Which Way Nigeria

Re: Which Way Nigeria

highbury wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 5:18 am Let's get this straight- Osimhen selects games! He has always done it. When was the last friendly this man played for Nigeria. We shrine this dude(I am one of those players). But truth be told, he always selects games. That is why I respect Iwobi, this man never evades friendlies for some flimsy excuse. I really pray we have another Striker that does the business for Nigeria. I hate for us to rely only on Osimhen. We are bigger than this..
We have Alimi. :thumb:

highbury wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 5:18 am Let's get this straight- Osimhen selects games! He has always done it. When was the last friendly this man played for Nigeria. We shrine this dude(I am one of those players). But truth be told, he always selects games. That is why I respect Iwobi, this man never evades friendlies for some flimsy excuse. I really pray we have another Striker that does the business for Nigeria. I hate for us to rely only on Osimhen. We are bigger than this..
e pain am :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

dont worry, you have Dessers now! He can do it! :thumbs:

Bret disagrees along with other Osimhen fanboys...now that you mentioned it, which last friendly match did Osimhen actually play for Nigeria? he either conveniently gets "injured" or has some club drama whenever a friendly window approaches...Osimhen isn't bigger than Mane, Salah, Mahrez etc who are world class players yet always show up for this games. Even a whole CR7 never misses the supposed small games against Andorra and Moldova.

And yes I'll always respect players like Iwobi, dude never hides or makes excuses, that's why I'll always cut him enough slacks if he doesn't show up to a odd game or two.

Damunk wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 10:13 pm Senegalese Line-up.
E. Mendy - 33 - Al Ahli, Saudi
K. Koulibaly - 33 - Al Hilal, Saudi (Captain)
Mousse Niakhate - 29 - Lyon, France
El H Malick Diouf - 20 - Slavia Prague, Czech Republic
Krepin Diatta - 26 - Monaco, France
Idrissa Gueye - 35 - Everton, England.
Lamine Camara - 21 - Monaco, France
Habib Diarra - 21 - Strasberg, France
Iliman Ndiaye - 25 - Everton, England
Ismailia Sara - 27 - Crystal Palace, England.
Nicholas Jackson - 23 - Chelsea, England
Where are the home-based players? This is criminal? Why are their marginalising their super talented local players?

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Enugu II wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 2:52 am
Babalawo wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 12:09 am
You mean they have 2 of their very experienced starters playing in the Saudi League?
Don’t allow Danfo Driver see this list.

Let me state again:

It is wrong to focus on the league. It is not the league that is invited. Individual players get invited. Senegal well and should invite players that they dim good enough. It is frankly immaterial whether they play in Saudi, Lithuania, or where ever. The same should apply to Nigeria. One of these days we shall all realize that African player migration is not based on allure of Big 5 or whatever. The allure is based on wherever a pay day exists. That is starkly different from the migratory track of European players. There is a difference.
Oga, you know Mendy and Coulibaly already played at the top with Chelsea and Napoli respectively. They haven’t spent the most of their careers in Saudi. If that was the case, you know they won’t be in the team. They are in the team on experience and can still play at that level especially in those positions, goal and central defender.

If Osimhen goes to Saudi today, he will be selected for the SE despite playing in Saudi only because he is tried and tested in one of the top leagues and for the SE as well.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
onovo

Post by onovo »

Lolly wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 8:49 am
You mean they have 2 of their very experienced starters playing in the Saudi League?

Let me state again:

It is wrong to focus on the league. It is not the league that is invited. Individual players get invited. Senegal well and should invite players that they dim good enough. It is frankly immaterial whether they play in Saudi, Lithuania, or where ever. The same should apply to Nigeria. One of these days we shall all realize that African player migration is not based on allure of Big 5 or whatever. The allure is based on wherever a pay day exists. That is starkly different from the migratory track of European players. There is a difference.
Oga, you know Mendy and Coulibaly already played at the top with Chelsea and Napoli respectively. They haven’t spent the most of their careers in Saudi. If that was the case, you know they won’t be in the team. They are in the team on experience and can still play at that level especially in those positions, goal and central defender.

If Osimhen goes to Saudi today, he will be selected for the SE despite playing in Saudi only because he is tried and tested in one of the top leagues and for the SE as well.
Exactly ! This is why I laugh when I see the justifications for the invitation of dead woods, and all sorts of back water and division 2 benchwarmers into the super eagles in the name of experience. Those two players you mentioned, the likes of Ekong, Ajayi, Iheanacho, and division 2 prone Ndidi cannot lace their boot. Or can Ekong stand Coulibaly in terms of career trajectory ?

Osimhen is a guaranteed starter for Nigeria, regardless. Nigeria are, more often than not, rinse and repeat 8 days a week. What is there to prove? Against whom is he competing for the lead role? Why risk injury in a dead rubber that will inevitably pan out like the the rest of the rubber before it, heaped up like an Everest in Agbogbloshie. Granted, international caps mean plenty for some, more for their own individual pursuits. Yowere Ronaldo's quest to reach 1000 goals, all but ensures his running for president till his taken out in an act of patricide by a Muhoozi in his midst. Harry Kane, having overtaken Wayne Rooney as record goalscorer, now has Peter Shilton 125 caps firmly in his sight. Has Osimhen ever turned down a call up for a competitive fixture? And if so, what was the stance of his club at the time?

Different strokes for different folks. When it matters most, most avail themselves, from the Osimhens to the bald Ohseeagles and all in between. World Cup qualification and elimination at the second round. A snow cap for the Everest in Agbogbloshie.

As for which way Nigeria? Forward, at the speed of modernity. The game is changing, change with it.

onovo wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 10:07 am

Let me state again:

Exactly ! This is why I laugh when I see the justifications for the invitation of dead woods, and all sorts of back water and division 2 benchwarmers into the super eagles in the name of experience. Those two players you mentioned, the likes of Ekong, Ajayi, Iheanacho, and division 2 prone Ndidi cannot lace their boot. Or can Ekong stand Coulibaly in terms of career trajectory ?

They know what they are doing, brother. :oops:

Tobi17 wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 8:13 am
Bret disagrees along with other Osimhen fanboys...now that you mentioned it, which last friendly match did Osimhen actually play for Nigeria? he either conveniently gets "injured" or has some club drama whenever a friendly window approaches...Osimhen isn't bigger than Mane, Salah, Mahrez etc who are world class players yet always show up for this games. Even a whole CR7 never misses the supposed small games against Andorra and Moldova.

And yes I'll always respect players like Iwobi, dude never hides or makes excuses, that's why I'll always cut him enough slacks if he doesn't show up to a odd game or two.

cry harder :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Let me state again:

:rotf: :rotf: Good to know that there is a reason a player can be invited from a Saudi club. That helps expand the recruitment pool. How about if they went back to an African league?

This is precisely why there is need to focus on a player and not a league. Afterall, it is the player, not the league, that receives invitation to the NT.

It is amazing how one result impacts minds.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 1:52 pm

Let me state again:

:rotf: :rotf: Good to know that there is a reason a player can be invited from a Saudi club. That helps expand the recruitment pool. How about if they went back to an African league?
2 questions:

What would be the rationale for ignoring other players, competing at a higher level, in favor of chasing this one player to Saudi and then to Africa? What is so sweet about this one player, who is playing at a low level? And refusing to give his more competitive alternative a chance?

Do you agree that when a player plays at a reduced competitive level, it significantly affects how the player can adapt when called to play at a higher level of competition?

Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 10:42 pm
onovo wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 9:32 pm I just watched the way Senegal destroyed England 3-1. The Senegalese team is made up of youngster displayed good soccer artistry. One wonders in Nigeria's case where all sorts of dead wood, rubbish division 2 benchwarmers/players are having their field day, with majority of the fans celebrating this mediocrity. Even in our last friendly against Russia, one wonders why our trusted central defence pairs are made of players below quality, who cannot give pass or start build up play from defence. Ekong in particular kept booting the ball aimlessly to the Russians. I think Chelle and the fans are not serious. We should call the world cup a day.
calm down that was England's team R. em folks players are on the beach
So you are one of those folks making excuses for England?

Anyway, based on what we saw at the last AFCON, African teams are ready to step it up to an even higher level. We have a three or four teams who can compete with the best out there. And Senegal proved it today. There're been other notable wins by the likes of Morocco against Brazil. I believe Nigeria will also excel if they make the big dance. They are a well drilled team that have played together for a min

Afterall, it is the player, not the league, that receives invitation to the NT.
This your catchphrase might sound sexy, but its actually wrong. Yes, the player physically comes to the NT, but he brings with him the level of competition of the league he plays in.

I dont think there should be a complete cut off! Thats why I have not called for Nwabali to leave South Africa or said the Turkish league is entirely out. Both leagues are not as competitive as La Liga or Serie A, however, they have a level of competition that prepares the players for the level they will face at NT. However, there are some leagues and lower division which are completely out of the question because (1) the level is very low and (2) the mindset of the players in those leagues/divs are wired to a certain spectrum that makes them incapable of competing at a high level. There is a reason that serious players demand a transfer when their team is relegated.

YUJAM wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 2:02 pm
onovo wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 9:32 pm I just watched the way Senegal destroyed England 3-1. The Senegalese team is made up of youngster displayed good soccer artistry. One wonders in Nigeria's case where all sorts of dead wood, rubbish division 2 benchwarmers/players are having their field day, with majority of the fans celebrating this mediocrity. Even in our last friendly against Russia, one wonders why our trusted central defence pairs are made of players below quality, who cannot give pass or start build up play from defence. Ekong in particular kept booting the ball aimlessly to the Russians. I think Chelle and the fans are not serious. We should call the world cup a day.

Anyway, based on what we saw at the last AFCON, African teams are ready to step it up to an even higher level. We have a three or four teams who can compete with the best out there. And Senegal proved it today. There're been other notable wins by the likes of Morocco against Brazil. I believe Nigeria will also excel if they make the big dance. They are a well drilled team that have played together for a min
He is! Him and TxJ.

BigPOkes also ran to the defense of his USA yesterday, as well.

danfo driver wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 2:04 pm
Afterall, it is the player, not the league, that receives invitation to the NT.
This your catchphrase might sound sexy, but its actually wrong. Yes, the player physically comes to the NT, but he brings with him the level of competition of the league he plays in.

I dont think there should be a complete cut off! Thats why I have not called for Nwabali to leave South Africa or said the Turkish league is entirely out. Both leagues are not as competitive as La Liga or Serie A, however, they have a level of competition that prepares the players for the level they will face at NT. However, there are some leagues and lower division which are completely out of the question because (1) the level is very low and (2) the mindset of the players in those leagues/divs are wired to a certain spectrum that makes them incapable of competing at a high level. There is a reason that serious players demand a transfer when their team is relegated.
Kpom!
Abso-freaking-lutely!

And that’s even when their high salaries are guaranteed! :thumb:

@ Enugu II

Let this argument go. The league that you play does really matter. How much confidence will you have if some doctor in a village hospital in Nsuka performs open heart surgery on you compared to one at John Hopkins University. We should be fielding our best players in top leagues. Yes, we might have talented players in the local league but they are different levels to this. Let us put skills aside, you have no clue the fitness level of players at Barcelona, Real Madrid, PSG etc….. Let NPFL all-stars play Barca or even Crystal Palace and see if your so called local champion won’t gass out by the 43rd minutes because they can’t get the ball back or keep possession for more than a minute. I doubt that Rangers international have coaches dedicated to set pieces or a nutritionist.

That's ridiculous. Saka, Kane, Eze, Rice, Bellingham, Skelley, Gordon all played. Players like Gallagher are also starter material and its not like Chalobah, Walker and Colwill are moi moi players. So not sure what this nonsense about R team is all about?
danfo driver wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 2:05 pm

He is! Him and TxJ.

packerland wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 2:22 pm @ Enugu II

Let this argument go. The league that you play does really matter. How much confidence will you have if some doctor in a village hospital in Nsuka performs open heart surgery on you compared to one at John Hopkins University. We should be fielding our best players in top leagues. Yes, we might have talented players in the local league but they are different levels to this. Let us put skills aside, you have no clue the fitness level of players at Barcelona, Real Madrid, PSG etc….. Let NPFL all-stars play Barca or even Crystal Palace and see if your so called local champion won’t gass out by the 43rd minutes because they can’t get the ball back or keep possession for more than a minute. I doubt that Rangers international have coaches dedicated to set pieces or a nutritionist.

Why Nsukka :evil: :evil: :evil:

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

He is! Him and TxJ.

Context is everything. Unfortunately, that is lost on an eternal troller...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 2:31 pm

Just what came on my mind. No vex Nsukka are good people o! I spent most of my childhood in Enugu. I be New Heaven and Independence Layout boy :lol:

tournament football is different from a friendly at the City ground. As i said this was a scrimmage for England. Not once did i talk down on Senegal. Super Eagles is a tournament team, that is why I think this AFOCN we could do well

packerland wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 2:35 pm
txj wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 2:31 pm

Just what came on my mind. No vex Nsukka are good people o! I spent most of my childhood in Enugu. I be New Heaven and Independence Layout boy :lol:

:evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

txj wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 2:34 pm

He is! Him and TxJ.

Context is everything. Unfortunately, that is lost on an eternal troller...
Wetin I do? You are the one who said the England team was on the beach. :lol: :lol: I guess the Senegalese do not like beaches. :D