Nigeria vs Ecuador 0:1 FT

Re: Nigeria vs Ecuador 0:1 FT

Cellular wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 3:49 am
Enyi wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 3:41 am Peseiro should think about playing Bassey as a CD once Zaidu is back cos Ekong is useless.
And lose the best crosser of the ball alaa Alexander-Arnold?
You can cross 15 balls in but you will keep losing if ur CB is anyone with Ekong. He is looking like the best CB we have and Zaidu is a very good LB

And he can bring the ball out of the defence…..

Re: Nigeria vs Ecuador 0:1

txj wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 3:45 am
green4life wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 3:42 am
txj wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 3:34 am NFF should've done more to get the new manager a full complement of players
Dressers and Denis have no explanation for not scoring today. The manager had ample players to beat the most hopeless Ecuador I've ever seen in my life. Anyway we move on to sierra leone

We should have won the game.

But we should have our full squad available for a new manager. There’s no excuse for that…
I agree but this is nigeria so I'm not surprised. Ironically I'm surprised that they were able to get his this many SE regulars after the season ended notwithstanding that AFON qualifiers are on the horizon.

Going forward, I'd like to see a 433 with Iwobi playing higher upfield. Today's deep role reduced his opportunities to influence the game in the last third.

It can't be possible that anyone with criticize Ekong based on today's game. Surely! He played well today. Awaziem was complete trash.

Siddonlook11 wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 3:42 am Hmmm but Una don curse vancity finish here when e tell us all say moses na poor player.

Omo Vancity no vex for all the yabs we dey yab you about Moses.
9 times out of 10 I am right with my assessments. I called out Moses a long time ago. A big reason for Rohr's failures was sticking with that guy.

Sunset wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 3:48 am
txj wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 3:43 am
Cellular wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 3:37 am
metalalloy wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 3:35 am
txj wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 3:34 am NFF should've done more to get the new manager a full complement of players

This.
+2

Instead of focusing on helping a new manager settle down with his real team, they are more interested in marketing HB players.
Hmm that's a weird take, last I checked how many of our core players either pulled out, are injured or didn't get a visa to the US?

It’s called planning. If they were serious and only focused on the team, they would have the players available.

And you should stop defending these thieves. It’s becoming a pattern with you..
Last edited by txj on Fri Jun 03, 2022 4:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Goalgetter

Post by Goalgetter »

green4life wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 3:54 am
Dressers and Denis have no explanation for not scoring today. The manager had ample players to beat the most hopeless Ecuador I've ever seen in my life. Anyway we move on to sierra leone

But we should have our full squad available for a new manager. There’s no excuse for that…
I agree but this is nigeria so I'm not surprised. Ironically I'm surprised that they were able to get his this many SE regulars after the season ended notwithstanding that AFON qualifiers are on the horizon.

Going forward, I'd like to see a 433 with Iwobi playing higher upfield. Today's deep role reduced his opportunities to influence the game in the last third.
Iwobi played deep because clearly Peseiro wanted someone who demands and moves the ball upfield fast in that position. He did awesome! Never seen him in that role before.
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?

Gotti wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 3:44 am
txj wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 2:41 am
Gotti wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 2:38 am
txj wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 2:18 am The Sani Faisal in DM does not have a clue what his role and positioning should be
Dude, you're sounding like the one who does not have clue... :oops:
Sani Faisal is NOT playing in DM, he's reprising the same role(s) he played in the 2H of the Mexico game.
He is the DM in the diamond MF that we are playing.
He's most certainly NOT the DM, and we are definitely NOT playing a diamond MF...
We are essentially playing a 4-4-2 formation, with Simon and Faisal as the wide midfielders.

Why would anyone play a winger/wide midfielder in the NPFL as a DM?!
When Dennis came on in the 2H, it was basically a like-for-like substitution.
Correct!

Tobi17 wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 3:51 am From my observation from the two friendly matches so far...we tend to concede goals early, and it's largely down to the terrible focus and positioning of the defenders. There's absolutely no excuse for that set piece goal we conceded today against Ecuador, Ekong needs to be permanently benched or phased out the team, ditto Awaziem...let's play Bassey and maybe Balogun as CB's.
I agree. We need to beg Akpoguma. We can’t judge a player by 2 games on African soil.

Moses is useless. I doubt Chukwueze would’ve been better if he played. Those 2 have stunk it up for the SE for a while now.

Flex Swift wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 3:35 am Not scoring is a real concern
It is, but not for lack of trying...
I believe it will come with time.

Gotti wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 4:12 am
Flex Swift wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 3:35 am Not scoring is a real concern
It is, but not for lack of trying...
I believe it will come with time.
It better come soon. We have not won in our last 5 games. If that happens in the next 5 games we probably don’t qualify for AFCON.

packerland wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 4:03 amI agree. We need to beg Akpoguma. We can’t judge a player by 2 games on African soil.

Moses is useless. I doubt Chukwueze would’ve been better if he played. Those 2 have stunk it up for the SE for a while now.
We certainly can use Akpoguma...
But no need to "beg" anyone to play for us.

Goalgetter wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 4:00 am
green4life wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 3:54 am

Iwobi played deep because clearly Peseiro wanted someone who demands and moves the ball upfield fast in that position. He did awesome! Never seen him in that role before.

Who else could have played there?
He simply had nobody else…

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Nigeria have now had a good look at several strikers; Nacho, Taiwo & Sadiq @ the Acon used Osimhen & Nacho & Denis @ word cup qualifiers ; now Dressers & Moffa in two friendlies.

Nobody has shown to be really prolific.

Need to look at other wingers in place of both Moses and Samu who have been indifferent for some time

Flex Swift wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 4:27 am Nigeria have now had a good look at several strikers; Nacho, Taiwo & Sadiq @ the Acon used Osimhen & Nacho & Denis @ word cup qualifiers ; now Dressers & Moffa in two friendlies.

Nobody has shown to be really prolific.

Need to look at other wingers in place of both Moses and Samu who have been indifferent for some time
chuks deserves the benefit of doubt for now. Simon needs to be dropped ASAP.

txj wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 3:59 am

This.
+2

Instead of focusing on helping a new manager settle down with his real team, they are more interested in marketing HB players.
Hmm that's a weird take, last I checked how many of our core players either pulled out, are injured or didn't get a visa to the US?

It’s called planning. If they were serious and only focused on the team, they would have the players available.

Planning ke? The only planning I can fault them on is having these games played in the US, anything beyond that, you're just being ridiculous. Unless you're willing to elaborate. A couple of the guys that played were even replacements for those who couldn't make it

Sunset wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 4:32 am

This.
+2

Planning ke? The only planning I can fault them on is having these games played in the US, anything beyond that, you're just being ridiculous. Unless you're willing to elaborate. A couple of the guys that played were even replacements for those who couldn't make it

Perhaps you have vested interest in defending these thieves.

If they were focused on putting a proper squad together they would have done so from the very beginning. And that includes the original selection.

They even had Nwobodo right here in the US and ignored him.

vancity eagle wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 3:47 am
they are busy marketing. :boo:
txj wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 3:43 amInstead of focusing on helping a new manager settle down with his real team, they are more interested in marketing HB players.
It's more than just a weird take...
It's obtuse, juvenile and DISGUSTING to equate the inclusion of HB players with 'agency'.

First, the NFF did not even know if it would have a new coach signed and in place for this game (particularly after the Sports Minister's directive). Accordingly, if the NFF were going to be charged with "marketing" players it would be more valid to point to players who had not played club football in months and/or played for relegation clubs and thus seeking to put themselves in the shop window. But of course, the REAL reason the so-called "full complement of players" were not assembled was because Salisu was initially billed to coach these friendlies and he selected the players. including (as coach of the CHAN national team) some of the top NPFL (and thus probable CHAN team) players. The self-hatred is DESPICABLE!

txj wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 4:36 am

This.
+2

If they were focused on putting a proper squad together they would have done so from the very beginning. And that includes the original selection.

Perhaps you're getting that mixed up with common sense here I'm just saying it how I see it, if that's what you think about my opinion it says a lot more about you that you'd jump to such a conclusion. And also any coach that is willing to work under "thieves" is already compromised from the get-go, he's simply just there for the ride :roll:

ATF, What has Nwobodo done since moving to Cincinnati that would have warranted a call up?

I will be there in a couple of weeks. I will track him down and have a serious discussion with him about his performance so far.

This.
+2

Gotti wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 4:47 am
It's obtuse, juvenile and DISGUSTING to equate the inclusion of HB players with 'agency'.

First, the NFF did not even know if it would have a new coach signed and in place for this game (particularly after the Sports Minister's directive). Accordingly, if the NFF were going to be charged with "marketing" players it would be more valid to point to players who had not played club football in months and/or played for relegation clubs and thus seeking to put themselves in the shop window. But of course, the REAL reason the so-called "full complement of players" were not assembled was because Salisu was initially billed to coach these friendlies and he selected the players. including (as coach of the CHAN national team) some of the top NPFL (and thus probable CHAN team) players. The self-hatred is DESPICABLE!

Unlike you I'm not one of those who seek to make Nigeria look 'good' externally even when there's no basis for it. Its the same excuses you were making for CCC more than a decade ago.

HB players simply don't get selected without agency representation. Whether it be for the SE, CHAN or the youth teams. It DOES NOT happen!

And you look at this squad, the selection has no pattern to it; does not reflect areas of need in the SE or evn players with the remotest chance of challenging for places...
Last edited by txj on Fri Jun 03, 2022 5:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Sunset wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 4:51 am

+2

Perhaps you're getting that mixed up with common sense here I'm just saying it how I see it, if that's what you think about my opinion it says a lot more about you that you'd jump to such a conclusion. And also any coach that is willing to work under "thieves" is already compromised from the get-go, he's simply just there for the ride :roll:
They are thieves and proven repeatedly to be so. Even in this here camp, there's been all sorts of wheeling and dealing.
I don't know who Peseiro is, but its not about him. These thieves were here before him and will most probably outlive him...

txj wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 5:03 amUnlike you I'm not one of those who seek to make Nigeria look 'good' externally even when there's no basis for it. Its the same excuses you were making for CCC more than a decade ago.

HB players simply don't get selected without agency representation. Whether it be for the SE, CHAN or the youth teams. It DOES NOT happen!

And you look at this squad, the selection has no pattern to it; does not reflect areas of need in the SE or evn players with the remotest chance of challenging for places...
Look good "externally" in a discussion among NIGERIANS?! :blink:

Anyway, as Sunset imputed, sometimes what folks say might actually be a PROJECTION of how their own mind works. SMH

txj wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 5:03 am
Gotti wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 4:47 am

Unlike you I'm not one of those who seek to make Nigeria look 'good' externally even when there's no basis for it. Its the same excuses you were making for CCC more than a decade ago.

Exactly. And the excuses for World Class coach Betty 'Stash'.