NFA rejects Eagles’ business class tickets
- naija4ever
- Location: Latitude 14' 40 N Longitude 90' 31 W(Nollywood 4Ever)
NFA rejects Eagles’ business class tickets
Secretary General of the Nigeria Football Association (NFA) Taiwo Ogunjobi has vowed not to refund any extra kobo to Super Eagles players that honour the national call using the business class ticket.
Ogunjobi revealed that he had informed them severally that only economy class tickets would be refunded by the association stressing that: “ Aside the fact that the NFA does not have enough funds, I, as the chief executive travel using the economy class ticket.
He immediately directed the NFA accountant, Pastor Oke not to pay Joseph Enakhaire and others who participated in the Algerian the face value of their business class tickets insisting that they should be paid the equivalent of the cost of flying by economy class.
Aside, the NFA accountant rejected the ticket submitted by Ifeanyi Ekwueme stressing that he had given the player a refund on that ticket immediately after the game against Angola in Luanda.
Unknown to Ekwueme that NFA had made a photocopy of the ticket when he presented it after the Angolan loss, he re-submitted it for fresh refunds which the accountant rejected out rightly.
http://nigerianewsnow.com/News/July04/0 ... anager.htm
Last edited by naija4ever on Mon Jul 05, 2004 11:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Schillachi wrote:Thanks Ghana. I hope this defeat will forever cure us of our colonial mentality when it comes to Coaches...
mystic wrote:
Now, we can criticise CCC for this, that and the other - some of which is warranted, and some of which is complete hogwash. But, in my view, these are the prinicipal areas in which he has been a disappointment.
All the same, I salute Christian Chukwu for his efforts, his selflessness and his hard work. He has served his country to the best of his ability. The predicament that we are in, right now, is not soley of his making and we should all keep that in mind..
The two players are in different worlds. Ade is too young to be compared to Kanu. Kanu has been around and has raked in laurels upon laurels. If he is not scoring, he is assisting; and if he is not, he is entertaining ... one of the finest players in the world. Please for past times, compare Kanu to Brazilian Socrates..bbc606
PROBLEM WITH THE NFA ILLUSTRATED
There should be written rules - not just informal understanding - regarding what level of flight the players can take. In the absence of such written rules, Ogunjobi is out of place to suggest the players should fly coach because he, as CEO, flies economy.
First of all, the SE is not about Ogunjobi. He just is burden, even if a necessary one. The players play and should be able to fly in comfort. This is one of the perks that should make the players more responsive to invitations. Therefore I think players should be allowed to fly above coach.
If Ogunjobi is complaining about shortage of funds, it's a reflection of his marketing ineptness. And why is he going to pay an FC $1 per if he can even fly his players with class.
There should be written rules - not just informal understanding - regarding what level of flight the players can take. In the absence of such written rules, Ogunjobi is out of place to suggest the players should fly coach because he, as CEO, flies economy.
First of all, the SE is not about Ogunjobi. He just is burden, even if a necessary one. The players play and should be able to fly in comfort. This is one of the perks that should make the players more responsive to invitations. Therefore I think players should be allowed to fly above coach.
If Ogunjobi is complaining about shortage of funds, it's a reflection of his marketing ineptness. And why is he going to pay an FC $1 per if he can even fly his players with class.
- Akure4Life
Bell wrote:PROBLEM WITH THE NFA ILLUSTRATED
This has been going on for a long time. The NFA has made this know as far back as 2000 when Babayaro or Kanu wanted to fly Business class to the Olympic.
A player trying to get paid for a ticket he had already been paid for amounts to fraud. If he did that in Engalnd, he would be arrested.
Akure4Life
Ojota is my hood.
akure4life: I SEE THREE ISSUES HERE
To wit:
1) Are there formal rules as to how players should fly?
If there's none, there should be to avoid situations like this. And it should be transmitted to players when they are invited.
2) Should pl;ayers fly coach or business class?
In my opinion, for reasons of classy treatment and knowing that their fitness is important, they should be allowed to fly in comfort. And that means no coach.
3) Was Ekwueme's ALLEGED action correct?
Of course not. If true, and if it was intentional, it should be grounds for disciploinary action, up to suspension from macthes.
To wit:
If there's none, there should be to avoid situations like this. And it should be transmitted to players when they are invited.
In my opinion, for reasons of classy treatment and knowing that their fitness is important, they should be allowed to fly in comfort. And that means no coach.
Of course not. If true, and if it was intentional, it should be grounds for disciploinary action, up to suspension from macthes.
Re: NFA rejects Eagles’ business class tickets
naija4ever wrote:
Secretary General of the Nigeria Football Association (NFA) Taiwo Ogunjobi has vowed not to refund any extra kobo to Super Eagles players that honour the national call using the business class ticket.
Ogunjobi revealed that he had informed them severally that only economy class tickets would be refunded by the association stressing that: “ Aside the fact that the NFA does not have enough funds, I, as the chief executive travel using the economy class ticket.
He immediately directed the NFA accountant, Pastor Oke not to pay Joseph Enakhaire and others who participated in the Algerian the face value of their business class tickets insisting that they should be paid the equivalent of the cost of flying by economy class.
Aside, the NFA accountant rejected the ticket submitted by Ifeanyi Ekwueme stressing that he had given the player a refund on that ticket immediately after the game against Angola in Luanda.
Unknown to Ekwueme that NFA had made a photocopy of the ticket when he presented it after the Angolan loss, he re-submitted it for fresh refunds which the accountant rejected out rightly.
http://nigerianewsnow.com/News/July04/0 ... anager.htm

Apart from my usual Amodu rantings all in all. He has done very well and the laurels and records speak for itself - MI5
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=157957
What is wrong with this Ogunjobi of a person????
I am not a footballer, but with the little chicken change I make, whenever I can afford to, I prefer to travel Upper Class.
A footballer's meal ticket is his body, and well should he take care of it. I cannot believe that Ogunjobi was silly enough to expose Nigeria, Giant of Africa, like this.
That we cannot afford to allow our stars, who are earning and repatriating billions of Naira home to help the economy, or at least the pockets of the Sarakis, fly first class to honour national invitations is unbelievable. The President, whose passion it is to launder our national image abroad, appreciates how much great PR the SE are giving our country outside, so he would be scandalised to hear something like this.
I would strongly suggest that all the President's men and women (Nuhu Ribadu, Obiageli Ezekwesili et al) should move in on the NFA and investigate their affairs for the last 10 years with a fine tooth comb. That should turn up a fine can of worms, and I suspect Mr. Ogunjobi and his colleagues will be made redundant immediately.
Talk about the Anti-Midas. They touch our international football, which is gold, and it turns to sh1t.
I am not a footballer, but with the little chicken change I make, whenever I can afford to, I prefer to travel Upper Class.
A footballer's meal ticket is his body, and well should he take care of it. I cannot believe that Ogunjobi was silly enough to expose Nigeria, Giant of Africa, like this.
That we cannot afford to allow our stars, who are earning and repatriating billions of Naira home to help the economy, or at least the pockets of the Sarakis, fly first class to honour national invitations is unbelievable. The President, whose passion it is to launder our national image abroad, appreciates how much great PR the SE are giving our country outside, so he would be scandalised to hear something like this.
I would strongly suggest that all the President's men and women (Nuhu Ribadu, Obiageli Ezekwesili et al) should move in on the NFA and investigate their affairs for the last 10 years with a fine tooth comb. That should turn up a fine can of worms, and I suspect Mr. Ogunjobi and his colleagues will be made redundant immediately.
Talk about the Anti-Midas. They touch our international football, which is gold, and it turns to sh1t.

Last edited by felele on Tue Jul 06, 2004 7:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Bend it like felele
felele wrote:What is wrong with this Ogunjobi of a person????
Talk about the Anti-Midas. They touch our international football, which is gold, and it turns to sugar.
This ogunjobi of a person has tried to instill discipline into the team and avoid unecessary costs.
I mean what is wrong with flying economy?
if u know u no fit afford bisness class, who send u work to go dey buy am?
i remember back in the early 90s, i saw siasia and rufai in economy class of KLM. so wetin dey Do these yungsters. its not as if everybody on d plane go fit recognize them self....
Oga no go die unless to ba d'arugbo
duduninja wrote:felele wrote:What is wrong with this Ogunjobi of a person????
Talk about the Anti-Midas. They touch our international football, which is gold, and it turns to sugar.
This ogunjobi of a person has tried to instill discipline into the team and avoid unecessary costs.
I mean what is wrong with flying economy?
if u know u no fit afford bisness class, who send u work to go dey buy am?
i remember back in the early 90s, i saw siasia and rufai in economy class of KLM. so wetin dey Do these yungsters. its not as if everybody on d plane go fit recognize them self....

Apart from my usual Amodu rantings all in all. He has done very well and the laurels and records speak for itself - MI5
Bell , well written .Bell wrote:akure4life: I SEE THREE ISSUES HERE
To wit:
who no know go know.
- Mansa Musa
A4L:Akure4Life wrote: This has been going on for a long time. The NFA has made this know as far back as 2000 when Babayaro or Kanu wanted to fly Business class to the Olympic.
Actually, Babayaro reportedly wanted a refund for First-Class tickets. The $2500 standard refund that he was offered (and that every other member of the squad received) was reportedly enough for a Business Class ticket.
If any player want to fly 1st class, let him do so but he must be paid economy rate- - the $2,500.00
Bros, from USA to Nigeria, high season rate ticket is about $1,500.00 and low season is about $1,200.00. I want somebody to tell me how much is high season ticket from any part of Europe to Nigeria?
Whoever do not want to play for Nigeria should pack off. If we do not make Germany 2006, so what. I love soccer so much that I can spend whatever amount to watch games any time any where but Nigerian trouble makers players suck and they are not performing.
Bros, from USA to Nigeria, high season rate ticket is about $1,500.00 and low season is about $1,200.00. I want somebody to tell me how much is high season ticket from any part of Europe to Nigeria?
Whoever do not want to play for Nigeria should pack off. If we do not make Germany 2006, so what. I love soccer so much that I can spend whatever amount to watch games any time any where but Nigerian trouble makers players suck and they are not performing.
Why are you people bad belleing these guys for flying first class???? They earn their money with their legs, and those legs must get enough room to rest if they are on a plane for up to the 5 hours it would take to fly from Europe to Naija.
The NFA and Ogunjobi should stop acting like bushmen from the backwaters of Ikorodu (which, before any of you starts yarning opaks, is where I'm from) and just re-imburse the players the full cost of WHATEVER ticket they come in with.
Bend it like felele
This is all part of the adminstrative ineptness of our NFA. I can assure you that most Football Federations around the world will not fly any of their players in Economy unless they have no alternatives.
Flying business class should be the norm for our players rather than the exception. However I can understand where the SG is coming from because a NFA dependent on the Ministry for funds is unlikely to be able to afford business class tickets for it's most valuable property, the players.
Bottom line, this is nothing that a restructuring of the NFA and cutting the umbilical cord to the Sports Ministry cannot solve.
Flying business class should be the norm for our players rather than the exception. However I can understand where the SG is coming from because a NFA dependent on the Ministry for funds is unlikely to be able to afford business class tickets for it's most valuable property, the players.
Bottom line, this is nothing that a restructuring of the NFA and cutting the umbilical cord to the Sports Ministry cannot solve.
France travelled in Portugal in Economy class. Maybe that is why them lose.felele wrote:What is wrong with this Ogunjobi of a person????

- naija4ever
- Location: Latitude 14' 40 N Longitude 90' 31 W(Nollywood 4Ever)
Personally, I hate to fly economy class as I usually fly at worst business class
, C'mon NFA if I could afford to travel with business class thrice a yr, I dont see the reason why u as an organisation cant afford it for our players' welfare sake

Schillachi wrote:Thanks Ghana. I hope this defeat will forever cure us of our colonial mentality when it comes to Coaches...
mystic wrote:
Now, we can criticise CCC for this, that and the other - some of which is warranted, and some of which is complete hogwash. But, in my view, these are the prinicipal areas in which he has been a disappointment.
All the same, I salute Christian Chukwu for his efforts, his selflessness and his hard work. He has served his country to the best of his ability. The predicament that we are in, right now, is not soley of his making and we should all keep that in mind..
The two players are in different worlds. Ade is too young to be compared to Kanu. Kanu has been around and has raked in laurels upon laurels. If he is not scoring, he is assisting; and if he is not, he is entertaining ... one of the finest players in the world. Please for past times, compare Kanu to Brazilian Socrates..bbc606
- nanijoe
- Site Admin
It's refreshing to see an objective MD that looks at both sides of the coin when the topic is not CCCmister dolly wrote:This is all part of the adminstrative ineptness of our NFA. I can assure you that most Football Federations around the world will not fly any of their players in Economy unless they have no alternatives.

- Akure4Life
It cost over £1800 to fly to Australia from London during the last Olympic. This is due to the artifical peak time. So $2500 is economy class.Gotti wrote:A4L:Akure4Life wrote: This has been going on for a long time. The NFA has made this know as far back as 2000 when Babayaro or Kanu wanted to fly Business class to the Olympic.
Actually, Babayaro reportedly wanted a refund for First-Class tickets. The $2500 standard refund that he was offered (and that every other member of the squad received) was reportedly enough for a Business Class ticket.
It has been know to players for a long time that NFA would only refund economy class tickets. If the man in charge of Tickets funds did not cross check(he photocopies all tickets he refunds), Ekwueme would have been paid twice for the same ticket.
Akure4Life
Ojota is my hood.