Chukwu lowest paid Eagles’ coach — NFA may review pay

Let us bring in the analysts on this one, if we have to. Surely, it can be argued that of the coaches we have had over the last few years, the one that has provided by far the most in terms of value for money (vfm) is CCC.

We pay him peanuts but he took us to the semi-final of CAN'04 (beating our dreaded enemy, Cameroon on the way) and won the Unity Cup in London. He continually discovers fresh new set of faces and we are also currently leading our World Cup qualifying zone. I am not sure of what else he has to overcome.

I think it will be written of CCC one day that he remains a bright light in the midst of darkness as his demeanour appears not to have changed from the days in the '70s and '80s when football was, indeed, pleasing. When it represented an avenue for young minds like mine to dream and marvel at the heights that part-time footballers who still worked in offices could take citizens of a country. I watched the 1980 CAN cup final recently and was pleasantly reminded of the golden era when football was a sport of humility and dignity. I submit that that 1980 squad will easily beat the Eagles of today. They had so much pride and wore their hearts on their sleeves. They had passion and the fans trusted them to give their best.

Those days are far from the cynical age of today of a sport awash with money and ill-disciplined, ill-trained, egoistical and idiotic loudmouths who talk more than they actually play. They will exploit any avenue of non-cooperation and at the end of their non-performance on the pitch, you wonder for how long you can continue subjecting yourself to their ego.

CCC remains the same that we knew of him in the '70s and '80s and without doubt, he will laugh and laugh and some of us will join him when the usual charade of a foreign coach appointment returns along with the failed expectations and the mounting arrears of a salary that could not be afforded in the first place. We just never learn.

People like CCC deserve kudos. Period!
You can control your choice, but not necessarily the consequences
ROSSIKE

Post by ROSSIKE »

You know, I've never understood why a Nigerian coach of the Super Eagles should be paid a pittance compared to a foreign white coach - for doing the same job.

IT JUST MAKES NO SENSE AND STINKS OF EXTREME COLONIAL MENTALITY.

I'm surprised no one has raised this issue.

If we place a such a high premium on the fortunes of our national team to the extent we're ready to pay a foreigner $30,000 a month, HOW does the importance we attach to soccer glory DIP to the point whereby we're ready to pay the next man $1,200 a month to do the very same job.

But alas, it is not our desire for soccer glory that dips.

What dips is the regard we have for the first coach vis a vis the subsequent one, such regard being fuelled of course, entirely on the basis of nationality and skin color.

ABSOLUTE and HORRIBLE SHAME.
Imagination is more important than knowledge

- Albert Einstein

Africana

Post by Africana »

Unfortunately, some people don't know how to distinguish between issues. It is one thing not to like a coach, but it is another to support mistreatment or exploitation.

I am saddened that Chukwu can accept this kid of treatment. On top of that, I understand that he doesn't have official accommodation and pays his way moving across the country in the course of his work (hoping that he will be reimbursed some day).

Yet, CCC should take some of the blame for what is happening to him. The treatment people get is not only a reflection of the pertrators of the treatment; it is also a reflection of the personality of the person receiving the treatment. People tend to perpetrate things if they can get away with it, and Chukwu has allowed the NFA to walk over him.

While the Nigeria job is too much for him (in my view), given our ambition or what should be our ambition right now, many African countries, I believe, would be willing to snap CCC up. Why Mr-I-will-work-under-any-foreign-coach is not looking at these options baffles me.

Although I prefer a technically adept coach for the SE, CCC should get his dues while in service. It should not be any other way.
Last edited by Africana on Wed Jul 14, 2004 9:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
ayoola

Post by ayoola »

The highest paid IC's pay is less than 5% of what we are willing to give to anybody with a coaching cert and a white skin.

Ahmodu and CCC et all make 15,000 while an oyinbo goes for an average of 300,000.

the difference is shameful.
God Bless Nigeria...

the greatest of natural advantages...is to have your enemies over-estimate your faults....unless ofcourse it is, to have your friends under-estimate your virtues
ayoola

Post by ayoola »

Ayo Akinfe wrote: I think his salary is OK for that of a chief scout and do not consider it right that he be paid the same amount as the Rahhagel's and Scholari's of this world.
Ayo,

This is such a shame coming from U,

This shows, that if U, Ayo Akinfe was appointed NSC chairman, u'd continue to blindly perpetrate this shame.

If U Ayo Akinfe, who is supposed to be an elder to the kids that join this forum, cannot see that your above statement is exactly what the slave masters and colonial masters want u to say and think, if u think exactly the way they have programmed u to think then all hope is lost for our kids.....

what a shame.....

shame ..... shame
God Bless Nigeria...

the greatest of natural advantages...is to have your enemies over-estimate your faults....unless ofcourse it is, to have your friends under-estimate your virtues

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Elexus, you have a fair point but I do not consider Christian Chukwu to be a qualified national team coach and as such, do not believe he is worthy of the going market rate.
AYO:
As far as I am aware Chukwu have apparently not personally complained about his wages (probably because he freely negotiated same), but anyone who seeks to contend that in a market (ie, the Nigerian coaching market) that values Bryan Robson at N6.5 million monthly, Chukwu is actually "worth" merely N450K monthly is spouting twaddle.
Ezesportsworld
Ayo less you forget

Post by Ezesportsworld »

Ayo, You are the one that said Igbo's are the product of rampaging, raping, advancing Nigerian army...how soon you forget... I can pull that your thread for all to see....tribalistic labile like ....
www.ezesportsworld.net

Chesapeake sports Academy
Re: Ayo less you forget

Ezesportsworld wrote:Ayo, You are the one that said Igbo's are the product of rampaging, raping, advancing Nigerian army...how soon you forget... I can pull that your thread for all to see....tribalistic labile like ....
Correction: I said you - Ezesports – was a product of retreating soldiers who took their anger out on innocent local women!

If CCC is not satisfied with his pay he should resign, but knowing him that will not happen. It would be nice to see what he signed when he took over the SE caretaking duties?....
ROSSIKE

Post by ROSSIKE »

I'm afraid the likes of Ayo Akinfe typify the mindless IGNORANCE and STUPIDITY that characterise our soccer administration.
Imagination is more important than knowledge

- Albert Einstein

Kargamania

Post by Kargamania »

ROSSIKE wrote:I'm afraid the likes of Ayo Akinfe typify the mindless IGNORANCE and STUPIDITY that characterise our soccer administration.
Guys, I admire the maturity of many guys on this forum - my last visit to cybereagles.com was almost 5 years ago and it was being handled by a Briton, I think? I don't know if it's the same cybereagles.com but the contents are surely different.

Back to the issue of Chukwu's renumeration. I personally see it as a big attitude problem on the part of some Nigerian professionals especially in the field of soccer. It all boils down to the economic factor. For example, let's take the case of Julius Aghahowa - In terms of performance and commitment on the field of play, not many African players gives half of what Aghahowa gives on the field, but yet he is into a slave contract somewhere in Ukraine. Whose fault? He signed an agreement - simple! The likes of Sunday Oliseh, Kanu Nwankwo, Seyi Olofinjana etc did not sign and might never sign that kind of contract. We also remember the slave contract of Phillip Osondu in the past.

If an Adegboye Onigbinde insisted on certain conditions being met before signing contract with NFA, I see no reason why a Christian Chukwu should overlook the inadequacies in his contract papers and plunge into the job!!!

I commend Christian Chukwu for his effort, but Nigerian coaches will NEVER smell freedom IF the likes of Chukwu fail to reject contracts that a gamesmaster in white skin will never accept. If Nigerian coaches reject the insults from NFA then the cover of the oppressors in the glass cover will soon be blown open - I doubt if they can even employ a foreign coach without a Nigerian coach as assistant. Until Nigerian coaches make a stand and demand for what they deserve in UNITY they will never smell liberty. "FREEDOM IS NEVER FREELY GIVEN BY THE OPPRESSOR!"
But instead of going out of the pitch Odinga seized the card from referee Sabitu and flashed it back at the referee. It took the intervention of Sharks' assistant coach, Nduka Ndubuisi before the card was retrieved from the player and handed back to the referee.
Africana

Post by Africana »

ayoola wrote:
Ayo Akinfe wrote: I think his salary is OK for that of a chief scout and do not consider it right that he be paid the same amount as the Rahhagel's and Scholari's of this world.
Ayo,

This is such a shame coming from U,

This shows, that if U, Ayo Akinfe was appointed NSC chairman, u'd continue to blindly perpetrate this shame.

If U Ayo Akinfe, who is supposed to be an elder to the kids that join this forum, cannot see that your above statement is exactly what the slave masters and colonial masters want u to say and think, if u think exactly the way they have programmed u to think then all hope is lost for our kids.....

what a shame.....

shame ..... shame
Guys:

While I take exception of Ayo's idea of a "chief scout" to describe CCC and while I have condemned CCC's poor pay and conditions of service, Nigeria does not yet have a top-earning coach, period.

You don't simply "download" money on somebody just because he is Nigerian and because that is how much you would pay a foreigner. People should be paid according to qualifications and inducements necessary to keep him at his job.

This whole idea that CCC should be paid exactly what we would pay Bruno Metsu is downright silly and auto-pilot nationalism.

Africana wrote:This whole idea that CCC should be paid exactly what we would pay Bruno Metsu is downright silly and auto-pilot nationalism.
AFRICANA:
Why stop at Metsu?! :shock:
Why not add Aime Jacquet?! Trappatoni?! Guus Hiddink?! Franz Beckebauer?! ecetra?!
Folks are merely asking that he be OFFERED relatively comparable terms with the likes of Bonfrere and Robson.
Africana

Post by Africana »

Africana wrote:This whole idea that CCC should be paid exactly what we would pay Bruno Metsu is downright silly and auto-pilot nationalism.
AFRICANA:
Why stop at Metsu?! :shock:
Why not add Aime Jacquet?! Trappatoni?! Guus Hiddink?! Franz Beckebauer?! ecetra?!
Folks are merely asking that he be OFFERED relatively comparable terms with the likes of Bonfrere and Robson.
I chose my example carefully--and it is within my literary licence, so to speak.

On what folks are saying, I guess I will have to thank you for informing me!

Has anybody thought that CCC might just be in this to prove his ability as a coach? Where is it written that if you pay the highest wages you will get victory. Have we learned nothing from Greece who has written their name in the annals of history with reserve and second rate players whilst £100k+ per week showbiz superstars simply flopped?

Look at Leeds United who were throwing money around 3 years ago. They now want to sell their stadium in order to avoid bankruptcy? CCC played in an era where money was not THE factor but pride and passion. He has taken the same thinking into his coaching and he has been reasonably successful. So, why are we nigerians so eager to throw huge sums at names who as we have been told by NFA Chairman Galadima will not guarantee success? A reality check is much needed at this time.
You can control your choice, but not necessarily the consequences
Kargamania

Post by Kargamania »

Goldleaf wrote:Has anybody thought that CCC might just be in this to prove his ability as a coach? Where is it written that if you pay the highest wages you will get victory. Have we learned nothing from Greece who has written their name in the annals of history with reserve and second rate players whilst £100k+ per week showbiz superstars simply flopped?

Look at Leeds United who were throwing money around 3 years ago. They now want to sell their stadium in order to avoid bankruptcy? CCC played in an era where money was not THE factor but pride and passion. He has taken the same thinking into his coaching and he has been reasonably successful. So, why are we nigerians so eager to throw huge sums at names who as we have been told by NFA Chairman Galadima will not guarantee success? A reality check is much needed at this time.
Zagalo, Beckenbauer & so many other European Coaches also played when pride and passion had a big role to play in soccer AND if CCC is just in this to prove his ability then who is complaining? You might just be right - CCC is not complaining at all. I personally take exception to using the Super Eagles as a laboratory for experiment.

We keep saying that CCC has been so successful, this and that! I don't think so! I was fooled into thinking that Onigbinde is truly world-class after the brilliant run with AVERAGE NIGERIAN PLAYERS before Japan/Korea 2002 - I almost had heart-attack when he couldn't come out with any formula during the World Cup proper.

Check out the matches played by Nigeria under CCC and you will notice that any average coach couldn't have come out with much difference. Let's stop deceiving each other - the confusion in CCC is always so glaring whenever we meet quality opposition. Watch Nigeria/Morocco, Nigeria/Cameroon [even though we won!], Nigeria/Tunisia at ANC2002! Watch other friendlies like Nigeria/Brazil and go on to Nigeria/Angola and Nigeria/Algeria in the world cup qualifiers. This CCC will be exposed just like Onigbinde if Nigeria makes the mistake of taking him to the WC proper.

Even a newbie like Samson Siasia can qualify Nigeria for the World Cup - qualifying is not the issue with the calibre of players available - it is quality performance at the mundial that matters.
But instead of going out of the pitch Odinga seized the card from referee Sabitu and flashed it back at the referee. It took the intervention of Sharks' assistant coach, Nduka Ndubuisi before the card was retrieved from the player and handed back to the referee.

KARGAMANIAC:
In that case, I guess that..

(a) Losing to the likes of Sierra Leone and Liberia, and...
(b) Losing 1-5 to each of the hastily-assembled teams of the Catalonia and Basque regions...

Respectively means that both Jo Bonfrere and former Dutch national team World Cup coach Thijs Libregts are LESS-than "average"! :roll:
Omoga

Post by Omoga »

Gotti, abeg you have seen the matches under CCC, do you think we are playing up to our potentials? I'm not bashing CCC but after watching ANC I think the team where disgracing Naija, we looked so average.
Naija player are always indiscipline and will always be, that’s why we need a strong coach, who don’t take any nonsense from players or the Nfa. We are deceiving our self if we think CCC we lead us to any greatness, we have no team, different player every match. How can you play 2 strikers that have never played together in a crucial qualifier?(yakubu and martins etc..)
When will we learn? Football is not bye playing a bunch of great individuals, it’s a team sport.
Immortal Technique will destroy your religion you stupid *Nice Lady*/ You're faker than blue-eyed crackers nailed to a crucifix/
Mansa Musa

Post by Mansa Musa »

Potential nko, potential ni, win na win!
Omoga

Post by Omoga »

yeah we won the bronze,you are happy?
Immortal Technique will destroy your religion you stupid *Nice Lady*/ You're faker than blue-eyed crackers nailed to a crucifix/
Kargamania

Post by Kargamania »

KARGAMANIAC:
In that case, I guess that..

(a) Losing to the likes of Sierra Leone and Liberia, and...
(b) Losing 1-5 to each of the hastily-assembled teams of the Catalonia and Basque regions...

Respectively means that both Jo Bonfrere and former Dutch national team World Cup coach Thijs Libregts are LESS-than "average"!
Goatie, I wasn't talking about Bonfrere Jo or Thijs Libregts..... I was discussing CCC.

Friendly matches and tune-up competitions like the Unity Cup are meant to try out formations and experiment. CCC has been experimenting for over 2 years and his experiments will surely marvel the likes of Albert Einstein and other Nobel Prize winners in sciences.

The series of experiments is leading to confusion on the part of our respected coach. A capable scientist that is not confused with the overwhelming size of materials available should have seen that the Obafemi Martins/Batholomew Ogbeche attacking combination has a kind of blend that proved to be result-oriented during the Unity Cup. It was tested and the result was positive. How come the real stage was later used for more experiments by trying out Obafemi/Yakubu again in the real Qualifiers? That is just an example of the contradictions in the issue of EXPERIMENTATION! Why do we keep wasting time and not stick to a particular group of players and give them a mission statement

Even when Yekini & Owubokiri were both hot cakes, they never blended well when playing together. So also, Yekini/Akpoborie combination! CCC was part of the technical crew under Westerhof that witnessed the two classical experiments quoted above and yet the experiment continues! Is anything being learnt?

IT IS SAD BUT THE REALITY IS THAT 2 YEARS OF EXPERIMENTATION HAS NOT DEVELOPED INTO ANY TEAM AT ALL.... and from all indications it might never develop into a team with the present crew unless CCC embraces a fundamental re-orientation. PEOPLE KEPT QUOTING THE NUMBER OF YEARS spent by Westerhof to justify this state of suspended animation under CCC... it is not true! DISCIPLINE AND CLEAR FOCUS was the key to Westerhof's success AND not his long-stay. His team was changing too but with clear focus and minimum sentiment.

If CCC is reading this - I sincerely hope he seperates issues without sentiments because my criticisms are from my observations and nothing personal at all... it is unfortunate that criticisms of those in public offices is often done in public - the keyword is PUBLIC. So CCC and those close to him should understand this fact & if he is still going to lead Nigeria to the World Cup then he should re-focus and even spend his personal money to update himself in any way possible in his profession.

Kargamania,

What is your criteria for football success? You believe CCC is experimenting. OK, he experimented during the Unity Cup and won the bloody thing. He is experimenting during the WC qualifiers and he is leading the group. Can a coach do better than win??
Cristao

Post by Cristao »

ALl i can say is that if CCC hadnt taken the job another IC woulda taken it ... this is one more reason why an association of coaches with the intention of gaining clout with the NFA be created ..

CCC has my full respect as a player, a manager and a person ..