THE SE MALAGA TRAINING & FRIENDLIES ISSUE...KANU

naija4ever
Location: Latitude 14' 40 N Longitude 90' 31 W(Nollywood 4Ever)
THE SE MALAGA TRAINING & FRIENDLIES ISSUE...KANU

Post by naija4ever »

Guys could somebody explain the need/use of the malaga camping and the friendlies since most of the guys that participated were later excluded from the 23 man squad to ACN 2008? I thought one of the aims of the friendlies was to get the best players that understood one another, and a coherent squad. :roll: :roll:. I think that over dependence of BV on KANU cost us this ACN...it seemed that he built the team around him...little wonder it scattered when he couldnt play most of the matches due to injury, we lost as soon as he was taken out during the CIV encounter. We managed to pull a draw from Mali and a win from Benin.
Schillachi wrote:Thanks Ghana. I hope this defeat will forever cure us of our colonial mentality when it comes to Coaches...

mystic wrote:
Now, we can criticise CCC for this, that and the other - some of which is warranted, and some of which is complete hogwash. But, in my view, these are the prinicipal areas in which he has been a disappointment.
All the same, I salute Christian Chukwu for his efforts, his selflessness and his hard work. He has served his country to the best of his ability. The predicament that we are in, right now, is not soley of his making and we should all keep that in mind.

The two players are in different worlds. Ade is too young to be compared to Kanu. Kanu has been around and has raked in laurels upon laurels. If he is not scoring, he is assisting; and if he is not, he is entertaining ... one of the finest players in the world. Please for past times, compare Kanu to Brazilian Socrates..bbc606
Penarity

Post by Penarity »

Well, it is clear now that MALAGA is just a resort for jamboree. NFA officials use that as an excuse to spend their stolen money in Spain and also cool off from the heat in Nigeria.

Penarity wrote:Well, it is clear now that MALAGA is just a resort for jamboree. NFA officials use that as an excuse to spend their stolen money in Spain and also cool off from the heat in Nigeria.
How can anyone call Malaga a jamboree...
When Nigeria had the BEST volleyball team in Ghana?!

<
Igugu

Post by Igugu »

Malaga was B. Vogts' way of maintaining his disdain for Nigeria. Why would a sane coach camp in an area unlike where the actual competition will be played? Malaga and Accra don't have the same weather geographically. But still Betti Vogts went to Malaga to enjoy himself and let the boys pratise Volley Ball; meanwhile Ghana and the rest of Africa were practising their set peices and shots at goal.
Killa Adjei

Post by Killa Adjei »

Penarity wrote:Well, it is clear now that MALAGA is just a resort for jamboree. NFA officials use that as an excuse to spend their stolen money in Spain and also cool off from the heat in Nigeria.

<
We are the centre of the pitch, we are precise, we are our effort, we are attackers who defend, we are defenders who attack, we are respected by our rivals, we are recognised by our rivals, we are every goal that we score, we are those who always look for our opponent's goal, WE ARE ONE.

Pep Guardiola To Barca Before CL Final
Re: THE SE MALAGA TRAINING & FRIENDLIES ISSUE...KANU

naija4ever wrote:Guys could somebody explain the need/use of the malaga camping and the friendlies since most of the guys that participated were later excluded from the 23 man squad to ACN 2008? I thought one of the aims of the friendlies was to get the best players that understood one another, and a coherent squad. :roll: :roll:. I think that over dependence of BV on KANU cost us this ACN...it seemed that he built the team around him...little wonder it scattered when he couldnt play most of the matches due to injury, we lost as soon as he was taken out during the CIV encounter. We managed to pull a draw from Mali and a win from Benin.
According to our football analysts on this site, Kanu was the player holding us back. They wrote that he couldn't run, he couldn't pass the ball. :lol:

Dog Bruno

Post by Dog Bruno »

<

His Gotti, pardon my ignorance but we camped in the FARO Islands (in the past) prior to the ANC, why is Malaga being highlighted so much?
You are Your Own Dog

Dog Bruno wrote:

<

His Gotti, pardon my ignorance but we camped in the FARO Islands (in the past) prior to the ANC, why is Malaga being highlighted so much?
are you seriously expecting an answer? :lol:

Post by Catalyst »

Molue Conductor wrote:
Dog Bruno wrote:

<

My guess is that Malaga camp is not really the problem he was hinting - rather the structure. Well Gotti can clarify his post better that anyone.

Just like the thread owner stated, the camp ended with many folks who participated in large part to the events of the camp did make it final list. So the question was/is - was Malaga a waste of time? Was build around Kanu a mistake? I am not holding brief here rather just setting the table. I like the research spirit behind the thread.

For me, I did not have much/any qualms with Malaga - I think the spirit behind it was fair/reasonable. There are other complexities that could have have devalued the camp. Everyone is free to interpret as they see fit.

fegwu
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif
Dog Bruno

Post by Dog Bruno »

Molue Conductor wrote:
Dog Bruno wrote:

<

My question was not meant to be a dig at anyone, just out of curiousity.
You are Your Own Dog
naija4ever
Location: Latitude 14' 40 N Longitude 90' 31 W(Nollywood 4Ever)

Post by naija4ever »

Well, the issue still remains that if camping was for coherence, then most of those players that were used during this period should have been selected, given the fact that they played friendlies and practised together. Also, I hope that next time SE's TA should build his team around not just one player who might not feature for at least 75% of the matches.Hopefully, NFA members have learnt one or two bitter lessons from this disaster. :shock: :shock:
Schillachi wrote:Thanks Ghana. I hope this defeat will forever cure us of our colonial mentality when it comes to Coaches...

mystic wrote:
Now, we can criticise CCC for this, that and the other - some of which is warranted, and some of which is complete hogwash. But, in my view, these are the prinicipal areas in which he has been a disappointment.
All the same, I salute Christian Chukwu for his efforts, his selflessness and his hard work. He has served his country to the best of his ability. The predicament that we are in, right now, is not soley of his making and we should all keep that in mind.

The two players are in different worlds. Ade is too young to be compared to Kanu. Kanu has been around and has raked in laurels upon laurels. If he is not scoring, he is assisting; and if he is not, he is entertaining ... one of the finest players in the world. Please for past times, compare Kanu to Brazilian Socrates..bbc606
etoo_fils

Post by etoo_fils »

malaga so vogts could have his spanish vacation away from his vacation home in Germany.
onye ilo aburo chi mmadu

<
You forgot to mention the all important asian masseuse who give the rub downs complete with the happy endings.