Let's not delude ourselves: Nigeria's team is no big deal
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
Let's not delude ourselves: Nigeria's team is no big deal
[1] Like a lot of you, I have watched a few games today
[2] Comparing what I have seen with the crap Nigeria served us in Egypt 2006, we have a long way to go
[3] I am watching Brazil vs Russia at the moment and the Russians are two classes above the Nigeria I saw at the ANC
[4] Those of you that saw Uruguay, did you notice how resolute they were at the back?
[5] Ireland, Uruguay, Croatia, Senegal, Ivory Coast, Paraguay, Russia and England all have much more formidable defences than Nigeria
[6] Have you all noticed that our boys try to pass the ball into the net, whereas all these other teams move the ball about at twice as much speed?
[7] Look at the way teams pick out each other with diagonal balls. How many crossfield passes did you see from the Eagles in Egypt 2006?
[8] Let us not delude ourselves about talent this, talent that. Does Nigeria really have more talent than Ivory Coast, Ireland or Croatia?
[9] We love blaming the NFA for all our woes but do we expect the NFA to come on to the field and decide team tactics?
[10] I saw how hard Darren Bent worked today with his off the ball runs and he reminds me of Jaziri. Nigerian strikers never make those runs, the midfielders do not look for those passes and our coaches have no clue about how to address the problem.
[2] Comparing what I have seen with the crap Nigeria served us in Egypt 2006, we have a long way to go
[3] I am watching Brazil vs Russia at the moment and the Russians are two classes above the Nigeria I saw at the ANC
[4] Those of you that saw Uruguay, did you notice how resolute they were at the back?
[5] Ireland, Uruguay, Croatia, Senegal, Ivory Coast, Paraguay, Russia and England all have much more formidable defences than Nigeria
[6] Have you all noticed that our boys try to pass the ball into the net, whereas all these other teams move the ball about at twice as much speed?
[7] Look at the way teams pick out each other with diagonal balls. How many crossfield passes did you see from the Eagles in Egypt 2006?
[8] Let us not delude ourselves about talent this, talent that. Does Nigeria really have more talent than Ivory Coast, Ireland or Croatia?
[9] We love blaming the NFA for all our woes but do we expect the NFA to come on to the field and decide team tactics?
[10] I saw how hard Darren Bent worked today with his off the ball runs and he reminds me of Jaziri. Nigerian strikers never make those runs, the midfielders do not look for those passes and our coaches have no clue about how to address the problem.
Re: Let's not delude ourselves: Nigeria's team is no big dea
yes thats very niceAyo Akinfe wrote:[1] Like a lot of you, I have watched a few games today
viewtopic.php?t=59105
So, what is your solution, hire a foreign coach?
Ahh but it takes the NFA to do that...but
Where will they get the $$$ to do that
In retrospect I agree that Nigeria is not a made team yet, and days like today regardless of results would have been good for practice..who do we blame here?????
- naija4ever
- Location: Latitude 14' 40 N Longitude 90' 31 W(Nollywood 4Ever)
Ayo Akinfe wrote:[1] Like a lot of you, I have watched a few games today
Irrespective of all these, the SE have defeated senegal to and fro at the last ANC2006, the last encounter with Ireland we defeated them as well, all with our IC coaches...we all know where u r coming from and going but check this link:
viewtopic.php?t=59369
Last edited by naija4ever on Wed Mar 01, 2006 11:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Schillachi wrote:Thanks Ghana. I hope this defeat will forever cure us of our colonial mentality when it comes to Coaches...
mystic wrote:
Now, we can criticise CCC for this, that and the other - some of which is warranted, and some of which is complete hogwash. But, in my view, these are the prinicipal areas in which he has been a disappointment.
All the same, I salute Christian Chukwu for his efforts, his selflessness and his hard work. He has served his country to the best of his ability. The predicament that we are in, right now, is not soley of his making and we should all keep that in mind..
The two players are in different worlds. Ade is too young to be compared to Kanu. Kanu has been around and has raked in laurels upon laurels. If he is not scoring, he is assisting; and if he is not, he is entertaining ... one of the finest players in the world. Please for past times, compare Kanu to Brazilian Socrates..bbc606
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
If the NFA and sports ministry end this power struggle, that should be a good start. I believe that if the NFA board is given the free hand to pick a coach on merit, without any political interferance, we will be on the way.akamoke wrote:So, what is your solution, hire a foreign coach?
MD will tell you that when Troussier was interviewed in London last year, all the coaches that came along, came armed with unbelievable tactical portfolios. They showed the NFA diagrams of how they expect the team to play.
One coach came with a set of diagrams about he plans to see Jon Mikel Obi picking out Martins. He had clear coherent ideas about how Martins would make his runs and how he would be found.
Our NFA know a good coach when they see one. By the time you spend 30 minutes with a coach, you know if he has what it takes or not.
We have only ended up with Amodu, Onigbinde, Chukwu and Eguavoen of late because they were imposed on the NFA for political reasons. Do you really think any of them could pass a job interview?
viewtopic.php?t=59105Ayo Akinfe wrote:If the NFA and sports ministry end this power struggle, that should be a good start. I believe that if the NFA board is given the free hand to pick a coach on merit, without any political interferance, we will be on the way.akamoke wrote:So, what is your solution, hire a foreign coach?
MD will tell you that when Troussier was interviewed in London last year, all the coaches that came along, came armed with unbelievable tactical portfolios. They showed the NFA diagrams of how they expect the team to play.
One coach came with a set of diagrams about he plans to see Jon Mikel Obi picking out Martins. He had clear coherent ideas about how Martins would make his runs and how he would be found.
Our NFA know a good coach when they see one. By the time you spend 30 minutes with a coach, you know if he has what it takes or not.
We have only ended up with Amodu, Onigbinde, Chukwu and Eguavoen of late because they were imposed on the NFA for political reasons. Do you really think any of them could pass a job interview?
mke1010 wrote:Yet during the recently concluded ANC you stated that Nigeria would be world class with an FC. Today, we have a long way to go.
Ebi like say ya mind resemble traffic jam for Lagos. Every space wey open for hold up, na dia you go dey point driver. When dat side full up na driver you go blame. Abeg!

To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli
mke1010 wrote:Yet during the recently concluded ANC you stated that Nigeria would be world class with an FC. Today, we have a long way to go.
Ebi like say ya mind resemble traffic jam for Lagos. Every space wey open for hold up, na dia you go dey point driver. When dat side full up na driver you go blame. Abeg!

- Molue Conductor
sabb wrote:mke1010 wrote:Yet during the recently concluded ANC you stated that Nigeria would be world class with an FC. Today, we have a long way to go.
yeparipa

I have said it until I am blue in the face, a remarkable feat considering I am a black man. Africa has lost the plot in developing young talent. All players play the way they grow up playing the game, our players are not taught the fundamentals and are not taught basic strategies. Mostly the just play set growing up and when spotted the first thought is to find an agent to send them overseas and they go to different teams and different systems.
Look at the CIV VS Spain game today, the CIV were clearly more skilled but the Spanish team were clearly more tactical and they dominated the skilled Ivoriens with their tactical play. They were able to create the better chances and enjoyed the better of the play for long spells in the game.
African players are poor at set pieces, taking them or defending them, poor at goalkeeping, poor at defending and poor at reading the game. It was shameful the way CIV was been split open by simple through balls and players running off the ball.
FC's can not solve that problem, we have to really sit down for once and actually develop something from the ground up.
Look at the CIV VS Spain game today, the CIV were clearly more skilled but the Spanish team were clearly more tactical and they dominated the skilled Ivoriens with their tactical play. They were able to create the better chances and enjoyed the better of the play for long spells in the game.
African players are poor at set pieces, taking them or defending them, poor at goalkeeping, poor at defending and poor at reading the game. It was shameful the way CIV was been split open by simple through balls and players running off the ball.
FC's can not solve that problem, we have to really sit down for once and actually develop something from the ground up.
Omo. That ya yabbis get as e bi ooo.. Chei talk about using a shotgun to kill a rat. kai kai kai...mke1010 wrote:Yet during the recently concluded ANC you stated that Nigeria would be world class with an FC. Today, we have a long way to go.
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna
Ayo, I agree entirely. We tend to look at the SE with rose tinted glasses and we don't seem to have realised that the current team is nowhere near the standard of the team we had a decade ago, and that the other African teams have caught up with us in all aspects of the game.
We have not won a senior trophy for over a decade, yet we still claim to be "the best team in Africa"!! We're living off our past reputation.
We are not claiming to be the best in Africa. We are the best in Africa. A month ago, Cameroon were the best. While our football style may be diminishing, our Ws are not diminishing. No point is awarded for playing beautiful soccer. Lets get real!!!wiseone wrote:Ayo, I agree entirely. We tend to look at the SE with rose tinted glasses and we don't seem to have realised that the current team is nowhere near the standard of the team we had a decade ago, and that the other African teams have caught up with us in all aspects of the game.
Having said that, I would be the first to agree that we need a better play handle for our games.
You are indirectly saying that you want a foreign coach.Ayo Akinfe wrote:[1] Like a lot of you, I have watched a few games today

Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions
Ayo you are most confused individual that had ever step a foot on the surface of the earth. Do you purposely distort facts everytime to sooth your particular mood.I remember during Chukwu tenure time without number you proclaimed Nigeria has the most talented players in the world. On each occasion when super eagles won any match you emphatically said they won because of over surplus talents with the .Ayo are you suffering from amnesia? You write one thing one week next week you make 180 degree turn.
- Undertaker
You are very right! We need to improve. We are far from where we should or like to be. However, FC is not the solution. CIV are coached by an FC and that has not solve the problem.African Star wrote:I have said it until I am blue in the face, a remarkable feat considering I am a black man. Africa has lost the plot in developing young talent. All players play the way they grow up playing the game, our players are not taught the fundamentals and are not taught basic strategies. Mostly the just play set growing up and when spotted the first thought is to find an agent to send them overseas and they go to different teams and different systems.
Firstly, you need time to build a successful team. CW had 5 years with full government support (access to Aikhomu) for him to build the 1994 team. Any coach will need time to succeed.
Secondly, our players become heros even before achieving anything. When last did a Nigerian player got nominated for world footballer of the year award? Whan last was anyone of them APOY? We have players with good potentials but have not arrived yet. The shrining of such players is sometimes worrying. Can you imagine Olofinjana as the next Viera? If the LC's don't know how to use him what of the FC's in his club now. Same goes for Aghahowa, Udeze etc!
The third problem is the administration. With an inept and incompetent NFA there is a limit to how far you can go. Friendlies are not being organised. Even when we appear for friendlies, we go with a lot of 'Hey Yous'. Some teams go as far as Australia for friendlies. For Nigeria, we will find it difficult to get a full team in London or even Lagos!
You also have the committment of players. When players stroll to camp because they think they are 'big boys' you can see that something is wrong. Where is the passion? Watch Sam Okwaraji (RIP) and you will see committment and passion in his play. This is visibly lacking in the current set of players. Most often, their conduct is simply unprofessional. Imagine the captain missing his way to the team camp? Imagine prosecuting WC qualifiers with about 13 outfiled players. You can go on and on.
Coaches are also part of the problem. Do we have the best coaches around maybe not. However, our coaches can compete favourably with the past FC's that we've had and the ones currently plying their trade in Africa.
Of course Benitez, Mourinho, Wenger, Ferguson will be good for Nigeria. However, do they want to coach Nigeria? Me I don't think so. The conditions and environment are not good for them.
Hence, instead of just any journey man, I will stick with the current LC's while providing opportunity for them to develop and increase their knowledge of the game. With good enabling environment their competency level will increase. I don't think that coaching is so difficult that we can not find a single Nigerian that will be capable of getting the job done after so many years! We are not that daft!!!!!
Ah, Bobbye...you just dey decipher the guy?bobbye wrote:Ayo you are most confused individual that had ever step a foot on the surface of the earth. Do you purposely distort facts everytime to sooth your particular mood.I remember during Chukwu tenure time without number you proclaimed Nigeria has the most talented players in the world. On each occasion when super eagles won any match you emphatically said they won because of over surplus talents with the .Ayo are you suffering from amnesia? You write one thing one week next week you make 180 degree turn.
Check out
viewtopic.php?t=59105
proper flip flopping
Q
...coaching coaching coaching...Ayo Akinfe wrote:[1] Like a lot of you, I have watched a few games today
..ooo...kkkkkk.....![]()
...partly agree...but not that far to go..
..Spain is two classes above Russia but we kpansh dem abi we no kpansh dem?
...I no see am...
.....Ireland?did U say...IRELAND?![]()
....That's EGU for U na...
..ditto 6...[8] Let us not delude ourselves about talent this, talent that. Does Nigeria really have more talent than Ivory Coast, Ireland or Croatia?
...A RESOUNDING YES!! The difference is that they make up in hardwork what they lack in talent...
...no but many times in the past the NFA antics have affected the team...
Pa
Available on all major streaming platforms

Ayo Akinfe wrote:[1] Like a lot of you, I have watched a few games today
I agree on most of your points.
But is that in the quality of our game in anyway surprising when Nigeria is not playing regular on offical FIFA windows?
And if a coach uses most of our players on ther ancestral positions and so players can't show 100% of their potential.
What you say is abolsutly right and self-critism is the first step to increase a situation ,the second is to deliver solutions.
Pure critism is ineffective.
Though I do think Nigeria is the most talented side in Africa.
Or how else can you explain that the SE could reach a 3rd place at the ANC with no preperation and a low class coach(Ivory Coast,Croatia.. have by far better coaches).
I remember an Otto Pfister interview in 'kicker' recently where he said 'I see the most potential in the nigerian team. The boys are incredibly talented' .
See even euopean coaches who have seen a lot say Nigeria is talented.
And how can a country with 140.000.000 !! citizen not have talented footballers.
BTW african people have the physical strength,sleaziness and genetic pre-condition due to their enviroment to be talented footballers(poor conditions make it possible to train a special feeling for the ball)
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti
Naija 4 life!
Ayo's treatise looks like someone who's panicky to me.
I've said this in another forum, what the SE need now is just minor adjustments to their approach to the game and we'll have a great team on our hands.
What Ayo didn't say was that playing at the ANC is much more different from playing European opposition. At the ANC, none of our players was protected by the ref, they were constantly shoved with the ref waving play-on always. It will be a diff ball game if the Eagles were to play European opposition, believe me.
On the whole, the players have to perfect off ball movements, 1 touch football & swift counters. Once they do these, we'll have a world class team on our hands.
Lastly, one question for Ayo. Siasia's Flying Eagles, were they world class or not?
If yes, then our coaches can do a good job (only refresher courses needed), if no then your line of thought is justified!
I rest my case.
I've said this in another forum, what the SE need now is just minor adjustments to their approach to the game and we'll have a great team on our hands.
What Ayo didn't say was that playing at the ANC is much more different from playing European opposition. At the ANC, none of our players was protected by the ref, they were constantly shoved with the ref waving play-on always. It will be a diff ball game if the Eagles were to play European opposition, believe me.
On the whole, the players have to perfect off ball movements, 1 touch football & swift counters. Once they do these, we'll have a world class team on our hands.
Lastly, one question for Ayo. Siasia's Flying Eagles, were they world class or not?
If yes, then our coaches can do a good job (only refresher courses needed), if no then your line of thought is justified!
I rest my case.
Jesus Loves You
Molue Conductor wrote:sabb wrote:mke1010 wrote:Yet during the recently concluded ANC you stated that Nigeria would be world class with an FC. Today, we have a long way to go.
yeparipa

That is a continous double blow.

" The best way to have a fair judgement on anything is to imagine yourself sitting somewhere in space watching planet earth with the beings that inhabit it, especially those who call themselves homo sapiens. You have no nationality or tribe, you are not a fan of Arsenal, Barca, Inter Milan, Manchester United etc. You won't see a booty or huge boobs if they walk pass you. Money is like tissue to you. what is your opinion? "
This post has been made by camex whom I have ignored.