2026 CAF WCQ: Nigeria vs Zimbabwe FT 1-1(Osimhen 73m. asst.Aina) Chirewa 90mins

Re: 2026 CAF WCQ: Nigeria vs Zimbabwe FT 1-1(Osimhen 73m. asst.Aina) Chirewa 90mins

Tbite wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:40 pm Is rather hw givs up the penalty than let a cross in thay close wtf.

That's his last game. That must surely be his last game. And I don't even tread lightly here.
Exactly! But I guess he took a chance.

Anyway, not going to blame him too much. We have very bad players in the final third.

I mean look at Ndidi making it into the box in a great position and choosing the worst technique possible. These guys are so annoying!!
Re: 2026 CAF WCQ: Nigeria vs Zimbabwe 2HF 1-1(Osimhen 73m. asst.Aina)

Enugu II wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:34 pm Mace

We are done for sure. We can heap all blames on the managers but what about the players? They are supposedly from Europe leagues. Not so? I want to know how many players from Lesotho and Zimbabwe are from such leagues. WE really got to get a grip on focusing on leagues and focus on type of players that we have.
You have started.

Anyone who knows his football should know that we didn’t have any width on the right throughout the match. We kept on giving the ball to Simon on the left who had two players doubling up on him every time. Aina was always too far back and not giving Simon an option. So it was so easy for the Zims to defend. That was poor coaching.

Also, our midfielders looked leggy right from the beginning. And some like Iwobi, Lookman and Chukwueze had an off day. What was the coach doing to send them out in the second half with the same formation and same players? We needed to put the fear of God in them by rushing them and scoring early and to give our boys confidence. But alas, we just came out to do the same sluggish, one track football. All our attack was on the left hand side. Yes, we eventually scored with an assist from the left but one goal scoreline is never enough.

Very poor from the coach. No one else to blame.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
tippy
Re: 2026 CAF WCQ: Nigeria vs Zimbabwe FT 1-1(Osimhen 73m. asst.Aina) Chirewa 90mins

Post by tippy »

oscar52 wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:38 pm When I said I was not impressed after the first game, sone people were saying its the coach first game in charge. You will know a smart coach by the way his lads play, Chelle's players don't look intelligent. Simon, Ekong, Iwobi have to all go. Plus such players need serious wring hand cos hinge to keep them playing disciplined football like Aina and Lookman.

Simon and Chukwueze are not smart players. Or they think because they are playing for Nigeria that they can just do anyhow.

And I’m not sure what discipline you saw from Lookman today. Utterly selfish.

The coach messed up by not making defensive subs, or subs in general. You have us playing intense football and don’t think you should switch things around? Even Final sub was made only because Osimhen got cramp.
My usual reaction after most Arsenal games: "lol, f*** Arsenal."

maceo4 wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:33 pm
green4life wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:31 pm Ekong cost us any real chance of a WC... Horrible defending in the box. Amatuerish
What about the open net they missed? They kept easily getting in behind us yet the coach did not make changes in the back to close up shop…he was just hoping time would run out…this one is on the coach abeg…
Lol. There's enough blame to share. Coachie needed to close shop like he did in the away game vs Rwanda but Ekong needed to be resolute in the tackle in a situation where he was always going to be first to the ball. He panicked unnecessarily and let them have it. No on coachie ... win the gaddem routine tackle that even a lowly academy defender is expected to win.
Re: 2026 CAF WCQ: Nigeria vs Zimbabwe 2HF 1-0 (Osimhen 73m. asst.Aina)

txj wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:40 pm
green4life wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:38 pm
maceo4 wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:27 pm I asked why are we replacing a striker with a striker when our defense is not so secure, Chelle will soon be fired sha…and the rigomorole continues
I mentioned it as well. We needed one more midfielder in the midfield to cut out their passes and kill the game like he did against Rwanda. Not sure why he felt the need for Boniface when we needed a midfielder.

Every makor tactical decision he made in this game was upside down.
An absolute clinic in poor management!!
It was a headscratcher all game.

And he had an opportunity to correct himself.

Ndidi, Ekong, Nwabali and Simon need to gettout of the National team. Useless bunch. If i catch Simon for street i will brush him. Ndidi is a bum. How do you miss that chance???

Re: 2026 CAF WCQ: Nigeria vs Zimbabwe 2HF 1-0 (Osimhen 73m. asst.Aina)

Cellular wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:44 pm
txj wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:40 pm
green4life wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:38 pm
maceo4 wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:27 pm I asked why are we replacing a striker with a striker when our defense is not so secure, Chelle will soon be fired sha…and the rigomorole continues
I mentioned it as well. We needed one more midfielder in the midfield to cut out their passes and kill the game like he did against Rwanda. Not sure why he felt the need for Boniface when we needed a midfielder.

Every makor tactical decision he made in this game was upside down.
An absolute clinic in poor management!!
It was a headscratcher all game.

And he had an opportunity to correct himself.
Also, seeing that 95% of our attack went down our left wing, why did he not switch Lookman to that position where he will get the ball in space with potential 1 on 1s plus a more quality player overall than Simon. That was a head scratcher
kash n' karry

Post by kash n' karry »

miky wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:42 pm Plates just didn't take their chances! Some tried to overdo when a simple last pass would have done.
:evil: :twisted:
There were passes that supposed to be released timely, instead they were not made due to selfishness or we pretty much intercepted. In the game today, sometimes the long passes do not work around or inside the box 18 of the opponent.
There is a need for shorter passes and better coordination of the strikers. Nigeria still needs a better midfielders too !!
Naija fan

Post by Naija fan »

We pretty much have no more room for error. With 4 more games to go, we have to win ALL 4 games and collect 12 points!. Even then, we still need someone else to take points from SA preferably Lesotho or Zimbabwe. I remain optimistic on a very thin thread.
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."

Synopsis wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:42 pm
Cellular wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:38 pm
danfo driver wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:31 pm
Cellular wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:29 pm Ekong was beaten rather easily.
Thought you loved him? When i told you and you refused to listen. You cant have a retirement league player play for you.

We needed midfielders and our coach did not trust Al Hassan and Aribo. But youb guys celebrated their invite.
I did not celebrate their invitation.

On Ekong, they tried to replace him but the replacement(s) didn't work so he is back.

But to lay this tie to one single player is being disingenuous.

The loss was on the coach. I had no idea what Lookman and Simon were still doing on the pitch.

This was not ATF. This was live during the match.
This is what happens when there are no wingers on the bench to replace struggling wingers on the pitch. Shambolic team selection!
Exactly. And I don’t know why most of our coaches take these silly gambles.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

green4life wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:43 pm
green4life wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:31 pm Ekong cost us any real chance of a WC... Horrible defending in the box. Amatuerish
What about the open net they missed? They kept easily getting in behind us yet the coach did not make changes in the back to close up shop…he was just hoping time would run out…this one is on the coach abeg…
Lol. There's enough blame to share. Coachie needed to close shop like he did in the away game vs Rwanda but Ekong needed to be resolute in the tackle in a situation where he was always going to be first to the ball. He panicked unnecessarily and let them have it. No on coachie ... win the gaddem routine tackle that even a lowly academy defender is expected to win.
BUT if they invite a lowly academy player una no go gree!
kash n' karry

Post by kash n' karry »

Naija fan wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:46 pm We pretty much have no more room for error. With 4 more games to go, we have to win ALL 4 games and collect 12 points!. Even then, we still need someone else to take points from SA preferably Lesotho or Zimbabwe. I remain optimistic on a very thin thread.
:evil: :twisted:
Please i have not hope, you are just putting yourself out for a broken heart !! :roll:
The team cannot be this careless and concede a goal in the 90th minute, it is absolute carelessness.

Even that last opportunity that Simon had...the players are on the right open...you are not. Why not lay it off to thr right. Instead he drags the ball to the left into traffic, so he can score solo through traffic?

Sometimes these guys just don't use their brains. That move right there could even realistically have been the goal. The Zimbabweans had give up a bit of room on the right. But Moses wanted to be the hero through traffic on the left.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Before a team can be called a national team, they have to be able to beat a middle table team in the NPFL. This team cannot beat Sunshine stars. They should play friendlies against local teams to expose how bad some of the so called national team players are. No way Simon, Ekong, Iwobi, Aina, Lukman etc will excel against local players 11 vs 11.

Lolly wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:43 pm

We are done for sure. We can heap all blames on the managers but what about the players? They are supposedly from Europe leagues. Not so? I want to know how many players from Lesotho and Zimbabwe are from such leagues. WE really got to get a grip on focusing on leagues and focus on type of players that we have.
You have started.

Anyone who knows his football should know that we didn’t have any width on the right throughout the match. We kept on giving the ball to Simon on the left who had two players doubling up on him every time. Aina was always too far back and not giving Simon an option. So it was so easy for the Zims to defend. That was poor coaching.

Also, our midfielders looked leggy right from the beginning. And some like Iwobi, Lookman and Chukwueze had an off day. What was the coach doing to send them out in the second half with the same formation and same players? We needed to put the fear of God in them by rushing them and scoring early and to give our boys confidence. But alas, we just came out to do the same sluggish, one track football. All our attack was on the left hand side. Yes, we eventually scored with an assist from the left but one goal scoreline is never enough.

When I complained that we only had 3 wide players in the squad some people told us it didn't matter.

With the 442 we had EVERY wide player on the pitch and none on the bench.

Ejuke could have been in this squad but certain players have slots and Papa Mama Daniel needed to be pimped.

Also Chelle clearly didn't trust Aribo or Papa, so why were they picked.

I keep telling people how important your bench is. If the bench cannot be trusted your starters will TIRE, especially playing the press that Chelle wanted.

Naija fan wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:46 pm We pretty much have no more room for error. With 4 more games to go, we have to win ALL 4 games and collect 12 points!. Even then, we still need someone else to take points from SA preferably Lesotho or Zimbabwe. I remain optimistic on a very thin thread.
We can’t make up the 6 points difference on SA with all their remaining games in SA.

BTW, I watch both matches and those SA boys can play soccer. They just look much better as a team than us. Good quick and intelligent movement of the ball and running into spaces. They look the part.
Last edited by Lolly on Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Tbite wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:48 pm Even that last opportunity that Simon had...the players are on the right open...you are not. Why not lay it off to thr right. Instead he drags the ball to the left into traffic, so he can score solo through traffic?

Sometimes these guys just don't use their brains. That move right there could even realistically have been the goal. The Zimbabweans had give up a bit of room on the right. But Moses wanted to be the hero through traffic on the left.
I don't even understand. I watch Iwobi regularly for Fulham and more often than not he makes great decisions and seems to be a technically good player, as soon as he suits on for Nigeria he forgets how to shoot. It's so annoying.

I love your optimism BUT only a coach like Amodu can perform the miracle you want.

This current crop of players don't have the mentality.

One goal up against Zimbabwe at home they were behaving like world beaters :boo:

You have started.

Bros, I have not exempted the coach but I surely will not exempt the players either. They are not sacred cows, in my view. Na Manager tell our substitute striker to head the balls up the air from crosses? Bros, na Manager tell Ekong to be slow at the point that led to the equalizer? No way will I exempt our hyped players.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

my brother , this team cannot win , they are a draw specialist , Let us hurt now, they would have done nothing at the WC. SA are 6 points ahead of us. our only hope is board room politics

wanaj0 wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:47 pm
green4life wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:43 pm
BUT if they invite a lowly academy player una no go gree!
You're missed the point

vancity eagle wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:49 pm

You have started.

When I complained that we only had 3 wide players in the squad some people told us it didn't matter.

With the 442 we had EVERY wide player on the pitch and none on the bench.

Ejuke could have been in this squad but certain players have slots and Papa Mama Daniel needed to be pimped.

Also Chelle clearly didn't trust Aribo or Papa, so why were they picked.

I keep telling people how important your bench is. If the bench cannot be trusted your starters will TIRE, especially playing the press that Chelle wanted.
It is always the player that is NOT there that would have made a difference. :taunt:

This game needs to evolve beyond a poverty sport for us. Every once in a while you get an Osimhen, but we need to start investing into facilities everywhere across the country, so we don't just get resilient scrubs whose only real craft is making a living from nothing.

We need the artists and the visionaries to really thrive.

Once the resilient scrubs get one contract in Europe, they are content. They have made it. Happy to even languish in the championship or bottom of the table.

No weak foot to save their lives, wasting a point blank effort on their right foot.

It's 2025, resilient scrubs don't cut it any more.

You just want one contract to finally floss, fine good for you and your own, but we need competition in the land. Now player without real drive and vision should be making it to our future sides.

Nigeria needs to invest in this damn game, since its the only thing this country can look forward to. Beg invest in the damn game.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT