Oliseh not in support of Chelle

kash n' karry
Re: Oliseh not in support of Chelle

Post by kash n' karry »

kash n' karry wrote: Sat Jun 07, 2025 10:59 am
Damunk wrote: Sat Jun 07, 2025 10:19 am
Adisboy wrote: Sat Jun 07, 2025 8:56 am
kash n' karry wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:44 pm
Enugu II wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 5:06 pm
kash n' karry wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 1:14 pm
gochino wrote: Tue Jun 03, 2025 7:21 am “Africans are not allowed to coach abroad, and Nigerians are not allowed to coach outside their shores. The only job that is the most prized one, leave it for the people to handle; that’s my opinion.

“I am not a big fan of him [Eric Chelle], I feel it is a sign of disrespect to the coaches and people of Nigeria. I am not going to comment on how good he is, but he looks like a nice guy.

“I feel my country has suffered enough; the coaches, players, and ex-players have suffered enough, and they have paid the price, so let them do their job,” Oliseh said.

https://soccernet.ng/2025/06/super-eagl ... helle.html
:evil: :twisted:
I don't believe he said this but if he did said so, then he is a fool, how many of our local SE coaches have really achieved anything appreciable other than Keshi and maybe Siasia. Equavoen, Onigbinde, Amodu etc have all been failures.
=============================================================
In a spry world, life is a progressive project {growth} not a finished product :mrgreen:
Kash n' karry,

Can you elaborate on how Amodu failed. Please provide support for such a claim. Let's start from there.
Amodu was a failure many times over .. . Go look at his records :taunt: :taunt:
Please REMOVE Amodu's name from the failure list! Amodu qualified us for every tournament when he was coach & that includes 2 World Cups, the only coach in our history to do that (2002 & 2010). He got to the semis of the 2 AFCONs he played in and won bronze 2002 & 2010. The only coach to have 100% win rate i.e. winning 6 out of 6 in a qualifying round. His win rate as SE coach is one of the highest in our history. He clearly is one of our best but most disrespected coaches in our history. Stop the BS.
Amodu has the best game record of ALL Nigeria (SE) coaches, bar none.
And it’s not even close!
They basically did a dirty on him - and not just once.
Wrong ... Amodu history was that of an underachiever, even Keshi to some extent. The only thing that exonerated Keshi... was winning that CAF cup, as a coach. Remember, even in that competition, in the early group stages, Keshi was flopping big time. Amodu flopped at pretty much all his main competition. See you may have short memories on scars that has long healed but anyone with reflective memory will not forget.
See all these bad to mediocre coaches both local and yesss foreign, have been the reason why Nigeria fans has started aiming low for the SE, bcos they have been beaten down for the longest. Even other small African teams have caught up and don't fear us anymore. Just ask E. Guinea, Cape Verde, Zimbabwe, Gabon etc etc !!
========================================================
Truth .. ..be told. BOLDLY !!

He is within his rights to complain and he has a point about the marginalisation of local coaches. However, it is strange that he chooses a time when Chelle, a fellow African, is appointed to come out with this view. Besides, Nigerian coaches should look to find their way to the latter stages of CAF competitions, coach top African sides or other African national teams.
kash n' karry

Post by kash n' karry »

aruako1 wrote: Sat Jun 07, 2025 11:41 am He is within his rights to complain and he has a point about the marginalisation of local coaches. However, it is strange that he chooses a time when Chelle, a fellow African, is appointed to come out with this view. Besides, Nigerian coaches should look to find their way to the latter stages of CAF competitions, coach top African sides or other African national teams.
He said the wrong things at the wrong time in the wrong place. Oliseh ... stop being controversial.. . that has been your retirement history or else i go send you Amokach "da Bull" to you to keep you quiet !! :taunt:
==================================================================
Aaaaggghhh gaaddammmnnn itt !! Wherez my Heineken + big wet bubble booty chics ? :mrgreen:

Lolly wrote: Sat Jun 07, 2025 10:25 am

He failed woefully at AFCON in the days when we had much better players than our opponents. In addition to not winning a title, the football his teams served us was an eyesore. That’s why most people didn’t feel sorry for him losing out on being coach at the World Cup in 2010. We were really poor at the AFCON. Similar to how most were not sad to see Rohr go even after meeting all his targets.
Failed woefully how?

You were one of the people that had issues with Amodu because you had little understanding of the team he used and the circumstances he worked under.
You derided his AFCON 3rd place finishes as "Golden Bronze".
You discounted his rescue mission to qualify for the World Cup twice.

You were happy and gleeful to take the opportunities away from him and was happy when his replacements fielded worse teams. He started the 1998 qualification without losing a match before una got your oyibo. He prosecuted the 2002 WCQ without dropping a match. Prosecuted the 2010 WCQ without dropping a match.

Only in the warped minds of WOWOs will 2 AFCON Bronze medals be considered "WOEFUL".

It is one thing to say he is not your cup of tea, but to label him woeful is the height of disrespect and ingratitude.

Cellular wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 2:03 am

He failed woefully at AFCON in the days when we had much better players than our opponents. In addition to not winning a title, the football his teams served us was an eyesore. That’s why most people didn’t feel sorry for him losing out on being coach at the World Cup in 2010. We were really poor at the AFCON. Similar to how most were not sad to see Rohr go even after meeting all his targets.
Failed woefully how?

You were one of the people that had issues with Amodu because you had little understanding of the team he used and the circumstances he worked under.

You were happy and gleeful to take the opportunities away from him and was happy when his replacements fielded worse teams. He started the 1998 qualification without losing a match before una got your oyibo. He prosecuted the 2002 WCQ without dropping a match. Prosecuted the 2010 WCQ without dropping a match.

Only in the warped minds of WOWOs will 2 AFCON Bronze medals be considered "WOEFUL".

It is one thing to say he is not your cup of tea, but to label him woeful is the height of disrespect and ingratitude.
I know comprehension is not your problem but you have managed to rant and rave around other issues while ignoring the koko of my post. Kontinue.

Amodu’s teams played horrible football and he never won AFCON. That is failure to me. Keshi’s teams played horrible football but won AFCON hence why he is hailed as a success even with a very poor win ratio of 50%. If we say Amodu was successful, then what do we then say about Rohr?

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 4:06 pm

Failed woefully how?

I know comprehension is not your problem but you have managed to rant and rave around other issues while ignoring the koko of my post. Kontinue.

Amodu’s teams played horrible football and he never won AFCON. That is failure to me. Keshi’s teams played horrible football but won AFCON hence why he is hailed as a success even with a very poor win ratio of 50%. If we say Amodu was successful, then what do we then say about Rohr?
You used the word, 'Woeful'.
I guess you don't understand the meaning of the word you used? :(

Failed woefully how?

Lolly,

Just testing your argument here: If Amodu failed woefully based on his stats, what is your conclusion about the likes of Gernot Rohr, Samson Siasia, Berti Vogts, and Stephen Keshi. Please let us know your conclusion about each of those and why based on verifiable stats.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Cellular wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 5:53 pm

Failed woefully how?

You used the word, 'Woeful'.
I guess you don't understand the meaning of the word you used? :(
I guess you stopped reading that sentence at the end of the word “Woefully”. Check your dictionary again in the context that I have used it.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Enugu II wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 5:57 pm

Failed woefully how?

Lolly,

Just testing your argument here: If Amodu failed woefully based on his stats, what is your conclusion about the likes of Gernot Rohr, Samson Siasia, Berti Vogts, and Stephen Keshi. Please let us know your conclusion about each of those and why based on verifiable stats.
Read my post again. I said he “failed woefully”. That’s different from saying he was woeful. Context, bro.

We’ve already discussed the stats of each of them. Rohr had the best record out of the ones you listed above, even better the Amodu. But he rarely gets a mention, instead people tell us how fantastic Amodu was and how bad Rohr was. Really?

Failed woefully how?

Yep! Horrible football like this 2002 classic against Ghana

Or horrible like the 4-0 away win against Sudan or the 3-0 win against Ghana in the 2002 WC qualifiers.

aruako1 wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 7:33 pm

Failed woefully how?

Or horrible like the 4-0 away win against Sudan or the 3-0 win against Ghana in the 2002 WC qualifiers.
Why do you think he was sacked before the World Cups he qualified us for?

Lolly wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 8:09 pm

Failed woefully how?

Because he was a local manager. Simple

aruako1 wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 9:54 pm
Lolly wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 8:09 pm

Failed woefully how?

Because he was a local manager. Simple
Ok.

kash n' karry wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 1:13 pm
gochino wrote: Tue Jun 03, 2025 7:21 am “Africans are not allowed to coach abroad, and Nigerians are not allowed to coach outside their shores. The only job that is the most prized one, leave it for the people to handle; that’s my opinion.

“I am not a big fan of him [Eric Chelle], I feel it is a sign of disrespect to the coaches and people of Nigeria. I am not going to comment on how good he is, but he looks like a nice guy.

“I feel my country has suffered enough; the coaches, players, and ex-players have suffered enough, and they have paid the price, so let them do their job,” Oliseh said.

I don't believe he said this but if he did said so, then he is a fool, how many of our local SE coaches have really achieved anything appreciable other than Keshi and maybe Siasia. Equavoen, Onigbinde, Amodu etc have all been failures.
=============================================================
In a spry world, life is a progressive project {growth} not a finished product
He said it, I watched the interview

I agree with Oliseh. Enough said!!!

iworo wrote: Wed Jun 04, 2025 4:16 am
Cellular wrote: Tue Jun 03, 2025 10:07 pm

Abeg, anyone have a video or a clip of him saying this?

It doesn't sound like what he would say.

That was exactly my first thought too. I seriously doubt he actually said that, but if he did, he’s lost a great deal of my respect. It makes him sound like just another “Emilokan” job seeker, motivated by entitlement rather than merit, which is deeply disappointing….

Dude actually said exactly what was reported he said. Pretty disappointing :ohmy: :sad:.

iworo wrote: Mon Jun 16, 2025 8:00 pm
iworo wrote: Wed Jun 04, 2025 4:16 am
Cellular wrote: Tue Jun 03, 2025 10:07 pm

Abeg, anyone have a video or a clip of him saying this?

It doesn't sound like what he would say.

That was exactly my first thought too. I seriously doubt he actually said that, but if he did, he’s lost a great deal of my respect. It makes him sound like just another “Emilokan” job seeker, motivated by entitlement rather than merit, which is deeply disappointing….

Dude actually said exactly what was reported he said. Pretty disappointing :ohmy: :sad:.

Disappointing.

Should I now put him in the category of people who want Chelle to fail, and by extension, Naijaria?

Quite unfortunate.