it everywhere. Even England puts up a massive fight against Australia when they host commonwealth games. India turns into a force when they do. Nigeria is a beast when we host Afcon, as is Egypt.

Don't count CIV out yet. They are still in this.
People should not be surprised if we meet CIV again in the final.

naijaguy wrote: Sat Jan 20, 2024 11:40 am
Not even in Cote D'ivoire.

I believe this was in South Africa or something.
Some fool on the Internet captions a video... tags the wrong people and people run with it.
SMDH.

Cellular wrote: Sat Jan 20, 2024 1:38 pm

Some fool on the Internet captions a video... tags the wrong people and people run with it.
SMDH.
The funniest part is that CE members that are supposedly knowledgeable are running with the fake news.

iworo wrote: Sat Jan 20, 2024 7:34 pm
No doubt, Ola Aina was Nigeria's best player on the day. Perfect game even in the air where he is sometimes suspect.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

naijaguy wrote: Sat Jan 20, 2024 2:17 pm
Cellular wrote: Sat Jan 20, 2024 1:38 pm

SMDH.
The funniest part is that CE members that are supposedly knowledgeable are running with the fake news.
Looks like Governor Ambode and I believe the video is very recent.

Nice modest guy.

Hope he continues to o well

We need to knock down national stadium in Surulere and build a new 70,000 stadium.

Rehabilitate the existing ones and host an Afcon in about 3 to 5 years time.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

vancity eagle wrote: Sun Jan 21, 2024 2:40 am Nice modest guy.

Hope he continues to o well
I noticed in the Ivory Coast game that he seemed good with his feet. We havent spoken about that.

iworo wrote: Sun Jan 21, 2024 2:34 am
This guy na hard man,Focused and decisive . I like how he answered the question about goalies he looked up to.
It’s Manuel Neuer are nobody else. Thats strong.

What does he mean Naija like Performance?

BTW, Aina has been consistently solid for Nigeria since his first two games for Nigeria, against South Africa, and against Algeria when he was turned inside out by Algeria.

The real eye opener for me was Lookman. That was by far his best performance for Nigeria. He was so dangerous that CIV started doing hack-a-lookman on him anytime he touched the ball.
iworo wrote: Sat Jan 20, 2024 7:34 pm
Last edited by 1naija on Sun Jan 21, 2024 5:35 am, edited 1 time in total.