Ogbuke and Bala signs new contracts!

tomyoung
Ogbuke and Bala signs new contracts!

Post by tomyoung »

Both Ogbuke and Ezekiel have signed new contracts with Lyn Oslo today. The contracts are adding an extra year to their existing contracts. They are now Lyn-players til December 2008.

Ogbuke is now probably one of the best paid players in the Norwegian league (so, no need to mention slavery again...)
All parties are said to be very happy with the new signings.

http://www.lyn.no/index.aspx?cat=1138&mid=1120&id=98406

Last edited by tomyoung on Sat Feb 17, 2007 10:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
oglex30

Post by oglex30 »

Thats good let him stay there for now till 08.And then teams probably wont be able to afford him
FrostyZ

Post by FrostyZ »

My guess it's to stay in Lyn until he has enough matches for Nigeria to get a work permit in UK
Why you?
Player

Post by Player »

Good for him.
"The house Negro and the field Negro sat at dinner, when the field Negro turned his head, the house Negro put some poison in his food but the field Negro saw him do it and when the house Negro turned his head, the field Negro "turned the tray around."
Re: Ogbuke and Bala signs new contracts!

good on him, one of the top paid players in norway
Ghost

Post by Ghost »

May be better for him to continue to develop in Norway than to get locked down in Russia. I bet he will get additional looks during the August transfer period.

FrostyZ wrote:My guess it's to stay in Lyn until he has enough matches for Nigeria to get a work permit in UK
I see this as a good move. as i've said in the past, sometimes your best option is to 'stay put'. kudos to ogbuke and wish him continued success.
Ziontrain

Post by Ziontrain »

FrostyZ wrote:My guess it's to stay in Lyn until he has enough matches for Nigeria to get a work permit in UK
Prescisely.

Basicially Lyn probably gave him a raise to reflect his increased production and recieved one more year as bargaining leverage, but you dont sign a kid that young for one year unless he is purely for sale.
FrostyZ

Post by FrostyZ »

Why you?
Mudi E

Post by Mudi E »

Why must he play in the U.K.?
Their league is messing up a lot of players....even Forlan and Sebastian Veron couldn't cut it in that wham bam league called the Premiership.
Spain or the Netherland could suit Ogbuke better.
Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions

Mudi E wrote:
Their league is messing up a lot of players....even Forlan and Sebastian Veron couldn't cut it in that wham bam league called the Premiership.
Na only for England dem dey see beta pounded yam chop. Nothing beats living in an English-speaking country.
Ziontrain

Post by Ziontrain »

Mudi E wrote:
Their league is messing up a lot of players....even Forlan and Sebastian Veron couldn't cut it in that wham bam league called the Premiership. Spain or the Netherland could suit Ogbuke better.
Veron was all mental. That dude at his best (Parma and Lazio) could play anyone of four midfield positions including DM - and he did this Argentina too. I have no idea why he then went to England to pretend that he was strictly an offensive player.

As for Spain, never mind the monkey chants, just spend some time there as a black man. Its not really all that attractive a place becuase of the people and their prejudice, even if you are rich.

As for money the kid can make far more in the UK than in Spain or Netherlands. So its a no brainer really. Hell he would have make more in Moscow that Netherlands.
mke1010

Post by mke1010 »

Ziontrain wrote:
Mudi E wrote:
Their league is messing up a lot of players....even Forlan and Sebastian Veron couldn't cut it in that wham bam league called the Premiership. Spain or the Netherland could suit Ogbuke better.
Veron was all mental. That dude at his best (Parma and Lazio) could play anyone of four midfield positions including DM - and he did this Argentina too. I have no idea why he then went to England to pretend that he was strictly an offensive player.

As for Spain, never mind the monkey chants, just spend some time there as a black man. Its not really all that attractive a place becuase of the people and their prejudice, even if you are rich.

As for money the kid can make far more in the UK than in Spain or Netherlands. So its a no brainer really. Hell he would have make more in Moscow that Netherlands.

Is societal racism in Spain really that bad? I am aware of the racists taunts/chants etc at the stadiums but I did not realize that life for a black person in Spanish society is almost unbearable.
To conquer one's self is the most noble victory; to be vanquished by one's own nature is the worst and most ignoble defeat. (Plato)
Ziontrain

Post by Ziontrain »

I remember going to Spain for the first time (Barcelona specifically) in 95 and I might have well have been a Martian the way people were staring at me. Even more so when they realise I wasnt broke, an illegal immigrant, looking for work etc.

They are more used to black people these days, but since then I have been to Barcelona again, Madrid, Sevilla, Vigo, La Coruna and its really the same. I just never felt comfortable and I could not imagine settling down there to feel at home.

Its not the money - depending on your profession, you can potentially do well over there, have a nice house in a nice area etc, cost of living is relatively decent outside of a few places. But it aint a place I ever felt welcome, so I cant say it surprised me at all to see whole stadium of them doing monkey chants - that was not an aberration at all.
LynOslo

Post by LynOslo »

mastermind

Post by mastermind »

He should go to either france or Holland, he doesn't have to play in England for now. All the african players in france love money too, but they know they have to prove themselves first before thinking of making big money.

Players like Yobo, Okocha, Drogba and Essien proved themselves in france before making a move to the EPL. The boy need to put in work first before eyeing big paycheck.
http://www.melangeparis.com/
Be More Human!!
Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

Mudi E wrote:
Thank you Mudi.

Why is Ogbuke so confident he will get national team callups enough to satisfy UK's demands?

FrostyZ, I disagree that that is the reasoning in Ogbuke's camp. They are not going to bribe Berti Vogts. I am sure UK's work permit requirement does not include U23 matches. I really see him not getting thenecessary invitations to qualify for the work permit.

From my elementary calculations of things, he will need to be invited to 90-95% of the remaining matches we will play the rest of the year to even come close.

What could help is injuries or suspensions. Yakubu is out (suspension) for the next match against Uganda. But Utaka, Nsofor, Martins, Kanu, Osaze and Makinwa are all healthy and available. And before people start shouting about Ayodele, forget about it - he will get at least an ivitation letter for the next match - new coaches do not like to make wholesale changes. Will Berti consider him for a midfield role? Who knows.

Now after the Uganda match, we will have only about 4-7 grade A matches tops (realisticly). Go figure.

FOr me, it is better for him to find a way to get an EU passport or move to a league with less stringent work permit laws.
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif
Dog Bruno

Post by Dog Bruno »

Na only for England dem dey see beta pounded yam chop.

If pounded yam no kill our players, indiscipline would.

No be because of pounded yam dem lose badly to Ghana?
You are Your Own Dog