why most of nigerian players are christians??

sarkin doya

Post by sarkin doya »

Ali,

I think you are jumping to conclusions too quickly. People
come up with all kinds of theories: not enough muslims
on the SE, not enough yorubas, not enough northerners...
and so on!!

I personally don't believe there is any discrimination in
the SE in terms of muslims.

As to why there are fewer muslims in Nigerian soccer,
this is akin to asking why so many African Americans
dominate the short sprints. None of the theories on
this topic are really conclusive and are speculative at
best.

One thing is for sure. If you ask why there are fewer
female muslims in soccer in Nigeria and countries
with large muslim populations, that question
is more easily answered.
amafolas

Post by amafolas »

This Ali guy and Solowe should be locked together in a room. Two Stupid Idiots! :evil: ! :x !! When one is disussing the tribal distribution of the team, the other would be discussing the religious distribution.

Who cares if you're Yoruba, Ibo, Muslim or Xtian? As long as you can tap, thats all!!!
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.
junior
Re: why most of nigerian players are christians??

Post by junior »

ali boubagra wrote:I am just curious,coz I know nigeria has millions of muslims too.
plz guys answer me honestly,I think there is discrimination against muslims in nigeria,and this is coming from your CORUPTED fediration,,,,,,,,,,,,,,the only muslim player I remember so far was the EXCELLENT RACHIDI YEKENI
Ali, you are entitled to your own opinions and views. However, the manner in which you have chosen to express them leaves a lot to be desired.
You 'think' there is discrimination against muslims in Nigeria and obviously - in your view - the corrupt federation is Christian. You have created this little movie in your head with the muslims as the oppressed and the Christians as the oppressors. How diabolical.
I really feel you're just seeking attention and trying to rile things up on this forum. The internet has really levelled the playing ground for the vermin of this world.
living

Post by living »

ali what is the aim of ya question?
Things might come to those who wait but only those things left behind by those who hustle-Abraham Lincoln
living

Post by living »

amafolahs , abi o,who cares if u are from pluto,as long as u fit tap
Things might come to those who wait but only those things left behind by those who hustle-Abraham Lincoln

Post by 27 »

I know you are from Mali, Burkina Faso or CIV.
scholl, you know?

Post by 27 »

ali boubagra wrote:I am just curious,coz I know nigeria has millions of muslims too.
plz guys answer me honestly,I think there is discrimination against muslims in nigeria,and this is coming from your CORUPTED fediration,,,,,,,,,,,,,,the only muslim player I remember so far was the EXCELLENT RACHIDI YEKENI
Why are they so few christians in North African national teams? Discrimination.

Jimi wrote: And Ali, next time you, as a non naija guy want to ask questions like that, please do it in a tactful, respectful manner..and not the frankly asinine way you did.
The truth is, whether na naija guy or non-naija guy, whether di question be on religion or ethnicity, there is no tactful, respectful or easy way to ask such questions.
We have tried it before, and the overwhelming evidence suggests that we can't handle such topics.
Nobody is allowed to be curious on matters religious or ethnic in Nigeria o! Such debates are highly classified!! :roll: :roll:
chendosplastic

Post by chendosplastic »

THE ONLY THING I CANSA IS THAT ALI IS COMMITING A LOGICAL FALLACY.
PLEASE DESIST FROM WASTING OUR RESOURCES, ALI. :!:
"The history book on the shelf is always repeating itself" - ABBA.
"Facts, Logic, truth is the way....stop ranting via emotions; seeing things through the prism of ethnicity is comfortable but ultimately a road to perdition." - airwolex.
felele

Post by felele »

Ali, you did not do your research at all, you lazy so and so, coming here with all sorts of rubbish to come and try to cause disunity among Nigerians. Well, let me tell you something.

From Gombe to Aba, from Numan to Idi-Iroko, from Warri to Yola, from Funtua to Ile-Ife, from Lokoja to Lagos, from Sokoto to Isiala Ngwa, from Bonny to Borno, the story is the same. Nobody cares where you're from in Nigeria or what your religion is, as long as you can tap. In fact, naturalised Nigerians are also allowed in the national team.

Here is a list of some former and present national team players that are Muslims, northern or southern, that I can remember off the top of my head:

1. Muda Lawal
2. Mutiu Adepoju
3. Baba #$% Mohammed
4. Haruna Ilerika
5. Fatai Atere
6. Yisa Sofoluwe
5. Garba Lawal
6. Tijani Babangida
7. Rashidi Yekini
8. Ike Shorounmu
9. Wakilu Oyenuga
10. Yakubu Aiyegbeni
11. Teslim Fatusi

I could go on and on.

So please, my North African muslim brother, could you just crawl back under the sand dune you emerged from??????
Bend it like felele
Diabo

Post by Diabo »

My people, we should not let this throat-chopping, Janjaweed-militia-supporting, religious-hate-spewing, Arab dude come to contaminate this beauriful football site with his extremist views :evil: . Actually, with his Algerian-sounding name I suspect he is someone just trying to find other ways to revenge after seeing his side's chances of qualifying for the World Cup diminish further :evil: .

felele wrote:Ali, you did not do your research at all, you lazy so and so, coming here with all sorts of rubbish to come and try to cause disunity among Nigerians. Well, let me tell you something.

From Gombe to Aba, from Numan to Idi-Iroko, from Warri to Yola, from Funtua to Ile-Ife, from Lokoja to Lagos, from Sokoto to Isiala Ngwa, from Bonny to Borno, the story is the same. Nobody cares where you're from in Nigeria or what your religion is, as long as you can tap. In fact, naturalised Nigerians are also allowed in the national team.

Here is a list of some former and present national team players that are Muslims, northern or southern, that I can remember off the top of my head:

1. Muda Lawal
2. Mutiu Adepoju
3. Baba #$% Mohammed
4. Haruna Ilerika
5. Fatai Atere
6. Yisa Sofoluwe
5. Garba Lawal
6. Tijani Babangida
7. Rashidi Yekini
8. Ike Shorounmu
9. Wakilu Oyenuga
10. Yakubu Aiyegbeni
11. Teslim Fatusi

I could go on and on.

So please, my North African muslim brother, could you just crawl back under the sand dune you emerged from??????
And don't forget our greatest ever 'playa'...the 'Maradona' of Nigeria:
Ibrahim 'IBB' Babangida :lol: :lol:

Post by 27 »

And don't forget our greatest ever 'playa'...the 'Maradona' of Nigeria:
Ibrahim 'IBB' Babangida
Damunk, there are actually two players who played for Nigeria called Sanni Abacha and Ibrahim Babangida.

http://www.nigerianplayers.com/player.asp?pID=3
omotori

Post by omotori »

Also, I think Obafemi Martins is Muslim.

And as far as I know, there is no discrimmination in Nigeria against selecting Muslim players.
quickie

Post by quickie »

felele wrote:Ali, you did not do your research at all, you lazy so and so, coming here with all sorts of rubbish to come and try to cause disunity among Nigerians. Well, let me tell you something.

1. Muda Lawal
2. Mutiu Adepoju
3. Baba #$% Mohammed
4. Haruna Ilerika
5. Fatai Atere
6. Yisa Sofoluwe
5. Garba Lawal
6. Tijani Babangida
7. Rashidi Yekini
8. Ike Shorounmu
9. Wakilu Oyenuga
10. Yakubu Aiyegbeni
11. Teslim Fatusi

I could go on and on.

How did Wakilu and teslim Fetusi find their way into a list of Eagles greats? How many caps in between them? Probably better to include Fatai Amoo, Wasiu Ipaye and Waidi Akanni.

Q
RudeBoy

Post by RudeBoy »

Ali has asked a good question which deserves a good answer.

To the outside world it is possible to think that there is some kind of bias against the Muslims in the national team when you take into consideration the population demographics of Nigeria.

However, the answer is simple: Most of the best players in Nigeria come from the southern part of Nigeria, which is mainly Christian. Indeed, to be more specific a good majority of the best come from the south eastern (the old mid-Western and East Regions) part of the country, which is, even more predominately Christian.

I reject Yujam's stereotyping of Nigerians (again!). His claims about certain players being “stockier” are a nonsense, clearly show he has no idea of Nigeria or Nigerians and are highly inflammatory!
Cristao

Post by Cristao »

Ali has asked a good question which deserves a good answer.

To the outside world it is possible to think that there is some kind of bias against the Muslims in the national team when you take into consideration the population demographics of Nigeria.

However, the answer is simple: Most of the best players in Nigeria come from the southern part of Nigeria, which is mainly Christian. Indeed, to be more specific a good majority of the best come from the south eastern (the old mid-Western and East Regions) part of the country, which is, even more predominately Christian.

I reject Yujam's stereotyping of Nigerians (again!). His claims about certain players being “stockier” are a nonsense, clearly show he has no idea of Nigeria or Nigerians and are highly inflammatory!
it is my belief only someone looking for trouble would do such a thing ...

Ali wetin stop them. Howz about Tijani Babangida and Garba Lawal. If they are not Christian how is it the fault of Naija.

With football, you either know how to play or not. Federal charachter does not cut it here. :twisted: :evil:
"How are UK Conservative MPs selected? They are selected for intelligence and then rejected at final stage for thar fact" :rotf: :rotf: - Peter Hitchens interviewed on Novara Media 2025.

tribalfootball.com

Post by tribalfootball.com »

Jesus loves u
tribalfootball.com

Post by tribalfootball.com »

This looks like one of em Bin Laden guys.

Jesus loves u

RudeBoy wrote:Ali has asked a good question which deserves a good answer.

Ali was a farce, Yujam is a joke. :shock: :shock: :roll: :roll: :roll:

even when Amodu (a muslim) was coach...the squad was still full of christians. in Nigeria religion is not a factor in football, things like Home/foreign based, fresh/tired legs, NFA tinkering are the factors.

For those who are more familiar with the Nigerian league...maybe u can comment on how that affects the distribution of players.

beter to educate than to insult...one of those serves little or no purpose

Post by dudu »

i wonder if Ali asked this question sincerely or he was just trying to incenuate something... whichever way , YUJAM gave him a good response and he also deserves the kicking in the #$% he got from others too... how dare a bloody foreigner talk of our leaders ( even though na rigging ) like that !. It doesnt matter whether they are shango worshippers or OYA , all we want to see is the supereagles play and play well