2026 CAF WCQ: Nigeria vs Zimbabwe FT 1-1(Osimhen 73m. asst.Aina) Chirewa 90mins

SylverEagles
Re: 2026 CAF WCQ: Nigeria vs Zimbabwe 1HF 0-0

Post by SylverEagles »

We really should be ahead already. We have had enough chances to score a goal. Our wingers though - Simon and Chukwueze - have been erratic. Simon especially has had multiple one-on-one and just flubbed it. Chukwueze is just not a footballer that uses his brain, he seems to just play on instinct. I would take him out, shift Lookman over there and bring in another MF to sit beside Ndidi and push Iwobi to the 10. Then replace Iwobi around the 65 minute with someone else.

Cellular wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 5:32 pm
txj wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 5:31 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 5:26 pm that Uyo must be very hot :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: the players look like say them wan go sleep , see sweat

Its hot and humid which is why they are not pressing.

The problem we have is that the positional changes does not suit this game.

If Simon is expected to cross from the left, why then do you have a right footer on the left- in effect crossing the ball with his weaker foot?

We need an extra body in MF, and not take Lookman away from his natural position.
Why is Aina gassed already?
Back-to-back games, he is completely gassed at half time.

I no wan tok anything about Chukwueze. A player I won't even bother inviting.

Samu is the best player of our attacking quartet in the 1hf. He's executing his role. Some of the key passes are not coming thru, but that's to be expected in those areas..

We need the fullbacks to come upfield to help the wide players create the overload, not always have to rely on the dribble...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

They need to start playing in Lagos or Abuja where fans go make them hear it with this kind of low energy performances.
mutiman

Post by mutiman »

To be fair to the Eagles they have tried their best in the first half. But, truth be told this team needs a serious injection of fresh legs. Too many of them are past their prime. They simply don't have the energy, nor the mobility to play the way the coach wants to play. That was apparent even in the second half against Rwanda.

Robotnik wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 5:34 pm One major problem - ball movement is slow. The need to up the tempo to displace the Zimbabwean defense.
Kpom! That’s 100% of the problem. They’re not making themselves available for a pass.
icee

Post by icee »

airwolex wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 5:31 pm The Zimbabweans have defended valiantly but we have been wasteful. Chukwueze shows probably why he isn't playing much for Milan, got the best chance on his favorite foot and wasted it. Fullbacks just aren't doing enough and the crossing is not good enough.

I would take Aina or Osayi off and get Oyemachi in. He seems to be the best crosser of the lot, even better than Simon. Probably get an extra striker in and take off Chukweze as well as Osimhen is consistently outnumbered in the box. No time for rubbish.
I would move Aina to his natural position instead of getting a weaker Aina in his unatural position

green4life wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 5:23 pm
wanaj0 wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 5:19 pm
green4life wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 5:17 pm Chelle needs to do something at HT. Our guys look like they're out of ideas. We need Iwobi further up
To make passes to the opponent?
Lol. No. Replace Chukwueze with Onyedika and push Lookman to his familiar RW role where he is more effective than in the middle.
Chukwueze who is supposed to give you additional attacking threat is a luxury.
I too would bring Onyedika in for Chukwueze.

vancity eagle wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 5:29 pm Tbh we are actually playing very well. We just need that final bit of precision in the box.

I have not seen such a forward attacking SE team in a while. We move the ball forward and quickly, passing is great.

The players just seem to be tiring out the way Chelle wants them to play, so subs are necessary.
Well said. I think they're all playing well too. They just need to be less selfish and make smarter team plays.

icee wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 5:37 pm
airwolex wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 5:31 pm The Zimbabweans have defended valiantly but we have been wasteful. Chukwueze shows probably why he isn't playing much for Milan, got the best chance on his favorite foot and wasted it. Fullbacks just aren't doing enough and the crossing is not good enough.

I would take Aina or Osayi off and get Oyemachi in. He seems to be the best crosser of the lot, even better than Simon. Probably get an extra striker in and take off Chukweze as well as Osimhen is consistently outnumbered in the box. No time for rubbish.
I would move Aina to his natural position instead of getting a weaker Aina in his unatural position
Simples.

For some reason in the two games we are not getting the premium version of Aina.

I like Simon, but how does he get so many assists at club level? His crossing is just not good enough.

They need to play this like a cup final!

Cellular wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 5:37 pm
green4life wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 5:23 pm
wanaj0 wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 5:19 pm
green4life wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 5:17 pm Chelle needs to do something at HT. Our guys look like they're out of ideas. We need Iwobi further up
To make passes to the opponent?
Lol. No. Replace Chukwueze with Onyedika and push Lookman to his familiar RW role where he is more effective than in the middle.
Chukwueze who is supposed to give you additional attacking threat is a luxury.
I too would bring Onyedika in for Chukwueze.
I made that post before Simon exposed his undercover mission by the end of the half...
SylverEagles

Post by SylverEagles »

Really coach? Chukwueze still on? Maybe I don't understand football then.

for me Osayi Samuel offers nothing but i no wan wound type football

No subs. Hopefully, Chelle doesn't wait till late.

same slow passes left and tight

airwolex wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 5:38 pm I like Simon, but how does he get so many assists at club level? His crossing is just not good enough.
Nna, I always wonder how a professional player who knows he has a weakness wont be obsessed with fixing his weakness.

Even hire a personal coach to teach you how to consistently deliver crosses.

It's working now. Thank you.

mutiman

Post by mutiman »

Cellular wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 5:38 pm
icee wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 5:37 pm

Simples.

For some reason in the two games we are not getting the premium version of Aina.
Playing him in his natural position might be the key to getting the best out of him.

This ref is giving us nothing today

This is senseless. SImon is seeing so much of the ball in an area where you'd rather have Lookman..

We need to make a change. Zim are slowing doewn the game already.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

At worst, I'd swap Lookman and Simon positionally to see if there's something ...