Eriksson sacked as Mexico Coach
Re: Eriksson sacked as Mexico Coach
Okay
The NBA domination analogy is a bit of stretch. But CONCACAF is decently competitive and the United States is getting better and better by the year. Some of you may not remember the 80s and most of the 90s when Team USA was an utter joke, inferior to even semi-pro teams across the country.
Other than Asia, there simply is no easy qualifying zone. Sorry, but Mexico, the United States, Costa Rica, Honduras, El Salvador, and T&T are enough of a gauntlet. Hell, rumor has it that even Jamaica can play with some of the big boys!

Cheers, Mate
The NBA domination analogy is a bit of stretch. But CONCACAF is decently competitive and the United States is getting better and better by the year. Some of you may not remember the 80s and most of the 90s when Team USA was an utter joke, inferior to even semi-pro teams across the country.
Other than Asia, there simply is no easy qualifying zone. Sorry, but Mexico, the United States, Costa Rica, Honduras, El Salvador, and T&T are enough of a gauntlet. Hell, rumor has it that even Jamaica can play with some of the big boys!

Cheers, Mate
- Eagle Winged
kolinzo wrote:Mexico is not inferior to the U.S. The U.S has simply become a force in World soccer -in a short period of time they will own the sport like the own basketball. Mexico's players lack discipline. They have no character like in the times of Borgetti, Hernandez, Blanco. Since the generation of Blanco has left Mexico has been struggling, just like Naija is struggling without Oga.mate wrote:This is a knee jerk reaction and cannot bode well for Mexico. Eriksson is by no means a world class coach, but he does know how to make average teams better. Simply look what he did with a mediocre England team in bringing them to successive World Cups in 2002 and 2006. He actually made them punch above their weight, in sharp contrast to Steve McClaren with Euro 2008 qualifying, where England pretty much showed what they are made of.
Mexico has had problems for some time. The Mexican FA blew a great opportunity to better develop its league and expose Mexican players to a greater range of styles. Relatively few Mexicans play abroad, even in contrast to Americans.
Look, if the Mexican players themselves revolted and order broke down, that is one thing. But, I suspect this is an emotional reaction, one driven by Mexican illusions of grandeur. Sorry, Mexico has no excuse in being inferior to the United States. None whatsoever.
Cheers, Mate

Bullshit.Bigpokey24 wrote:crap concacaf is a joke, u have a player like Altidore scoring hat tricks left and right. abeg, USA will never qialify for the worldcup if they played in CAF UEFA,AFC and Connebol
By the way, any non South American team, bar none, would have big trouble qualifying from that zone. That is far and away the most difficult place to qualify from. Playing South American teams in their countries is a difficult tie. Can you imagine Nigeria or Croatia playing in Bolivia at 3000 meters +?
Cheers, Mate
- green4life
Bigpokey24 wrote:crap concacaf is a joke, u have a player like Altidore scoring hat tricks left and right. abeg, USA will never qialify for the worldcup if they played in CAF UEFA,AFC and Connebol
I tried watching that joke of a game last night and fell asleep at halftime. T & T presented no opposition.
- nathanwilli
mate wrote:Okay
Cheers, Mate
Mate,
For me when I refer to the ease of qualifying,I'm referring to the number of spots available to CONCACAF(3 automatic and 1 playoff).There is ABSOLUTELY no way the USA or Mexico is not going to claim one of those spots.

- bret- hart
mate wrote:Bullshit.Bigpokey24 wrote:crap concacaf is a joke, u have a player like Altidore scoring hat tricks left and right. abeg, USA will never qialify for the worldcup if they played in CAF UEFA,AFC and Connebol
By the way, any non South American team, bar none, would have big trouble qualifying from that zone. That is far and away the most difficult place to qualify from. Playing South American teams in their countries is a difficult tie. Can you imagine Nigeria or Croatia playing in Bolivia at 3000 meters +?
Cheers, Mate
wait, lemme get this straight. Brazil, Argentina, Paraguay will struggle out of CONCACRAP???

i fell asleep as well, when l i was sleeping i fell asleep again. see the rubbish ball them be dey playgreen4life wrote:Bigpokey24 wrote:crap concacaf is a joke, u have a player like Altidore scoring hat tricks left and right. abeg, USA will never qialify for the worldcup if they played in CAF UEFA,AFC and Connebol
I tried watching that joke of a game last night and fell asleep at halftime. T & T presented no opposition.
Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Thu Apr 02, 2009 10:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
what the heck are u saying? Concacaf is crap. connebol isnt concacaf. go and research then comeback.mate wrote:Bullshit.Bigpokey24 wrote:crap concacaf is a joke, u have a player like Altidore scoring hat tricks left and right. abeg, USA will never qialify for the worldcup if they played in CAF UEFA,AFC and Connebol
Cheers, Mate
Well, I agree with you. I thought it was 3 slots. I didn't know 4 CONCACAF teams could potentially qualify? In looking it up, it is fortunate that the potential 4th has to play a potential 5th South American team.
This also brings me to mention that it is highway robbery that Africa doesn't have 6 guaranteed spots in the World Cup. Europe has perhaps 2 to many, for a total of 13. Asia effectively has 5, as the potential 5th plays the winner of Oceania, which is almost a guaranteed win. The Asia-Oceania slot or a European slot should outright go to and African 6th slot.
Cheers, Mate

This also brings me to mention that it is highway robbery that Africa doesn't have 6 guaranteed spots in the World Cup. Europe has perhaps 2 to many, for a total of 13. Asia effectively has 5, as the potential 5th plays the winner of Oceania, which is almost a guaranteed win. The Asia-Oceania slot or a European slot should outright go to and African 6th slot.
Cheers, Mate
- Molue Conductor
mcal wrote:Hugo Sanchez is the happiest man on earth today![]()
Mexico has become Nigeria of Latin America![]()

bret- hart wrote:mate wrote:Bullshit.Bigpokey24 wrote:crap concacaf is a joke, u have a player like Altidore scoring hat tricks left and right. abeg, USA will never qialify for the worldcup if they played in CAF UEFA,AFC and Connebol
Cheers, Mate
wait, lemme get this straight. Brazil, Argentina, Paraguay will struggle out of CONCACRAP???
Brett, for the right price, I can tutor you in basic reading comprehension.

Dude, I went off on a tangent to state how difficult it is to qualify from South America, paying homage to their footballing excellence...and how any team outside South America might be challenged in CONCACAF.
Cheers, Mate
That wasn't necessarymate wrote:Okay
Cheers, Mate

However, if FIFA would allow fair call against the U.S then they will dominate world cup in a short period of time.
Did it occur to you that U.S may have disallowed T & T's tactics? That was an exciting game. Seeing Jozy Altidore showing the world what to expect in the summer of 2010 was exciting to watch. Take note.green4life wrote:Bigpokey24 wrote:crap concacaf is a joke, u have a player like Altidore scoring hat tricks left and right. abeg, USA will never qialify for the worldcup if they played in CAF UEFA,AFC and Connebol
- bret- hart
mate wrote:bret- hart wrote:mate wrote:Bullshit.Bigpokey24 wrote:crap concacaf is a joke, u have a player like Altidore scoring hat tricks left and right. abeg, USA will never qialify for the worldcup if they played in CAF UEFA,AFC and Connebol
Cheers, Mate
Brett, for the right price, I can tutor you in basic reading comprehension.
Dude, I went off on a tangent to state how difficult it is to qualify from South America, paying homage to their footballing excellence...and how any team outside South America might be challenged in CONCACAF.
Cheers, Mate
my bad. but considering how often u yarn rubbish, its little wonder why i misconstrued that

- bret- hart
kolinzo wrote:Did it occur to you that U.S may have disallowed T & T's tactics? That was an exciting game. Seeing Jozy Altidore showing the world what to expect in the summer of 2010 was exciting to watch. Take note.green4life wrote:Bigpokey24 wrote:crap concacaf is a joke, u have a player like Altidore scoring hat tricks left and right. abeg, USA will never qialify for the worldcup if they played in CAF UEFA,AFC and Connebol
wat is altidore going to show us in 2010? 10 ways of chopping bench? how not to cut it in a spanish division 3 team???

- nathanwilli
mate wrote:Well, I agree with you. I thought it was 3 slots. I didn't know 4 CONCACAF teams could potentially qualify? In looking it up, it is fortunate that the potential 4th has to play a potential 5th South American team.
Yeah, that's just another way of guaranteeing the 5th spot to South America(which they deserve)![]()
I say keep the european spot but take away the Asia-Oceania spot.
Cheers, Mate

The problem is that there are almost always 2 crap European teams in the world cup. Poland, Serbia, Scotland, Ukraine, and Austria in particular have been downright bad. The United States, Mexico, and Costa Rica tend to give much more competitive matches at the world cup. Asian teams also downright stink, except South Korea...and newcomer Australia ( which is really the Croatian B team.
).
Cheers, Mate

- bret- hart
mate wrote:The problem is that there are almost always 2 crap European teams in the world cup. Poland, Serbia, Scotland, Ukraine, and Austria in particular have been downright bad. The United States, Mexico, and Costa Rica tend to give much more competitive matches at the world cup. Asian teams also downright stink, except South Korea...and newcomer Australia ( which is really the Croatian B team.).
Cheers, Mate
yes Croatia's B team that denied Croatia a place in the 2nd round.

That's okay. Sometimes you have to be generous towards your younger brother and help them develop.

Croatia will be back...especially against England team starting to yet again believe in their own hype. I have faith in English self destructiveness over any Capello magic. With Eduardo once again spearheading our attack, we'll just see.
Cheers, Mate

Croatia will be back...especially against England team starting to yet again believe in their own hype. I have faith in English self destructiveness over any Capello magic. With Eduardo once again spearheading our attack, we'll just see.
Cheers, Mate
- nanijoe
- Site Admin
The USA v T&T game was a bit of a bore, but did you watch Honduras v Mexico last night? I would not bet against Honduras in any game right now if they play at home like they did last night
green4life wrote:Bigpokey24 wrote:crap concacaf is a joke, u have a player like Altidore scoring hat tricks left and right. abeg, USA will never qialify for the worldcup if they played in CAF UEFA,AFC and Connebol
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
They should hire the man pronto...
Crappy Concacaf is such a joke that "Almighty" Nigeria with " world class" players could not even beat Jamaica that did not make it to the next phase of WC qualification.Bigpokey24 wrote:crap concacaf is a joke, u have a player like Altidore scoring hat tricks left and right. abeg, USA will never qialify for the worldcup if they played in CAF UEFA,AFC and Connebol

USA will qualify because they know how to set and achieve their goals unlike a certain nation in west Africa with "world class" players.

Samson Siasia speaking FACTs about 2008.
“I have been waiting for this job for almost three years now and that was before the 2008 Beijing Olympics. I was to be the coach of the Super Eagles after the interview conducted for the job. But that time I said no, I wasn’t ready. Now that I am ready, I am not intimidated at all. I am ready for this job,” he declared matter-of-factly" http://africanfootball.mtnfootball.com/ ... m_ID=36099
Is it not funny? Nigeria couldn't beat Mexico and Jamaica (which is the worst team in Concacaf) yet Concacaf is garbage. I love my peopleGIN wrote:Crappy Concacaf is such a joke that "Almighty" Nigeria with " world class" players could not even beat Jamaica that did not make it to the next phase of WC qualification.Bigpokey24 wrote:crap concacaf is a joke, u have a player like Altidore scoring hat tricks left and right. abeg, USA will never qialify for the worldcup if they played in CAF UEFA,AFC and Connebol![]()
USA will qualify because they know how to set and achieve their goals unlike a certain nation in west Africa with "world class" players.![]()