why most of nigerian players are christians??

ali boubagra
why most of nigerian players are christians??

Post by ali boubagra »

I am just curious,coz I know nigeria has millions of muslims too.
plz guys answer me honestly,I think there is discrimination against muslims in nigeria,and this is coming from your CORUPTED fediration,,,,,,,,,,,,,,the only muslim player I remember so far was the EXCELLENT RACHIDI YEKENI
future is now,yesterday is the root,viva foot
original skeepolah

Post by original skeepolah »

Whats ya point??what discrimination??How do you know their were not anymore, because they never flaunted it???What of guys who were never in the lime light and we never know their religion??even some of these southern boys can be muslim, but they are not saying........... :|
Last edited by original skeepolah on Wed Jul 07, 2004 11:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Akure4Life
Re: why most of nigerian players are christians??

Post by Akure4Life »

ali boubagra wrote:I am just curious,coz I know nigeria has millions of muslims too.
plz guys answer me honestly,I think there is discrimination against muslims in nigeria,and this is coming from your CORUPTED fediration,,,,,,,,,,,,,,the only muslim player I remember so far was the EXCELLENT RACHIDI YEKENI

You are so stupid to come here chat stupidness about Nigeria. Did you do ur research properly before coming to your idiotic conculsion?
Akure4Life

Ojota is my hood.
Cristao

Post by Cristao »

ali boubagra wrote:I am just curious,coz I know nigeria has millions of muslims too.
pls go and do some research ...
ABAREMI

Post by ABAREMI »

another comment from the solowe school of thought.. Tijanni Babangida, Garba Lawal, Muda Lawal, and dont forget the following old school cats, Johnbull Mohd, Inuwa rigogo, another goalie that used to play for Zaria XI back in the sixties.... granted the numbers arent representative but northerners are not quick to depart the country and dont take football as serious as our southern brethrens do.... dont give anyone a jersey because they represent a certain part of the country give it to them on merit........
Abaremi
tim

Post by tim »

Gerrrrrrrrrrrouuuuuuuut!!!!!! :twisted: :twisted:

Until u stop eating expired Agidi u won't know d meaning of commenting,with research results backing ur points.
ali boubagra

Post by ali boubagra »

:) peace peace peace :) I have nothing against christians,I just have noticed that most of your players have christian religion thats all,concerning the research trust me I have done it,and I am absolutely correct when I say the majority are christians.anyway it is just a question which it needs an honest answer from honest nigerians.
future is now,yesterday is the root,viva foot

You Doughnut!

C'mon you guys are too tough on Ali. The guy asked a legitimate question only for you to shout him down.

Ali, in my view, it is a matter of physique. The guys from the central and southern part of Nigeria, tend to be more physically well built (stockier) than the Northerners (descendants of pastoralists) etc! The guys from the South also tend to be Christian! Thats it for you!

But I believe there have been some good players from the North of Nigeria too!

we should stop seeing people as labels i.e white, black, asians, yoruba, hausa, igbo, christian, muslim etc.
why dont you just judge people as individuals not as labels.
no body in nigeria cares who plays as long as they are GOOD and the principle of MERITOCRAZY is used and their perceived or socially construsted labels are not used as a judge.
with post like this regardless of your intension we might just slip down the road of the zimbabwean cricket TEST team.

Fabio:
C'mon man. The guy's question is not malicious! Anyway, I answered him above. Feel free to correct me if I am wrong!
we should stop seeing people as labels i.e white, black, asians, yoruba, hausa, igbo, christian, muslim etc.
why dont you just judge people as individuals not as labels.
no body in nigeria cares who plays as long as they are GOOD and the principle of MERITOCRAZY is used and their perceived or socially construsted labels are not used as a judge.
with post like this regardless of your intension we might just slip down the road of the zimbabwean cricket TEST team.
original skeepolah

Akure4Life wrote:

You are so stupid to come here chat stupidness about Nigeria. Did you do ur research properly before coming to your idiotic conculsion?
tELL AM BO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
original skeepolah

ABAREMI wrote:another comment from the solowe school of thought.. Tijanni Babangida, Garba Lawal, Muda Lawal, and dont forget the following old school cats, Johnbull Mohd, Inuwa rigogo, another goalie that used to play for Zaria XI back in the sixties.... granted the numbers arent representative but northerners are not quick to depart the country and dont take football as serious as our southern brethrens do.... dont give anyone a jersey because they represent a certain part of the country give it to them on merit........
Abi ooohhhh!!!!!!!!!Lets fit all colors of the rainbow....Some peeps na wa!!!!!!!!! :roll:
original skeepolah

ali boubagra wrote::) peace peace peace :) I have nothing against christians,I just have noticed that most of your players have christian religion thats all,concerning the research trust me I have done it,and I am absolutely correct when I say the majority are christians.anyway it is just a question which it needs an honest answer from honest nigerians.
It is just a question...True, but no harm intended, it is pointless...
What matters will it solve or won't solve in a world cup, or anc atmosphere???????It is nothing to rant about, really!!!!!!!! :?
scholl

Post by scholl »

I swear if you do me the favour of telling me where you live, I wil change you and you wil never be the same "physically".
scholl

Post by scholl »

ali boubagra wrote::) peace peace peace :) I have nothing against christians,I just have noticed that most of your players have christian religion thats all,concerning the research trust me I have done it,and I am absolutely correct when I say the majority are christians.anyway it is just a question which it needs an honest answer from honest nigerians.
You are so silly to call my country corrupted cos I know you are from Mali, Burkina Faso or CIV. Then why mention discrimination? Just try to research before your wanky hands touch the keyboard.
Jimi

Post by Jimi »

YUJAM wrote:C'mon you guys are too tough on Ali. The guy asked a legitimate question only for you to shout him down.

Ali, in my view, it is a matter of physique. The guys from the central and southern part of Nigeria, tend to be more physically well built (stockier) than the Northerners (descendants of pastoralists) etc! The guys from the South also tend to be Christian! Thats it for you!

Yujam. what are you saying? The guys asked about Moslem and Xtian, and not North and South..there are many moslems from down south that played for the eagles like Muda Lawal and Yekini, and there are also Xtians from the North that played for the Eagles. Yujam, the truth is that the language and manner he asked whatever question he had was condescending and downright rude. How can he categorically call the Nigerian federation corrupt? Even if it is true, it is not up to Algerians to point that out, especially when they have similar or greater problems than Nigeria. The guy can participate as much as he wants but at least cut out inflamatory language. Yujam, no need to go into any pastoralist, geographical and biological makeup argument..It is redundant. Frankly, I think the question is irrelevant.

Jimi:
So are you saying that the majority of Nigerian Muslims do not live in the North?
Jimi wrote:
YUJAM wrote:C'mon you guys are too tough on Ali. The guy asked a legitimate question only for you to shout him down.

Yujam. what are you saying? The guys asked about Moslem and Xtian, and not North and South..there are many moslems from down south that played for the eagles like Muda Lawal and Yekini, and there are also Xtians from the North that played for the Eagles. Yujam, the truth is that the language and manner he asked whatever question he had was condescending and downright rude. How can he categorically call the Nigerian federation corrupt? Even if it is true, it is not up to Algerians to point that out, especially when they have similar or greater problems than Nigeria. The guy can participate as much as he wants but at least cut out inflamatory language. Yujam, no need to go into any pastoralist, geographical and biological makeup argument..It is redundant. Frankly, I think the question is irrelevant.
Talk IT

Post by Talk IT »

Instead of shouting Ali down why don't you guys give him a legitimate answer like Yujam tried to do. Ali should be given a benefit of a doubt counsidering he is from north africa where majority of the population are muslim and thay have many good footballers too.

Ali can't understand why many good muslim footballers aren't coming from nigeria just as they are in north africa. Also Ali is right when he says majority (more than 90%) of footballers in the SE are christians. the only place where i feel he offended folks is when he tried to blame the situation on corruption and bias from the christian folks. I can give him a benefit of a doubt for that because he can't find any other good reason for the trend.

Ali, i believe the answer Yujam gave is one of the reasons for this trend. Correct me if am wrong but this trend is not exclusive to nigeria. It cuts accross the countries in the coast of west africa. Its just like saying why do blacks tend to be better in sprint race? That doesn't mean you won't find a few white folks who as just as fast in sprint. If i try to further answer this your complicated question, many folks here will call it anti muslim bashing so let me just chill. :D
If there were no God, I would not be alive.
And if God is not good, I would have been dead.

it's a matter of passion and interest

Post by Jimi »

YUJAM wrote:Jimi:
So are you saying that the majority of Nigerian Muslims do not live in the North?
Jimi wrote:

That is true by a wide margin, but like I said Yujam, the angle you took on physiques and geographical demographics is really flawed and potentially inflamatory. I am telling you this from experience as a naija guy and even the time I have been on here on CE. The truth is that football in Nigeria is one of the only elements of naija life that is almost immune from any ethnic or religious constructs..( keep in mind I said almost..). Let us try to keep it that way. And Ali, next time you, as a non naija guy want to ask questions like that, please do it in a tactful, respectful manner..and not the frankly asinine way you did.
Jimi

Post by Jimi »

Talk IT wrote:Instead of shouting Ali down why don't you guys give him a legitimate answer like Yujam tried to do. Ali should be given a benefit of a doubt counsidering he is from north africa where majority of the population are muslim and thay have many good footballers too.

Ali can't understand why many good muslim footballers aren't coming from nigeria just as they are in north africa. Also Ali is right when he says majority (more than 90%) of footballers in the SE are christians. the only place where i feel he offended folks is when he tried to blame the situation on corruption and bias from the christian folks. I can give him a benefit of a doubt for that because he can't find any other good reason for the trend.

Ali, i believe the answer Yujam gave is one of the reasons for this trend. Correct me if am wrong but this trend is not exclusive to nigeria. It cuts accross the countries in the coast of west africa. Its just like saying why do blacks tend to be better in sprint race? That doesn't mean you won't find a few white folks who as just as fast in sprint. If i try to further answer this your complicated question, many folks here will call it anti muslim bashing so let me just chill. :D
You TALKIT should definitely get the Devil's advocate award on CE.. :lol: That is for sure..You better don't let fellow CE's put a tire on your neck too, like they have on Ali.. Don't let that Lagos style justice come to you too..