Guinea Bissau vs Nigeria (0-1)FT

Naija fan
Re: Guinea Bissau vs Nigeria (0-1)

Post by Naija fan »

Our passes are either too long or too short. Interestingly, the best passer on the team is VO
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."

We still have a lot to improve. We especially have to find a way to play in these conditions, with the right balance between attack and defence.
But 3pts and we move on to the next game,

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

...were these guys playing tired?
Looks lackluster from the beginning.
Oh well we're thru to serious business end of the tourney.

Tobi17 wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 7:43 pm We will likely end up as the lowest scoring team in this tournament, so much for all our "hyped attack"

Utter joke.
No, OVER-HYPED attack.
Again, what do you expect from a group lacking focus and discipline.

fabio wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 7:40 pm
truetalk wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 7:35 pm OK. Getting worried about our inability to score.

We caught a break.
We are playing well and dominating possession.
We played a controlled game in the first, and I expected the gulf in class between the teams to show in the 2nd half.

That was the case, but something is still missing. Looking at today's game, I'd say it was the officiating more than the composure, but it is now a worrisome trend.

We could still make a run to the title, as we are solid at the back and in the middle, and things may just click upfront when the pressure is on.
Showboy

Post by Showboy »

Not a pretty sight but we move.
"We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope" (Martin Luther King, Jr)

All games in Group A are finished. Thus we beat GUI by 1-0, but EQU beat CIV by 4-0
2drama
Location: To my Late Grand-Papa Pa onyemere(he left us oct-26-07) -i miss you -R-I-P

Post by 2drama »

not special to write home.

an ugly win but a win never the less
http://www.2dramasports.com is live ,Get SE downloads links or watch online links
Get Your Super Eagles Games on DvD Pm 2drama don't live history have a part of it

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nigerian_national_football_team

1naija wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 7:48 pm Would you rather they had lost or tied to make more exciting to worth your while?
Tbite wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 7:46 pm Can't believe I stayed awake at 3 am to watch this match.

Kaiiiii.
Point being it was terrible to watch. We can be happy at the result, but as far as opening our eyes to watch...it was essentially an eyesore.

I watched purely because I am supporting my country. Any neutral watching must be a moron. If I were a neutral, I would turn it off.

Anyway hopefully we learn from this.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

green4life wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 7:43 pm
lacidi wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 7:41 pm And we were twerking for playing 90mins defence and scoring a penalty goal against CIV
Why we no go twerk when that pk gave us 3 valuable points? :taunt:
:rotf: :rotf: How the mighty have fallen.

And then Vancity twerked to open the thread that we should give Peseiro contract. :rotf:

waka-man wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 7:36 pm Nwabali is not it sha. I many village football behaviours
He did what was expected of him. Same cannot be said of the remaining players :boo:

...wow, Ivory Coast lost today by so much wide margin.
Not paying their coach dey come back to haunt them. Shocking.

We have a pretty sh1t team lol, way too much gra gra with just a few classy players sprinkled in…

truetalk wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 7:48 pm
fabio wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 7:40 pm
truetalk wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 7:35 pm OK. Getting worried about our inability to score.

We caught a break.
We are playing well and dominating possession.
We played a controlled game in the first, and I expected the gulf in class between the teams to show in the 2nd half.

That was the case, but something is still missing. Looking at today's game, I'd say it was the officiating more than the composure, but it is now a worrisome trend.

We could still make a run to the title, as we are solid at the back and in the middle, and things may just click upfront when the pressure is on.
truetalk,

The officiating was just awful. I think the officials bent over backwards to encourage the underdog but it hurt the quality of the match. These officials should not get anywhere to the medal stages of this competition in my opinion.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

One goal in the group stage from open play and they said we have the best attack in Africa? For where?

Moses given man of the match. IMHO should have been Osimhen

Showboy wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 7:49 pm Not a pretty sight but we move.
Exactly!

Guys, this 5-4-1 is the way it's going to be for better or worse. I can appreciate a tactical grind so long as the players are smart with their movements within the set up. That is what we struggled with in this game and made life unnecessarily difficult. Ironically, I felt the same way after the CIV game even though I twerked well well due to 3pts. Anyway, we move.

Verdict… NOT IMPRESSED🤐🤔❗️

Last edited by TonyTheTigerKiller on Mon Jan 22, 2024 7:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
davidbam14

Post by davidbam14 »

lacidi wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 7:28 pm It's 3-0 against CIV, so that puts in perspective our 90 minutes negative football again CIV
very true, i guess the question is how good are we???

Coach needs to work hard with Iwobi one on one.

I feel our tournament will live and die with whether or not he can step it up a notch.

Abeg Okocha go and demand more from your nephew. We need someone who has some semblance of technical ability.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

waka-man wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 7:51 pm Moses given man of the match. IMHO should have been Osimhen
If Bushboy catch you ...

The officiating was poor, but our attackers really let themselves down. They always pretty much make the wrong decisions. This team will find it very hard against better opposition