NIGERIA 3 (I.Uche, Nsofor x 2) KENYA 0 FT
Re: NIGERIA 3 (I.Uche, Nsofor x 2) KENYA 0 FT
Yep! The one Yekini scored from an impossible angle.nathanwilli wrote:Robbynice wrote:No team sails through any qualifiers with ease, especially in Africa. To the rest of your quote I say KPOM. Btw I was at the National Stadium for the Nigeria/Algeria game in 1993.zeyzey1 wrote: Not accepting that we have arrived in any way, I endorse this "KPOM" based on the RESULT and the following memory recollection from our best team (1990s).
NGR - ALG (WCQ 1993, Lagos): Shaky start at the back and defenders Uche/Semitoje gifting Algeria a goal in 4 mins. Some saves from Agbonivbare kept us alive b4 JayJays free kick and a brace from Yekini. Result 4-1, Conclusion: unsteady performance but clinical finishing and great scoreline.
NGR - CIV (WCQ 1993, Lagos): Very shaky start, 2 one on one misses by Tiehi and Traore in first 10mins of game. Final result 4-1 Nigeria. CIV controlled a lot of the game but clinical finishing gave hosts victory.
NGR 3 - 0 KENYA (WCQ 1997); NGR 2 - 0 BFASO (WCQ1997); NGR 2 - 1 GUINEA (WCQ1997) All drab home matches but results obtained.
Lets not miss the point here, results are more important than play style in WCQs. However, Amodu needs to work on reducing the fright factor especially when we play at home. I dont see us falling to teams in our group but I dont see this team sailing through ANY of our remaining games with ease. Not one.
That's the game with the Jay Jay freekick right?
With all due respect, I often look at your posts in light of your moniker and conclude that there must be an obvious irony that we are missing -- 7 wins and 1 draw in 8 WCQ games (while conceding barely 1 goal) is "luck"?smartbrother wrote:there's nothing kpom-worthy there please stop fooling yourselves. As supporters of Nigeria (i.e noty manu, barcelona or uruguay) we are perfectly entitled to question and criticize SE performances when we've been overly reliant on our luck for results!why? Because eventually that luck runs out and we'll be left to rue not addressing glaring flaws in our game when we had the chance. If you have a leaking roof you dont wait till the ceiling in your living room caves in before fixing it.
- nathanwilli
Yes!! Kai, memories.Robbynice wrote:Yep! The one Yekini scored from an impossible angle.nathanwilli wrote:
That's the game with the Jay Jay freekick right?

- nathanwilli
Gotti wrote:With all due respect, I often look at your posts in light of your moniker and conclude that there must be an obvious irony that we are missing -- 7 wins and 1 draw in 8 WCQ games (while conceding barely 1 goal) is "luck"?smartbrother wrote:there's nothing kpom-worthy there please stop fooling yourselves. As supporters of Nigeria (i.e noty manu, barcelona or uruguay) we are perfectly entitled to question and criticize SE performances when we've been overly reliant on our luck for results!why? Because eventually that luck runs out and we'll be left to rue not addressing glaring flaws in our game when we had the chance. If you have a leaking roof you dont wait till the ceiling in your living room caves in before fixing it.

Re: NIGERIA 1 KENYA 0 (2H)
Igbanibo wrote:Kai, if Nsofor was playing like this all season, he would have been featuring regularly for Inter.
how can he play when he is not given the chance
we should even encourage him
he has not been given a chance by that morinho guy
no match fitness and he still plays like that, he should be praised.
I now see through the eyes of JESUS CHRIST - An Indian woman HEALED by our LORD JESUS CHRIST @ Ben Hinn Healing Crusade .
What About You?
What we do, does not define who we are, what define's us is how well we rise after we have fallen.
The only consistency of the referees is there Inconsistencies - Wigan FC Manager.
What About You?
What we do, does not define who we are, what define's us is how well we rise after we have fallen.
The only consistency of the referees is there Inconsistencies - Wigan FC Manager.
Gotti wrote:With all due respect, I often look at your posts in light of your moniker and conclude that there must be an obvious irony that we are missing -- 7 wins and 1 draw in 8 WCQ games (while conceding barely 1 goal) is "luck"?smartbrother wrote:there's nothing kpom-worthy there please stop fooling yourselves. As supporters of Nigeria (i.e noty manu, barcelona or uruguay) we are perfectly entitled to question and criticize SE performances when we've been overly reliant on our luck for results!why? Because eventually that luck runs out and we'll be left to rue not addressing glaring flaws in our game when we had the chance. If you have a leaking roof you dont wait till the ceiling in your living room caves in before fixing it.
I've often said that we need to set up a committe that reviews monikers to make sure they match the person before approving them. Smartbrother has clearly abused the priviledge of naiming himself without oversight. Player was another one. I am glad he has since come to his senses and changed it to the more apt African whorerior
- maceo4
Re: NIGERIA 1 KENYA 0 (2H)
What chance didn't he get? You expect Mourihno to keep playing him even when he underwhelms?Baggy wrote:Igbanibo wrote:Kai, if Nsofor was playing like this all season, he would have been featuring regularly for Inter.
how can he play when he is not given the chance
we should even encourage him
he has not been given a chance by that morinho guy
no match fitness and he still plays like that, he should be praised.
- The YeyeMan
1naija wrote:Gotti wrote:With all due respect, I often look at your posts in light of your moniker and conclude that there must be an obvious irony that we are missing -- 7 wins and 1 draw in 8 WCQ games (while conceding barely 1 goal) is "luck"?smartbrother wrote:there's nothing kpom-worthy there please stop fooling yourselves. As supporters of Nigeria (i.e noty manu, barcelona or uruguay) we are perfectly entitled to question and criticize SE performances when we've been overly reliant on our luck for results!why? Because eventually that luck runs out and we'll be left to rue not addressing glaring flaws in our game when we had the chance. If you have a leaking roof you dont wait till the ceiling in your living room caves in before fixing it.
I've often said that we need to set up a committe that reviews monikers to make sure they match the person before approving them. Smartbrother has clearly abused the priviledge of naiming himself without oversight. Player was another one. I am glad he has since come to his senses and changed it to the more apt African whorerior

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16
© The YeyeMan 2025
The YeyeMan wrote:1naija wrote:Gotti wrote:With all due respect, I often look at your posts in light of your moniker and conclude that there must be an obvious irony that we are missing -- 7 wins and 1 draw in 8 WCQ games (while conceding barely 1 goal) is "luck"?smartbrother wrote:there's nothing kpom-worthy there please stop fooling yourselves. As supporters of Nigeria (i.e noty manu, barcelona or uruguay) we are perfectly entitled to question and criticize SE performances when we've been overly reliant on our luck for results!why? Because eventually that luck runs out and we'll be left to rue not addressing glaring flaws in our game when we had the chance. If you have a leaking roof you dont wait till the ceiling in your living room caves in before fixing it.
I've often said that we need to set up a committe that reviews monikers to make sure they match the person before approving them. Smartbrother has clearly abused the priviledge of naiming himself without oversight. Player was another one. I am glad he has since come to his senses and changed it to the more apt African whorerior![]()

The list is endless, 1Naira, 10%, Major General Ogolo !

From this day forth, I stand by the entity that is ARSENAL.
I'm in despair when we lose, I rejoice when we win and I become emotional for all that happens in between
but may no one dare say I was not there when its all said and done - Globero
I'm in despair when we lose, I rejoice when we win and I become emotional for all that happens in between
but may no one dare say I was not there when its all said and done - Globero
- General Trousers

Teammates congratulate Ikechukwu Uche, number 15, after he scored against Kenya two minutes into their World Cup Qualifier in Abuja, Nigeria Sunday, June 7, 2009. Uche scored after only two minutes and substitute Victor Obinna added two more in the second half to give Nigeria a 3-0 victory over Kenya in their World Cup qualifier at the National Stadium on Sunday.

Er y Gotti yeah pls feel free to continue deluding yourself with your impressive high-level win/loss/draw statistics. Most rational ppl when reviewing perfomance, consider summary statistics in conjunction with (and not at the expense of)a qualitative analysis of what they’ve actually observed .....but I guess you’re far too much of a maverick to bother yourself with that.
As for me, when a mediocre team like Kenya slices open my defence, sends its strikers clean through on goal on more than one occasion, rounds my goalie and som2ehow fails to score, i tend to think my clean sheets aren’t necessarily telling me the full story.... and i’m frank enough not to attribute my teams undefeated status to the robustness of our strategy.
IAG no one is saying we don’t need a bit of luck now and then. The point is luck is beyond our control and inevitably runs out sooner or later. Why are we relying on the incompetence of Kenyan strikers for our clean sheets when we have the resources to make that an irrelevant factor altogether? I’m sure you agree we’re better off leaving as little to chance as possible by addressing glaring problems (porousness in our defence , lack of cohesion in midfield etc) while we still have the chance. As every ‘undefeated’ fighter with a padded record will tell you when they eventually get KTFO, never believe your own hype
when i was watching the stream , why did the stadium look so dark?
- Jiggerman21
Very smart post.smartbrother wrote:1sadlittleman, do you genuinely think your fraudulent moniker would survive a committee review given your lifeambition is to see of the super eagles of Biafra come to fruition?
Er y Gotti yeah pls feel free to continue deluding yourself with your impressive high-level win/loss/draw statistics. Most rational ppl when reviewing perfomance, consider summary statistics in conjunction with (and not at the expense of)a qualitative analysis of what they’ve actually observed .....but I guess you’re far too much of a maverick to bother yourself with that.
As for me, when a mediocre team like Kenya slices open my defence, sends its strikers clean through on goal on more than one occasion, rounds my goalie and som2ehow fails to score, i tend to think my clean sheets aren’t necessarily telling me the full story.... and i’m frank enough not to attribute my teams undefeated status to the robustness of our strategy.
IAG no one is saying we don’t need a bit of luck now and then. The point is luck is beyond our control and inevitably runs out sooner or later. Why are we relying on the incompetence of Kenyan strikers for our clean sheets when we have the resources to make that an irrelevant factor altogether? I’m sure you agree we’re better off leaving as little to chance as possible by addressing glaring problems (porousness in our defence , lack of cohesion in midfield etc) while we still have the chance. As every ‘undefeated’ fighter with a padded record will tell you when they eventually get KTFO, never believe your own hype
Super Eagles of Biafra

A stubborn goat can never learn from past mistakes. Nuff said.
- Its a Goal
Obviously you make your own luck and we did that today. Nobody is saying the team is perfect, it is still a work in progress. The fact that we left out 3 key players and we were able to win comfortably demonstrates we are only going to get better as time goes on. The one thing I don't get is why people like you are clamouring for the team to be playing at peak form when this is hardly the time for them to be there. We have to keep building until we find the right fit. Nothing can prepare the players utilized today better than being in a competitive match against a weak opposition like Kenya and today they gave a good account of themselves.[color=brown]smartbrother[/color] wrote:1sadlittleman, do you genuinely think your fraudulent moniker would survive a committee review given your lifeambition is to see of the super eagles of Biafra come to fruition?
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.
Gotti wrote:It's hard to "watch" a dude sitting at the far end of the bench...ohenhen1 wrote:And have you watched him recently or are you justing yarning for the sake of it. The Odiah i saw against Mozambique, was okay, made one mistake, but put in a good shift. He is still our best right back. He provides experience, i will not gamble with youngsters, i will go with experience in a big game.
But hopefully we will trust you to provide YouTube clips of his recent training session performances that justifies your position. For the rest of us that rely on actual football games to evaluate players, Odiah's recent performances (since his return from injury) at both club and international levels have been underwhelming and considerably less than the high standards that we have come to expect from him. It happens to the best of players and he should acquaint himself with some Abuja pine until he regains a semblance of his usual form, as nobody (not even Maduabuchi) deserves an automatic shirt on the national team.

Word!
"How can someone qualify his country for the World Cup and then, because he lost a match, everyone is saying they should sack him. Please allow the man to do his work. Nobody is perfect, but if someone can qualify his country for the World Cup, then he deserves some respect. I even heard that it is the second time he has qualified Nigeria for the World Cup. That is huge". - French legend Alain Giresse on Nigeria's Shuaibu Amodu, 2010
IAG we're playing the group leaders(and perrenial world cup finalists) tunisia in a fortnight only one ticket is up for grabs. I'd say around about now is a decent time to start peaking . or do you want a repeat of last time when we waited till the race was over before we strted thrashing the likes of Algeria 5-1?
- Its a Goal
I will tell you this much, I like where we are right about now. We beat France at their turf in a climate that is similar to Tunisia's, and against a style, not only similar to Tunisia's, but made for our offensive style of play. If we go there with confidence and swagger, like I know we will, SE will walk away with all 3 points, even if it is the same team that played today that is deployed on June 20.[color=brown]smartbrother[/color] wrote: IAG we're playing the group leaders(and perrenial world cup finalists) tunisia in a fortnight only one ticket is up for grabs. I'd say around about now is a decent time to start peaking . or do you want a repeat of last time when we waited till the race was over before we strted thrashing the likes of Algeria 5-1?
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.
Damn!!
Why are those Kenyans so red-eyed?

Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions
Nigeria benefited from some horrible finishing by Oliech along with a gift penalty. The problem for Nigeria now is that they have to chase Tunisia who already came to Nairobi. We may have red eyes but we can play and hopefully we prepare for the next game, we are out of the world cup but we will win in Nairobi with all the players back.
I am here to help...
- NaijaGeisha
igboMudi E wrote:Damn!!Why are those Kenyans so red-eyed?
"The greatest weapon anyone can use against us is our mind by preying on the doubts and uncertainties that already lurk there" -Emily Thorne (Rvenge)
Hmmmmm-Not sure you meant that.WAKENYA wrote:Nigeria benefited from some horrible finishing by Oliech along with a gift penalty. The problem for Nigeria now is that they have to chase Tunisia who already came to Nairobi. We may have red eyes but we can play and hopefully we prepare for the next game, we are out of the world cup but we will win in Nairobi with all the players back.
Hope Kenya played Tunis the way they play us today in Tunisia.

bleach creamMudi E wrote:Damn!!Why are those Kenyans so red-eyed?
Dude the answer is in your question.goke313 wrote:when i was watching the stream , why did the stadium look so dark?