Zhirkov Wants To Come To Barca..
- Killa Adjei
Zhirkov Wants To Come To Barca..
Chelsea target Zhirkov stuns Ancelotti by claiming Barcelona are his No 1 choice
By Ashley Gray
Chelsea target Yuri Zhirkov has stunned his Stamford Bridge suitors by admitting he would rather join Barcelona.
The CSKA Moscow wide man has been a target since January and had been expected to complete a move to London for about £15million this summer.
But European champions Barcelona have also entered the race because they see the versatile the 25-year-old as perfect cover down the left, either for Thierry Henry or as an attacking full-back in place of Eric Abidal.
And Zhirkov insisted his move to Chelsea was not a done deal, adding: 'I can say now that, if it was my decision, I would choose Barcelona, but this does not mean I would automatically decline Chelsea's offer. They are a great club and it would be a dream for anyone to play for them.'
Zhirkov had already warned he would not join Chelsea if he was just considered a squad player to cover for Ashley Cole and Florent Malouda, but he clarified: 'There is a difference between "playing" and "sitting on the bench". Even at Barcelona, I wouldn't want to do the latter.'
Zhirkov is in Helsinki ahead of Russia's World Cup qualifier against Finland tonight and admitted he had talked about England with Arsenal striker Andrey Arshavin and Tottenham Hotspur's Roman Pavlyuchenko.
CSKA have a close relationship with Chelsea owner Roman Abramovich, who used to help bankroll the club when in charge of Sibneft, their big-spending shirt sponsors
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/footba ... hoice.html
By Ashley Gray
Chelsea target Yuri Zhirkov has stunned his Stamford Bridge suitors by admitting he would rather join Barcelona.
The CSKA Moscow wide man has been a target since January and had been expected to complete a move to London for about £15million this summer.
But European champions Barcelona have also entered the race because they see the versatile the 25-year-old as perfect cover down the left, either for Thierry Henry or as an attacking full-back in place of Eric Abidal.
And Zhirkov insisted his move to Chelsea was not a done deal, adding: 'I can say now that, if it was my decision, I would choose Barcelona, but this does not mean I would automatically decline Chelsea's offer. They are a great club and it would be a dream for anyone to play for them.'
Zhirkov had already warned he would not join Chelsea if he was just considered a squad player to cover for Ashley Cole and Florent Malouda, but he clarified: 'There is a difference between "playing" and "sitting on the bench". Even at Barcelona, I wouldn't want to do the latter.'
Zhirkov is in Helsinki ahead of Russia's World Cup qualifier against Finland tonight and admitted he had talked about England with Arsenal striker Andrey Arshavin and Tottenham Hotspur's Roman Pavlyuchenko.
CSKA have a close relationship with Chelsea owner Roman Abramovich, who used to help bankroll the club when in charge of Sibneft, their big-spending shirt sponsors
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/footba ... hoice.html
We are the centre of the pitch, we are precise, we are our effort, we are attackers who defend, we are defenders who attack, we are respected by our rivals, we are recognised by our rivals, we are every goal that we score, we are those who always look for our opponent's goal, WE ARE ONE.
Pep Guardiola To Barca Before CL Final
- Comrade Machel
Re: Zhirkov Wants To Come To Barca..
Every man and his dog wants to play for Barca

- green4life
This no be news. Anyone who follows Chelsea knows he's been saying this from jump which makes one question whether he's ready to play for a top club - where you have to fight for your shirt. Malouda is not going anywhere anytime soon so if na Malouda he dey fear, he might as well go siddon for barca bench.Zhirkov had already warned he would not join Chelsea if he was just considered a squad player to cover for Ashley Cole and Florent Malouda, but he clarified: 'There is a difference between "playing" and "sitting on the bench".
- Killa Adjei
What is so special about this guy?green4life wrote:This no be news. Anyone who follows Chelsea knows he's been saying this from jump which makes one question whether he's ready to play for a top club - where you have to fight for your shirt. Malouda is not going anywhere anytime soon so if na Malouda he dey fear, he might as well go siddon for barca bench.Zhirkov had already warned he would not join Chelsea if he was just considered a squad player to cover for Ashley Cole and Florent Malouda, but he clarified: 'There is a difference between "playing" and "sitting on the bench".
We are the centre of the pitch, we are precise, we are our effort, we are attackers who defend, we are defenders who attack, we are respected by our rivals, we are recognised by our rivals, we are every goal that we score, we are those who always look for our opponent's goal, WE ARE ONE.
- green4life
Hyped up after Arshavin played well for assnal last season. They say he's a very good left winger with good dribbling ability but no one on the chelsea forum (those who watch the Russian league religiously) is ready to bet that he will bench Malouda. He apparently can also play left back pretty well (which helps given Chelsea does not have a back up left back). Hiddink vouched for his ability to play for a big club. It seems he wants a ready made situation where his jersey is ironed out and coach puts his name in the starting 11. If that's the case, he might as well stay in Russia where his mins is guaranteed week in, week out. The pressure at chelsea is incredibly high. 1 or 2 fcuuk ups (max) that cost the club points and he's hiting the bench. Holding it down at this level is not for every player.Killa Adjei wrote:What is so special about this guy?green4life wrote:This no be news. Anyone who follows Chelsea knows he's been saying this from jump which makes one question whether he's ready to play for a top club - where you have to fight for your shirt. Malouda is not going anywhere anytime soon so if na Malouda he dey fear, he might as well go siddon for barca bench.Zhirkov had already warned he would not join Chelsea if he was just considered a squad player to cover for Ashley Cole and Florent Malouda, but he clarified: 'There is a difference between "playing" and "sitting on the bench".
- Killa Adjei
Thanks..green4life wrote:Hyped up after Arshavin played well for assnal last season. They say he's a very good left winger with good dribbling ability but no one on the chelsea forum (those who watch the Russian league religiously) is ready to bet that he will bench Malouda. He apparently can also play left back pretty well (which helps given Chelsea does not have a back up left back). Hiddink vouched for his ability to play for a big club. It seems he wants a ready made situation where his jersey is ironed out and coach puts his name in the starting 11. If that's the case, he might as well stay in Russia where his mins is guaranteed week in, week out. The pressure at chelsea is incredibly high. 1 or 2 fcuuk ups (max) that cost the club points and he's hiting the bench. Holding it down at this level is not for every player.Killa Adjei wrote:What is so special about this guy?green4life wrote:This no be news. Anyone who follows Chelsea knows he's been saying this from jump which makes one question whether he's ready to play for a top club - where you have to fight for your shirt. Malouda is not going anywhere anytime soon so if na Malouda he dey fear, he might as well go siddon for barca bench.Zhirkov had already warned he would not join Chelsea if he was just considered a squad player to cover for Ashley Cole and Florent Malouda, but he clarified: 'There is a difference between "playing" and "sitting on the bench".

- cic old boy
- Flying Eagle
Zhirkov is better than Cole AND Malouda combined. He is the closest thing to Roberto Carlos in terms of the entire left flank belonging to him. I laughed my head off when an English pundit claimed a few weeks ago that Evra was the best left-back in the world (Abidal would argue that Evra isn't even the best left-back in France). I said to myself the clown has probably never heard of Zhirkov.
- green4life
Now if this is not the definition of a joke, I don't know what is. What I haven't figured out is which one is more comical: this dandy or the post on Rijkaard to Chelsea being a done deal thanks to Hiddink's recommendation. ... but i'll be sure to let u know once I figure things outcic old boy wrote:Zhirkov is better than Cole AND Malouda combined. He is the closest thing to Roberto Carlos in terms of the entire left flank belonging to him. I laughed my head off when an English pundit claimed a few weeks ago that Evra was the best left-back in the world (Abidal would argue that Evra isn't even the best left-back in France). I said to myself the clown has probably never heard of Zhirkov.

- cic old boy
- Flying Eagle
green4life wrote: Now if this is not the definition of a joke, I don't know what is. What I haven't figured out is which one is more comical: this dandy or the post on Rijkaard to Chelsea being a done deal thanks to Hiddink's recommendation. ... but i'll be sure to let u know once I figure things out

I remember saying Hiddink recommended Rijkaard. I don't remember saying it was a done deal. Maybe you saw me write that in the same place you see Mikelele the Crab as a midfield generalissimo.

While you are figuring out whether I was joking or not about Zhirkov, try figure out why he was in the Team of the Tournament in Euro 2008 and they forgot about Malouda. If Chelski did a straight swap offering both Malouda and Cole for Zhirkov, I would say it was a good deal for them. Zhirkov will offer any team more on the left flank than those two headless chickens. I don't need any bonehead on a Chelski forum to tell me that!
- green4life
He's so great that's why he's afraid to come and fight only 1 player - Malouda at that - for his shirt. If na central midfield, central defense or forward wey he be, wetin he go talk? 

- cic old boy
- Flying Eagle
He is better than Malouda and Cole, but he is fully aware of club politics. Your hero Borinho himself called some players untouchable and was allegedly sacked b/c he tried to drop Terry.green4life wrote:He's so great that's why he's afraid to come and fight only 1 player - Malouda at that - for his shirt. If na central midfield, central defense or forward wey he be, wetin he go talk?
He will be a good addition to BArca, They should sign Zirkhov, and then sell Abidal. Zhirkov would be an upgrade.
- green4life
Club politics ko. untouchable ni. If you are a quality player, you will force yourself into chelsea's lineup. During the year of the untouchables, Mourinho started at least 2 rookies in multiple CL knock out round games.cic old boy wrote:He is better than Malouda and Cole, but he is fully aware of club politics. Your hero Borinho himself called some players untouchable and was allegedly sacked b/c he tried to drop Terry.green4life wrote:He's so great that's why he's afraid to come and fight only 1 player - Malouda at that - for his shirt. If na central midfield, central defense or forward wey he be, wetin he go talk?
Robinho and his dog also want to play for BarcaMaximilien Robespierre wrote:Every man and his dog wants to play for Barca![]()

Unsettled Manchester City Star Robinho Offers Himself To Barcelona - Report
Robinho’s uncertain future at Manchester City continues to draw speculation and the latest rumours suggest that he could be on his way back to Spain’s Primera Division.
According to Sport, the ex-Real Madrid forward has apparently offered his services to Barcelona, just a week after informing the president of another of his former clubs, Santos’ Marcelo Teixeira, that he was unhappy and ready to leave Eastlands.
The 25-year-old has openly expressed his admiration for the Blaugrana after the Catalans won unmitigated praise this past season for playing attractive, attacking football while bagging ‘el gran triplete’.
“So far, there have only been speculations. There is nothing concrete and I haven’t received any offers,” he was quoted as saying by Sport.
“The only thing I can say is that Barcelona are a great team and everybody would love to play for them.”
The Brazilian then went on to reiterate that he made the right decision back in August last year to demand an exit from the Santiago Bernabeu.
“I left because I was not happy. I do not regret the decision and I’m comfortable at Manchester City,” he explained.
Finally, he spoke briefly about his compatriot Kaka’s move to Los Merengues:
“I wish him good luck at Madrid and I hope that he can become the best in the world again.”
Eto’o, Ronaldinho, Deco, and Messi are like good caviar, tender pine-nuts, chemical-free sea salt, and the purest of virgin olive oils, said one of the world's greatest chefs, Ferran Adria of El Bulli restaurant, Before Barca went on to wallop Madrid 3-0 at the Bernabeu.
“I believe the target of anything in life should be to do it so well that it becomes an art. Football is like that. When I watch Barcelona, it is art” — Arsène Wenger, August 2009
- green4life
I think Vincent missed this part.“I left because I was not happy. I do not regret the decision and I’m comfortable at Manchester City,” he explained.

- Killa Adjei
Of course he wants to come to Barca, who wants to be stuck at Man City and your objective for the season is staying up..
- cic old boy
- Flying Eagle
Zhirkov is top quality, with the sort of fantasy in his game that the industrial robots at Chelski can only dream about. He knows that a player with imagination does not always fit in with a team contaminated by mechanical headless chickens. His game is more suited to Barca than the 90mins fighting at Chelski and it comes out in his comments.green4life wrote: Club politics ko. untouchable ni. If you are a quality player, you will force yourself into chelsea's lineup. During the year of the untouchables, Mourinho started at least 2 rookies in multiple CL knock out round games.
- jdizzy
Zhirkov was Russia's 2nd best player at the Euros last year after Arshavin. Actually, you can argue that he was their best player since Arshavin missed the first 2 matches. Dude was by far, the best LB at the tournament. Deadly combination of pace and skill with a non-stop motor. He does the business both offensively and defensively.
Comparing him to the folks at Chelsea & Barca, he's better than Ashley Cole going forward and just as good defensively. He is definitely better than Abidal in both areas
Niente Ÿ impossibile!
- phantomjournalist
cic old boy wrote:Zhirkov is better than Cole AND Malouda combined. He is the closest thing to Roberto Carlos in terms of the entire left flank belonging to him. I laughed my head off when an English pundit claimed a few weeks ago that Evra was the best left-back in the world (Abidal would argue that Evra isn't even the best left-back in France). I said to myself the clown has probably never heard of Zhirkov.

This is the absolute most ridiculous tripe I've had the misfortune of reading on this site.

Blue is the color.
%$#@^& moron.Killa Adjei wrote: Barcelona won the champions league something your useless team can only touch in their dreams..
- phantomjournalist
Did you even watch their game today? The guy is good but far too inconsistent. Any talk of him being as good as Ashley Cole though is complete stupidity. He would not have a chance of sniffing LB at Chelsea. At best he'd be a Malouda replacement, and a fill-in for Ash at LB when he's being rested.jdizzy wrote:Zhirkov was Russia's 2nd best player at the Euros last year after Arshavin. Actually, you can argue that he was their best player since Arshavin missed the first 2 matches. Dude was by far, the best LB at the tournament. Deadly combination of pace and skill with a non-stop motor. He does the business both offensively and defensively.
Blue is the color.
%$#@^& moron.Killa Adjei wrote: Barcelona won the champions league something your useless team can only touch in their dreams..
- cic old boy
- Flying Eagle
Typical rubbish from a clueless EPL groupie. Now the talk is about being "inconsistent". Do you watch every game in Russia? Like Harry Redknapp said in reference to Kanu: "Genius is never consistent. Mediocrity is consistent, but genius cannot be consistent". A mediocre like Cashley is not even as good as Clichy or Evra.phantomjournalist wrote: Did you even watch their game today? The guy is good but far too inconsistent. Any talk of him being as good as Ashley Cole though is complete stupidity. He would not have a chance of sniffing LB at Chelsea. At best he'd be a Malouda replacement, and a fill-in for Ash at LB when he's being rested.
Watch Zhirkov in action and get down on your knees and pray that Chelski signs him!
- phantomjournalist
Your knowledge of the player is based off of a series of YouTube clipscic old boy wrote:Typical rubbish from a clueless EPL groupie. Now the talk is about being "inconsistent". Do you watch every game in Russia? Like Harry Redknapp said in reference to Kanu: "Genius is never consistent. Mediocrity is consistent, but genius cannot be consistent". A mediocre like Cashley is not even as good as Clichy or Evra.phantomjournalist wrote: Did you even watch their game today? The guy is good but far too inconsistent. Any talk of him being as good as Ashley Cole though is complete stupidity. He would not have a chance of sniffing LB at Chelsea. At best he'd be a Malouda replacement, and a fill-in for Ash at LB when he's being rested.
Watch Zhirkov in action and get down on your knees and pray that Chelski signs him!

That really says a lot.
Blue is the color.
- cic old boy
- Flying Eagle
The clips are for your benefit as you know nothing about the player - which is very clear from your comments!phantomjournalist wrote: Your knowledge of the player is based off of a series of YouTube clips![]()
That really says a lot.