Which Way Nigeria

onovo
Which Way Nigeria

Post by onovo »

I just watched the way Senegal destroyed England 3-1. The Senegalese team is made up of youngster displayed good soccer artistry. One wonders in Nigeria's case where all sorts of dead wood, rubbish division 2 benchwarmers/players are having their field day, with majority of the fans celebrating this mediocrity. Even in our last friendly against Russia, one wonders why our trusted central defence pairs are made of players below quality, who cannot give pass or start build up play from defence. Ekong in particular kept booting the ball aimlessly to the Russians. I think Chelle and the fans are not serious. We should call the world cup a day.
Re: Which Way Nigeria

onovo wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 9:32 pm I just watched the way Senegal destroyed England 3-1. The Senegalese team is made up of youngster displayed good soccer artistry. One wonders in Nigeria's case where all sorts of dead wood, rubbish division 2 benchwarmers/players are having their field day, with majority of the fans celebrating this mediocrity. Even in our last friendly against Russia, one wonders why our trusted central defence pairs are made of players below quality, who cannot give pass or start build up play from defence. Ekong in particular kept booting the ball aimlessly to the Russians. I think Chelle and the fans are not serious. We should call the world cup a day.
And they failed to destroy island Abi na Swiss-land they played couple of days earlier considering that England destroyed those ones. Football no be maths

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Politics and corruption is killing Nigeria in all aspects. If this was Nigeria you will see Sikiru Alimi, Sodiq Bending, Papa Daniel etc on the bench with De Moses Simon starting. Sometimes i just think its best we dont qualify for the World Cup because we will see worse than this should we somehow qualify.

onovo

Post by onovo »

bret- hart wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 9:45 pm Politics and corruption is killing Nigeria in all aspects. If this was Nigeria you will see Sikiru Alimi, Sodiq Bending, Papa Daniel etc on the bench with De Moses Simon starting. Sometimes i just think its best we dont qualify for the World Cup because we will see worse than this should we somehow qualify.

Absolutely ! See how painful I was after watching Senegal today. I say shame on all those in NFF and the fans who continue to impose Musa, Ekong, Iheanacho, Ajayi, Alhassan, division 2 prone Ndidi, and all sorts of rubbish dead wood players. puah ! I carry yansh for unah !
onovo

Post by onovo »

jette1 wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 9:42 pm
onovo wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 9:32 pm I just watched the way Senegal destroyed England 3-1. The Senegalese team is made up of youngster displayed good soccer artistry. One wonders in Nigeria's case where all sorts of dead wood, rubbish division 2 benchwarmers/players are having their field day, with majority of the fans celebrating this mediocrity. Even in our last friendly against Russia, one wonders why our trusted central defence pairs are made of players below quality, who cannot give pass or start build up play from defence. Ekong in particular kept booting the ball aimlessly to the Russians. I think Chelle and the fans are not serious. We should call the world cup a day.
And they failed to destroy island Abi na Swiss-land they played couple of days earlier considering that England destroyed those ones. Football no be maths
When last did Super Eagles scored 3 goals against a supposedly African minnows ? Let alone doing it against England, France, Spain, Germany, Italy, etc. ?

Senegalese Line-up.
E. Mendy - 33 - Al Ahli, Saudi
K. Koulibaly - 33 - Al Hilal, Saudi (Captain)
Mousse Niakhate - 29 - Lyon, France
El H Malick Diouf - 20 - Slavia Prague, Czech Republic
Krepin Diatta - 26 - Monaco, France
Idrissa Gueye - 35 - Everton, England.
Lamine Camara - 21 - Monaco, France
Habib Diarra - 21 - Strasberg, France
Iliman Ndiaye - 25 - Everton, England
Ismailia Sara - 27 - Crystal Palace, England.
Nicholas Jackson - 23 - Chelsea, England

Damunk wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 10:13 pm Senegalese Line-up.

calm down that was England's team R. em folks players are on the beach
Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Tue Jun 10, 2025 10:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Senegal no get home based players?

onovo wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 10:09 pm
jette1 wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 9:42 pm
When last did Super Eagles scored 3 goals against a supposedly African minnows ? Let alone doing it against England, France, Spain, Germany, Italy, etc. ?
Scoring goals against England and Brazil is easier than scoring goals against African minnows.

Just see how Senegal struggles to score against low blocking African teams them light up Brazil and England.

Low block no be easy oh.

Dammy wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 10:43 pm Senegal no get home based players?
Senegal runs their football with very minimal tribalism and corruption.

That's why they were recently afcon champions and made it to the 2nd round last WC.

Meanwhile we are still parading Musa and Iheanacho and will soon miss back to back world cups.

Later when we want to have that tough conversation, we will talk about why the likes of Osimhen and Lookman always seem to evade friendly games especially key ones like this one that should prepare us for the WCQ...these guys just pick and choose games.

You mean they have 2 of their very experienced starters playing in the Saudi League?
Don’t allow Danfo Driver see this list.
Nigeria Must Be Great Again

Babalawo wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 12:09 am
You mean they have 2 of their very experienced starters playing in the Saudi League?
I am not Senegalese. I couldnt give a rat's a55 what they do. :lol: As you would see from all my post, I always end it with "my team." E.g -- "I will NEVER accept Div 2, Div 3, Retirement League, Clubless and Relegation Fodder, "In My Team."

I have never said: "I will NEVER accept Div 2, Div 3, Retirement League, Clubless and Relegation Fodder, "In Senegal." :lol: :lol: Wetin concern yansh with toothbrush? :lol:
Last edited by danfo driver on Wed Jun 11, 2025 12:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

Tobi17 wrote: Tue Jun 10, 2025 11:56 pm Later when we want to have that tough conversation, we will talk about why the likes of Osimhen and Lookman always seem to evade friendly games especially key ones like this one that should prepare us for the WCQ...these guys just pick and choose games.
Cmon now. The Turkish season was still going on during the unity cup while the Seria A just finished. I would cut them a little slack The Unity cup did not fall under FIFA window while the Russia game is another can of worms. Blame the NFF and the Unity cup organizers not the players

Senegal undefeated in 24 games.chei

Its still their best squad. Aside from Mane their main guys are there unlike Nigeria that will smuggle Ahmed Musa, ihenacho etc in the name of "experience" as well as rubbish homebased players like Sodiq Bending and Sikiru Alimi for "Exposure"

Let me state again:

It is wrong to focus on the league. It is not the league that is invited. Individual players get invited. Senegal well and should invite players that they dim good enough. It is frankly immaterial whether they play in Saudi, Lithuania, or where ever. The same should apply to Nigeria. One of these days we shall all realize that African player migration is not based on allure of Big 5 or whatever. The allure is based on wherever a pay day exists. That is starkly different from the migratory track of European players. There is a difference.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 2:52 am

Let me state again:

It is wrong to focus on the league. It is not the league that is invited. Individual players get invited. Senegal well and should invite players that they dim good enough. It is frankly immaterial whether they play in Saudi, Lithuania, or where ever. The same should apply to Nigeria. One of these days we shall all realize that African player migration is not based on allure of Big 5 or whatever. The allure is based on wherever a pay day exists. That is starkly different from the migratory track of European players. There is a difference.
One day you will also realize that the league that someone plays in also has an impact on their competitiveness.

Some of you were clapping for the clubless sh1t we took to Russia until he went there and scored an own goal. :oops:

danfo driver wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 2:54 am
Enugu II wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 2:52 am

Let me state again:

One day you will also realize that the league that someone plays in also has an impact on their competitiveness.

Some of you were clapping for the clubless sh1t we took to Russia until he went there and scored an own goal. :oops:
Danfo,

We see that for top European teams because of migratory trends of their players. What you miss is that player migratory trend for European football is not similar to those of players coming from Africa.

While Europeans may be more focused on importance of Big 5, the African player is NOT. The African player is more focused on getting regular pay from the profession. Most players leaving Nigeria to play professionally do not really care about Big %. They care about playing in Europe or wherever else that their wages become assured. That assurance does not exist in Nigeria.

Secondly, the form and performance of a player is never static nor will it ever be. It fluctuates; it rises and dips regardless of the club and league. The challenge is identify which ones have more rises than dips wherever those may be located.

This is an extremely complex situation and the simplistic focus on leagues denies so many variations that may be critical for the African player.

Here we see Senegal with two players in the Saudi League. A few World Cups ago we had a player from Saudi League starting for Brazil. Am I stunned? Nope. I am not one of those rubbishing the Saudi League. I would rather look at the individual player.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 3:01 am

Danfo,

We see that for top European teams because of migratory trends of their players. What you miss is that player migratory trend for European football is not similar to those of players coming from Africa.

While Europeans may be more focused on importance of Big 5, the African player is NOT. The African player is more focused on getting regular pay from the profession. Most players leaving Nigeria to play professionally do not really care about Big %. They care about playing in Europe or wherever else that their wages become assured. That assurance does not exist in Nigeria.

Secondly, the form and performance of a player is never static nor will it ever be. It fluctuates; it rises and dips regardless of the club and league. The challenge is identify which ones have more rises than dips wherever those may be located.

This is an extremely complex situation and the simplistic focus on leagues denies so many variations that may be critical for the African player.
i know your position, and I strongly disagree with it. Your position sells the conclusion that we do not have sufficient number of players playing at the top level. It was your position that made us lock in on Akpeyi and Uzoho, forcing the natives to believe that we didnt have better. We did. It was your position that made us lock into Tanimu, Ekong and Clubless Ajayi, forcing the natives to believe we didnt have better, we do! It was your position that made us invite Papa Daniels and Yusuf, denying Uche and Onyeka the opportunity to be part of a March series, which may now have cost us the WC.

Your position is one that does not call for merit or standards, and that is why I will NEVER agree with you on this topic. I know we have the players playing at the top level. We have the numbers, and if we do not insist on standards, we will never give them a chance. Instead we will be stuck inviting gutter players who do not deserve to wear our shirt. If a player wants to make money, there is absolutely NOTHING wrong with that. Follow the money and allow us to kindly follow our trophies WITHOUT YOU.

In 2009, Nigeria went to Paris led by Odemwingie and Yakubu, they beat France 1-0 at home and shun like a million stars. Then we went to the 2010 WC and laid a massive egg by getting eliminated in the first rd with Largerback as coach. These games are an ego boost but mean nothing whatsoever, particularly in Africa. Senegal,beating England in England doesn’t mean they can beat Sierra Leone anywhere in Africa.

Let's get this straight- Osimhen selects games! He has always done it. When was the last friendly this man played for Nigeria. We shrine this dude(I am one of those players). But truth be told, he always selects games. That is why I respect Iwobi, this man never evades friendlies for some flimsy excuse. I really pray we have another Striker that does the business for Nigeria. I hate for us to rely only on Osimhen. We are bigger than this..