Do We Really Have A "Big Four" in England?
People have always stated that in England we have the so called "big four" which includes: Manchester United, Chelsea, Liverpool & of cos Arsenal. This is down to the fact that these four teams usually occupy the top four positions at the end of the season, and subsequently qualify for the Champions League. While this presumption seems to be justified, the fact that the Manchester United and Chelsea have finished in the top 2 positions for the last 4 consecutive seasons points to a big two.
Although most of you will argue that there is still a "big four", it can at least be submitted that there is now a "Big Two" (Manchester United & Chelsea) which have showed that they're a class apart from the remaining two teams. Manchester United and Chelsea have not only dominated the top 2 positions in the league, they also played the last Champions League final in Moscow.
The recent hammering (in a manner of speaking) of Liverpool by Chelsea at Anfield only goes to show that the top 2 of the EPL might remain unchanged yet again. Sure the game was related to the Champions League, but it shows that Drogba and co are now a resurgent team, and they might just finish above Liverpool yet again, and frankly speaking, that will not be a surprise. Therefore, although we have a "big four" in comparison with the rest of the league, we also have a big two (Manchester United and Chelsea).
One thing is certain. Arsenal are the worst team among the so called "big Four". Their trophy cabinet in the past four seasons reflect this.
Although most of you will argue that there is still a "big four", it can at least be submitted that there is now a "Big Two" (Manchester United & Chelsea) which have showed that they're a class apart from the remaining two teams. Manchester United and Chelsea have not only dominated the top 2 positions in the league, they also played the last Champions League final in Moscow.
The recent hammering (in a manner of speaking) of Liverpool by Chelsea at Anfield only goes to show that the top 2 of the EPL might remain unchanged yet again. Sure the game was related to the Champions League, but it shows that Drogba and co are now a resurgent team, and they might just finish above Liverpool yet again, and frankly speaking, that will not be a surprise. Therefore, although we have a "big four" in comparison with the rest of the league, we also have a big two (Manchester United and Chelsea).
One thing is certain. Arsenal are the worst team among the so called "big Four". Their trophy cabinet in the past four seasons reflect this.

The danger in hunting down evil, is that you gradually become that which you seek to destroy..
"While this Czech man is impressive, d#$% Cheney, Don Rumsfeld and the rest of the US Republican establishment have been living without a heart for a far longer time." - Scipio Africanus' reaction to news that a Czech man had undergone a surgical procedure that enabled him to live for 6 months without a heart.
Re: Do We Really Have A "Big Four" in England?
Please post the results of the EPL games between the big two and Liverpool, Arsenal. Thank you in advance
"If two grown men can't make a pervert happy for a few minutes in order to watch a film about zombies, then maybe we should all just move to Iran!"
- Eagle Winged
By that logic, what do these results show you?Maradona wrote:People have always stated that in England we have the so called "big four" which includes: Manchester United, Chelsea, Liverpool & of cos Arsenal. This is down to the fact that these four teams usually occupy the top four positions at the end of the season, and subsequently qualify for the Champions League. While this presumption seems to be justified, the fact that the Manchester United and Chelsea have finished in the top 2 positions for the last 4 consecutive seasons points to a big two.
Arsenal 2 - 1 Manure
Manure 1 - 4 Liverpool
Are you trying to make a hobby out of making useless, embarrassing threads?

- omo naija
CheiEagle Winged wrote:By that logic, what do these results show you?Maradona wrote:People have always stated that in England we have the so called "big four" which includes: Manchester United, Chelsea, Liverpool & of cos Arsenal. This is down to the fact that these four teams usually occupy the top four positions at the end of the season, and subsequently qualify for the Champions League. While this presumption seems to be justified, the fact that the Manchester United and Chelsea have finished in the top 2 positions for the last 4 consecutive seasons points to a big two.
Arsenal 2 - 1 Manure
Manure 1 - 4 Liverpool

Namaste Baiyas
"Who kill dele? nah baba, If you put gida, nah you sabi."- Fela Anikulapo Kuti
Teams should be assessed over the course of the season. You cannot just assess teams based on games between the 4 of them. Why do you think the saying goes: the season's not a sprint but a marathon"?Eagle Winged wrote:By that logic, what do these results show you?Maradona wrote:People have always stated that in England we have the so called "big four" which includes: Manchester United, Chelsea, Liverpool & of cos Arsenal. This is down to the fact that these four teams usually occupy the top four positions at the end of the season, and subsequently qualify for the Champions League. While this presumption seems to be justified, the fact that the Manchester United and Chelsea have finished in the top 2 positions for the last 4 consecutive seasons points to a big two.
Arsenal 2 - 1 Manure
Manure 1 - 4 Liverpool
You're the one embarrassing yourself. How can a team go 4consecutive seasons without finishing in the top 2, and yet you claim they're not the worse of the big four?
Think critically before making those comments.
The danger in hunting down evil, is that you gradually become that which you seek to destroy..
u seem to enjoy making a fool of yourself... U are the mumuzines of the Eaglenest... and that is not a compliment
REDSPYDA wrote:u seem to enjoy making a fool of yourself... U are the mumuzines of the Eaglenest... and that is not a compliment
Produce evidence that points to the contrary and not just insulting language.
I've given my evidence. Man U and Chels have finished in the top 2 positions for the last 4 consecutive seasons. What does that tell you about the other teams?
Abeg go siddon saful.
- EagleGunner
oh lets not forget... Chelski 1 Arsenal 2.Maradona wrote:REDSPYDA wrote:u seem to enjoy making a fool of yourself... U are the mumuzines of the Eaglenest... and that is not a compliment
I've given my evidence. Man U and Chels have finished in the top 2 positions for the last 4 consecutive seasons. What does that tell you about the other teams?
Abeg go siddon saful.
Its a continous test and in the next few weeks we'll find out... On Sat we play Chelski in a semi final of the FA cup...lets wait and see.
But if i were you i'd worry if your team has enough DEFENDERS against the NEW AVENGERS of HULK & co from Porto on wednesday. Hope you guys get through.....so that we can test this theory of yours.

Super Eagles Apparel Storefront
http://bit.ly/2KAOOse
EagleGunner wrote:oh lets not forget... Chelski 1 Arsenal 2.Maradona wrote:REDSPYDA wrote:u seem to enjoy making a fool of yourself... U are the mumuzines of the Eaglenest... and that is not a compliment
Abeg go siddon saful.
Its a continous test and in the next few weeks we'll find out... On Sat we play Chelski in a semi final of the FA cup...lets wait and see.
But if i were you i'd worry if your team has enough DEFENDERS against the NEW AVENGERS of HULK & co from Porto on wednesday. Hope you guys get through.....so that we can test this theory of yours.![]()
The season consist of 38 league games played by every team and not 6 games involving the so called big four. You guys haven't won a trophy since death was new and you're here making noise.

- EagleGunner
..thats true, but that'll change real soon.Maradona wrote:EagleGunner wrote:oh lets not forget... Chelski 1 Arsenal 2.Maradona wrote:REDSPYDA wrote:u seem to enjoy making a fool of yourself... U are the mumuzines of the Eaglenest... and that is not a compliment
Abeg go siddon saful.
But if i were you i'd worry if your team has enough DEFENDERS against the NEW AVENGERS of HULK & co from Porto on wednesday. Hope you guys get through.....so that we can test this theory of yours.![]()
The season consist of 38 league games played by every team and not 6 games involving the so called big four. You guys haven't won a trophy since death was new and you're here making noise.

EagleGunner wrote:..thats true, but that'll change real soon.Maradona wrote:EagleGunner wrote:oh lets not forget... Chelski 1 Arsenal 2.Maradona wrote:REDSPYDA wrote:u seem to enjoy making a fool of yourself... U are the mumuzines of the Eaglenest... and that is not a compliment
Abeg go siddon saful.
The season consist of 38 league games played by every team and not 6 games involving the so called big four. You guys haven't won a trophy since death was new and you're here making noise.![]()
Definitely! When Fabregas signs for Barcelona and Adebayor signs for AC Milan.
If the big four doesn't exist, then what four teams have occupied the top four positions in the last four seasons you have stated. Go siddon some place, because your argument doesn't hold water.
WHATEVER, WHEREEVER, & WHENEVER, FOREVER ARSENAL! I am an ARSENALIST!
"Wise men talk because they have something to say, fools talk because they have to say something." - Plato
Thunder wrote:If the big four doesn't exist, then what four teams have occupied the top four positions in the last four seasons you have stated. Go siddon some place, because your argument doesn't hold water.
Some of you guys really have problems of comprehension. Go back and read my second to last paragraph cos it should help you understand better.
Nevertheless, I've decided to help you. I categorically stated the highlighted:
Therefore, although we have a "big four" in comparison with the rest of the league, we also have a big two (Manchester United and Chelsea
If you don't comprehend that, then you never will.
- Eagle Winged
You're the one who claimed Chelsea beating Liverpool 3-1 at home in that one match supports your argument that "the top 2 of the EPL might remain unchanged yet again". So now i point out the beatings your team took in individual matches and you start going on about it's a marathon not a sprint, as though that wasn't my exact point?Maradona wrote:Teams should be assessed over the course of the season. You cannot just assess teams based on games between the 4 of them. Why do you think the saying goes: the season's not a sprint but a marathon"?Eagle Winged wrote:By that logic, what do these results show you?Maradona wrote:People have always stated that in England we have the so called "big four" which includes: Manchester United, Chelsea, Liverpool & of cos Arsenal. This is down to the fact that these four teams usually occupy the top four positions at the end of the season, and subsequently qualify for the Champions League. While this presumption seems to be justified, the fact that the Manchester United and Chelsea have finished in the top 2 positions for the last 4 consecutive seasons points to a big two.
Arsenal 2 - 1 Manure
Manure 1 - 4 Liverpool
You're the one embarrassing yourself. How can a team go 4consecutive seasons without finishing in the top 2, and yet you claim they're not the worse of the big four?
And where have i ever said or implied Arsenal are not the worst of the big four?
Like i said; useless and embarrassing.

the attention you guys pay this dude is obviously encouraging him to post this kind of stuff.
- EagleGunner
Is that what you're hoping for to have a chance against us huh?Maradona wrote:EagleGunner wrote:..thats true, but that'll change real soon.Maradona wrote:EagleGunner wrote:
oh lets not forget... Chelski 1 Arsenal 2.
The season consist of 38 league games played by every team and not 6 games involving the so called big four. You guys haven't won a trophy since death was new and you're here making noise.![]()
Definitely! When Fabregas signs for Barcelona and Adebayor signs for AC Milan.
- EagleGunner
My Bad, i wont be doing it again..smartbrother wrote:the attention you guys pay this dude is obviously encouraging him to post this kind of stuff.

Eagle Winged wrote:You're the one who claimed Chelsea beating Liverpool 3-1 at home in that one match supports your argument that "the top 2 of the EPL might remain unchanged yet again". So now i point out the beatings your team took in individual matches and you start going on about it's a marathon not a sprint, as though that wasn't my exact point?Maradona wrote:Teams should be assessed over the course of the season. You cannot just assess teams based on games between the 4 of them. Why do you think the saying goes: the season's not a sprint but a marathon"?Eagle Winged wrote:By that logic, what do these results show you?Maradona wrote:People have always stated that in England we have the so called "big four" which includes: Manchester United, Chelsea, Liverpool & of cos Arsenal. This is down to the fact that these four teams usually occupy the top four positions at the end of the season, and subsequently qualify for the Champions League. While this presumption seems to be justified, the fact that the Manchester United and Chelsea have finished in the top 2 positions for the last 4 consecutive seasons points to a big two.
Arsenal 2 - 1 Manure
Manure 1 - 4 Liverpool
And where have i ever said or implied Arsenal are not the worst of the big four?
Like i said; useless and embarrassing.
Does the word "MIGHT" be anything to you?
A sensible and reasonable individual would know that it is used to indicate a certain measure of likelihood or possibility.
In addition, recent history is on my side because of the positions of the tow teams in the last 4 years.
But then again, a lot of peeps on this site cannot separate their hearts from their heads., and it reflects in some of their arguments.
smartbrother wrote:the attention you guys pay this dude is obviously encouraging him to post this kind of stuff.
You're not obliged to post on this thread. If you've nothing to say, simply move on.
Some of the calibre of individuals on this site is simply alarming. If you cannot produce contrary evidence why not move on?

EagleGunner wrote:My Bad, i wont be doing it again..smartbrother wrote:the attention you guys pay this dude is obviously encouraging him to post this kind of stuff.
It shouldn't!
Especially when you do not have a mind of your own.
I see your superior has given you an order and just like the subordinate that you are, you've obeyed.

Maradona wrote:REDSPYDA wrote:u seem to enjoy making a fool of yourself... U are the mumuzines of the Eaglenest... and that is not a compliment
Abeg go siddon saful.
Last Season 2007/2008 Arsenal 3rd
Two seasons ago 2006/2007 Arsenal 4th
Three seasons ago 2005/2006 Arsenal 4th
Four seasons ago 2004/2005 Arsenal 2nd
.... Arsenal for life !

From this day forth, I stand by the entity that is ARSENAL.
I'm in despair when we lose, I rejoice when we win and I become emotional for all that happens in between
but may no one dare say I was not there when its all said and done - Globero
I'm in despair when we lose, I rejoice when we win and I become emotional for all that happens in between
but may no one dare say I was not there when its all said and done - Globero
Globero wrote:Maradona wrote:REDSPYDA wrote:u seem to enjoy making a fool of yourself... U are the mumuzines of the Eaglenest... and that is not a compliment
Abeg go siddon saful.
.... Arsenal for life !
That's what the angel* who calls himself smart -#$% should be doing. Provide evidence to rebut the presumption.
You're right, you guys finished 2nd four seasons ago.

I still insist we have a big two based on the fact that only 2 clubs have won the EPL in the last 4 seasons.

What do you expect from someone who still cannot see straight after six daggers to the heart?Globero wrote:Maradona wrote:REDSPYDA wrote:u seem to enjoy making a fool of yourself... U are the mumuzines of the Eaglenest... and that is not a compliment
Abeg go siddon saful.
.... Arsenal for life !

"How can someone qualify his country for the World Cup and then, because he lost a match, everyone is saying they should sack him. Please allow the man to do his work. Nobody is perfect, but if someone can qualify his country for the World Cup, then he deserves some respect. I even heard that it is the second time he has qualified Nigeria for the World Cup. That is huge". - French legend Alain Giresse on Nigeria's Shuaibu Amodu, 2010